Automatic Yogurt Maker

Prepare fresh all-natural yogurt - from traditional Greek styles to fruit-flavored varieties - with this easy-to-use electric machine. Simply pour a mixture of heated milk and yogurt starter (sold separately) into the glass jars and set the timer. Yogurt maker shuts off automatically when the cycle is complete.Digital controls customize fermentation time up to 15 hours.Makes seven 6-oz. servings in 6-10 hours.Includes seven reusable glass jars and plastic lids.Dating system allows you to note the yogurt's made-on date.Built-in timer; beep alerts you when batch is done.Yogurt starter sold separately.Recipes included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
40 of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Automatic Yogurt Maker
Review 21 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KittyJM
,Saint Paul
,MN
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Bother
January 16, 2013
I am less than enthused with this yogurt maker. I was very excited to receive it as a Christmas gift, but it is currently in our junk pile at home. Save for the jars, which I now use to make my yogurt another way.
The incubator ran far too high for the yogurt and constantly curdled the batches, leaving them very flavorful, but the texture was atrocious. My husband and I agreed that we needed to cut our losses after three batches of gritty yogurt.
There are no tips or tricks to getting your yogurt to smooth out, and no troubleshooting if you have issues. I would suggest looking up how to make yogurt on your own on the internet instead of buying this one trick pony.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer avatar
KittyJM
Saint Paul, MN
Posted January 23, 2013
Thank you all for the tips and tricks!
Yes – I properly heated to 180, cooled to 90-110 and incubated my yogurt. I has never once turned out right and I think perhaps it is a defunked machine.
I am still making my yogurt at home, just not with this machine.
0points
Customer avatar
Ostera
Illinois
Posted January 23, 2013
Another tip
Also another thing that I have read it not to use Ultra Pasturized milk. Don't remember why. I would suggest using only Homogomized Milk. We have a dairy farmer here in Illinois that I use. It is sold in the grocery stores but I am not sure if it is sold outside of Illinois.
0points
Customer avatar
Ostera
Illinois
Posted January 23, 2013
Really...
I don't understand why your yogurt did not turn out. It was a very easy process and mine came out wonderfully smooth and flavorful.
I am not sure why you say the incubator ran too high. I used full fat milk and only put it on for 7 hours. If you use 2 percent or skim it needs to go longer. I also added a 1/4 cup of dry milk to make it smoother and creamier. I have not used the starter packets but just used plain fage yogurt as my culture.
Did you make sure you heated the milk to 180° and then reduced the temperature to 110° ?
0points
Customer avatar
Ana41
Thibodaux, LA
Posted January 22, 2013
Machine running too hot
It is very possible the machine is incubating over 115 degrees F.Next time, fill the jars with only water. After 6 hours check the temperature. If it is over 115 degrees F, then the machine is malfunctioning. Go get an exchange. The machine should incubate between 95 degrees to 115 maximum. Also, make sure you cool the milk to 108-112egrees F before you add your starter (be it powder or a store-bought plain yogurt). Hope this helps.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
KittyJM
Saint Paul, MN
Posted January 22, 2013
Thank you. I have tried over boiling (higher than 180 degrees), under boiling (between 160-170) and boiling to the right temp (at 180) and consistently get the same gritty yogurt, unfortunately.
0points
Customer avatar
FPLA
Los Angeles, CA
Posted January 20, 2013
The reason you are getting such texture is that most probably you are over boiling your milk. You can contact the manufacturer and they will happy to solve the issue for you.
0points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 22 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SensibleShopperTami
,Pine City
,MN
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product, excellent customer service!
