This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker

In 1933, Alfonso Bialetti revolutionized home coffee brewing in Italy with this iconic, easy-to-use stovetop espresso maker. This is the classic aluminum original is still found in nearly 90% of Italian homes. Easily make up to 9 2-oz. cups of rich espresso in just a few minutes. The striking angular shape and polished aluminum construction gives this espresso maker its distinctive, classic style. Simple, durable design is reliable and easy to maintain and operate. Handle and knob stay cool to the touch during use. Made in Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
Review 1 for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCluelessMom
,AR
June 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sound recommendation from an Italian friend!
June 26, 2015
When my $350 espresso machine died just a few years after I bought it, my Italian friend told me to just buy this little Bialetti Moka along with a stainless steel frothing pitcher if I wanted to make cappuccinos. She told me it is the world's best coffee maker - everyone in Italy has a Bialetti. Here I am six years later my little Bialetti is still going strong (I make 2 or 3 coffees a day). My guests always comment how wonderful my cappuccinos are and they can't believe they come out of such a simple little pot. It's a durable and reliable little thing - you just replace the rubber gaskets and steel filter plate when they wear out, which isn't very often. I probably change the gasket a couple times a year and the steel plate once a year. The clean up is easy - the top unscrews from the bottom and you can give everything a good clean (handwash, though - my husband put ours in the dishwasher and it lost its lovely shine...grrrr).
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Quality, Size, Easy to Store
Review 2 for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hMeister
April 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Simple and Dependable
April 29, 2015
My headline says it all. I've had mine for years, and it's easy to use and clean. The only way this could be improved was if the following was fixed: if you open the lid whilst it is brewing, the condensation from the hot steam on the underside of the lid will run to the hinge, which is where your hand may be as you hold the handle--it leaves an ephemeral ouchie. That said, I would purchase this all over again. And you know when it is done brewing because it will hiss, since most of the water in the bottom portion has boiled, there is not steady stream of flowing any more. So just let it be until then.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefCarey
,Dallas
,TX
February 1, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent EVERYDAY USE
February 1, 2015
Great way to make my morning cup of joe/espresso. My only complaint is that it spits out occasionally.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: leaks from spout.
Review 4 for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
coffeefreak
,Chicago
,IL
December 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fun, modern design
December 22, 2014
Neat little coffee maker that makes a nice espresso. Looks nice just hanging out on the stove.
Little rust spots forming on inside bottom, though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 5 for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TahoeMountainGirl
,Lake Tahoe
,CA
February 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
I should have got this decades ago!
February 17, 2014
I got this on the advice from a dear friend. She recently got one and absolutely loves it!
It is so simple and economical as well. It will pay for itself in about one week. I got the 6 cup model and it takes 2 tablespoons of regular grind coffee.The great part is I'm not locked into purchasing pods. I was contemplating buying the Nespresso and I am so glad I did not. You just fill the bottom part with water, add your coffee, screw on the top and place on the stove on low heat. It comes out perfect every time! Just add steamed milk and you'll have a latte for less than 50 cents! Also, makes a perfect gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Bialetti Moka Express 9-Cup Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhubarbie
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+23points
26of 29found this review helpful.
Practical Little Espresso Maker
February 17, 2012
I got this espresso maker for my boyfriend. We wanted something that was affordable and would not take up too much space. This was the perfect solution. It makes a great pot of espresso, is affordable, easy to use, and attractive. After it cools, I clean it using hot water and a little bon ami (the directions suggest hot water only, but I add bon ami because is very gentle). We leave it out on the stove because it is so cute.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design