This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Aztec Hot Chocolate

From MarieBelle, the popular cacao bar in New York City, this is a true hot chocolate. It's made from the richest, single-origin Colombian cocoa with a 63% cacao content - not cocoa powder. Preparation is simple: Just add boiling water for a full-flavored, European-style hot chocolate; or substitute hot milk if you prefer American-style hot chocolate. 20 oz. (12 to 14 servings).
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Aztec Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
leo2257
,Chestertown
,MD
Chestertown, MD
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Dark Hot Chocolate
December 31, 2012
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter. I find it very rich, to much so for me, but my children love it, and have for sometime. If you are a dark chocolate lover you would probably love this.
Pros: Quality, Decadent
Review 2 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Morenita
,Norwalk
,CT
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not real hot chocolate and too expensive
January 25, 2012
Starting with the fact that Aztec are from Central Mexico, this is not a good chocolate, my husband loves the Mexican chocolate but hard to find here so I bring it every time I go back home, this time I didn't have any, so I whent and got this.
I just can say that this is comparing a Kia to a Ferrari.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 3 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Analama
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, CA
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best hot chocolate ever!
December 12, 2011
I love this stuff so much. It never fails to delight everyone time after time. It's so rich and chocolatey and it has that little surprise kick of chili. This is NOT traditional cocoa mix! I like drinking chocolate so much I got a Cioccolatiera to make it in. Awesome!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bikracer
,Atascadero
,CA
Atascadero, CA
November 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
I obviously don't have a taste for this
November 22, 2011
When mixed the way the directions say to mix this, I could barely drink it. I didn't like it at all and was sorry I bought it.
I decided to try mixing it a little differently.
To one 10 oz. mug of heated milk I added 1/2 cup of the chocolate and whisked it until it was well blended. I like it this way a lot but feel I can't recommend the product because mixed according to the directions I don't like it at all.
Review 5 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
scotty1111
reno, nv
June 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
don' be fooled
June 12, 2011
this powdered mix should be as the original, flake chocolate. Not as good.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 6 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WNCMountains
WNC
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
The Best Hot Drinking Chocolate
February 3, 2011
this is the best HOT CHOCOLATE which is very different from hot cocoa. It is very rich , creamy , has a complex depth of flavor and is a drinking chocolate that you will find in popular chocolate shops. I make mine with milk and it is just divine. A real treat on a cold snowy winter night sitting by the fire.
Review 7 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sillyjilly
nj
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
my favorite hot chocolate on the market!!
January 20, 2011
worth every penny!!! My favorite winter warm up! !
Review 8 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chocolatefanatic
Alexandria, VA
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Unbelievably delicious!
January 3, 2011
This chocolate is so wonderfully intense and thick! I usually like to drink my chocolate with milk, but with this mix, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that I like it better with hot water (1/2 chocolate; 1/2 boiling water). It's so rich, I only need to prepare an espresso size hot chocolate to get my fix.
I feel that most things these days are overly sweet, so I can see how some reviewers found the chocolate bitter. For me, it is just right. Wouldn't change anything in the world!!
Review 9 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chocdrnkr
Texas
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Don't listen to poor reviews
January 2, 2011
I noticed that some reviewers didn't give many stars to this product due to their misunderstanding of what drinking chocolate is. It is quite literally a high quality chocolate that is melted and mixed with milk or water to make it a drink. It is not a sweet chocolate, so the drink may taste "bitter" to those who are used to Swiss Miss hot cocoa. This drink is NOT hot cocoa. Hot cocoa is a mix of powdered cocoa, sugar, and powdered milk, it lacks the richness of flavor of drinking chocolate dut to the fact that hot cocoa is a low quality substitute. If you do not like dark chocolate and require a lower quality substitute perhaps this product is not for you. For those who appreciate quality chocolate, this brand is high quality and you should hesitate to heed the warnings of those who rate this product lowly.
Review 10 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mythoughts
maidens, va.
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
fabulous for the perfect chocolate fix
December 18, 2010
I love this and have been purchasing it for years. I tend to go traditional and make mine with milk - my recommendation to others - its truly easy to customize. If you prefer less chocolate intensity - don't use as much chocolate, if your taste buds require a more milk chocolate taste, add more sugar, or sweetner of your choice. I love to customize - and this chocolate makes it easy. You can even add peppermint oil or other flavors. The tin has always been jammed to the top with the shaved chocolate - so be very careful when opening to keep it level and flat. I even like to eat it with a spoon right out of the container when a chocolate fix is necessary and I want instant gratification.
Review 11 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mariko
Tulsa, OK
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Disappointing
December 8, 2010
I prepared mine following the direction, but it wasn't very good -kind of blunt, I thought, plus I don't think the whole tin will make 12-14 cups of hot chocolate. I like MarieBelle chocolate and tea thus it was disappointing... For the price, I expect a better flavor.
Review 12 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VeroV
Brooklyn, NY
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Overwhelming
December 6, 2010
I had been craving good hot chocolate for a while and now that it is cold out i splurged on this item. But it was just so thick that it was like trying to drink bitter pudding. Ive had something similar in texture in spain, they dunk their churros in it there and its delicious, but at least there it wasn't bitter. We tried adding more milk and that made it less thick but not any tastier. This item was very disappointing.
Review 13 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lencha
Galveston, Tx
February 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
No words can describe this
February 22, 2010
If you truly are a hot chocolate lover, look no further...this is the one you want to drink for the rest of your life!!! I can't imagine better.
Review 14 for Aztec Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CynthiaByTheSea
Gloucester, MA
January 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Heavenly Hot Chocolate
January 26, 2010
This is the real deal. Tastes like the rich chocolate you get in Europe. Mouth feel is velvet, and the taste is unsurpassed by any hot chocolate we have tried in the past. I would recommend this to all true chocolate lovers.