Assumption Abbey Fruitcake

Rich and fragrant, this fruitcake is baked by Trappist monks at Assumption Abbey, nestled in the foothills of the Missouri Ozarks. Based on a recipe developed by French chef Jean-Pierre Auge, who was once employed by the duke and duchess of Windsor, this dark, spicy cake has a deep, rich flavor and moist crumb. Laced with an ounce of rum, its proof of just how delicious a fruitcake can be! Baked in small batches - each cake receives individual attention from start to finish. Made using the finest ingredients including pure butter, fresh eggs, raisins, pineapple, currants, citron, walnuts and wine. Packaged in a reusable tin. 2 lb. Made in USA. Order early - Quantities are limited.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
Review 1 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bleu
,Desert
,OR
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A delicious fruitcake
January 7, 2014
This is a 'perfect' fruitcake: moist, nuts, large pieces of rum soaked fruit. Ordered 2nd while still available!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent
Review 2 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enay
,Hot Springs Village
,AR
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best fruit cake EVER!
December 21, 2013
I order fruit cakes each year but this was my first time ordering this one. OMG! It is awesome. This cake is very moist. Totally delicious. My husband who hates fruit cakes finally tried this one to shut me up. I went out of town for a week and when I got back there was only a very small piece left. I couldn't believe he ate almost my entire fruit cake. He admitted this fruit was not like any other. He said to order another one.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kleigh53
,Kansas City
,KS
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"Nuts" about this Fantastic Fruitcake
December 18, 2013
I have never before eaten an entire fruitcake by myself, but I somehow accomplished this starting when I received it before Thanksgiving. Believe it or not, I exhibited great restraint in not eating it in its entirety within the week I got it. When I opened the tin it was shipped in, I could tell immediately this was a very moist cake that had received ample injections of wine and brandy. It was packed full of nuts and small pieces of fruit and was a pleasure with each bite. I kept the fruitcake well wrapped and within a plastic bag in the tin and it lasted until this week and was still very fresh and moist. I love the fact that it is made by Missouri Monks. How cool is that?
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bichou
,Bedford
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
1of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst fruit cake
November 21, 2013
This is the worst fruit cake we ever ate! Don't wast your money
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 5 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanetH
,Spokane
,WA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Get Past Your Fruitcake Prejudices!
November 1, 2013
When I think of Fruitcake, it conjures up memories of those awful fruitcakes from the mall store that also sells the terrible dried fruit.
Not this! It's nothing like those cakes. It's moist, flavorful and delicious. I pretty much won't eat any other kind of fruitcake. This product gives fruitcake a "rebirth".
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakelover
,Camden
,SC
Camden, SC
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the best fruitcake ever!
December 16, 2012
I purchased this for my husband. He is a fruitcake lover. He fell in love with this! Said it was the best fruitcake he ever had. He is down to his last piece. I wanted to order another but no longer available. Perhaps they can make more next year or I will have to order 2 instead of 1. Thanks!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
 
 
Review 7 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Measkinny1
,Boise
,ID
November 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Fruitcake!!!
November 9, 2012
I usually make my own fruitcake because I've never been able to purchase a decent premade one, until now that is. This fruitcake is dark, super moist, and delicious! I'm sorry I waited this long to try it, but from now on I will be ordering it every year.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: can't keep our hands off of it
Review 8 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilymae
,Woonsocket
,RI
Woonsocket, R.I.
January 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"A Big Dose of Heaven"
January 8, 2012
This fruitcake is absolutely the best I have had in over 40 years!! It is dark,
moist, & rich with all the most heavenly
mix of fruits & nuts. It certainly made our
holiday reminiscent of years ago. I don't
believe I can wait until next Christmas for
another Abbey Fruitcake. Our gratitude to
the Trappist Monks.