This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Inspired by vintage ceramics from the south of France, these glazed earthenware pieces are hand finished with rubbed rims for antique character. Their neutral tone coordinates easily with table settings and can be dressed up or down to suit the occasion, from casual breakfasts to elegant dinners. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. A 4-piece place setting includes an 11 1/4" diam. dinner plate; 9 1/4" diam. salad plate; 20-oz., 5" diam. soup bowl and 11.8-oz. mug. 16-piece set, four 4-piece place settings. Made in Portugal. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
Review 1 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jaymary
November 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Be aware of size
November 25, 2012
I loved this set, but ended up returning it due to the larger size of the pieces. The dinner plates did not fit in my microwave, nor did they fit well with the other pieces in my dishwasher.
Review 2 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ACS3
,GA
November 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Lovely set of dishes
November 18, 2012
After reading all the previous reviews, I decided to order two sets of the Avignon. They are very beautiful, elegant & light weight. Unfortunately, one bowl was broken (it was packaged differently then the rest.) Williams-Sonoma was very gracious in sending me four additional bowls. I gave this four stars because it states it is safe to use in the microwave. After cooking bacon in the microwave for 8 minutes, the dinner plate broke in many pieces. This has not happened with my other brand of plates. I'll contact the company and go from here. Anyway, because the dishes are so wonderful, I'll place the bacon on another dish. Also, the plates don't fit perfectly in the dish washer. This does not bother me. You may want to measure the dinner plates before you buy.
Pros: elegant, light weight
Cons: dinner plates large for some dishwashers, dinner plate broke in microwave after 8 minutes
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ACS3
Posted December 25, 2012
Update
Williams-sonoma replaced my broken plate. I am very pleased with this company. I am a returning customer many times over. :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
landerson
,Denton
,TX
June 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My new favorite dishes
June 3, 2012
Bonjour! I purchased the set in "honey", and cannot believe how many of my existing dishes work with this color. It's fabulous with blues, reds and Thanksgiving dishes. My French Country kitchen came alive when I added these dishes. They are also a very good weight, not too heavy and not too light. I'm going to buy another set as backup in case I break one. You will not regret this purchase.
Pros: superb quality, a must for any kitchen
Review 4 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Malay
,Palo Alto
,CA
May 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Gorgeous and casual
May 11, 2012
I love this new set. I bought the white and it is a warm bone color versus a stark white. The rims add a bit of character to each piece. The size of each piece is perfect. I went to the store and also purchased 8 cereal bowls. I am so happy I selected this set to replace my old chipped casual set of dishes.
Pros: beautiful, Versatile
Review 5 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SummerFoodie
South Amboy, New Jersey
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Gorgeous Dinnerware.
January 11, 2012
This is a beautiful dinnerware set. We have it in white. I LOVE IT. Simple and elegant, it looks great on the table. These dishes can be dressed up or down, depending on the occasion. Gleaming in white, yet not a stark white, there is an elegant warmness to it. Highly Recommended.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ILLADELPH
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
January 5, 2012
I purchased two sets in the green and I am so glad I did. They look fantastic and everyone has complemented on how beautiful they look. The best part is they can be used for everyday use as well as formal dining. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ldrgil
,Louisville
,KY
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful!
December 27, 2011
It's exactly what we wanted! Made for a beautiful Christmas dinner.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Weight
Review 8 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April1
,Midlothian
,VA
December 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Beautiful and Practical
December 1, 2011
Have searched for new dishes to replace the ones I have had since I was married and to go along with my new kitchen remodel. I finally found these and the Honey color was PERFECT! I was a little hesitant about the little soup bowl ,especially knowing my husband who is not into change, but after getting it we both love them. Also while in San Francisco I visited the Flagship store and found another bowl that is more in line with the traditional cereal bowl and got those as well. These aren't online or in all stores yet but they really add to the set.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EntertaininginNYC
,New York
,NY
October 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect Everyday Dishes
October 31, 2011
I bought an 8 piece set in honey about a month ago and absolutely love them.These dishes are slightly larger than my previous set and I like the larger size. I have no issues with storing them in my cabinet nor fitting them in the dishwasher. If you enjoy a large cup of coffee then the Avignon mug is the perfect size. The color is great for mixing with other patterns or solid colors.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Weight
Review 10 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrieC
Setauket, NY
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolutely Beautiful!!!