January 10, 2013
I purchased this yogurt maker a while ago and I love it. It is easy to use and the yogurt tastes better than what I can get from my grocer. I also purchased replacement jars which shipped separately and were damaged from shipping. I quickly learned that Williams-Sonoma has impressive customer service. I am so glad I bought these things from Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 23 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fiddlehannah
,Walla Walla
,WA
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy yogurt
January 6, 2013
I have only used this maker once but I can tell it will be well used in a short period of time. It is easy to set up and forget about! Then x hours later you have yogurt!! I made the plain yogurt from the culture set with the maker and it turned put just like the homemade yogurt my mom used to make! I love that it is round, my mom's was a straight line taking up more counter space than this one does. However it does make it a bit hard to store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 24 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathrynCNC
,Wilmington
,NC
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Perfect Yogurt
January 3, 2013
Directions were clear and the yogurt turned out perfectly. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys yogurt. Can be made creamy or thick, your choice. Very happy with this purchase. KMC.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 25 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanpei
,Salem
,NH
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Kitchen Appliance Ever
December 13, 2012
I bought the automatic Yogurt Maker 2 weeks ago and have used it constantly ever since. It makes perfect greek yogurt. I use 40 oz of fat free milk and put it in a large glass bowl and once it is finished I cool it in the fridge for 2 hrs and then I line a pig pasta pot with attached strainer with coffee filters and pour the yogurt into the pan. All the Whey drains off and I'm left with perfect greek yogurt for about $2.50 for 32 ounces.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 26 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katyamaria
,Clemson
,SC
December 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
makes perfect yogurt
December 9, 2012
Great product: simple and easy to use with unobtrusive design. Seems to keep temperature at where it needs to be in order for yogurt bacteria to live and thrive. The yogurt I have made in it has turned out perfectly. The design of the jars could be better. They narrow at the mouth, making it harder to get at all of the yogurt; but that is a minor issue, and I am sure other jars can be used in the machine, which is basically a "warming chamber".
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Review 27 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MichelleNYC
,Hoboken
,NJ
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good idea, poor workmanship
November 24, 2012
I received this machine as a gift a few years ago and only used it about five times. After a few uses, the buttons on the machine now become stuck, so that the timer won't stay on. As a result, it is unable to complete the cycle necessary to make the yogurt, rendering the machine unusable. While I agree that the quality of the yogurt it produces is excellent, I can't recommend it due to the poor quality of the construction.
Cons: poor construction, malfunctions easily
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
FPLA
Los Angeles, CA
Posted December 4, 2012
The product has a 3 year warranty. You can contact the manufacturer and they will take care of it for you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
42n8grl
,Plano
,TX
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this yogurt maker!
September 7, 2012
Easy to use, super convenient and makes perfect sized individual portions. Kids love it, and I enjoy the cost savings and ability to have super fresh homemade yogurt whenever we want. Would definitely reccomend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: not enough recipe instruction
Review 29 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaite
,Mount Vernon
,ME
Maine
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yogurt made Easy
August 29, 2012
I used my new yogurt maker for the first time this week and so far it has lived up to all my expectations. I used 1% milk, added 6 Tbsp of dry milk and the yogurt starter once the milk cooled to room temperature. The yogurt has a nice creamy consistency with a slight tartness which I enjoy with berries picked earlier this summer, then frozen . I zap the berries in the microwave and top with the yogurt~Voila! breakfast. Next time I plan to add a bit of agave syrup and a tsp of homemade vanilla. Its great to be able to make your own fresh yogurt and add to it what you will.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 30 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rubyq
August 29, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good product, but I need more experiments
August 29, 2012
Overall, it's a very good product. Easy to use, and very convenient to have the date on the caps.
The recipe included is not very clear about how many hours needed for different kinds of yogurt.
I've used it to make one batch of yogurt without any issue. But I need to do more experiments to figure out how many hours needed for the plain yogurt, because it seems like 9 hours is so long that it tastes too sour. I'll shorten it to 7 hours for the next time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 31 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mi2Mi2
,VA
July 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG - Fabulous Yogurt
July 6, 2012
I bought this in conjunction with the ice-cream maker. I have THE BEST frozen yogurt possible! The first batch of yogurt didn't turn out at all but I used store-bought as the culture and it just didn't work. I bought the WS packaged culture and added dry milk (like the directions said) the next time and this recipe is just perfect. I'm totally in love with this! It is now the main ingredient of my frozen treats, salad dressings, stews, and morning breakfast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Review 32 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CarefreeSadie
May 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun homemade yogurt maker
May 24, 2012
I have been having fun using this item. It works just like it says it does. I have not found the perfect starter yet but will keep trying until I get the perfect consistancy and taste that I want.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Review 33 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
seattlesoul
May 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm persevering, but...
