Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base

Boeuf bourguignonne is a legendary specialty of France's Burgundian countryside; the rustic beef stew was even noted in Le Guide Culinaire by the chef Auguste Escoffier. Today, it's a beloved dinner party dish that's equally appropriate for a family supper, especially when you make it with our timesaving sauce. We've combined hearty red wine, mushrooms, leeks and shallots for authentic French flavors. 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.438 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
10 of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
Review 1 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitKatMocha
,Canton
,MI
Canton, MI
February 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Crockpot
February 17, 2014
I used my Williams Sonoma crockpot- All Clad- with the metal insert. I did not expect this recipe to be very good since I was using jar sauce. I was completely wrong. It was amazing. I followed the recipe, but used a great quality meat from my local specialty store. The meat was so tender and the flavor was phenomenal. I will ABSOLUTELY be using this again. For those reviewers that had an odd taste, I wonder if it was an unusual bad batch...
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
catcaracci
,Reston
,VA
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sour Taste
December 19, 2013
I was very disappointed in this product. It had a very strange sour taste and made the meat seem like it was spoiled or rotten. My family coud not eat it so we threw it out. I purchased several of these braising sauces from WS and none have been great, but this was by far the worst.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 3 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AspiringGourmand
,San Antonio
,TX
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sour tasting
November 10, 2013
I have bought a selection of cooking sauces from Williams-Sonoma with which I have been very pleased. However, like other reviewers, I was very disappointed in this product and surprised at the number of high reviews it has received.. To me, and my spouse, this sauce had a strongly sour taste. I can only think that possibly the type or quality of wine used has infused the taste of vinegar to the sauce. I would not serve this to guests, nor would I purchase it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TessInHouston
,Houston
,TX
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile, Wonderful Scents While Cooking
July 12, 2013
I've used this product as a pot luck dish and as a regular meal with my family. It's so aromatic (especially in my slow cooker), looks great (with the carrots and onions) and tastes fantastic! I have the All Clad slow cooker with the insert, so it's a 1 pan recipe for me (easy clean-up) and yet looks so good in the beautiful cooker. BTW, when I checked Time-Saver, I meant that with this sauce, buying all of the seasonings and the base have been eliminated. Just pour, set the cooker, and go do other chores while it is cooking.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 5 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shelly2010
,Penn Valley
,PA
Penn Valley, PA
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better the second day
January 9, 2013
I bought 4 jars. My teen son liked it too. I found the flavor to be better as a leftover!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Review 6 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sparty416
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it and so easy
December 30, 2012
This made an excellent stew. To save time, I bought some quality cubed stewing beef from the butcher shop. (Don't ever buy stewing beef from the grocery store though ...its terrible and chewy.) I then used baby carrots, and chopped onion from the produce section. All I had to do was fry up the bacon. I served it over mashed potatoes with some nice crusty bread. So good. I would definitely buy this one again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ronay
,NYC
,NY
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fab-u-loso!
December 27, 2012
We used the base for our beef bourguignonne, and the outcome was honestly the best we have ever tasted, even better than my own from-scratch. Very deep, rich taste---a genuine enhancement to the dish. What a pleasure, and so easy.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WellSeasoned
,Kalamazoo
,MI
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Starter
June 27, 2012
This sauce made a wonderful Beef Bourguignonne. I did add some fresh sauteed mushrooms and used fresh pearl onions, not frozen. Will definitely buy this again.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 9 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mspw
,Maui
,HI
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Alas, too vinegary for me too
June 12, 2012
I was hoping for the positive result reported by some reviewers, but came to the same conclusion others have reported about a strong taste of vinegar. I followed the stovetop method of preparation as outlined on the jar label.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuffeeM
,Lake Oswego
,Or
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite sauce so far
April 22, 2012
I recently purchased my first Le Creuset round casserole with lid. It was recommended to me to try the Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base as my first dish. Oh my dear this was a fabulous dish and we wanted to lick the casserole clean. I'm now excited to try other base sauce for maybe a chicken dish. Its alittle pricey for my budget but I hope to try one every month.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 11 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
karent47
April 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
damaged goods
April 9, 2012
Unfortunately this item arrived broken and moldy in the box so I don't know if I would have liked it or not. I was very disappointed as I was looking forward to trying it.
Review 12 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jaseljr
,Franklin
,Pa
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do Not Bother With this Starter!
February 27, 2012
Having had some good luck with other Williams Sonoma starters, I ordered this in anticipation that it would be a savory time saver. This product was marginal at best. It was not savory nor particularly tasty. It had a very strong vinegar taste and it did not have that complex rich taste that bouruignonne should have. Do yourself a favor and pass on this product. Make it from scratch and you will be much happier. By the time I had worked to thicken the sauce, add more mushrooms, wine, demi glace and kitchen bouquet why didn't I just follow my own recipe? This product is a loser!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, Cost
Review 13 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAinNC
,Spring Lake
,NC
San Antonio, TX
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Dinner
February 16, 2012
This makes a wonderful dinner, fills the house with "yummy" aromas. Makes you hungry just waiting for it to be done.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 14 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Miamitech
,Miami
,Fl
January 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Strong flavor but delicious
January 27, 2012
I agree with the reviewers that it has a strong flavor and smell. I used a can of organic tomato sauce and 1/4 of the jar. My beef stew made with 2 lbs of cubed meat came out amazing! I cannot imagine only using this sauce alone, it would be far too rich for most people, myself included!
Pros: Texture, Time-saver
Cons: Unhealthy, smell
Review 15 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BiCoastalFoodie
,Hoboken
,NJ
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Sauce for Entertaining
January 8, 2012
This sauce is a staple in our house. I follow the recipe for "Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes" in the recipe section of this website and it comes out perfectly every time. Full of flavor and guaranteed to "wow" at the dinner table.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tara808
,Honolulu
,HI
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overpowering Vinegar taste/smell
January 2, 2012
I usually make Beef Bourguignon from scratch but received this for Christmas so thought I'd give it a go. It had an overpowering vinegar smell and taste that just got worse as it cooked. My two dinner companions agreed so I know it wasn't just me. Either I got a bad batch or the positive reviewers here have never had a proper Bourguignon. And to those touting it as a time/money saver..it really isn't. A decent crock pot Bourguignon recipe even using a bottle of $5 Cab is far superior in taste and takes the same amount of time to prepare.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor