Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System

Take on home canning with confidence, with no worries and no time-consuming stovetop monitoring. A first of its kind, the Ball FreshTECH electric canning system eliminates all the guesswork from preserving fresh produce to make jams, jellies, pickles and more. Innovative technology controls the exact time and temperature required for Ball's recipes-simply press a button and foods are perfectly preserved every time. Faster, easier and more energy-efficient than water-bath canning, the Auto Canner is ideal for novice home canners looking for guidance as well as more experienced canners who want to save time. Automatic home-canning system simplifies the process of preserving high-acid fresh produce into jams, jellies, pickles, fruits, salsas, tomatoes, sauces and more. The most popular canning recipes are preprogrammed into the appliance, so you can preserve with the push of a button. Patent-pending SmartPRESERVE technology automatically senses and constantly monitors time and temperature and adjusts for altitude. Dual temperature sensors and seven built-in safety features ensure foods are processed at the correct temperature every time for safe, shelf-stable storage for up to a year. Eliminates the need for stovetop monitoring, providing valuable time savings for home canners. Preheats empty jars in 12 minutes before filling and preserving. Uses up to 30% less time, 60% less energy and 85% less water than traditional water-bath canning methods. Aluminum pot has a nonstick coating for easy cleanup. Includes stainless-steel jar rack and jar lifter. Designed for canning high-acid foods only (tomato based foods, jams, jellies, etc.); not intended for use with low-acid foods (meats, beans and corn). For use only with the tested recipes in the included recipe booklet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
Review 1 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Waco
,KY
August 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have to use their recipes
August 19, 2015
I have contacted this company several times and do not receive any response that they are working to improve this product. It was very pricey 3 years ago. Mainly I am unhappy because they will not tell you how to adapt your own recipes and all their recipes require using their mixes. I do not like to use mixes.
Pros: Durable, Time-saver
Cons: does not adapt to your own recipes
Review 2 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
August 17, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for heavy canning
August 17, 2015
Lovely for use in making jams and jellies, but back to back processing of tomato products grinds canner to halt. I am disappointed in the many limitations of this item.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 3 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Inlet
,Ny
July 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was good to be in a jam
July 19, 2015
I have never made jam before, but this appliance made it easy. The steps were automated and it didn't heat up my kitchen.
I plan on using it to can tomato when they are in season.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Size, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Grand Junction
,CO
June 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Perfect!
June 19, 2015
I was so excited to receive my new canning system yesterday; this morning I made two batches of yummy blackberry jam in less than two hours. I can't wait to try the salsas and seasoned tomatoes!
I am thrilled to have an appliance that makes preserving easier and more efficient. It's practically foolproof, and takes the intimidation factor right out of the equation. No more huge pots of water to fill, lug, watch, and then empty. No boiling jars. No hot kitchen. No adjusting for altitude. That alone makes it worth the price of the item.
The recipes are perfectly sized for the smaller quantities that are sufficient for my husband and me.
I highly recommend this appliance for anyone who wants to begin preserving, or who simply wants smaller quantities. You won't be sorry!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quiet, Speed, Size, Time-saver
Review 5 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!
May 16, 2015
We were so excited to receive this as a wedding present and have loved experimenting with different pickles and jams over the past week or so. I have always loved making jams, salsas, etc., but hated the traditional water bath method. I can't believe how fast and easy this is, and the best thing about it is that it doesn't put off any heat. I can't wait to really put it through its paces this summer--SO looking forward to being able to can without heating up my whole kitchen and spending hours waiting for the water to boil! I was worried about being constrained to the Ball recipes, but it looks like it'll be pretty easy to use this for my own recipes, too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Gaylord
,MI
April 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple to use for first time canning
April 1, 2015
We purchased this wonderful "Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System"
last August 2014 at the Sommerset Mall.
It was not on display on the shelves but the store representative at Williams Sonoma was very helpful! He took the time to locate it in the storage area. Most would not gone to the trouble (since it was not on display).
This was a pleasure to use the first time. It was not overly complicated. The directions were easy to follow. We made some great Strawberry Jam in the blue and green colored jars. Everything turned out better than we thought! Fresh fruit and wholesome ingredients makes it taste so good!
Can't wait to find fresh strawberries and cherries this spring and summer here in Michigan. This canning system will not disappoint !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipes are great and easy to follow
October 31, 2014
I've wanted to start canning for years, but it seemed daunting. This machine takes out the guess work, and the nervousness associated with canning. The recipes that are programmed are exactly what I need (BBQ sauce, tomato sauce, peaches)
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 8 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kalispell
,MT
October 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ball Home Canning System
October 28, 2014
Very nice to free up the stove burners. Great product for year round preserving. I have only used it for jam preserving so far, but plan on using it to preserve extra spaghetti sauce etc.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 9 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bend
,OR
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The small batch preserving enthusiast!
