This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Avignon Dinner Plates, Set of 4

Inspired by vintage ceramics from the south of France, these glazed earthenware pieces are hand finished with rubbed rims for antique character. Their neutral tone coordinates easily with table settings and can be dressed up or down to suit the occasion, from casual breakfasts to elegant dinners. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. 11 1/4" diam. Set of 4. Made in Portugal. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Avignon Dinner Plates, Set of 4
Review 1 for Avignon Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jetch
,Anacortes
,WA
June 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
So Pretty!
June 5, 2013
I have been searching and searching for new dishes for the past 6 months and nothing stood out more than these. The grey shadow of color around the rim is just prominent enough that it makes them stand out amongst the plain white varieties and gives them a special character. My grandmother always told me it's the little details that matter the most. I have had these dishes for about a week now and wash them 9 times out of 10 in the dishwasher. I use vinegar in my jet dry container and dishwasher detergent that does not have any citrus oils or acids in it as I found it was damaging my stainless steel flatware, past dishes, and glasses. The change in detergent has been a 100% positive. I highly recommend these dishes to any one who is looking for a classic look with a slight twist.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Avignon Dinner Plates, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WhereAreMyGlasses
December 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Country style
December 15, 2012
Have had these for over a year. I have the yellow and love the color, which is why I bought them. It is a warm color, not bright or harsh but still cheerful and food looks good on the plate. The glaze on the rim is meant to look slightly aged. There is minor discoloring but not too noticeable at least in the yellow version. They are in and out of the dishwasher constantly. No chips except where I clipped one against a granite counter, my fault. These are not fancy dinnerware but good for every day.
Review 3 for Avignon Dinner Plates, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LC519
,Basking Ridge
,NJ
August 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Beautiful, but...
August 27, 2012
This is a beautiful set - I bought a 32 piece service for 8. However, after only a few months, they have become etched. I have a year old, high end dishwasher, so I know that's not the problem. Also - I found they chip easily. It's just me and two older kids when they're home for breaks, so they're not being handled harshly - my last set lasted years. My WS store said I could bring them back.
Pros: style, Color
Cons: etches easily, chips easily
Review 4 for Avignon Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
northsiderforever
,Cincinnati
,OH
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Absolutely beautiful....
January 13, 2012
Bought 12 white dinner plates and salad plates for Thanksgiving dinner at my house this year, and couldn't be more happy. They were great about packing them up in the store even took them to the car for me. I had planned on buying the cheaper set of 12 plates, but at the store I realised they had the dreaded "blue white" cast to them. Avignon is more pure white,with a warm color tone. These have been through the dish washer several times now and still look new. No knife marks, and has a nice shiny glaze. Looked lovely with the silverware and crystal. Very satisfied with my purchase!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Strength, Versatile, Weight