Pizza Stone

Use our ceramic stone to give your breads and pizzas a marvelous crustiness, like those prepared in a commercial brick oven. Made in the USA, the stone promotes even heat.Holds heat exceptionally well, keeping oven temperature steady (the secret to brick-oven baking).Pulls moisture from the outer surface of the dough to promote perfect crustiness.Made of cordierite ceramic.Includes recipes and instructions.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
83 of 103(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pizza Stone
Review 1 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sewgr8Iam
,breinigsville
,Pa
November 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a crispy pizza!
November 9, 2013
I like this for a crispy pizza and recommend this, but it barely fits into the oven so make sure that it will fit yours. Also I discovered a new use for this--drying your freshly picked herbs. Bake them at 200 degrees, stirring them every once in a while until they are dried.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmKay
,Downeast
,ME
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pizza + + +
July 12, 2013
Our 2nd stone (1st one broke in a move) we keep this stone in our oven 24/7/365. Pizza turns out perfectly every time and bread is so much better when baked on the stone. Round stones can limit you - size is perfect for pizza and so much more. Remember - stone must be pre-heated for optimal performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimsKitchen
,La Vernia
,TX
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza/Baking Stone
March 8, 2013
This is my first experience using a baking stone and did not know what to expect. I like pizza and also baking bread so I gave it a try. I find that it makes a big difference in how the pizza turns out, crisp bottom and soft chewy inside with the dough rising beautifully. I have now baked eight pizzas and all turned out excellent. I am looking forward to trying with my bread recipes and based on the results of the pizzas can expect similar results. For lovers of homemade pizza and bread this is defiantly a winner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezSam
,Lakewood
,CO
Denver, CO
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had it for 6 years now
December 7, 2012
I couldn't do without this stone. Sure it's stained but they call that character. I bake Artisan bread every weekend and I use a parchment sheet instead of the cornmeal and have no problem. Also does great for pizza. I use to do the corn meal but I had to clean the oven up too often. I have a free standing stove in my garage where I do all my baking. I don't use the stove top so it resides on the burners when not needed in the oven. Am getting one for my daughter for Christmas. Just put the parchment on top of the peel and it slides in just fine.
I love it!
Pros: Durable, Quality, keeps bacteria free due to heat during use
Cons: looks 'dirty' but is just stained
Review 5 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pizzastonereview
,Saint Paul
,MN
July 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PizzaStoreReview
July 24, 2012
I loved making pizza and I used to make it at least once a week but since I purchased this stone I just dread thinking about it. I follow all the instructions and use so much cornmeal that my crust taste like cornmeal and not dough but my pizza gets stuck to the sheet. I've tried olive oil and I still can't get my pizza off the sheet. The size, shape and weights makes it next to impossible to clean and it's very hard to maneuver in the kitchen. Extremely disappointed with this stone.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Haskell
Long Island, NY
Posted October 19, 2012
Using Flour ONLY..best way, true way!
Using FLOUR instead of Corn Meal. Depending on the Pizza peel you have, (I have the $39.95 Pizza Peel. It's a little thick, but nothing a metal spatula can't handle if you need a extra hand getting the pie on it.)
I take my flour and gently sprinkle it on the edge of the peel and work my way backwards. JUST SPRINKLE it around the peel. I then use a napkin and gently move the flour around by the edge, back up in the middle, etc. Don't "rub" it in.
Once your done doing that, I turn the peel sideways and tap it on the counter. Now all the loose flour falls off. Now check the peel again, and sprinkle as needed.Once you finally get your pizza on the peel, and BEFORE you start adding your toppings, pick up the peel w/ the un-topping'd pizza on it and move it back and forth, that way you can see how much the pie moves. If it's stuck in an area, gently lift up the dough and sprinkle a lil flour in that section.
Once you add the toppings it will be heavier and not as easy to just slide off. But BE PATIENT, tilt the peel a little more and shake it gently, it should slide off. When it's ready to be taken out, if you are using the thicker Pizza Peel like I, (see above) that's when use a Metal spatula.
