Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring

Crafted entirely by hand in China, this authentic carbon-steel wok is hammered from fast-heating carbon steel. The traditional shape is designed to expose food to the maximum amount of cooking surface while keeping it safely contained in the pan as you stir-fry, but the wok is also useful for deep-frying, steaming and more. Hand-hammered of carbon steel, heats rapidly and disperses it evenly all the way up the wok's sides. Rounded sides ensure food stays directly over heat source and facilitates stirring and tossing. Two loop handles make it easy to transfer on and off the stovetop. Includes a metal base ring for use on conventional stovetops.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring
Review 1 for Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ashland
,VA
October 7, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Greatest Wok I have ever used
October 7, 2016
I have a carbon steel wok I have been using for 30 years and it is a very well seasoned wok. But I wanted a true hand hammered wok and I did a lot of research. I settled for this one from William Sonoma and glad I did. After a long wait, because it was on back order, it finely arrived. I seasoned it and have been using almost every day for the past 3 weeks and it cooks better than my 30 year old wok. Such a great wok. I would highly recommend this wok to anyone.
Pros: Design, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Shape
Review 2 for Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
September 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Beautiful!
September 12, 2015
I cook quite a bit, but I don't like clutter or re-buying things; I appreciate multi-purpose, durable, well-designed kitchen tools. It's true some things aren't worth paying more for, but at least for me, it wasn't the case with this item. I considered buying a less expensive wok, but am so glad I decided to pay more for this one.
This is a high quality, incredibly beautiful wok. I'm not sure where you would find a better one. Given you handle it with love and take care of it properly, I don't see why this wok wouldn't easily last a lifetime (or longer).
I've only just seasoned it and made a stir fry with it once, but it already has a remarkably nonstick surface - not one bit of food stuck!
Honestly the only two cons I can think of are that, as it is a rather large item, it could be tricky to store; and also, that this item was on back order for several months.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Miley
Canada
Posted April 21, 2016
Made in China?
How do you know this is good quality, coming from China?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Monterey Park
December 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Outstanding Wok
December 2, 2014
After hunting online and out in my Asian communities that surround me, I bought this one. After having so many different ones to touch, hold, feel the weight, I am so happy to have found this one. It is truly thicker and noticably handmade. Actually, I never found a handmade one out there in retail land. This is a beauty. The patina continues to glow with each use. It is extraordinary to cook with and we are proud to be learning about this amazing world of Asian cooking. It has a permanent home atop the gas range. Seasoning it is simple and rinse with hot water, never soap. It is my favorite pan in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tampa
,Fl
August 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
10of 14found this review helpful.
100% Hand Made
August 22, 2014
First, I'd like to say that this wok is 100% hand made, unlike many that are machined, then pounded with a hammer and called "hand hammered". This one is made by hand from start to finish, including the handle rivets. That's what makes it worth the price.
It's heavier than most of the thin carbon steel woks I've used, and that helps with runaway heat. We use it on our Weber kettle, with a special wok grate that lets it sit down in the coals. It also works well, with the included wok ring, on my induction range. Note that the wok ring isn't magnetic. I use the ring upside down, the bottom of the wok touches my cooktop, and the ring stabilizes it and prevents tipping. The result is a round-bottom wok on my induction cooktop.
The wok took seasoning beautifully on our grill and has worked very well for us. All in all, this is a very special wok, one of a kind, and something we're very proud to own and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Artisan Hammered Carbon Steel Round Bottom Wok with Ring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Barbara
,CA
July 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
14of 16found this review helpful.
best wok ever
July 16, 2013
I bought this because it was recommended for a gas stove. I also did not want another non stick wok that the finish would eventually start to wear off & it have to be replaced - again.
I love this wok! Easy to follow instructions on how to season. Heats up super quick. Big enough to toss food without tossing it out of the wok.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: pricey but worth it if you like to stir fry a lot
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pjohnson
Boulder, CO
Posted June 17, 2014
no handle
Do you mind this wok not having a long handle?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)