Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Assumption Abbey Fruitcake

Rich and fragrant, this fruitcake is baked by Trappist monks at Assumption Abbey, nestled in the foothills of the Missouri Ozarks. Based on a recipe developed by French chef Jean-Pierre Auge, who was once employed by the duke and duchess of Windsor, this dark, spicy cake has a deep, rich flavor and moist crumb. Laced with an ounce of rum, its proof of just how delicious a fruitcake can be! Baked in small batches - each cake receives individual attention from start to finish. Made using the finest ingredients including pure butter, fresh eggs, raisins, pineapple, currants, citron, walnuts and wine. Packaged in a reusable tin. 2 lb. Made in USA. Order early - Quantities are limited.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
21 of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
Review 1 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,new york
,ny
May 7, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best fruitcake ever
May 7, 2016
moist, chewy, and lots of nuts and fruits. though i wish they would add more wine for bolder flavor but otherwise this is a very delicious, fine-made fruitcake.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Decadent
Review 2 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bay Area
,ca
January 20, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
should have ordered more
January 20, 2016
I ordered before Christmas and ended up eating it almost all by myself! So I greedily went online to order 1 more fruitcake and now I am eating it as leisurely as I possibly can to savour it. It was that good!
Pros: Decadent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sacramento
,CA
January 16, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Husband loves it!
January 16, 2016
I ordered this for my husband, who is a fan of fruitcake. He loved it. The cake is a nice size. It was very moist and flavorful. The abbots know what they are doing. I served it at Christmas and it received rave reviews.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic
Review 4 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,wilmington
,nc
January 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please don't ever discontine
January 6, 2016
I purchase this for my parents every Christmas. This year I was a little late in ordering it, so they thought I forgot. They really do look forward to it year after year.
Pros: Authentic
Review 5 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Margate
,Fl
December 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Tradition
December 13, 2015
Best fruitcake I have ever eaten. Moist and just the right amount of nuts and fruit. I love it with my coffee on Christmas morning.
It also helps that my maiden name is Auge'.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Charlotte
,Nc
December 11, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 11, 2015
My grandmothers used to make fruitcake and both made very good and yet very different versions. They were expensive to make and took a lot of time.
We loved them both. This one is like my dad's mother's fruitcake...deep rummy, moist, raisiny, spicy. Personally, we freeze it and and slice off a little bit of Heaven each night during the Christmas Season. It embodies delicious flavor and incredible memories! Thank you!
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic
Review 7 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Moore
,Ok
February 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fruitcake!
February 9, 2015
The Assumption Abbey Fruitcake is delicious. It is moist with a generous amount of fruit and nuts.
Pros: Flavor
Review 8 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
February 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Fruitcake
February 2, 2015
This is the best fruitcake you can buy. excellent quality ingredients and perfectly prepared. It just tastes great.
.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Redwood City
,CA
Redwood City, CA
January 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Fruitcake!
January 23, 2015
When I was growing up, we had a lot of fruitcakes. I was never too fond of them as I thought they were often dry or too sweet. I laughed along at all the jokes about fruitcakes. Then my mother said she would like one but no longer bakes. I ordered one of these, and our whole family was delighted. It was moist and delicious and filled with fresh nuts, fruit and a hint of rum. These fruitcakes are a new family tradition, and we can't wait to order one next year.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Duluth
,MN
January 18, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday Must-have!
January 18, 2015
The holidays start when my Assumption Abbey fruitcake arrives. The eye appeal--it looks like stained glass--, the rich, consistent flavor, the careful packaging all add up to another wonderful season. Kept in the 'fridge it stays good throughout the year. I'm proud to serve it to my guests.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rolls Royce of Christmas Treats
January 6, 2015
I find it sad that fruitcakes have become so unpopular because few people have tasted the real thing. My mother used to make a wonderful fruitcake every year. She would trek across town to find the best ingredients. When I grew up she would send them and my kids loved them. This is the first one I have tasted since she died over 20 years ago- it tastes exactly like hers!! Thank you!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 12 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Farmington
,NM
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Fruitcake in the world!
January 5, 2015
We have been buying this fruitcake at Christmas for many years...too many years to count! We have bought as many as 3 but this year kept it to 2. It is the yummiest fruitcake on earth. So moist, full of fruit...perfection in a tin! One year we tried to order late and there was none left. So order early!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,hagerstown
,md
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Assumption Abbey explosion of texture and flavor
January 2, 2015
In 2013 my wife purchased AA fruitcake for one on my Christmas presents. I thought I died and went to heaven. I admit I was very stingy; and you were lucky to be offered a piece. To my delight under the Christmas tree in 2014 I got another fruitcake (oh yes there is a Santa Clause). I admit I will be purchasing more, even before 2015 Christmas. thanks Assumption Abbey for sharing your talents...peace
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, classic
Review 14 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
December 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing!
December 24, 2014
does not taste at all like a fruitcake -- just moist dark cake and small bits of fruits. Very poor.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 15 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,The Woodlands
,TX
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Fruitcake Ever
November 16, 2014
I buy the Assumption Abbey fruitcakes every year since I first discovered them several years ago. My family loves them and it is truly a special treat. They are expensive, but worth every penny.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Desert
,OR
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A delicious fruitcake
January 7, 2014
This is a 'perfect' fruitcake: moist, nuts, large pieces of rum soaked fruit. Ordered 2nd while still available!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent
Review 17 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hot Springs Village
,AR
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best fruit cake EVER!
December 21, 2013
I order fruit cakes each year but this was my first time ordering this one. OMG! It is awesome. This cake is very moist. Totally delicious. My husband who hates fruit cakes finally tried this one to shut me up. I went out of town for a week and when I got back there was only a very small piece left. I couldn't believe he ate almost my entire fruit cake. He admitted this fruit was not like any other. He said to order another one.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 18 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kansas City
,KS
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"Nuts" about this Fantastic Fruitcake
December 18, 2013
I have never before eaten an entire fruitcake by myself, but I somehow accomplished this starting when I received it before Thanksgiving. Believe it or not, I exhibited great restraint in not eating it in its entirety within the week I got it. When I opened the tin it was shipped in, I could tell immediately this was a very moist cake that had received ample injections of wine and brandy. It was packed full of nuts and small pieces of fruit and was a pleasure with each bite. I kept the fruitcake well wrapped and within a plastic bag in the tin and it lasted until this week and was still very fresh and moist. I love the fact that it is made by Missouri Monks. How cool is that?
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 19 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Bedford
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-31points
2of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst fruit cake
November 21, 2013
This is the worst fruit cake we ever ate! Don't wast your money
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 20 for Assumption Abbey Fruitcake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Spokane
,WA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Get Past Your Fruitcake Prejudices!
November 1, 2013
When I think of Fruitcake, it conjures up memories of those awful fruitcakes from the mall store that also sells the terrible dried fruit.
Not this! It's nothing like those cakes. It's moist, flavorful and delicious. I pretty much won't eat any other kind of fruitcake. This product gives fruitcake a "rebirth".
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 next