Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker

From the French company renowned throughout Europe for baby food-related products, this compact countertop appliance makes it easy to prepare fresh, healthy meals for baby - from start to finish. A steamer, blender, warmer and defroster in one compact appliance. Steams vegetables, fruits, meat and fish in less than 15 minutes, preserving vitamins and flavors. Purees or blends foods to the desired consistency. Quickly reheats or defrosts precooked foods. BPA free. Recipes included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.496 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(383 Reviews) 383
339 of 383(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
Review 1 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jndp
July 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great customer service
July 27, 2013
I was given the Babycook as a gift three years ago when our first daughter was born. I used it for all sorts of foods when she was little and for applesauce and squash when she was older. When our second daughter was ready to start solid foods recently, I started using it again, only to realize that it was leaking. I found the customer service number, called, and was sent a new bowl immediately. I was so impressed with the service I received-- and just thrilled that I could continue to use my Babycook. Thank you so much!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, customer service!
Review 2 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryPickyShopper
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ABSOLUTELY LOVE
March 11, 2013
I have used this every single day and have loved it. from steaming veggies to pureeing fruits and cooking pasta, this has been easy and wonderful!!! cannot recommend highly enough. we travel a great deal and this is very easy to take with you and maintainbaby's healthy food choices!
Review 3 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sissa
,Calgary
,AB
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best baby item ever!
September 5, 2012
The Baby Beaba was indispensable during the first year of my daughter's life. I literally did not leave home without it (even hauling it to Hawaii on vacation!). I still use the Beaba containers for snacks in our diaper bag & look forward to using it again once baby #2 comes along.
If you are looking for a fantastic baby gift and you know for certain that the new Mom is interested in making her own food, this is the perfect gift!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Design
Review 4 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LoveWilliams
,Huntington Beach
,CA
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Water steamer stopped working.
March 19, 2012
After 5 uses this product stopped working. It still blends but will not cook the food. So I now have to heat the food first and then blend. I will not be buying another one like this from the same company. I do plan on getting a food processor or something that cooks and blends.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store, Loud, Size
Review 5 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vancouverkidsmom
,Vancouver
,BC
March 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
8of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really want to love it but it has issues
March 18, 2012
Had planned to use my steamer basket and food processor but got a Babycook for Xmas. I’ve steamed and pureed fruit, veg, meat, fish, grain, reheated and defrosted. I like that you can just set it and forget it and it’s easy enough to use and clean. Complaints about big batches are funny because I can’t do SMALL enough batches! I want to make one or two servings to eat that day not to give frozen food all the time or the same food day after day. Babycook does not mix small batches; I have to mash by hand! This is exactly what such a tiny appliance should do!
There are also design issues, not form (it’s cute) but function (it’s finicky). The spatula and mixing lid are awkward extras to keep track of and clean and the lid is useless. When you need to stir there are two messy lids to deal with and it works without it. The spatula is not good at scraping the bowl and lifting the hot basket could have been solved more intelligently. Teardrop lid handles are slippery and difficult to grasp.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed
Cons: Temperamental, not-durable, compromises in design make it awkward to use
Review 6 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scallau
,Redwood City
,CA
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Beaba Babycook
March 5, 2012
I'm a working mom and normally don't have much time to cook, but when it comes to my baby I wanted to make sure she would get healthy home made food. A couple of friends recommended the Beaba Babycook and also some people in the mom's group so I decided to try it out and I absolutely love it! I use it every day since I like to have my daughter eat fresh food. I know I could freeze some, but I just like the idea that she gets the whole nutrition. It takes me literally no time to make her food. I just peal, cut and throw into the babycook and leave it on while I'm doing other stuff. Then I just come back and blend. Cleaning is very easy and the babycook is small, so easy for storage as well. The blender works pretty good as well I just use enough water to have a soft puree. I love that I can give my daugther healthy home made food and the Beaba babycook makes it really easy for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lopi
,NC
February 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
February 28, 2012
I might have liked this product if 1) I was just an occassional user and didn't need it to make large amounts for storing (I make most of his food), and 2) didn't have an excellent food processor to compare it to. I think it is a poorly designed machine, and after 5 months of use the steam basket has warped and barely fits in. If cooking anything firm, like carrots, I end up having to puree in my processor because the motor and blade are so weak, which makes TWICE the dishes! Blah. I bought this to make it easier on myself, not harder. Also, I think it's ridiculous to have to stay and hold the button to blend.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Speed, Difficult to Clean, Power, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
graydog
,Minneapolis
,MN
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Product!