May 8, 2012
I've been using this yogurt maker since December, and out of the roughly 15 batches I've made, 3-4 have successfully turned out as yogurt. The rest have been semi congealed disasters. I can't figure out what makes a batch succeed vs. fail. I have triple checked all the temperature readouts, tried multiple different kinds of milk and starters, different incubation times, and even different cooking pots. I've thoroughly read every review on this site for any kind of insight and tried every suggestion I found. I really want to love this product. Is it just possible mine is defective in some way?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NWFLDeaconsWife
Gulf Coast Florida
Posted May 13, 2012
Failed Yogurt Batches
There are two other things you might need to consider when doing anything with growing a culture. Humidity, and elevation. This goes for bread, cheese, puddings, sourdough starters, friendship bread starters, and yes, yogurt.
I have found if I make yogurt on a rainy day, it takes a little longer to propagate properly because the humidity makes the air heavier and that makes the cultures multiply slower.
Also, I live fairly close to sea level. When we vacationed in the Blue Allegheny mountians, my yogurt would not work unless I added some non-fat dry milk to 'bulk up' the mixture.
So I wonder if perhaps either of these two concerns might be effecting your batches.
Also, if it has a clear-ish liquid on top and the opaque stuff is in the bottom, that is NOT a failed batch. It means the whey in the milk you started out with had more water in it instead of actual milk solids for the yogurt to work with. Pour off the whey and you can still use the yogurt.
Oh, and for thicker yogurt, I tend to strain mine to help remove a little more of the whey. This step means a little extra work but we like it thick so that when fruit is added (whole fruit, except pips when necessary) it doesn't get runny from the fruit juice.
I hope this helps you!
+5points
5of 5found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 34 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blythe
,Wawona
,CA
Boulder Creek, CA
April 19, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Easy to Use!
April 19, 2012
Worked great the very first try. Easy to follow instructions, great results! Can't wait to try more recipes. Easy to clean. Will probably end up getting the extra set of jars to be able to have two batches going at once.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 35 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amy345
,Lynchburg
,VA
April 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Yougurt Ever
April 5, 2012
I bought this yogurt maker to start the SCD, and have been pleasently pleased with the quality of yougurt that can be made. The jars are perfect size for a single serving, which lasts me about a week. I love that I now have reusable glass instead of all the plastic containers I used to recycle.
It would be nice if W&S sold the GY4 top tier, wich would bring the capacity of the yougurt maker to 82oz a batch. The large batch size is more appropriate for families.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: capacity
Review 36 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ljsg
,Saint Charles
,IL
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Getting Better!
March 27, 2012
I bought the EuroCuisine yogurt maker with the dial setting and although it did a great job producing yogurt, I didn't like that there wasn't a countdown or digital display. Hence my purchase of this one. Pros for the lid storage on top and adding a digital display. However, the digital display shows the countdown by full hour so I still can't tell when there's less than an hour left. Will keep this one, though, as I do enjoy having home- made yogurt. Will continue to set a separate timer for exact countdown as an extra step.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Cons: full hour display only
Review 37 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
puppetgirl
,Burlington
,VT
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Yogurt Maker!!
February 14, 2012
This yogurt maker has become a hit with our family. It's easy to use, and the yogurt tastes terrific! No more recycling lots of yogurt containers. This is a modern, quality unit. I like the digital feature. I never knew what a blessing it would be that the old yogurt maker was sold at a garage sale through a misunderstanding. This is a very nice yogurt maker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 38 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeneye
,Minneapolis
,MN
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite gadgets!
February 13, 2012
I love this product! I really enjoy the process and the end results are always delicious no matter the flavor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 39 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bli1nu
,Soquel
,CA
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yogurt maker is the best
February 2, 2012
Ive have been trying to live a more health life, less processed food ect.I had a yogurt maker back in the 80's which was OK, but this yogurt maker is the bomb! I used whole milk and the packet starter and the yogurt was very tart(just the way I like it) and creamy.It was so easy to make. I'll never buy store bought yogurt again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 40 for Automatic Yogurt Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yogodude
,Denver
,CO
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything we expected
February 2, 2012
This would get five stars if it were a super-automatic yoghurt maker (in the fashion of super-automatic espresso makers) ... but of course you have to heat the milk/starter separately. That assessment might be slightly harsh given I do not believe there is a super-automatic yoghurt maker on the market, but it's hard to give it perfect score when it only takes care of part of the process.
With that said, it is a nice looking machine for any modern kitchen and after two whole milk batches (one with Euro Cuisine starter, one with regular yoghurt), it has performed exactly as we had expected. Would appreciate the option of slightly larger jars, but instead we're going to order an extra set - we will just have to do two batches.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
prevpage 1 2 3 next