Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne

Boeuf bourguignonne is a specialty of France's Burgundian countryside; the rustic beef stew was even noted in Le Guide Culinaire by the chef Auguste Escoffier. Today, it's a beloved dinner party dish that's equally appropriate for a family supper, especially when you make it with our timesaving sauce. Our all-natural blend combines red wine, beef stock, cremini mushrooms and herbs for authentic French flavors. 1 lb. 8.5 oz. (makes 6 servings). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
17 of 26(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Riverside
,CA
May 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Braised Beef
May 22, 2016
Easy to use and mildly flavored. I used this braising sauce with sirloin cubes in a crock pot. Absolutely delicious over buttered noodles.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orlando
,FL
March 29, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good deep flavor
March 29, 2016
I use this often in the slow cooker over a roast, or other cut of beef. The sauce is rich and has deep flavor. I just poor over a roast, add beef broth to cover the meat, and away it goes...so easy!
When it is done, I take out the sauce, add mushrooms (personal choice), and reduce the sauce (since I add the broth). This sauce is good right out of the jar, so if you already have tender meat, I'd just pour it over and cook for a lot less time and it is a great meal.
Put the meat over pasta or a vegetable, and it is so good.
I did have to call for a replacement jar because the packaging was oddly not done well for shipping. This is the 1st time this has happened in many times that I have ordered. Usually the jars are well wrapped and packed, as the replacement jar was. The replacement jar arrived very quickly.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
January 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious, but mis-leading instructions
January 1, 2016
5 stars for taste and ingredients, 2 stars for the instructions. The bitter taste that other reviewers comment on is from too short a cooking time and too high a cooking temp. You should cook this on LOW for 8-10 hours. I browned the meat, added a sautéed onion, and cooked on low for 8 hours and added the carrots to cook for another two hours (on low). After all that, I added a half pound of cooked & crumbled bacon, a pound of mushrooms (sautéed in bacon grease of course), and pearl onions also sautéed in bacon grease (on low for 20 minutes, per Julia Child). It got better reviews than my 3-hour-prep-time-from-scratch version... Sigh.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Authentic
Cons: poor cooking instructions
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Ramona
,CA
December 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Has Quite A Vinegar Bite!
December 27, 2015
Not that great and No, I would not buy it again. It has such a bite to it that it's really not that enjoyable. Since I made it only for me, I'll live with it, but I definitely won't buy it again.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Tega Cay
,SC
November 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs Adjustments
November 12, 2015
Excellent dish BUT
Carrots need more than one hour to cook
AND
If your follow the directions for cooking time, you will get a distinctive vinegar taste. Allow an extra one to two hours of cooking time, add some mushrooms in the last hour and you will have an excellent dish and will have saved hours of prep. and have a 5 star meal. Serve with egg noodles or mashed potatoes.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
November 3, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Shortcut that doesn't taste that way.
November 3, 2015
Literally an Awesome Sauce for coming out of a jar and saving a lot of time. I did this with a following the directions on the jar and cooked in a slow-cooker. We did not add onions and carrots, but during the last hour we did add cubed yukon potatoes. It was a terrific dinner. All the flavor and aroma of having added red wine (without having to share the bottle at the table.) Had I not added the potatoes, my husband would have served over rice or egg noodles - so next time I'll compromise. So glad to have found such a terrific product.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Pittsburgh
,PA
March 30, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably Horrible
March 30, 2015
The headline on this review really does say it all. Not since I misguidedly purchased an Emeril marinate for chicken have I experienced such a calamity of conflicting flavor profiles.
Avoid at all costs!
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, smell, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Milwaukee
,WI
February 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Tasty
February 2, 2015
This was easy to prepare and very good! I wanted to make a note about the other reviewers who noted a vinegar taste. I think they may be using cocktail pearl onions instead of the frozen ones.