February 7, 2012
As a working mom I find it difficult to balance work and motherhood, but feeding my baby nutritious food is of the utmost importance. This machine has made making my own food slick and easy. So handy. Highly recommend this product to anybody.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 9 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WSFan1
,Fullerton
,CA
Orange County, CA.
December 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Machine
December 14, 2011
I was reluctant to purchase this item because of the expense, but after having read so many great reviews I decided to get it. This machine does NOT disappoint. I've made yams, pears, apples and squash--all steamed and pureed perfectly! If you fill up the steam basket with the food you want to make it will yield enough to fill the Beaba freezer tray. Bonus--it's super easy to use and super easy to clean too!
Tip: If you are pureeing first foods make sure you add enough water during blending so the food purees really well for your baby.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maui8220
,CA
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this is THE BEST
October 10, 2011
I was so excited about buying this for my second daughter because i really wanted to know she was getting the best by knowing what is exactly in her baby food! i use a lot of organic! steaming is so easy, i pretty much use water to the #3 line for everything except bananas. then puree! I also LOVE the multiportion food tray as well! the food is so fresh, smells great, tastes great, and looks great! my daughter wont eat any jarred baby food now that she has fresh/frozen baby food that ive made., ive even tasted the difference just to see why she wouldnt eat the jarred stuff compared to my baby food! HUGE DIFFERENCE. i wish i had this for my first daughter, maybe then she would have liked baby food! such a great investment esp. if you want more kids! easy cleanup. I also use it every time i want to reheat her food. i dont microwave it or let it sit out at room temperature. ive figured out how to use it best for us. its taken a while, but LOVE it. id buy it again in a heartbeat!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 11 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess6521
,Owings
,MD
October 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product!
October 3, 2011
This little dynamo made making my own babyfood a snap. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 12 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookswithlove
,Boulder
,CO
September 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have if you want to make your own baby food
September 27, 2011
We received this as a gift when I was pregnant with my first little one and fell in love the first time we used it! It is simple to use and makes making homemade baby food a breeze. Truly a must have if you are thinking you want to make your own baby food. The Babycook takes all the guesswork out of it and allows you more time to spend with your little one. I love it so much that I just bought one for my sister who is expecting her first in a few months.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 13 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blackbeltbird
Raleigh, NC
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a wonderful invention!
September 6, 2011
I got my Beaba Babycooker for a present for my first child, and it became the most used appliance while he ate baby food. It is efficient, easy to use, extremely practical, and takes up very little room on the counter. I even love how it looks. I am now using it for my second child and it is still working flawlessly. This as a must-have for every baby's kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 14 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyMommyof3
Northern California
July 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEABA is the best!
July 30, 2011
I LOVE this Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker. I debated about spending so much on a tiny machine, but I am glad I made the investment for my baby! The machine takes little space, and takes little time to cook and puree foods! Machine is strong and blade sharp enough to puree all the foods I cook in the machine. Clean up is a breeze. DEFINITELY WORTH IT!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BusyLady
Honolulu, HI
June 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Food has a weird taste.
June 23, 2011
I was so excited to get this and make baby food for my daughter. I followed the directions in steaming all the parts and running the machine then got ready to make some applesauce. My daughter wouldn't eat it. I tried it and everything I make has a metallic taste to it. I use filtered water so I don't think it is the water. Anyone else have this problem? Does anyone have any suggestions?
