Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System

Take on home canning with confidence, with no worries and no time-consuming stovetop monitoring. A first of its kind, the Ball FreshTECH electric canning system eliminates all the guesswork from preserving fresh produce to make jams, jellies, pickles and more. Innovative technology controls the exact time and temperature needed to can according to their recipes-simply press a button and foods are perfectly preserved every time. Faster, easier and more energy-efficient than water-bath canning, the Auto Canner is ideal for novice home canners looking for guidance as well as more experienced canners who want to save time. Automatic home-canning system simplifies the process of preserving your favorite fresh produce into jams, jellies, pickles, fruits, salsas, tomatoes, sauces and more. The most popular canning recipes are preprogrammed into the appliance, so you can preserve with the push of a button. Patent-pending SmartPRESERVE technology automatically senses and constantly monitors time and temperature and adjusts for altitude. Dual temperature sensors and seven built-in safety features ensure foods are processed at the correct temperature every time for safe, shelf-stable storage for up to a year. Eliminates the need for stovetop monitoring, providing valuable time savings for home canners. Preheats empty jars in 12 minutes before filling and preserving. Uses up to 30% less time, 60% less energy and 85% less water compared to traditional water-bath canning methods. Aluminum pot has a nonstick coating for easy cleanup. Includes stainless-steel jar rack and jar lifter. For use only with the tested recipes in the included recipe booklet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
Review 1 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
magzb
October 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipes are great and easy to follow
October 31, 2014
I've wanted to start canning for years, but it seemed daunting. This machine takes out the guess work, and the nervousness associated with canning. The recipes that are programmed are exactly what I need (BBQ sauce, tomato sauce, peaches)
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 2 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judy1368
,Kalispell
,MT
October 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ball Home Canning System
October 28, 2014
Very nice to free up the stove burners. Great product for year round preserving. I have only used it for jam preserving so far, but plan on using it to preserve extra spaghetti sauce etc.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 3 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzy01
,Bend
,OR
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The small batch preserving enthusiast!
October 6, 2014
This is great for the small garden growers. Either 3 quarts or 4 pints at a time. Quick recipes booklet and a short time for preserving. I even used my family recipes and followed the preserving time protocol in the booklet for similar batches. Easy to clean and store.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 4 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissFiFi
,New London
,OH
September 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Columbus Took A Chance!
September 11, 2014
Much going back & forth deciding whether or not to shell out the $$$ for this. Had enough time to play with & decided I love it! NOTE: it is NOT a pressure canner, but an electric water bath canner. I've done numerous pints of pasta sauce, tomato juice, puree tomatoes, pickles, banana peppers, okra, salsa, honey spiced peaches & drunken peaches. Jam is next with Auto Jam Maker, I like that it preps jars, is easy to use, recipes suit my needs(book & online), every burner on stove isn't in use as with traditional water bath canning method, didn't have to watch water boil & counter top wasn't cluttered with everything. I felt more in control of my canning & got a rhythm going from start to finish. Was nice to be able to walk away & just had to check once in a while to see if "tune" played alerting me that either jars done with prep or canning process complete. Fresh TECH may not be for everyone, but it definitely worked for me. I'm glad I purchased it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design, fun
Review 5 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mrsst1100
,Argyle
,Tx
August 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for beginners!
August 17, 2014
I really like my new canner. Have only frozen my vegetables in the past. Using this has really given me confidence in canning. Experienced canners might feel limited by the recipe choices, but it's great for beginners. I've never tried jelly before and the blackberry lime was yummy. It is a little pricey, but so far worth the money. Even my husband has joined in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 6 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardenGrower
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Caning Easier
August 10, 2014
This is a great unit. I don't need to monitor the water pot so I have more time to clean up and get the next batch ready. Comes with cook book and I purchased another Ball Food Preserving Cook Book. Ball also has a great web site for making conversions and learning caning tips.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 7 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Southerngirl1
July 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
20of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't can vegetables
July 21, 2014
I bought this canner primarily to can cabbage-based chow chow and soup mixture. I didn't realize until it came that it only cans fruits, not vegetables. Also the instructions say to only use their recipes, which are somewhat limited. The description on the WS website should be more clear about the limitations of the canner. I plan to return it.
Review 8 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurainTexas
,Sugar Land
,TX
July 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Time saving and efficient
July 13, 2014
I have used water bath canning before. This machine allows me to use fewer pots on the oven, keep the kitchen cooler and walk away once the jars are inside; three things I could not do before.
I am eagerly waiting for Ball to produce a similar product that can be used for low acid foods that require pressurized canning, but for now, I can put up several quarts of jam, sauce or pickles in record time and often do several consecutive batches when the garden is in full swing. The machine is expensive, but it has saved me so much time both before and after getting the jars in. It is so easy that my husband has even done a few batches!
Ball recommends you only use their recipes. Currently they have about 76 and I'm sure they will continue to add more.
If you're short on time, but want to put up your own food, this machine is a tremendous asset.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, keeps kitchen cool
Cons: expense, acidic foods only
Review 9 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Italiancook
,Lafayette
,Co
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new best friend
June 13, 2014
I love my new Tech machine. I have canned for many years, but as I have gotten older, sitting in front of a hot stove over boiling water had lost it's appeal . I found myself canning less and less. Since purchasing this new Tech canner,I have found a new joy in canning. It is so easy to use. Plus it does not heat up my kitchen or house as the old water boil method did. And clean up is a breeze.
As the other reviewer stated, you can only use the approved recipes , but I do not find that to be a problem. I will still need to water boil my large 1/2 gallon jars of tomato sauce, but everything else can be done in this machine!
If you have never canned before, or if you are an experienced canner, you will love the ease of this machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
,Long Island
,NY
Long Island, NY
February 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+56points
59of 62found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best for beginners like me
February 2, 2014
Altho' I am an avid cook, I never canned before bc it seemed too much of a bother. This has simplified it for me and got me started. You don't need to completely immerse the jars in water as in the conventional pot method, you only need 6 cups of water and the canner does the rest. It automatically times it from start to finish and signals when it's done. It comes with a book of recipes. There's an online site with more recipes for this unit. The only downside for advanced canners is this: Ball strictly advises using ONLY the recipes given for this canner. If you have other recipes, with different sugar/pectin/acid ratios, etc., they tell you simply NOT to go there, period. Overall, the learning curve is easy and fast. There are pros and cons, some of which I have listed. So far, I have made mostly jams/jellies, a Mexican salsa and an Italian bruschetta, and they all sealed perfectly. In summer I will go in more for canning tomato sauce, salsas, whole fruit, tomatoes, etc...
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Quiet