Beef Stew Braising Sauce

Beef stew is one of those hearty, comforting dishes American families love but frequently don't have time to prepare. Our timesaving starter makes it easy to prepare a hearty beef stew-even on the busiest weeknights. We've simmered ripe tomatoes, fire-roasted peppers, chilies, dark beer and other premium ingredients for hours to achieve the depth and complexity of a homemade sauce. For a delicious family-friendly meal, just combine the starter with carrots, potatoes and cubes of browned beef, then simmer in a slow cooker or Dutch oven. 1 lb. 8.5 oz. (makes 6-8 servings) Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orting
,WA
March 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another use
March 21, 2015
I LOVE this and use it in my crock pot on a cold winter's day. Kids are grown so there are only 2 of us for dinner. However, I will cook a large pot roast and then take the left over meat & all of the left over sauce (no leftover veggies), and place it into a storage bag and then into the freezer. Later, I'll use it as the start of my Vegetable Beef soup. It's adds great depth of flavor and with only needing the vegies to cook & soften, the soup comes together quickly and the meat is already tender.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mission Viejo
,CA
November 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best beef stew ever
November 29, 2014
I just made this for my husband and I and it is AMAZING. After caramelizing the beef, I added the starter to the pan and got it simmering. In a roasting pan I had carrots, potatoes, and an entire onion cubed and poured the meat and starter over it, added a bit of water, and put it all in the oven at 350 degrees for 3 hours. After 3 hours I added frozen corn and cooked it for another half hour. So yummy and my husband loves it.
Review 3 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NJ
January 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Happy!
January 11, 2014
This is a very, very good starter. I wasn't sure if I'd like it but it's one of the best stews I've ever made!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent sauce
December 31, 2013
We greatly enjoyed lamb made in the slow cooker with this sauce. If you prefer lamb to beef, you might want to try to make lamb stew with potatoes, parsnips and carrots.
Review 5 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Irving
,TX
August 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
August 19, 2013
I enjoy cooking from scratch, but thought I would try this sauce when I was in a hurry. Well, my spouse and I couldn't wait for it to be finished cooking. It was delicious! So far I have purchased 5 bottles, and have ordered 4 more. My pantry will never have less than 2 bottles in it, ever! Please William Sonoma, keep this product forever.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 6 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made a Great Meal
February 12, 2013
Used this product and followed the oven method. I wasn't all that hopeful as I was using a chuck roast that had been in the freezer a bit too long. I added carrots and potatoes as directed and then decided to throw in a handful of mushrooms that had been lingering in the crisper drawer. About an hour into cooking the smell filled the house. By the end of the third hour we were all staring at the oven timer. The end result was delicious, rich and flavorful. Serves about 6 people.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Beef Stew Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 28, 2012
Never made beef stew from scratch, and won't anytime soon unless I'm using this starter! It was hearty and delicious, my husband was crazy about it, and leftovers froze very nicely. In addition to carrots and potatoes, I added mushrooms and onions.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor