Beer Making Kits

With their apartment-friendly beer-making kits, Erica Shea and Stephen Valand of the Brooklyn Brew Shop make it easy to craft artisanal beer - right in your own kitchen. Showcasing the finest barley, hops, yeast and spices, your all-natural home-crafted brew will taste as great as the premium artisanal beers served at the best brew pubs. Choose from Everyday IPA, Summer Wheat or Bruxelles Blonde. Step-by-step instructions guide you through every stage: the mash, the sparge, the boil, fermentation and bottling. Includes the specialty equipment and ingredients you'll need for home-brewing, including enough grain, hops and yeast for your first batch. Additional equipment and ingredients required: 6-qt. pot, fine-mesh strainer, funnel, honey and ice. The entire brewing process takes approximately 30 days. Each mix produces 1 gal. beer. Equipment can be reused over and over to make more additional batches of beer. Made in the USA. Choose from the following flavors: Everyday IPA: a pub favorite with bold, hops-intensive flavor. Summer Wheat: a light-bodied ale, gently spiced by American white wheat. Bruxelles Blonde: a light-bodied Belgian Ale with a hint of sweetness. Earthy and spicy.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beer Making Kits
Review 1 for Beer Making Kits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
saltybones
,Columbus
,OH
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Beer But...
June 23, 2013
This is a really fun thing to have and although messy and time consuming it makes delicious beer. Before you brew make sure you have everything including the right size strainer and pots. Also make sure to get a box of bottles as well as the caps and the capper. It helps if two people do it together but I just finished my first brew and it is awesome!!!
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Great Gift
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 2 for Beer Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeffnsar
,Salisbury
,MD
June 29, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lot of fun!
June 29, 2012
We have not tasted our "brew" yet as it still has a week and a half to sit before bottling, but it was great fun and fairly easy to do, although somewhat messy and uses a lot of different pans....but hopefully it will be worth it (I don't drink but my husband has a beer once a week, so we hope it will be good!)
Pros: easy and fun
Review 3 for Beer Making Kits
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FlamingoGiraffe
,Buffalo
,NY
June 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High Stress, But Good Results
June 22, 2012
Be advised: This kit is not a good choice if you don't already have several large pots, a strainer with very small holes, a funnel, and some way to bottle the beer. I don't think that swingtop bottles are quite as ubiquitous as the kit instructions make them out to be...I ended up using bottles from French lemonade. However, despite a large amount of sediment ending up in the beer, everyone who has tried it likes it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rolando
Fernley, NV
Posted August 10, 2012
Grolsch
Flamingo - Grolsch is a fairly ubiquitous beer that has a swing top cap; you can also get them from your friendly local home brew shop.
I don't recall if the instructions mention it, but I highly recommend *not* reusing the washers from the bottles. you can get them really cheap (< $10 / 100).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Beer Making Kits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsJohnston
,Jacksonville
,FL
Dallas, TX
April 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT GIFT!
April 11, 2012
Beer is a little harder to make than the kit lets on, but made a great gift for my brother's 23rd birthday. Bought this and a pair of engraved glass beer mugs. Just perfect. The process of making beer takes about a month! Hoping it turns out to be as delicious as they promise!
... there is also a gorgeous glass jug included (that I plan to use for decorating after we've made the beer a few times!)
Review 5 for Beer Making Kits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lissiehoya
,Saint Louis
,MO
March 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
At Least It Made Beer
March 25, 2012
This kit includes almost everything that you need to make beer. One of the things that you really need that we didn't have was a fine mesh strainer, so make sure that you have one of those before you try to make the beer. Ultimately, this kit is not as easy to use as it seems. The beer that we made was... okay... drinkable, but not very good. We're definitely going to try again, but be warned that your first attempt may not turn out so well.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use