Apple Turnovers, Set of 12

Known in France as chaussons aux pommes, these petite pastries from master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon fill your kitchen with the aroma of apples and cinnamon. Flaky golden pastries filled with flavorful Gravenstein apples and spices. Handcrafted in the classic French tradition. Simply thaw, score and bake; serve warm from the oven. Shipped frozen. 12 pastries (1 lb. 12 oz. total). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
24 of 35(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
Review 1 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpbear
,Arlington
,VA
Dallas, Texas
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect morning treat
December 6, 2013
I love these turnovers; I sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon sugar on top of mine after brushing with egg. To address a few commonly expressed criticisms: They are not too small. Compared to their much larger (and much less tasty) American cousins, these pack much more flavor and richness into each bite, such that 1-2 is sufficient for breakfast. Also, while they are expensive, I think of the cost as a surcharge for (a) the fact that I don't have any bakeries within 50 miles of me that can make chaussons like these; (b) even if I did, I would still pay a premium to be able to prepare these in the comfort of my own home while the baking aroma fills the house and eat them hot, instead of driving out to a bakery to get them.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good things, small packages
July 26, 2013
Okay, these rock. They're small, but we like the portion control. Crust and filling are perfect. You'll love it!
Review 3 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chemjane
,Bloomington
,IN
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty, but tiny
January 26, 2012
I was disappointed at how small these were. They are easy to store, defrost and make, and they taste just fine, but I still cannot get over how little bang you are getting for your buck here. I have no problem spending money on quality pastries, but these fall short for me. They are just "ok". I will not purchase again, but was happy that I tried them once.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 4 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magooh
,Medford
,MA
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy, yummy
January 13, 2012
These turnovers rival any bakery product and are great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 5 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lobbie
,Northern
,CA
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apple Turnovers
January 8, 2012
Unfortunate retro ingredient list. Very disappointing to purchase a "treat" for the holidays. Thought the product was real quality.
Pros: Amount, beautiful photo
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Unhealthy, Ingredients, Flavor, no real apple baking smell
Review 6 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
muneca64
,lakeview
,ny
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
these were great!
January 5, 2012
we had these Christmas morning and they were a hit! filling was delicious and pastry was excellent quality
Pros: Quality, Time-saver
Review 7 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic
January 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! These are Wonderful!
January 5, 2012
I was totally impressed with these Apple Turnovers! The flavor and texture is absolutely wonderful! My only regret is that I had only ordered one box! They disappeared so quickly - the first bite sold them - everyone went for seconds!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 8 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seacliff
,Clifton
,VA
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apple Turnovers with delicate pastry!
December 30, 2011
Delicious! Everyone asked for seconds - would definitely purchase again!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 9 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
andreen
,Slaton
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Apple Turnovers I Have Ever Had!
December 29, 2011
the turnovers were delicious; my favorite part was the buttery flaky crust, it melts in your mouth. I also loved the tiny apple pieces, that stands out from other apple turnovers I have had.. I am going to buy this again! Andrea
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMJarrell
,Dallas
,TX
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best I've ever eaten
December 28, 2011
These apple turnovers were so good that I could barely get one for myself! Served them right from the oven with some Blue Bell ice cream... Heaven!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 11 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
christmascookie
,Alexandria
,VA
Alexandria
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We loved them!
December 23, 2011
These were new to our family. We already love the morning buns, sticky buns and chocolate croissants, so we thought we'd try something new. Oh my goodness - they were so good! We don't have a favorite - We love them all!
I brushed them with an egg wash and sprinkled on a little cinnamon sugar......
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, yummy
Review 12 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RLTALLEY
,Fresno
,CA
Leon Valley, TX
October 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grandfather gave them an A+
October 30, 2011
I sent these to my grandfather after he told me he wished to have some apple turnovers to go with his vanilla ice cream! He is quite the connoisseur of apple desserts and he LOVED them!!! Thanks for delivering a quality product to the people I love :*) WS remains our FAVORITE place to send gifts to people we adore!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: none
Review 13 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cheriej
Irvine, CA
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Small and no taste
April 28, 2011
I had wanted to try these turnovers for a while. I bought them for part of my easter brunch buffet as the dessert. I was really disappointed. There wasn't enough filling, the dough was tasteless and limp. The turnovers are small. It was a lot of money fo something most people at my brunch didn't even finish eating. A big disappointment.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor
Review 14 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
seat
Bloomington,il
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
christmas morning breakfast
December 30, 2010
TOO SMALL FOR THE PRICE. Loaded with apples. good flavor and easy to make just wish were larger.
Review 15 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DanceRomance
Texas
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breakfast Delight
December 16, 2010
I have given these turnovers as gifts and friends love 'em!!!
Review 16 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellendy
Santa Cruz CA
July 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I would change the instructions....
July 13, 2010
The first time I made half of the batch, I followed the instructions and let them thaw for 30 minutes, which wasn't enough because they didn't rise. For the second half of the batch, I let them sit out for a couple of hours, and they rose and got very flaky, just like in the photo. If they're not soft when you go to put them in the oven, they haven't thawed enough, so let them sit out longer. I think the directions should recommend that the turnovers be soft before they're baked. I have a very cold freezer (-4 F), and a cool coastal kitchen, so this could be the issue, but WS customers live in many different climates, so I'd not give a blanket defrosting time. I would definitely purchase these again, though.
Review 17 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CABJ
Gulfport, MS
June 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Breakfast
June 30, 2010
Delicious and easy! Can be made cooked and eaten on the same morning.
Review 18 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TTSo
TX
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciously Convienent
June 25, 2010
Can't ask for anything more simple and delicious. Pop them in the oven and instant snack dessert. Be careful, they are so small that you can clean the box in one sitting.
Review 19 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottNM
New Mexico
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mothers Day
May 14, 2010
My Mother lives by herself and suggested a good toaster oven for Mothers Day so we had these apple turnovers delived as well. She LOVED them.
Review 20 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bugzmom
Corning,CA
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apple Turnovers
May 13, 2010
These Apple Turnovers are wonderful in that you can actually taste the apples which are not overly sweetened. We sent them to relatives we were visiting as a gift. It made breakfast easy for all our busy schedules.
Do something different. Send your host or hostess Apple Turnovers. They will thank you for it.
page1 2 next