Pizza Stone

Use our ceramic stone to give your breads and pizzas a marvelous crustiness, like those prepared in a commercial brick oven. Made in the USA, the stone promotes even heat.Holds heat exceptionally well, keeping oven temperature steady (the secret to brick-oven baking).Pulls moisture from the outer surface of the dough to promote perfect crustiness.Made of cordierite ceramic.Includes recipes and instructions.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
83 of 103(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pizza Stone
Review 41 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fiberone
Sequim, WA
June 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bread Baking
June 4, 2010
This stone is excellent for making a crisp crust on breads and I love the fact that it can be left in the oven full time. I also love the fact that it has a life-time warranty.
Review 42 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
d2bambinos
Owensboro, KY
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very sturdy and good value.
May 27, 2010
Very pleased with this pizza stone. We looked around at quite a few before deciding on this stone. I was impressed with how heavy and sturdy it is in comparison to the other stones. The other stones were just thin and feared easy breakage. For the money you won't be disappointed. We bought it for making homemade bread and it has worked like a charm!
Review 43 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beezle
Gilroy, CA
May 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent baking stone
May 22, 2010
The material seems perfect and the stone is a nice large size. I would love if they came in sizes though, so I could have a stone that matches the width of my oven.
Only complaint is that WS doesn't sell a peel of the same width. This comes in very handy when you are baking a batch of, say, baguettes, and you need to use the full width of the stone. That way all loaves can be put on the stone at the same time. I use parchment so this becomes more of an issue.
I did find a site that sells 16" peels, though.
Review 44 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Craigo
California
May 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stinks up the whole house
May 20, 2010
When this pizza stone is heated in the oven it gives off a strong burning smell. The smell permeates the house for hours. I don't know if the smell is because of the material or because of spilled melted cheese, which can't be cleaned off no matter how much I soak or scrape, but my old pizza stone never had this problem.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mwk6411
Howell, MI
Posted December 14, 2013
So I'm not alone
we have had this for years and put up with the awful smell every time we use it. Without the smell it would be a product worthy of WS.
I have a outdoor wood gassifier that heats to 2000 deg, I put it in that one year to see if I could bake away the oder, It was glowing red but when returned still stunk up the house. Perfect size for our oven but ...
0points
Customer avatar
cekrose72
Posted November 25, 2010
Stinks
Mine does the same thing. I wish I could return it. I will stick with pampered chef stones.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 45 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tigerlady
Colorado Springs, CO
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An essential for anyone serious about bread baking
May 19, 2010
What a great item! Yes, it stains, but this is to be expected. I simply spray water over mine and stick it back in the oven. It changes the mechanics of your oven and the results of my bread baking are really impressive! Living in high altitude produces an environment difficult to produce a nice crusty bread. This item solves that problem EASILY! I leave it in the oven for ALL my baking and it makes little difference (if any) on my pan baking. Will buy another if the need arises.
Review 46 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kpater
Toronto, Canada
April 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!!!
April 13, 2010
I bought this stone about six months ago. I've been making pizzas for years and can't believe I've lived without one for so long. It does an incredible job. I don't have to use much cornmeal to prevent sticking. It seems once that dough hits the hot stone, it just starts to crisp up and is so easy to get off with the pizza paddle. I would be very curious though to know what other reviewers mean by "it smells bad". My stone stays in my oven all the time. I only take it out to wipe it down and, yes, it is stained but it doesn't bother me. It gives it character.
Review 47 for Pizza Stone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
missE
Houston, TX
April 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent (and healthy) pizza at home
April 11, 2010
This stone is great for making pizza. We've been buying pre-made dough from a local pizza place. Making the rest at home is healthier since we can control the toppings. (Reduced fat cheese, turkey pepperoni, etc.)
We've used our stone dozens of times and would mention the following to prospective buyers or newbees:
1. Our best advice - Let the stone heat in the oven @ 450deg for 30 - 60 min ahead of time, so that it's nice and hot when you put the dough on. Spread a generous amount of corn meal on the stone prior to putting the dough on top.
2. The stone will discolor after repeated use. Small amounts of cheese and other pizza toppings will inevitably get onto the stone and leave marks behind. We just scrape off what we can and the rest burns off the next time the oven is heated. While it may not look so pretty, it has not affected our stone's performance or food taste.
3. The rectangular shape of this stone is great for loaves of bread or odd-shaped pizza dough.
Review 48 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaGoingCook
Houston, TX
April 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent !!!
April 4, 2010
Recently bought this stone as it was recommended by the authors of "Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes" book. Worked great !!! Came with a lifetime guarantee which you never see with other products like this.
Review 49 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seashellback
Palmetto, FL
March 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What is that smell!!???
March 26, 2010
I previously had a baking stone from Pampered Chef which I loved, until I put frozen french fries on a hot stone and it cracked. I told my friend and we thought that a new stone would be the perfect birthday gift for me, so she found this WS stone. Since the first time it went in the oven, there has been a terrible smell coming from it that fills the entire house (similar to oven cleaner as someone previously mentioned)...and that was before I even cooked on it. I didn't see any directions for priming it, so I used it for about 3 months and thought perhaps the smell would go away. I now store it in the cold oven and end up taking the heavy slab of uselessness out when using the oven. This is going in the trash and I'm reordering one from Pampered Chef.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MAH46
Lexington Ark, MD
Posted March 9, 2013
Smell is awful!!
