This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam

This delectable sweet onion jam is prepared in small batches by Braswell's, a family-owned food company in the heart of Georgia's Vidalia onion country. For Williams-Sonoma, they've created an exclusive version with the addition of balsamic vinegar and dark brown sugar. The jam's complex, sweet-savory balance is perfect with cheese and crackers or as a cooking glaze. Made with balsamic vinegar from Modena, Italy, dark brown pure cane sugar, and Vidalia sweet onions from Toombs County, Georgia. The sweet onions and dark brown sugar balance perfectly with the bold balsamic punch laced with hints of garlic and black pepper. Makes an elegant and easy appetizer served with assorted cheeses and crackers. Use it to top cream cheese or create brie en croute. Crown a platter of roasted lamb, or try as a delightful change of pace from cranberry sauce with roast turkey. Try it as a glaze for roasted or grilled poultry, pork and seafood. Packaged in a reusable glass tumbler ideal for serving juice. 11 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
Review 1 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fdez5
,Elk Grove
,CA
May 14, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for entertaining!
May 14, 2013
The first time I served this jam was for a book club meeting and the ladies loved it. Two of the ladies in my book club work at my son's school so I gave them each a jar for Christmas. Had another gathering at my house with different people and they also loved it. Just bought three more jars. One to keep and two to give to friends.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lmac
,Haymarket
,VA
October 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
OH. EMM. GEE
October 2, 2012
This stuff is AMAZING!! I purchased this awhile ago and then put it in my pantry and forgot about it. I recently came across it and set it out for a party with crackers and brie. HOLY MOLY!! I have already ordered 4 more jars! It is so delicious....my mom has already taken one of my "extras" to her house!! As a bonus, the little jar it comes in is so cute to keep. A+++
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EDRN
,Sacaramento
,CA
November 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great gift
November 11, 2011
I am usually leary when food items but I liked the container. The jam is phenomenal! Marvelous! I wish I had ordered 5 more when I had free shipping!
Have ordered another!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turnip
,Highland
,ca
September 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great treat
September 28, 2011
Great taste. It is package nicely to give as a gift.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 5 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmmmMaryAlice
,Mountain View
,CA
Mountain View, CA
September 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
fabulous, intense, one thin layer is perfect
September 24, 2011
one of my kids favorites for lunch...panini with a thin layer of this fabulous sweet balsamic onion jam then sharp cheddar and then thin sliced roast beef....fabulous! Make sure its this one, its texture and intensity is perfect. A nice little bonus is that the labels come off the jar pretty easily and it makes a great little every day glass that my kids really favor! Buy two when you can find it, they sell out!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 6 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cacklehill
Wasilla, Alaska
September 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
wonderful with cheeses
September 3, 2011
prompt shipping with careful packing. Beautiful reusable glass and delicious jam with cheese and crackers.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bevo4
Bristol, Virginia
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I COULD EAT IT STRAIGHT FROM THE LITTLE JAR
August 29, 2011
This is a wonderful condiment to serve with a grilled pork loin (which I did when I first served it) and it also could be used with any poultry, fish, lamb...pretty much any protein you can think of. I was concerned it might have been too heavy on the vinegar taste (no) or too sweet (no). It's a nice kinda chunky jelly-jam like consistency and I would definitely buy it again. It's different but not so much so that picky eaters wouldn't like it.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, unusual
Review 8 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Renorose
Pa
August 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious and Beautiful
August 27, 2011
I served this with a dinner of semi-soft cheeses, toasted baguette slices, fruits, toasted nuts and sauvignon blanc. It was a good partner to the other components. The consistency is more jelly than jam. I'll try it as a glaze next. The little jar is quite attractive.
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 9 for Balsamic Sweet Onion Jam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great12345
July 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great on burgers!
July 16, 2011
This item is great on Goat Cheese and add this to a burger excellent! - any you can reuse the glass when empty. I made pesto and stored it in the glass