Pizza Stone

Use our ceramic stone to give your breads and pizzas a marvelous crustiness, like those prepared in a commercial brick oven. Made in the USA, the stone promotes even heat.Holds heat exceptionally well, keeping oven temperature steady (the secret to brick-oven baking).Pulls moisture from the outer surface of the dough to promote perfect crustiness.Made of cordierite ceramic.Includes recipes and instructions.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pizza Stone
Review 1 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sewgr8Iam
,breinigsville
,Pa
November 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a crispy pizza!
November 9, 2013
I like this for a crispy pizza and recommend this, but it barely fits into the oven so make sure that it will fit yours. Also I discovered a new use for this--drying your freshly picked herbs. Bake them at 200 degrees, stirring them every once in a while until they are dried.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmKay
,Downeast
,ME
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pizza + + +
July 12, 2013
Our 2nd stone (1st one broke in a move) we keep this stone in our oven 24/7/365. Pizza turns out perfectly every time and bread is so much better when baked on the stone. Round stones can limit you - size is perfect for pizza and so much more. Remember - stone must be pre-heated for optimal performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimsKitchen
,La Vernia
,TX
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza/Baking Stone
March 8, 2013
This is my first experience using a baking stone and did not know what to expect. I like pizza and also baking bread so I gave it a try. I find that it makes a big difference in how the pizza turns out, crisp bottom and soft chewy inside with the dough rising beautifully. I have now baked eight pizzas and all turned out excellent. I am looking forward to trying with my bread recipes and based on the results of the pizzas can expect similar results. For lovers of homemade pizza and bread this is defiantly a winner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezSam
,Lakewood
,CO
Denver, CO
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had it for 6 years now
December 7, 2012
I couldn't do without this stone. Sure it's stained but they call that character. I bake Artisan bread every weekend and I use a parchment sheet instead of the cornmeal and have no problem. Also does great for pizza. I use to do the corn meal but I had to clean the oven up too often. I have a free standing stove in my garage where I do all my baking. I don't use the stove top so it resides on the burners when not needed in the oven. Am getting one for my daughter for Christmas. Just put the parchment on top of the peel and it slides in just fine.
I love it!
Pros: Durable, Quality, keeps bacteria free due to heat during use
Cons: looks 'dirty' but is just stained
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LisaMarieMartin
Ohio
Posted May 30, 2014
To Clean you stone put in self cleaning oven
Your stone will go back to its original color if you put it in self cleaning oven. I have the same on and yesterday I saw another review saying it worked. I couldn't believe my eyes. Mine went from dark black back to the original look after leaving in over for self clean. GORGEOUS!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pizzastonereview
,Saint Paul
,MN
July 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PizzaStoreReview
July 24, 2012
I loved making pizza and I used to make it at least once a week but since I purchased this stone I just dread thinking about it. I follow all the instructions and use so much cornmeal that my crust taste like cornmeal and not dough but my pizza gets stuck to the sheet. I've tried olive oil and I still can't get my pizza off the sheet. The size, shape and weights makes it next to impossible to clean and it's very hard to maneuver in the kitchen. Extremely disappointed with this stone.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Haskell
Long Island, NY
Posted October 19, 2012
Using Flour ONLY..best way, true way!
Using FLOUR instead of Corn Meal. Depending on the Pizza peel you have, (I have the $39.95 Pizza Peel. It's a little thick, but nothing a metal spatula can't handle if you need a extra hand getting the pie on it.)
I take my flour and gently sprinkle it on the edge of the peel and work my way backwards. JUST SPRINKLE it around the peel. I then use a napkin and gently move the flour around by the edge, back up in the middle, etc. Don't "rub" it in.
Once your done doing that, I turn the peel sideways and tap it on the counter. Now all the loose flour falls off. Now check the peel again, and sprinkle as needed.Once you finally get your pizza on the peel, and BEFORE you start adding your toppings, pick up the peel w/ the un-topping'd pizza on it and move it back and forth, that way you can see how much the pie moves. If it's stuck in an area, gently lift up the dough and sprinkle a lil flour in that section.
Once you add the toppings it will be heavier and not as easy to just slide off. But BE PATIENT, tilt the peel a little more and shake it gently, it should slide off. When it's ready to be taken out, if you are using the thicker Pizza Peel like I, (see above) that's when use a Metal spatula.
I lift up the pie, and slide it out a little, then help slide it onto the peel. The crust underneath should be nice n brown, and when you bite into it, you shouldn't feel/taste like it's all caked up. Enjoy.
0points
Customer avatar
SanDiego
San Diego, CA
Posted August 11, 2012
Stuck on your Stone
I have been making pizza and breads on my stone for 15+ years and have finally come to the conclusion that the easiest way to make pizza is with parchment paper. I roll the dough into a rectangle on my wooden table then I stretch it wider and thinner by hand - if only I could do it in the AIR! Then I put a little cornmeal & whole wheat flour (for texture) on a piece of parchment, put my dough on the parchment, add my toppings and slide my peel under the parchment to transfer the pizza to my very hot stone. The paper burns a bit at the edges but it is much easier to clean up than cornmeal from the bottom of my oven and the smoke alarm does not go off like it does when cornmeal burns. Try it!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Pizza Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
conniec
,Stillwater
,MN
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Stone, Man
March 7, 2012
I like this pizza stone. I have been happily baking Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day for a couple of years, and bought this stone and the book and some supplies for my son Warren, who also loves to cook and bake whilst going to college and working part time. It is a great stone. I don't stress about keeping it stain-free, it has great age spots from various baking adventures but works great every time. I keep it in the drawer beneath my stove so I don't have to carry it far, ha!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 7 for Pizza Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
emt23
,Stafford
,VA
February 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
8of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
moldy! Do NOT purchase!!
February 9, 2012
I am very disappointed in this product. I did some research before selecting a pizza stone, and because I am normally very satisfied with WS products, I chose this one. I took it out of the drawer tonight, after only 2 prior uses, and the entire thing was covered in mold. I was disgusted. I had to use a regular cookie sheet (5X less the cost mind you) to bake my pizza at the last minute. I read on the WS website that mold could be removed from stone by putting it in the oven on the "clean cycle". I did this, but when I removed the stone the entire thing was black. I am furious. I will be calling customer service to complain tomorrow.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mangokid
Stuttgart, Germany
Posted April 3, 2012
How did you get mold on your pizza stone?
You put it in the oven, preheat it, slide you pizza onto it and then remove the pizza from the stone when it's finished cooking. At what point is your stone getting wet enough to promote mold growth?
I'm fairly certain the instructions that come with that stone instructs the user of the stone to avoid leaving the stone in the oven during the cleaning cycle.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)