Cons: metallic taste
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Robz
Posted November 19, 2011
Bitter taste
I too tasted something funny in my new unit. I ran water (no food) through the boiler, and the taste was shockingly bitter. It was not metallic, I believe it has something to do with the plastic in the product, so a vinegar wash would not do anything to help. The taste persisted even through a dozen cycles of a new unit. I'm thinking a lot of parents are not tasting the food themselves, or are not running water through to see how the 'pure' water tastes after going through this machine. It may not be BPA, but it's something I'm not letting my baby ingest. Try running only water yourself through your new unit.
0points
Customer avatar
TrueblueEV
Amherst, MA
Posted September 25, 2011
Taste
I would suggest running two cycles of level 3 water with a teaspoon of white vinegar, then another 2 cycles of just water.
It is important to shut off (I even unplug) the machine immediately after use. Otherwise, the water reservoir element remains hot and begin to oxidize (white flakes).
Hope this helps, it really is and wonderful machine!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mommaof2under3
Minneapolis, MN
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
June 20, 2011
I have owned this product for over two years and I love it! Yes, it does not make large batches, but it's pretty easy to clean and make a second or third batch.
It's perfect for a busy mom. Chop up the veggies, add water, turn lever, check on baby, play a game with the toddler, and then it's ready for pureeing.
I've never had a problem with getting the right consistency or with getting the food fully cooked.
I highly recommended it anyone willing to spend the money on it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: price
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BakerMom
Valley Forge, PA
Posted August 30, 2011
spot on!
I logged on to comment about the beaba but your step by step description is my exact routine! and says it perfectly! I walk in the door after a busy day at work, thow stuff together in the steamer, change work clothes, check on baby, play with toddler- 15 minutes later and dinner is ready!
Last night I picked up a precooked rotisserie chicken from the store on my way home. I threw chicken and peaches together. Because that is what I had on hand. my tip is to leave some chucky for toddler, then puree smooth for baby. (depending on age/ stage of kids). Dinner for the whole family. 5 minutes prep, 15 minutes on the table.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KWolfe
Denver, CO
June 16, 2011
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not sure how I feel
June 16, 2011
Just a question and not a review, but it it really safe to cook in plastic? Especially because the steaming which takes it to such a high temperature when I think more of the contaminates are released in plastic. I know it is BPA free, but is it safe? I enjoy the ease of using the steamer, but after really thinking about it, not sure this is the best if I'm going to all the effort to make healthy food. Thoughts?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed, Design
Cons: Size, doesn't puree small enough for young baby
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lovemuffiinsmom
plymouth mi
Posted September 8, 2011
I agree with you about cooking in plastic, BPA free or not! I would not hesitate to buy this if it were glass instead.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WynterBird
Tacoma, WA
June 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Impressed
June 14, 2011
I was dead set on getting this, and tried, tried, tried to love it.
Here are a few of the problems I had with this product:
(1) instructions are poor
(2) blade was wobbly inside the mixing bowl
(3) too much clean up
(4) made very small batches
(5) lid never fit right on the bowl
In the end, I returned the product. I was very disappointed, especially considering what it cost.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 19 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AZmama
June 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beyond fabulous!
June 7, 2011
My mom bought this for me when I mentioned that I wanted to make my own baby food. I'm so glad she did! It makes preparing the food a breeze, from steaming to pureeing. I whip up a batch of food in no time with fresh fruit and veggies, then freeze individual cubes to defrost later. All natural, delicious food for my baby! I tried some store-bought food and the taste is nowhere near as nice as the fresh food I make with the Beaba, not to mention that with the Beaba, I know everything that goes into my baby's food.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 20 for Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
celiasmommy
Chicago
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good but small
June 7, 2011
I really enjoyed the "all in one" feature of this product, but when it came down to making enough food to keep my little one fed for more than a few days, this fell short. I have found it's easier to steam on the stovetop and use the Cuisinart to puree. I also don't believe the motor is strong enough because I can't blend to consistency in the Beaba.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Speed, Power, Size
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next