I lift up the pie, and slide it out a little, then help slide it onto the peel. The crust underneath should be nice n brown, and when you bite into it, you shouldn't feel/taste like it's all caked up. Enjoy.
0points
Customer avatar
SanDiego
San Diego, CA
Posted August 11, 2012
Top 100 Contributor
Stuck on your Stone
I have been making pizza and breads on my stone for 15+ years and have finally come to the conclusion that the easiest way to make pizza is with parchment paper. I roll the dough into a rectangle on my wooden table then I stretch it wider and thinner by hand - if only I could do it in the AIR! Then I put a little cornmeal & whole wheat flour (for texture) on a piece of parchment, put my dough on the parchment, add my toppings and slide my peel under the parchment to transfer the pizza to my very hot stone. The paper burns a bit at the edges but it is much easier to clean up than cornmeal from the bottom of my oven and the smoke alarm does not go off like it does when cornmeal burns. Try it!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
conniec
,Stillwater
,MN
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Stone, Man
March 7, 2012
I like this pizza stone. I have been happily baking Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day for a couple of years, and bought this stone and the book and some supplies for my son Warren, who also loves to cook and bake whilst going to college and working part time. It is a great stone. I don't stress about keeping it stain-free, it has great age spots from various baking adventures but works great every time. I keep it in the drawer beneath my stove so I don't have to carry it far, ha!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 7 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
emt23
,Stafford
,VA
February 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
5of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
moldy! Do NOT purchase!!
February 9, 2012
I am very disappointed in this product. I did some research before selecting a pizza stone, and because I am normally very satisfied with WS products, I chose this one. I took it out of the drawer tonight, after only 2 prior uses, and the entire thing was covered in mold. I was disgusted. I had to use a regular cookie sheet (5X less the cost mind you) to bake my pizza at the last minute. I read on the WS website that mold could be removed from stone by putting it in the oven on the "clean cycle". I did this, but when I removed the stone the entire thing was black. I am furious. I will be calling customer service to complain tomorrow.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mangokid
Stuttgart, Germany
Posted April 3, 2012
How did you get mold on your pizza stone?
You put it in the oven, preheat it, slide you pizza onto it and then remove the pizza from the stone when it's finished cooking. At what point is your stone getting wet enough to promote mold growth?
I'm fairly certain the instructions that come with that stone instructs the user of the stone to avoid leaving the stone in the oven during the cleaning cycle.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer44
December 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Baking Stone
December 3, 2011
This is a thick, sturdy baking stone. I use it to bake artisan bread. It is easy to use and easy to clean. It also has a lifetime warranty!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zigzag2011
,King Ferry
,NY
December 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have
December 1, 2011
I recently bought this pizza stone and would highly suggest others do the same. It creates the best pizzas we have ever had. It's amazing. It takes a little practice at first to get the pizza from the peel to the stone, but after a few home lessons, we have it mastered now. Homemade pizza dough works better than store-purchased dough. I would highly recommend this pizza stone.
Pros: Quality, Design
Review 10 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
johnni
,WV
September 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best pizza stone out there
September 19, 2011
I have two! Love it. I have been using this stone for years. We make pizza once a week, so it gets a good workout. I have never had any issues with it. I leave it in the oven all night, and clean it the next day by simply brushing it which makes cleanup a snap. It is heavy, but to me, that means quality. Strongly recommended to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, thicker than most stones
Review 11 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
buddyboy1
Long Island, NY
August 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
3of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love stones
August 18, 2011
My kids purchased this stone for me for Mothers Day because I dropped & broke my favorite. I used it twice & both times found mold on it before I was going to use it again. I thought the first time it wasn't dry enough before storing away in my oven so the second time I left it out for a few hours, but it happened again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
KodiaKSE
Posted November 15, 2011
??
If you read the INSTRUCTIONS that are included with the pizza stone, it specifically states that you should not wash the stone. sooooo your review is failure on your part. this stone is amazing.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
CookerBelle
Posted September 5, 2011
Since the stone is porous, you're not actually supposed to wash it. It should stay in your oven at all times even if you aren't using it for pizza. It will get "seasoned" over time. Have had mine for years and use it daily to make breads.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Pizza Stone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vin006
Los Angeles
July 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size and Shape
July 23, 2011
This is the best baking/pizza stone I have had and I have tried a few. The size and shape of this one is perfect. Never liked round stones. This one is far more versatile.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMVanDuzer
Mississippi
May 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pizza Stone
May 30, 2011
This is a great pizza stone! Nice and big and easy to use!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 14 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz198
Houston, TX
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes the best crust!
May 23, 2011
We make pizza atleast once a week, and have stuggled for many years getting a crispy crust, however this stone does the trick! we will never make pizza w/ out again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 15 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janeen
Moorhead. MN
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Stone
May 2, 2011
After several baking stones broke when I used them when baking artisan breads, I thought I would try this one recommended on a bread baking site. it works beautifully and for the price of two cheaper bread stones I have a heavy duty one with a guarantee!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
grannyburd
Posted October 15, 2011
Guarantee?
I found no guarantee on this product. What is the guarantee?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mommymaven
Florida
May 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for the grill!
May 1, 2011
I bought this stone specifically for my outdoor gas grill--got the replacement okay from my local WS for that purpose (should it crack)--and just made my first two pizzas and they were awesome! I let the stone heat up directly on the grill until my grill read 475. Made both pizza doughs with the dough recipe included in the box, threw on some Newman's Own organic marinara, Italian cheese blend and toppings and voila: really delicious pizza with the perfect crispy, chewy crust! The kids devoured it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
foodiewanabee
Indianapolis, IN
Posted June 16, 2011
Use on the Grill ??
Can this really be used on a gas grill ?
We have a Gas Weber, and I would purchase this if it could really be used.
We don't use our oven inside very often.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bacci
Monterey Bay
April 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quality pizza stone
April 20, 2011
I wanted a sturdy square stone- this is certainly it. My pizza is not usually perfectly round (thus, the square stone). It doesn't matter what shape you do. Large enough to accommodate pizza.
Heats very well. Cleaned up witth brush & water only.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight, store in oven
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 18 for Pizza Stone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jim8151
Mass.
April 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well in my electric oven
April 13, 2011
So far, I've used the stone for baking baguettes and pizza, and it works very well. I have an electric oven which is not ideal for baking, but I think the stone actually mitigates this as an issue. The baguettes came out looking and tasting authentic, and the pizza crust was crispy and evenly baked, which had not been the case with oven cooking alone. My only issue is that the directions state you should preheat the stone for 25 minutes before baking, which seems wasteful, but I can't complain about the results
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Weight, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Martti
Medina, Oh
Posted May 12, 2011
preheat oven
I'm pretty sure most bread baking involves preheating the oven before you put in the dough.
Martti
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melfrink
rural Missouri
April 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
just what I was looking for
April 10, 2011
For several years I have been baking using a thinner round pizza stone received as a gift. It has worked fine, but when it broke I wanted to fine something thicker and rectangular--better fit for baguettes. It fits my Viking oven just right, although as other reviewers have noted it is 14 1/2 inches wide. I need to adjust baking times, because my last two batches have burned on the bottom putting the stone on the bottom rack. That will be easily done, I hope, and I expect this heavy stone will be just what I was looking for to enhance my homemade artisan breads.
Pros: Size, Design, Weight
Review 20 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
das1935
Benton
February 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A stone for baking bread and cooking pizza
February 18, 2011
I sent my daughter the stone for Valentine's Day and she could not have been happier with your product.
She has cooked pizza and made bread on it so far, and has absolutely raved about the stone.
Thank you
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next