This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce

In medieval Belgium, families loved dining on hearty beer-braised meats known as carbonades flamandes. Based on 14th-century Flemish recipes, our starter puts a modern spin on these North Sea classics. We've combined premium Belgian-style beer with the sweet-and-tangy flavors of caramelized onions, brown sugar, red wine vinegar and whole-grain Dijon mustard. 1 lb. 9.8 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardeningGal
,Maricopa
,AZ
July 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A household staple
July 4, 2014
We love this sauce & I always make sure I have a jar on hand. It is a bit pricey but worth it. I add carrots, mushrooms, celery & other in season veggies. I also add faux chicken as we are vegetarian. It's comfort food to me.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 2 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraS
,Los Angeles
,CA
Reno, NV
January 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My husband loves this sauce!
January 23, 2014
I have made many meals with different sauces and this is the first one he raved about and asked me what was in it and how I made it. I almost didn't want to tell him it wasn't me since I pretty much make everything from scratch (except when I try a new sauce or reuse a couple of my faves). I did fess up and was surprised that he didn't complain it wasn't homemade. I will continue to keep it on the shelf for the next time he asks for it.
I thought it was quite tasty as well.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bena
,Jacksonville
,NC
Jacksonville NC
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Vinegar in a bottle
December 27, 2013
Really wanted to like this. Made it with chicken and placed over mashed potatoes. All we could taste was a odd vinegar after taste very strong. I made a mistake and bought 2 bottles guess what one is going back. Sorry
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted July 4, 2014
bad jar?
Although we weren't crazy about this sauce and probably won't buy it again. It didn't taste bad, it's just that t W-S sells others that are better. The jar we bought definitely did not have an odd vinegar taste like yours. You probably bought a bad batch and should have returned both jars. .
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Miami
,Fl
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Another great sauce!
April 29, 2013
I made this in my Dutch oven with boneless/skinless chicken breasts. I served it over smashed potatoes and it was amazing! I'm sure it would be equally as good with beef.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sparty416
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Just okay. Flavor was good but non distinct
January 3, 2013
I made half the jar with chicken and will try remainder with beef. The sauce was good. I can't really complain. But it's hard to describe the flavor of this sauce. It seemed like something I could make with onion soup. If this was inexpensive from the grocery store it would be fine, but not worth the high price.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: meh
Review 6 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kerplunkus
,Turner
,ME
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfection in a jar
September 4, 2012
I used this in a Shepherd's Pie type casserole and it was incredible. The smell in the house was so inviting. The taste was perfect. Spicy, tangy, caramelized. I would definitely buy this again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: expensive
Review 7 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saucelover28
,Orange
,CA
August 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
So yummy!!!!!!
August 27, 2012
I love this sauce!! I think the flavor is perfect and it makes the house smell amazing. Makes the meat just peel apart perfectly and I think the seasoning is just right. I will continue to buy this sauce.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porschedude
,Virginia Beach
,VA
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent sauce for the slow cooker
April 29, 2012
Used the slow cook method with beef. Fantastic aroma and flavor. Meat was very tender. Definitely the great stuff!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SecaucusGrandma22
,Secaucus
,NJ
Secaucus
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Fed the Garbage Pail
March 27, 2012
This is the worst dinner I have made with a ready made sauce! I hope the other sauces are better. If this was the first I had Bought from WS it would have been the last. I wasted 10.00 worth of beef!!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
atswan
,Pittsburgh
,PA
Pittsburgh, PA
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Just ok...
February 26, 2012
For $17, I expected something really tasty. This was not worth the price. I tried it with beef. I felt like I could have made something just as good using Campbell's soup.
Given the price and that this is WS, I had high hopes. I bought some other sauces this weekend as well. Hoping those are a lot better.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor