This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Inspired by vintage ceramics from the south of France, these glazed earthenware pieces are hand finished with rubbed rims for antique character. Their neutral tone coordinates easily with table settings and can be dressed up or down to suit the occasion, from casual breakfasts to elegant dinners. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. A 4-piece place setting includes an 11 1/4" diam. dinner plate; 9 1/4" diam. salad plate; 20-oz., 5" diam. soup bowl and 11.8-oz. mug. 16-piece set, four 4-piece place settings. Made in Portugal. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
Review 1 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jaymary
November 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Be aware of size
November 25, 2012
I loved this set, but ended up returning it due to the larger size of the pieces. The dinner plates did not fit in my microwave, nor did they fit well with the other pieces in my dishwasher.
Review 2 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ACS3
,GA
November 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Lovely set of dishes
November 18, 2012
After reading all the previous reviews, I decided to order two sets of the Avignon. They are very beautiful, elegant & light weight. Unfortunately, one bowl was broken (it was packaged differently then the rest.) Williams-Sonoma was very gracious in sending me four additional bowls. I gave this four stars because it states it is safe to use in the microwave. After cooking bacon in the microwave for 8 minutes, the dinner plate broke in many pieces. This has not happened with my other brand of plates. I'll contact the company and go from here. Anyway, because the dishes are so wonderful, I'll place the bacon on another dish. Also, the plates don't fit perfectly in the dish washer. This does not bother me. You may want to measure the dinner plates before you buy.
Pros: elegant, light weight
Cons: dinner plates large for some dishwashers, dinner plate broke in microwave after 8 minutes
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ACS3
Posted December 25, 2012
Update
Williams-sonoma replaced my broken plate. I am very pleased with this company. I am a returning customer many times over. :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
landerson
,Denton
,TX
June 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My new favorite dishes
June 3, 2012
Bonjour! I purchased the set in "honey", and cannot believe how many of my existing dishes work with this color. It's fabulous with blues, reds and Thanksgiving dishes. My French Country kitchen came alive when I added these dishes. They are also a very good weight, not too heavy and not too light. I'm going to buy another set as backup in case I break one. You will not regret this purchase.
Pros: superb quality, a must for any kitchen
Review 4 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Malay
,Palo Alto
,CA
May 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Gorgeous and casual
May 11, 2012
I love this new set. I bought the white and it is a warm bone color versus a stark white. The rims add a bit of character to each piece. The size of each piece is perfect. I went to the store and also purchased 8 cereal bowls. I am so happy I selected this set to replace my old chipped casual set of dishes.
Pros: beautiful, Versatile
Review 5 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SummerFoodie
South Amboy, New Jersey
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Gorgeous Dinnerware.
January 11, 2012
This is a beautiful dinnerware set. We have it in white. I LOVE IT. Simple and elegant, it looks great on the table. These dishes can be dressed up or down, depending on the occasion. Gleaming in white, yet not a stark white, there is an elegant warmness to it. Highly Recommended.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Avignon 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ILLADELPH
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
January 5, 2012
I purchased two sets in the green and I am so glad I did. They look fantastic and everyone has complemented on how beautiful they look. The best part is they can be used for everyday use as well as formal dining. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design