Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce

In medieval Belgium, families loved dining on hearty beer-braised meats known as carbonades flamandes. Based on 14th-century Flemish recipes, our starter puts a modern spin on these North Sea classics. We've combined premium Belgian-style beer with the sweet-and-tangy flavors of caramelized onions, brown sugar, red wine vinegar and whole-grain Dijon mustard. 1 lb. 9.8 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
15 of 21(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraS
,Los Angeles
,CA
Reno, NV
January 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My husband loves this sauce!
January 23, 2014
I have made many meals with different sauces and this is the first one he raved about and asked me what was in it and how I made it. I almost didn't want to tell him it wasn't me since I pretty much make everything from scratch (except when I try a new sauce or reuse a couple of my faves). I did fess up and was surprised that he didn't complain it wasn't homemade. I will continue to keep it on the shelf for the next time he asks for it.
I thought it was quite tasty as well.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bena
,Jacksonville
,NC
Jacksonville NC
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vinegar in a bottle
December 27, 2013
Really wanted to like this. Made it with chicken and placed over mashed potatoes. All we could taste was a odd vinegar after taste very strong. I made a mistake and bought 2 bottles guess what one is going back. Sorry
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 3 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Miami
,Fl
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great sauce!
April 29, 2013
I made this in my Dutch oven with boneless/skinless chicken breasts. I served it over smashed potatoes and it was amazing! I'm sure it would be equally as good with beef.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sparty416
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just okay. Flavor was good but non distinct
January 3, 2013
I made half the jar with chicken and will try remainder with beef. The sauce was good. I can't really complain. But it's hard to describe the flavor of this sauce. It seemed like something I could make with onion soup. If this was inexpensive from the grocery store it would be fine, but not worth the high price.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: meh
Review 5 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kerplunkus
,Turner
,ME
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection in a jar
September 4, 2012
I used this in a Shepherd's Pie type casserole and it was incredible. The smell in the house was so inviting. The taste was perfect. Spicy, tangy, caramelized. I would definitely buy this again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: expensive
Review 6 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saucelover28
,Orange
,CA
August 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So yummy!!!!!!
August 27, 2012
I love this sauce!! I think the flavor is perfect and it makes the house smell amazing. Makes the meat just peel apart perfectly and I think the seasoning is just right. I will continue to buy this sauce.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porschedude
,Virginia Beach
,VA
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent sauce for the slow cooker
April 29, 2012
Used the slow cook method with beef. Fantastic aroma and flavor. Meat was very tender. Definitely the great stuff!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SecaucusGrandma22
,Secaucus
,NJ
Secaucus
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fed the Garbage Pail
March 27, 2012
This is the worst dinner I have made with a ready made sauce! I hope the other sauces are better. If this was the first I had Bought from WS it would have been the last. I wasted 10.00 worth of beef!!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 9 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
atswan
,Pittsburgh
,PA
Pittsburgh, PA
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just ok...
February 26, 2012
For $17, I expected something really tasty. This was not worth the price. I tried it with beef. I felt like I could have made something just as good using Campbell's soup.
Given the price and that this is WS, I had high hopes. I bought some other sauces this weekend as well. Hoping those are a lot better.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodFoodLover
,Tigard
,OR
Tigard, OR
December 16, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than I expected
December 16, 2011
At first, I thought this will be another version of beef stew or Beef Bourginion as I experienced but it was a pleasant surprise. It has strong balsamic vinegrette taste prior to cooking then after simmering, hmmm, it tastes just right. That beer and vinegar did increase the appetite for sure. For all the sauce, I would recommend add a little water while slow cook or it will turn out too thick and dry. I actually liket his one better than the beef stew and looking forward to entertain with it in the future.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: pricy
Review 11 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Armybrat
,VA
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This stuff is wonderful
November 26, 2011
I've used this sauce a dozen times and I still can't get enough of it. It could not be easier to use--brown the meat, cover it in sauce and put in the oven. and voila! fabulous stew. The flavors are complex, sweet with onions and tangy with beer. I've made wonderful Belgian beer beef stews for many years, but this is the best ever. And it smells heavenly. Although it makes a big pot of stew and is great for a big group, you will want to keep it all for yourself.....
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
aabb
,DE
DE
September 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A dissapointment
September 14, 2011
I am going to have to disagree with some of the other reviews. This was a rare dud among WS's sauces. I found it both too salty and uninteresting.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, salty
Review 13 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
uvrail
Basking Ridge, N.J.
May 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much pepper
May 1, 2011
We have tried several of the bases and sauces that Williams Sonoma sells. We have liked many EXCEPT, this..way too much pepper. The scent while it was cooking was pleasant and inviting.
Unfortunately, the pepper flavor was so over powering , we most certainly would not try this again
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, too spicy
Review 14 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurieDs
Roseville, CA
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
our favorite sauce
April 28, 2011
we have tried almost all of the WS sauces and this one we loved. We served it over mashed potatoes. Easy and wonderful!
Review 15 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madmax
NJ
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelieveable
March 7, 2011
I used this over the rainy week-end with chicken. The fragrance that filled the house was mouth-watering. I served with noodles and steamed broccoli. It was incredible. So much flavor from one jar. Must have on hand at all times.
Review 16 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLBR
February 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous One Pot Meal!
February 9, 2011
I used the sauce to make a wonderful beef stew with root vegetables. Seared stew meat in a dutch oven, added Yukon gold potatoes, carrots, parsnips & the sauce then put it in the oven for about an hour. Couldn't be easier or tastier!
Review 17 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vlyred
Bakersfield, CA
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful braising sauce!
January 18, 2011
Made this scrumptious dish according to the directions and it turned out perfect. I used the all-day slow cooker method and although I was a bit concerned early in the day that the meat was tough, by late afternoon the meat was tender and filled with incredible flavor. I am stocking up on this lovely sauce. Perfect for company and ease of use!
Review 18 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KristinaP
Eugene, OR
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Saves the Day!
January 7, 2011
I made this for the first time recently, and my son and husband raved about it!! It was so simple, yet incredibly wonderful. I immediately ordered 4 more to have on hand for "last minute" guests - it's so easy that it takes only 15 minutes and makes enough to feed 5 easily! I added a little sour cream to it last time I made it, and it was delicious! This is my favorite staple to have on hand...
Review 19 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChicagoCook84
Chicago, IL
November 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Dutch Oven
November 3, 2010
I used this with beef and cooked in a dutch oven. Very simple - 1 pot easy clean up. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots. Enjoyed putting it in the oven and moving on with the rest of my day at home.
Review 20 for Belgian Beer & Onion Braising Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
buckle
Chicago, IL
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Real good with Chicken
October 18, 2010
I was very satisfied with the flavor of this sauce. It appeared to be watered down a bit by the chicken juices, but still provided a good flavor. Definitely recommend for a slow cooker evening.
page1 2 next