September 5, 2011
I spent two years looking for every day dishes. When I walked into Williams-Sonoma and saw the Avignon Dinnerware Set in Honey, I knew it was absolutely perfect! I wanted something with color and high quality, and this definitely did the trick! I absolutely love the detail around the rim that give it an antique look.
I've read the other reviews about large dinner plates, but they fit into my standard dishwasher just fine.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Color, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OlgaJo
Wichita, KS
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love these dishes!
August 24, 2011
I've been looking for new dishes for years and could not find the right color. This green is perfect and the dishes are lovely. The mug is a great flared shape and holds plenty of morning java.
I paired it with patterned salad plates and pomagranite pasta bowls. My guests loved them, too.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenni2
CA
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love Love Love!!!
July 14, 2011
I just bought these dinnerware and I love them. In the store sold separately is another version of a soup bowl, which I like a lot better. The color is perfect, not stark white and goes with everything. I have looked for years searching the perfect white plate that is versatile and pretty yet practicall. This is it!! I
Pros: Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, white color
Review 13 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heatherlyn0428
Land O Lakes, FL
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beautiful and Durable
June 6, 2011
These dishes are beautiful. I am impressed that they have been so sturdy. My children have already bumped them against the countertop and other places, I thought for sure they would have chipped....but they have not! Also I love that the bowls are a unique shape! I have not had any problems storing them in my cabinets like a previous review said...I suppose it depends on your space capability in the kitchen. Love them and am going to buy another set now!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 14 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovesdishes
Harpersville, Alabama
June 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful color
June 2, 2011
I bought this set in Honey just prior to Easter and the finish and color is beautiful. The set did great in the dishwasher. The only drawback is the plate is so large it will not fit in my 3 tier plate stand. Had to clean out a cabinet!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 15 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Boston, Ma
May 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The perfect white dinnerware set!!
May 15, 2011
I love this dinnerware set!!!!
They are the perfect size, weight, and color.
I originally ordered the everyday set but color too bone for me . These are perfect white and great quality too. The silver/gray very faint edge gives it a beautiful touch.
The bowls stack up perfectly too!
I ordered 2 sets and I am going to order one more.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: wish they sold the pieces individually
Review 16 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
anniezon
May 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
beautiful finish but plate too large
May 5, 2011
I love the finish but the large plate is too large for my dishwasher. Check size before purchasing!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 17 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cab23
NY, NY
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
nice dishes
April 7, 2011
I originally ordered the WS pantry tableware. While I liked them very much, the dinner plates were too heavy and deep and did not stand up in my dishwasher. I returned them for the Avignon which fits nicely in dishwasher. Like the size of the mug and the soup bowl dresses up the set. The dinner plate lip is flat so flatware doesn't slide into the food. Pieces sold separately in store, and seem to only be offered online in 16 piece set. I purchased one place setting and a cereal bowl (which is not on website) to determine if I wanted to get the whole set. The soup bowl I received had a chip under the price sticker...very sneaky, and I will be returning it for another. Other than that, the dishes seem great and I intend to purchase service for 12 unless I have an issue exchanging the chipped bowl. If it werent for this inconvenience, I would have given the product 5 stars.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jules035
Frisco, TX
Posted April 26, 2011
@ cab23
LOL..........thanks for the feedback regarding the Avignon 16-piece dinnerware set. I'll be sure to lift ALL stickers on each of the items when I visit my local W&S tomorrow!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)