We had the same problem! It was so bad that at first we thought there was something wrong with our oven. We took the stone out and no more smell! Very disappointed!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhoebeK
San Francisco, CA
February 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
all my friends want one, too
February 27, 2010
I've had mine for a year, and it turns out consistent, delicious, hassle-free results. I am obsessed with thin-crust pizza and knew I needed a stone. I whip up Jeffrey Steingarten's thin-crust recipe at least once a month, and friends rave about it. "Better than Delfina," they declare. "It's all about the stone," I respond with modesty. I am surprised at the issues others have listed. Here are my simple rules of thumb:
- A well-floured peel (I scored mine at a sidewalk sale, $3) is indispensable
- Always preheat stone at 500F for 1 hr, then lower to 425F to bake
- Extra flour, drippy sauce, or errant cheese eventually bakes off as a black dust that can then be simply dusted off in the sink once the stone cools
- My stone lives on my oven floor 365 days a year - saves storage, and the instructions claim that repeated baking cycles improves the stone
- Avoid placing buttery goods or soap directly on the stone, the porous material soaks up the smell
Hope this helps. Happy baking!
Review 51 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kentuckycook
Kentucky
February 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You get what you pay for!
February 26, 2010
I've had this pizza stone for over a year now. Before purchasing this stone I had a cheaper one that did not produce the results I was hoping for after reading wonderful reviews online about what a pizza stone could do for pizza crust (and breads). When I walked out of Williams Sonoma a few weeks later with this pizza stone I couldn't believe that I had paid over double what the last one cost without knowing for sure that this one would be better. It is! This stone bakes the perfect crust and I've found that the larger size is helpful when transferring pizza onto it from a pizza peel. As other reviewers have mentioned, don't use soap when cleaning. I leave this stone in my oven at all times and if food spills onto it, it does smell. Scrubbing with just hot water does the trick for me. My pizza stone looks more used with every pizza or bread that I bake on it and while some might not like seeing their pizza stone get and stay so stained, I like how the look gives it character.
Review 52 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dluxDenver
Denver, CO
February 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
STINKS - Literally
February 20, 2010
I purchased the stone for holiday bread baking and the first time I used it, the stone worked perfectly. The second time I used it, some pizza sauce got on the stone and now I can't get the smell out. It literally permeates throughout the house and smells like easy off oven cleaner. If you were to buy this, I would recommend keeping the receipt and making sure you don't have issues with the stone.
Review 53 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatieQ
Atlanta, GA
February 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza oven!
February 16, 2010
I put this on my outdoor infrared gas grill outside (T-Grill).....voila, instant brick oven pizza. Sprinkled with semolina flour and used fresh pizza dough from trader joe's amazing, just the right amount of brown without burn and cooked to perfection in minutes. I added the chicken breast to my pizza for the last 3 minutes which I had cooked on the grill before heating the stone, right when the cheese and other toppings where just starting to bubble and brown. Can't wait to use this when I have guests.
Review 54 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chyleen
Glen Ellyn, IL
February 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crispy pizza crust
February 14, 2010
This was bought for my son who reports that the pizza stone works great. He is getting a crisp pizza crust with the new pizza stone.
Review 55 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
irunnoft
Asheville, NC
February 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pizza Ever!
February 7, 2010
I've never had a pizza stone before and I wasn't sure if this would be something I would use or not. I made my first pizza at home last night and I am hooked!
I think it is important to follow the directions for seasoning and cleaning the stone. The salesperson cautioned me against using soapy water as the stone will retain the soap and transfer it to the food. After seasoning the stone and pre-heating it for about 40 minutes, I baked some awesome pizzas in about 6 minutes. The crust was golden, crispy perfection - like nothing I've ever achieved with any pan or even cooking on the rack alone.
I can't wait to try baking scones on this!
Review 56 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynneC
Mansfield MA
January 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extraordinary technology in use for millenia!
January 25, 2010
Sometimes it is necessary to once again come back to the basics. Baking on a stone, whether pizza, bread, or scones, just tastes so much better than anything our modern conveniences can offer. One does not have to be an expert baker to put this to good use. The Williams-Sonoma stone is heavier and nicer than any other I've used. Once you try stone baking, you may well be hooked for life. It lives in the oven so storage is not an issue. Be sure to acquire a peel for transferring food to and from the stone.
Review 57 for Pizza Stone
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LisaTre
Temecula, CA
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Stone
January 12, 2010
I got this as a replacement for one that I'd had from another company. The Williams-Sonoma stone is harder to clean and a more awkward shape to handle. It also doesn't have the metal rack/handles for taking the stone out of the oven.
I do like the fact that this stone is larger and can hold a much larger pizza. It has feet on the bottom so that it doesn't not sit on the counter, either.
Review 58 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brutis
Nebraska
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Stone
January 12, 2010
Excellent for Pizza and for making Bread. Although the picture doesn't show it, product comes with feet.
Review 59 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comecookwithme
Kasson, Minnesota
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Remember the warranty
January 12, 2010
After having stones from other manufacturers without the warranty, I was sold on this one. I usually "season" my new stones by baking frozen pizzas and french fries several times before moving on to bread doughs and pizzas. I would not be without one of these. I preheat my oven to the required temperature, add the stone and let it heat for at least 45 minutes before using it and never have a problem....Use parchment if you are concerned about staining, but remember that stains are to stones what oil is to cast iron and the coating on the parchment will prevent some of the normal crispness on the bottom crust.
Review 60 for Pizza Stone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
UnclePizza
mill valley, ca
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like Pizza but...
January 11, 2010
I have found that this pizza stone gets really sticky. I've had 3-4 cheaper stones over the years which have all broken. But, they weren't sticky. For whatever reason as soon as this pizza stone gets above 400 degrees the dough sticks to it which is pretty much doomsday for a pizza. Oh well.
prevpage 1 2 3 4 5 6 next