Beef Stew Starter

Beef stew is one of those hearty, comforting dishes American families love-and so do we. With our slow-simmered starter, it's easy to serve up a homemade stew, even on hectic weeknights. We've combined ripe tomatoes, fire-roasted peppers, chilies and dark beer to create the foundation for a satisfying stew-just add beef and fresh veggies. 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Stew Starter
Review 1 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jamf
,NJ
January 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Happy!
January 11, 2014
This is a very, very good starter. I wasn't sure if I'd like it but it's one of the best stews I've ever made!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitkat343
December 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent sauce
December 31, 2013
We greatly enjoyed lamb made in the slow cooker with this sauce. If you prefer lamb to beef, you might want to try to make lamb stew with potatoes, parsnips and carrots.
Review 3 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parme
,Irving
,TX
August 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
August 19, 2013
I enjoy cooking from scratch, but thought I would try this sauce when I was in a hurry. Well, my spouse and I couldn't wait for it to be finished cooking. It was delicious! So far I have purchased 5 bottles, and have ordered 4 more. My pantry will never have less than 2 bottles in it, ever! Please William Sonoma, keep this product forever.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made a Great Meal
February 12, 2013
Used this product and followed the oven method. I wasn't all that hopeful as I was using a chuck roast that had been in the freezer a bit too long. I added carrots and potatoes as directed and then decided to throw in a handful of mushrooms that had been lingering in the crisper drawer. About an hour into cooking the smell filled the house. By the end of the third hour we were all staring at the oven timer. The end result was delicious, rich and flavorful. Serves about 6 people.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 5 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMahoney
October 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 28, 2012
Never made beef stew from scratch, and won't anytime soon unless I'm using this starter! It was hearty and delicious, my husband was crazy about it, and leftovers froze very nicely. In addition to carrots and potatoes, I added mushrooms and onions.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 6 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peanut724
,Parker
,CO
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Stew Starter is Wonderful
December 23, 2011
I made this two days ago. I used the slow cooker method and followed the recipe exactly. It was super simple to prepare, the house smelled wonderful, and the finished dish looked beautiful. My family absolutely loved it. My husband said that it was a stew like you would find in a good restaurant. We will definity buy this again!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Beef Stew Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LakeMartincook
,Lake Martin
,AL
Alabama
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the Best
November 26, 2011
I am generally a huge fan of the starters and sauces, but I felt this one was just okay. Although I seasoned the meat before I added it to the slow cooker, I felt the end result needed salt. And the sauce of the stew was thin. I wouldn't buy this one again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 8 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoTasty
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Outstanding
May 16, 2011
I just made this. The only alterations to the recipe were some pearl onions at the 2 hour mark and then some flour and wine to finish the sauce on the stove after I took the stew out of the oven. It easily turned into the best thing I have ever cooked. I kept on repeating "I can't believe I cooked this" and my fiance may have been using profanity to express is love for the dish.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 9 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookiebaker925
Falls Church, VA
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Good and So Easy
March 23, 2011
Made the beef stew in my Le Creuset Dutch Oven. Used less meat and more potatoes & carrots. The smell coming from the oven was intoxicating. Served with a fresh crusty baguette and a salad. True comfort food. Can't wait to make this again.
Review 10 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foxyd
US
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My family loved it!
February 24, 2011
Have made this two times, both being for company. Received rave reviews! It is so simple to prepare in the crockpot and so delicious!!
Review 11 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rustys2
Cadiz, KY
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A delicious time saver
February 17, 2011
I've used many of the W-S sauces and all are excellent. I keep them on hand so that when I have one of those days when I don't have much time to spend on meal preparation, I know that I will still be able to put a good meal on the table.
Review 12 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marre
Burr Ridge Il
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beef Stew Starter
February 15, 2011
SOOOOOOOOOO Good!! Your home smells wonderful-- Perfect for those chilly days....We all loved it , good on the 2nd day too!!
Review 13 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doglvr
Tucson, AZ
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest Beef Stew
February 7, 2011
This was so easy. I used Yukon gold potatoes, whole baby carrots and added an onion to the recipe in addition to the stew meat. I served it over egg noodles. It had a very homemade flavor. I would definitely buy it again.
Review 14 for Beef Stew Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jillysma
Staten Island, NY
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It 's okay
February 3, 2011
We wanted to love it....but we have tasted better....it was just okay.
Review 15 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaulainSC
Clemson, SC
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Beef Stew
January 27, 2011
I have been searching for the perfect Beef Stew Recipe so I thought I would give this a try. I was pleasantly surprised! You never know what you are going to get when you buy something ready-made. This did not disappoint. VERY GOOD!!! Thanks WS for the best products!
Review 16 for Beef Stew Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tina09
Clearwater, FL
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as excited about this like other reviewers
January 11, 2011
I bought this stew starter based on the rave reviews. I made a special trip to my local Williams- Sonoma store just to buy it and prepare if for a Sunday dinner. I have to say that I was a little disappointed with the final result. I used the slow cooker method and although the meat was fork tender, the sauce was a little watery and slightly bland. I doubt that I will buy this starter again. Disappointing over all.
Review 17 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teach1
NJ
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy and So Delicious!
December 24, 2010
I made this and the smell in our house was incredible! The beef came out so tender it was delicious! I added a pound of carrots (peeled and cut into one inch chunks) and a bag of baby yukon potatoes (cut in half) My husband and my mother in law (tough critics) loved it. I served it with egg noodle. It was so easy! I am keeping an extra jar on hand for snowy days! :)
Review 18 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billbaby
San Jose
November 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
November 13, 2010
This Beef Stew Starter is so tasty and such a wonderful meal. My family loves it and looks forward to it whenever I prepare it for dinner. I highly recommend it.
Review 19 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoCookChef
Boston, MA
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought on a Whim...Good Decision!
October 17, 2010
I had to stop at the WS store to get a few things, and discovered a wonderful smell coming from the store. I walked in, got what I needed but still noticed how great it smelled. I asked the cashier what they had been cooking and she told me the beef stew. Not being much of a cook (husband cooks, I clean) I snapped up the bottle seeing how easy it could be. It required few ingredients and was very easy to follow. I surprised the husband with the stew and it turned out wonderful! Only downside is cooking the meat for two hours in the slowcooker, then adding the other ingredients. Not something you can throw on and go to work. Still very very good. Would recommend to friends and plan on buying again.
Review 20 for Beef Stew Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amara28
Ct
October 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Stew.
October 14, 2010
Very easy to make and the results are fabulous. I put it over lg. egg noodles and the family loved it.