This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Berkshire Bacon

The Edwards family of Surry County, Virginia, has produced award-winning cured pork products since 1926. A third-generation curer, the family does their smoking in an 80-year-old smokehouse. They produce this hand-cured bacon using heritage-breed Berkshire pigs--all their meat is traceable right to its origin. Made using top-quality pork from rare heritage-breed Berkshire pigs, pasture-raised under certified-humane conditions, including fresh air, sunshine and a nutritious diet free of antibiotics, animal by-products and hormones. Produced in partnership with Heritage Foods USA, which works to safeguard American food traditions by promoting small farms that preserve native breeds from extinction. The dry-cured meat is smoked over hickory logs for 18 hours and the result is meat that is darker in color, possessing a rich flavor not found in standard pork. Sliced medium-thick for authentic flavor and texture. 2 lb. (36-44 slices); Packaged in two 1 lb. packages.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Berkshire Bacon
Review 1 for Berkshire Bacon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
John818
,Denver
,CO
Denver, CO
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Fatiest bacon ever
March 2, 2013
When I buy bacon at the grocery store, I choose a package with the least amount of fat (which still has a lot of fat) and the most meat. What I received from this company was two pounds of fat, almost pure white, no meat and not like the image. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients
Review 2 for Berkshire Bacon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cjcerefice
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Holy Saltiness
November 29, 2012
Ok, I LOVE salty food. I do. This was WAY more than salty. I know that salt is used in bacon to cure and preserve the meat. It is likely the reason I love bacon. Frequently, I find that bacon does not have enough salt in it and is bland....this bacon is so salty that it is almost inedible. The only way we have been able to enjoy it is to cook with it (i.e. put it in other things to that the flavor is diluted). But, with it being $40, who wants to do that? Save your money.....
Cons: Ingredients, Disappointing, Flavor, too salty
Review 3 for Berkshire Bacon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LawrenceW
,LA
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Saltiest bacon I ever had
October 19, 2012
I was so looking forward to this bacon. Big mistake. SALTIEST bacon I have ever eaten. Maybe we got a bad batch but we ordered two and both were just as salty. Inedible. Cannot recommend.
Cons: Disappointing, salty
Review 4 for Berkshire Bacon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Hilton Head Is..SC
June 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Bacon was scimpy
June 1, 2011
I come from PA where butcher shops are everywhere..I get much better bacon there...this did not have the smoked flavor I thought it would have..and it was not much to it once fried. I would not order it again for the price I paid..
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor
Review 5 for Berkshire Bacon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sandcrab7
San Francisco Ca
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Taste
January 6, 2011
The product was very good but the bacon was not as thick enough for my tastes. Excellent product.
Review 6 for Berkshire Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annagram
Brooklyn, NY
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Come on....who doesn't like bacon!?
December 31, 2010
This is the second year that I have sent my 8 yr old grandson Nicholas Berkshire Bacon. He was just as thrilled this year as last year when he opened his package and ran around the house yelling " BACON!!!This is the best Christmas present ever!!!"
Review 7 for Berkshire Bacon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mere12
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nice bacon
December 30, 2010
The smell of the Berkshire Bacon is wonderful. We enjoyed eating it over Christmas.
Review 8 for Berkshire Bacon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cookiethedog
Pompton Plains, NJ
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
I did not see the big deal
January 4, 2010
I ordered this along with the crossiants for a boxing day breakfast. The bacon was very fatty - i know bacon is suppose to have lots of fat, but if I was buying the grocery store type - Oscar Mayer or Boars Head - I would have pick out one with less fat. I did also purchased Boars Head to use and compare. No one could really tell the difference. Was it good, yes, but not special and frankly not worth the money.
Review 9 for Berkshire Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watcher
Las Vegas, NV
December 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is the absolute best bacon EVER!!
December 14, 2009
I ordered this last year and was amazed by the quality and flavor. I just wish they offered this year round. Absolutely worth every penny. It makes a great gift as well.