October 6, 2014
This is great for the small garden growers. Either 3 quarts or 4 pints at a time. Quick recipes booklet and a short time for preserving. I even used my family recipes and followed the preserving time protocol in the booklet for similar batches. Easy to clean and store.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New London
,OH
September 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Columbus Took A Chance!
September 11, 2014
Much going back & forth deciding whether or not to shell out the $$$ for this. Had enough time to play with & decided I love it! NOTE: it is NOT a pressure canner, but an electric water bath canner. I've done numerous pints of pasta sauce, tomato juice, puree tomatoes, pickles, banana peppers, okra, salsa, honey spiced peaches & drunken peaches. Jam is next with Auto Jam Maker, I like that it preps jars, is easy to use, recipes suit my needs(book & online), every burner on stove isn't in use as with traditional water bath canning method, didn't have to watch water boil & counter top wasn't cluttered with everything. I felt more in control of my canning & got a rhythm going from start to finish. Was nice to be able to walk away & just had to check once in a while to see if "tune" played alerting me that either jars done with prep or canning process complete. Fresh TECH may not be for everyone, but it definitely worked for me. I'm glad I purchased it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design, fun
Review 11 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Argyle
,Tx
August 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for beginners!
August 17, 2014
I really like my new canner. Have only frozen my vegetables in the past. Using this has really given me confidence in canning. Experienced canners might feel limited by the recipe choices, but it's great for beginners. I've never tried jelly before and the blackberry lime was yummy. It is a little pricey, but so far worth the money. Even my husband has joined in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 12 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Caning Easier
August 10, 2014
This is a great unit. I don't need to monitor the water pot so I have more time to clean up and get the next batch ready. Comes with cook book and I purchased another Ball Food Preserving Cook Book. Ball also has a great web site for making conversions and learning caning tips.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 13 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
July 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
27of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't can vegetables
July 21, 2014
I bought this canner primarily to can cabbage-based chow chow and soup mixture. I didn't realize until it came that it only cans fruits, not vegetables. Also the instructions say to only use their recipes, which are somewhat limited. The description on the WS website should be more clear about the limitations of the canner. I plan to return it.
Review 14 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sugar Land
,TX
July 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Time saving and efficient
July 13, 2014
I have used water bath canning before. This machine allows me to use fewer pots on the oven, keep the kitchen cooler and walk away once the jars are inside; three things I could not do before.
I am eagerly waiting for Ball to produce a similar product that can be used for low acid foods that require pressurized canning, but for now, I can put up several quarts of jam, sauce or pickles in record time and often do several consecutive batches when the garden is in full swing. The machine is expensive, but it has saved me so much time both before and after getting the jars in. It is so easy that my husband has even done a few batches!
Ball recommends you only use their recipes. Currently they have about 76 and I'm sure they will continue to add more.
If you're short on time, but want to put up your own food, this machine is a tremendous asset.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, keeps kitchen cool
Cons: expense, acidic foods only
Review 15 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lafayette
,Co
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new best friend
June 13, 2014
I love my new Tech machine. I have canned for many years, but as I have gotten older, sitting in front of a hot stove over boiling water had lost it's appeal . I found myself canning less and less. Since purchasing this new Tech canner,I have found a new joy in canning. It is so easy to use. Plus it does not heat up my kitchen or house as the old water boil method did. And clean up is a breeze.
As the other reviewer stated, you can only use the approved recipes , but I do not find that to be a problem. I will still need to water boil my large 1/2 gallon jars of tomato sauce, but everything else can be done in this machine!
If you have never canned before, or if you are an experienced canner, you will love the ease of this machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Assembly
Review 16 for Ball Fresh TECH Automatic Home Canning System
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Long Island
,NY
Long Island, NY
February 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+58points
61of 64found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best for beginners like me
February 2, 2014
Altho' I am an avid cook, I never canned before bc it seemed too much of a bother. This has simplified it for me and got me started. You don't need to completely immerse the jars in water as in the conventional pot method, you only need 6 cups of water and the canner does the rest. It automatically times it from start to finish and signals when it's done. It comes with a book of recipes. There's an online site with more recipes for this unit. The only downside for advanced canners is this: Ball strictly advises using ONLY the recipes given for this canner. If you have other recipes, with different sugar/pectin/acid ratios, etc., they tell you simply NOT to go there, period. Overall, the learning curve is easy and fast. There are pros and cons, some of which I have listed. So far, I have made mostly jams/jellies, a Mexican salsa and an Italian bruschetta, and they all sealed perfectly. In summer I will go in more for canning tomato sauce, salsas, whole fruit, tomatoes, etc...
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Quiet