This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Assumption Abbey Fruitcake

Rich and fragrant, this fruitcake is baked by Trappist monks at Assumption Abbey, nestled in the foothills of the Missouri Ozarks. Based on a recipe developed by French chef Jean-Pierre Auge, who was once employed by the duke and duchess of Windsor, this dark, spicy cake has a deep, rich flavor and moist crumb. Laced with an ounce of rum, its proof of just how delicious a fruitcake can be! Baked in small batches - each cake receives individual attention from start to finish. Made using the finest ingredients including pure butter, fresh eggs, raisins, pineapple, currants, citron, walnuts and wine. Packaged in a reusable tin. 2 lb. Made in USA. Order early - Quantities are limited.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
114 of 129(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
Review 1 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bleu
,Desert
,OR
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A delicious fruitcake
January 7, 2014
This is a 'perfect' fruitcake: moist, nuts, large pieces of rum soaked fruit. Ordered 2nd while still available!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent
Review 2 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enay
,Hot Springs Village
,AR
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The best fruit cake EVER!
December 21, 2013
I order fruit cakes each year but this was my first time ordering this one. OMG! It is awesome. This cake is very moist. Totally delicious. My husband who hates fruit cakes finally tried this one to shut me up. I went out of town for a week and when I got back there was only a very small piece left. I couldn't believe he ate almost my entire fruit cake. He admitted this fruit was not like any other. He said to order another one.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kleigh53
,Kansas City
,KS
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
"Nuts" about this Fantastic Fruitcake
December 18, 2013
I have never before eaten an entire fruitcake by myself, but I somehow accomplished this starting when I received it before Thanksgiving. Believe it or not, I exhibited great restraint in not eating it in its entirety within the week I got it. When I opened the tin it was shipped in, I could tell immediately this was a very moist cake that had received ample injections of wine and brandy. It was packed full of nuts and small pieces of fruit and was a pleasure with each bite. I kept the fruitcake well wrapped and within a plastic bag in the tin and it lasted until this week and was still very fresh and moist. I love the fact that it is made by Missouri Monks. How cool is that?
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bichou
,Bedford
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
1of 14found this review helpful.
worst fruit cake
November 21, 2013
This is the worst fruit cake we ever ate! Don't wast your money
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 5 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanetH
,Spokane
,WA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Get Past Your Fruitcake Prejudices!
November 1, 2013
When I think of Fruitcake, it conjures up memories of those awful fruitcakes from the mall store that also sells the terrible dried fruit.
Not this! It's nothing like those cakes. It's moist, flavorful and delicious. I pretty much won't eat any other kind of fruitcake. This product gives fruitcake a "rebirth".
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakelover
,Camden
,SC
Camden, SC
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is the best fruitcake ever!
December 16, 2012
I purchased this for my husband. He is a fruitcake lover. He fell in love with this! Said it was the best fruitcake he ever had. He is down to his last piece. I wanted to order another but no longer available. Perhaps they can make more next year or I will have to order 2 instead of 1. Thanks!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
 
 
Review 7 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Measkinny1
,Boise
,ID
November 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
The Best Fruitcake!!!
November 9, 2012
I usually make my own fruitcake because I've never been able to purchase a decent premade one, until now that is. This fruitcake is dark, super moist, and delicious! I'm sorry I waited this long to try it, but from now on I will be ordering it every year.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: can't keep our hands off of it
Review 8 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilymae
,Woonsocket
,RI
Woonsocket, R.I.
January 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
"A Big Dose of Heaven"
January 8, 2012
This fruitcake is absolutely the best I have had in over 40 years!! It is dark,
moist, & rich with all the most heavenly
mix of fruits & nuts. It certainly made our
holiday reminiscent of years ago. I don't
believe I can wait until next Christmas for
another Abbey Fruitcake. Our gratitude to
the Trappist Monks.
Review 9 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jags
December 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
christmas fruitcake
December 29, 2011
This fruitcake is great. You will love it if you are a fruitcake lover. It is moist and rich.
Review 10 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LMD21
,Fredericksburg
,VA
December 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Nicely done fruitcake!
December 28, 2011
This is a moist, flavorful fruitcake - with not too much dried fruit. My only improvement would be to add a few more pecans . . . other than that - very good!
Review 11 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susant414
,McCall
,ID
December 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Fruitcake!
December 26, 2011
This fruitcake is so moist and full of fruit. I'd recommend it to anyone even those who say they don't like fruitcake.
Review 12 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Lindale
,TX
December 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Incredible!
December 24, 2011
I am not the biggest fan of fruitcake, but this was the most incredible fruitcake I have ever put in my mouth. My guests devoured it as well. I HIGHLY recommend this product.
Review 13 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spoiled1
,Kansas City
,Mo
Kansas City
December 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is not your Grandmother's fruit cake
December 24, 2011
I grew up hating fruit cakes. It was almost an insult to get one for Christmas. But not this cake. This is the most moist, delicious fruit cake I have ever had. I order one yearly for myself. In the ingredients the secret could be the wine (one of the first ingredients) rum. If you love nuts and fruit, you can't go wrong with this cake.
Pros: loads of nuts, lots of cherries
Cons: pineapple
Review 14 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xxabbey
,Columbiana
,oh
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Not your usual fruitcake
December 17, 2011
This fruitcake is very moist and loaded with fruit. Very good. Would purchase again.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sewing21
Crofton, MD
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best fruitcake ever
December 17, 2011
We purchased this cake to share with our daughter and her family. However, it was so good we just bought her her own.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FIFIE
,Golden
,CO
Golden, Colorado
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
MOST EXCELLENT!
December 17, 2011
This was the fruitcake I remember as a child. DELICIOUS! Moiste, flavorful, with the rich taste of having been soaked in brandy. The flavors are not overpowering but full bodied with the tastes and memories of Christmas past. Absolutely the best Fruitcake I have had in years. I know where I'm buying them from now on.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teacher1941
,Brookings
,SD
Brookngs, SD
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic Fruitcake
December 17, 2011
I truly love fruitcake, and this is, in every wise, the best I've found.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent
Review 18 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kymbers
,North Plainfield
,NJ
Scotch Plains, NJ
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Heavenly Good
December 15, 2011
This fruitcake is unlike any other ever made! It is super moist and the aroma alone will make you go back for seconds. THe only reason I did not give it 5-stars, is because there is no way to regulate the ship date. I would like them to arrive just before Christmas. But on taste and quality, it deserves 10-STARS!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 19 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OlFarmer
,Thompsonville
,IL
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Changed my mind about Fruitcake!
December 10, 2011
I purchased this cake for my Mom who LOVES fruitcake. She couldn't wait to try it, she asked if I would like a taste. I said I HATE fruitcake, but I tried it anyway. This is the first time I can say I LIKED it. This was nothing like I'd tried before. My Mom said this was the BEST fruitcake she's ever had!!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 20 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valley
,new orleans
,la
November 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
favorite fruitecake
November 10, 2011
the fruitcake is the best I have had in a long time. It is not dry like some and it is full of fruit and pecans, simply delicious
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next