I will make this again for sure. I also have tired 2 other sauces which were also great!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Sonoma
,CA
November 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just awful
November 3, 2014
As one who has prepared Boeuf Bourguignon for years using Julia Child and Gourmet recipes, I was sickened by the smell of this sauce and upset at the waste of good beef. If one has never eaten properly prepared 'beef' Bourguigon, one might not know better. This tastes artificial and smells pretty bad. I threw it away. Will not be buying other sauces as I also know what coq au vin should taste like.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, smell, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Eden Prairie
,MN
August 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Dinner
August 9, 2014
I have made dinner for special occasions numerous times with this Beef Bourguignonne base and have always have rave reviews. In fact, I made it last year for our Christmas Eve dinner and my family is already asking for a repeat menu.
Don't question purchasing this product. It's wonderful over creamy mashed potatoes.
When I do make it, I make a double batch but I don't send any leftovers home with company. Shhhhh. . . don't tell them!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Canton
,MI
Canton, MI
February 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Crockpot
February 17, 2014
I used my Williams Sonoma crockpot- All Clad- with the metal insert. I did not expect this recipe to be very good since I was using jar sauce. I was completely wrong. It was amazing. I followed the recipe, but used a great quality meat from my local specialty store. The meat was so tender and the flavor was phenomenal. I will ABSOLUTELY be using this again. For those reviewers that had an odd taste, I wonder if it was an unusual bad batch...
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Reston
,VA
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sour Taste
December 19, 2013
I was very disappointed in this product. It had a very strange sour taste and made the meat seem like it was spoiled or rotten. My family coud not eat it so we threw it out. I purchased several of these braising sauces from WS and none have been great, but this was by far the worst.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Antonio
,TX
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sour tasting
November 10, 2013
I have bought a selection of cooking sauces from Williams-Sonoma with which I have been very pleased. However, like other reviewers, I was very disappointed in this product and surprised at the number of high reviews it has received.. To me, and my spouse, this sauce had a strongly sour taste. I can only think that possibly the type or quality of wine used has infused the taste of vinegar to the sauce. I would not serve this to guests, nor would I purchase it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile, Wonderful Scents While Cooking
July 12, 2013
I've used this product as a pot luck dish and as a regular meal with my family. It's so aromatic (especially in my slow cooker), looks great (with the carrots and onions) and tastes fantastic! I have the All Clad slow cooker with the insert, so it's a 1 pan recipe for me (easy clean-up) and yet looks so good in the beautiful cooker. BTW, when I checked Time-Saver, I meant that with this sauce, buying all of the seasonings and the base have been eliminated. Just pour, set the cooker, and go do other chores while it is cooking.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Penn Valley
,PA
Penn Valley, PA
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better the second day
January 9, 2013
I bought 4 jars. My teen son liked it too. I found the flavor to be better as a leftover!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it and so easy
December 30, 2012
This made an excellent stew. To save time, I bought some quality cubed stewing beef from the butcher shop. (Don't ever buy stewing beef from the grocery store though ...its terrible and chewy.) I then used baby carrots, and chopped onion from the produce section. All I had to do was fry up the bacon. I served it over mashed potatoes with some nice crusty bread. So good. I would definitely buy this one again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NYC
,NY
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fab-u-loso!
December 27, 2012
We used the base for our beef bourguignonne, and the outcome was honestly the best we have ever tasted, even better than my own from-scratch. Very deep, rich taste---a genuine enhancement to the dish. What a pleasure, and so easy.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kalamazoo
,MI
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Starter
June 27, 2012
This sauce made a wonderful Beef Bourguignonne. I did add some fresh sauteed mushrooms and used fresh pearl onions, not frozen. Will definitely buy this again.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Maui
,HI
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Alas, too vinegary for me too
June 12, 2012
I was hoping for the positive result reported by some reviewers, but came to the same conclusion others have reported about a strong taste of vinegar. I followed the stovetop method of preparation as outlined on the jar label.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Braising Sauce, Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lake Oswego
,Or
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite sauce so far
April 22, 2012
I recently purchased my first Le Creuset round casserole with lid. It was recommended to me to try the Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base as my first dish. Oh my dear this was a fabulous dish and we wanted to lick the casserole clean. I'm now excited to try other base sauce for maybe a chicken dish. Its alittle pricey for my budget but I hope to try one every month.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
page1 2 next