Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Beggar's Purses

Beggars can be choosers with these tasty pouches of savory fillings bundled up in wonton wrappers to make tidy, easy-to-prepare bites. Substantial enough to serve as a light entree with a side salad, they're also excellent as quick appetizers or party snacks. Simply pull from the freezer, fry or bake until crisp and serve. Choose from two assortments of three different flavors. Assorted Meat: Includes 12 BBQ Pork, tender pulled pork in a sweet-smoky barbecue sauce, 12 Chipotle Chicken, shredded chicken breast in a mild smoky chipotle sauce, and 12 Spinach & Prosciutto, savory, salty prosciutto balanced with spinach and a rich sauce of cream, feta and Parmesan cheese. Assorted Vegetable: Includes 12 Artichoke Heart & Sundried Tomato, tender artichoke hearts with cream, Parmesan cheese, pesto and pine nuts, 12 Black Bean & Corn, a blend of black beans, roasted corn and cheddar cheese with a spicy kick from jalapenos and cayenne pepper, and 12 Brie & Mushroom, a creamy mixture of rich double-creme brie, earthy mushrooms and breadcrumbs. 36 pieces total, 12 of each flavor (36 oz. total). 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" high Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beggar's Purses
Review 1 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Unionn
,NJ
February 3, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Plain Yummy!
February 3, 2016
The beggars purses were a big hit when I served them. It is a nice variety of flavors to please all tastes and they all went! High quality as with all your products, and just plain yummy! Served them as appetizers but could have made a meal of them !
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 2 for Beggar's Purses
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
January 2, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Way too salty
January 2, 2016
The spinach prosciutto beggar's purses were way too salty. For that price I expected better quality and flavor. Did not serve them to guests.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, price
Review 3 for Beggar's Purses
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
December 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty on a plate - but that's it
December 28, 2015
They look amazing on a service platter. That's where the pros end. The pork? Didn't taste like any pulled pork one would expect. In fact, it tasted exactly like every other sample on the dish - and that's not a good thing. The spinach ones were actually inedible. Very disappointing at a very high price tag.
Pros: Good for Entertaining
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Farmington
,CT
September 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy Bite
September 27, 2015
Served the Spinach and Ham at a Dinner Party last evening. Guests loved them as did my husband and I. had only baked 12 of them and I was sorry I didn't do more. Great to have in the freezer.
A bit pricey but yummy.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Cons: price
Review 5 for Beggar's Purses
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,New Orleans
,LA
September 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They all went in the Garbage!
September 6, 2015
In July 2015 I bought the meat and veggie selections of Beggar's Purses.. I cooked them exactly as instructed, and went next door to my friend's house to serve them hot during her Anniversary Party. I knew something was wrong when I saw adults and children spitting them out in napkins. We took the remaining in the kitchen and cut one of each in half. The Chicken purses were nothing but black beans! The Pork looked and tasted like mashed black beans. Neither tasted like meat and we didn't see any. Since they are relatively small and the wrappers are thick, the filling would not justify the price.. Only the Spinach was edible and half were too salty. We didn't see or taste any meat. . We order often from Williams-Sonoma online, but because of this, we will not be ordering Food items again.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Texture, smell, Ingredients, mostly inexpensive fillers, didn't see or taste chicken or pork
Review 6 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
July 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unusual gift idea
July 5, 2015
Sent them as gifts, veggie and meat options. Everyone really liked them.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 7 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mobile
,Al
June 24, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GreatTreat
June 24, 2015
These were wonderful. I keep some in my freezer for cocktails with friends.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 8 for Beggar's Purses
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Olympia
,WA
June 11, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing to Write Home About
June 11, 2015
These were very greasy. They were easy to heat up. The flavors were OK but nothing to write home about, Frankly they are not the sort of thing I would want anyone to think I had made myself. I will not buy them again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy
Review 9 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Palm Springs
,Ca
June 8, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One Word....Delicious
June 8, 2015
These are excellent and the fact they are on sale makes it all the better. To sum up...don't miss these and they are extraordinarily delicious.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor
Review 10 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buffalo
,NY
April 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, Tasty Appetizer
April 20, 2015
I tried the meat variety and enjoyed each kind. The Chipotle chicken has a nice smokey flavor with a little kick, the BBQ pork is a tasty bite of tender pork and the spinach-prosciutto offers a delicious blend of flavors. We liked these so much that I already ordered more. Great as an app before dinner or a light lunch for 2 with a side salad. No fuss or muss, either, just bake and serve. Very nice!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 11 for Beggar's Purses
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Robbinsville
,NJ
April 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty Treat
April 25, 2014
I enjoyed the black bean and corn, and the BBQ purses. They go very well with a frosty margarita . We made these on an ordinary Sunday and will do it again.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,chicago
,il
February 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
deliious and easy
February 6, 2014
cant find one thing bad to say! perfection great taste easy and quick. can use as appetizer or light dinner
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Beggar's Purses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Desert
,Or
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious little morsels
January 9, 2014
These bake quickly and provide a nice bite for a quick lunch. I especially liked the cheese/mushroom .
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor