This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Assumption Abbey Fruitcake

Rich and fragrant, this fruitcake is baked by Trappist monks at Assumption Abbey, nestled in the foothills of the Missouri Ozarks. Based on a recipe developed by French chef Jean-Pierre Auge, who was once employed by the duke and duchess of Windsor, this dark, spicy cake has a deep, rich flavor and moist crumb. Laced with an ounce of rum, its proof of just how delicious a fruitcake can be! Baked in small batches - each cake receives individual attention from start to finish. Made using the finest ingredients including pure butter, fresh eggs, raisins, pineapple, currants, citron, walnuts and wine. Packaged in a reusable tin. 2 lb. Made in USA. Order early - Quantities are limited.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
Review 1 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosemm
,Moore
,Ok
February 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great fruitcake!
February 9, 2015
The Assumption Abbey Fruitcake is delicious. It is moist with a generous amount of fruit and nuts.
Pros: Flavor
Review 2 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PercyB
,Houston
,TX
February 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Fruitcake
February 2, 2015
This is the best fruitcake you can buy. excellent quality ingredients and perfectly prepared. It just tastes great.
.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWCWorkingMom
,Redwood City
,CA
Redwood City, CA
January 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing Fruitcake!
January 23, 2015
When I was growing up, we had a lot of fruitcakes. I was never too fond of them as I thought they were often dry or too sweet. I laughed along at all the jokes about fruitcakes. Then my mother said she would like one but no longer bakes. I ordered one of these, and our whole family was delighted. It was moist and delicious and filled with fresh nuts, fruit and a hint of rum. These fruitcakes are a new family tradition, and we can't wait to order one next year.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DonneGal
,Duluth
,MN
January 18, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Holiday Must-have!
January 18, 2015
The holidays start when my Assumption Abbey fruitcake arrives. The eye appeal--it looks like stained glass--, the rich, consistent flavor, the careful packaging all add up to another wonderful season. Kept in the 'fridge it stays good throughout the year. I'm proud to serve it to my guests.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lesliewestcoast
January 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Rolls Royce of Christmas Treats
January 6, 2015
I find it sad that fruitcakes have become so unpopular because few people have tasted the real thing. My mother used to make a wonderful fruitcake every year. She would trek across town to find the best ingredients. When I grew up she would send them and my kids loved them. This is the first one I have tasted since she died over 20 years ago- it tastes exactly like hers!! Thank you!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 6 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PattyVL
,Farmington
,NM
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Fruitcake in the world!
January 5, 2015
We have been buying this fruitcake at Christmas for many years...too many years to count! We have bought as many as 3 but this year kept it to 2. It is the yummiest fruitcake on earth. So moist, full of fruit...perfection in a tin! One year we tried to order late and there was none left. So order early!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ez2bk
,hagerstown
,md
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Assumption Abbey explosion of texture and flavor
January 2, 2015
In 2013 my wife purchased AA fruitcake for one on my Christmas presents. I thought I died and went to heaven. I admit I was very stingy; and you were lucky to be offered a piece. To my delight under the Christmas tree in 2014 I got another fruitcake (oh yes there is a Santa Clause). I admit I will be purchasing more, even before 2015 Christmas. thanks Assumption Abbey for sharing your talents...peace
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, classic
Review 8 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovern
December 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Disappointing!
December 24, 2014
does not taste at all like a fruitcake -- just moist dark cake and small bits of fruits. Very poor.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 9 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DarrenHouston
,The Woodlands
,TX
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Fruitcake Ever
November 16, 2014
I buy the Assumption Abbey fruitcakes every year since I first discovered them several years ago. My family loves them and it is truly a special treat. They are expensive, but worth every penny.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bleu
,Desert
,OR
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A delicious fruitcake
January 7, 2014
This is a 'perfect' fruitcake: moist, nuts, large pieces of rum soaked fruit. Ordered 2nd while still available!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent
Review 11 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enay
,Hot Springs Village
,AR
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
The best fruit cake EVER!
December 21, 2013
I order fruit cakes each year but this was my first time ordering this one. OMG! It is awesome. This cake is very moist. Totally delicious. My husband who hates fruit cakes finally tried this one to shut me up. I went out of town for a week and when I got back there was only a very small piece left. I couldn't believe he ate almost my entire fruit cake. He admitted this fruit was not like any other. He said to order another one.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 12 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kleigh53
,Kansas City
,KS
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
"Nuts" about this Fantastic Fruitcake
December 18, 2013
I have never before eaten an entire fruitcake by myself, but I somehow accomplished this starting when I received it before Thanksgiving. Believe it or not, I exhibited great restraint in not eating it in its entirety within the week I got it. When I opened the tin it was shipped in, I could tell immediately this was a very moist cake that had received ample injections of wine and brandy. It was packed full of nuts and small pieces of fruit and was a pleasure with each bite. I kept the fruitcake well wrapped and within a plastic bag in the tin and it lasted until this week and was still very fresh and moist. I love the fact that it is made by Missouri Monks. How cool is that?
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bichou
,Bedford
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-28points
2of 32found this review helpful.
worst fruit cake
November 21, 2013
This is the worst fruit cake we ever ate! Don't wast your money
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 14 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanetH
,Spokane
,WA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Get Past Your Fruitcake Prejudices!
November 1, 2013
When I think of Fruitcake, it conjures up memories of those awful fruitcakes from the mall store that also sells the terrible dried fruit.
Not this! It's nothing like those cakes. It's moist, flavorful and delicious. I pretty much won't eat any other kind of fruitcake. This product gives fruitcake a "rebirth".
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakelover
,Camden
,SC
Camden, SC
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
This is the best fruitcake ever!
December 16, 2012
I purchased this for my husband. He is a fruitcake lover. He fell in love with this! Said it was the best fruitcake he ever had. He is down to his last piece. I wanted to order another but no longer available. Perhaps they can make more next year or I will have to order 2 instead of 1. Thanks!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 16 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Measkinny1
,Boise
,ID
November 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
The Best Fruitcake!!!
November 9, 2012
I usually make my own fruitcake because I've never been able to purchase a decent premade one, until now that is. This fruitcake is dark, super moist, and delicious! I'm sorry I waited this long to try it, but from now on I will be ordering it every year.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: can't keep our hands off of it
Review 17 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilymae
,Woonsocket
,RI
Woonsocket, R.I.
January 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
"A Big Dose of Heaven"
January 8, 2012
This fruitcake is absolutely the best I have had in over 40 years!! It is dark,
moist, & rich with all the most heavenly
mix of fruits & nuts. It certainly made our
holiday reminiscent of years ago. I don't
believe I can wait until next Christmas for
another Abbey Fruitcake. Our gratitude to
the Trappist Monks.