This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Apple Turnovers, Set of 12

Known in France as chaussons aux pommes, these petite pastries from master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon fill your kitchen with the aroma of apples and cinnamon. Flaky golden pastries filled with flavorful Gravenstein apples and spices. Handcrafted in the classic French tradition. Simply thaw, score and bake; serve warm from the oven. Shipped frozen. 12 pastries (1 lb. 12 oz. total). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
Review 1 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpbear
,Arlington
,VA
Dallas, Texas
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect morning treat
December 6, 2013
I love these turnovers; I sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon sugar on top of mine after brushing with egg. To address a few commonly expressed criticisms: They are not too small. Compared to their much larger (and much less tasty) American cousins, these pack much more flavor and richness into each bite, such that 1-2 is sufficient for breakfast. Also, while they are expensive, I think of the cost as a surcharge for (a) the fact that I don't have any bakeries within 50 miles of me that can make chaussons like these; (b) even if I did, I would still pay a premium to be able to prepare these in the comfort of my own home while the baking aroma fills the house and eat them hot, instead of driving out to a bakery to get them.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good things, small packages
July 26, 2013
Okay, these rock. They're small, but we like the portion control. Crust and filling are perfect. You'll love it!
Review 3 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chemjane
,Bloomington
,IN
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Tasty, but tiny
January 26, 2012
I was disappointed at how small these were. They are easy to store, defrost and make, and they taste just fine, but I still cannot get over how little bang you are getting for your buck here. I have no problem spending money on quality pastries, but these fall short for me. They are just "ok". I will not purchase again, but was happy that I tried them once.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 4 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magooh
,Medford
,MA
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Yummy, yummy
January 13, 2012
These turnovers rival any bakery product and are great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 5 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lobbie
,Northern
,CA
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Apple Turnovers
January 8, 2012
Unfortunate retro ingredient list. Very disappointing to purchase a "treat" for the holidays. Thought the product was real quality.
Pros: Amount, beautiful photo
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Unhealthy, Ingredients, Flavor, no real apple baking smell
Review 6 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
muneca64
,lakeview
,ny
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
these were great!
January 5, 2012
we had these Christmas morning and they were a hit! filling was delicious and pastry was excellent quality
Pros: Quality, Time-saver
Review 7 for Apple Turnovers, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic
January 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
WOW! These are Wonderful!
January 5, 2012
I was totally impressed with these Apple Turnovers! The flavor and texture is absolutely wonderful! My only regret is that I had only ordered one box! They disappeared so quickly - the first bite sold them - everyone went for seconds!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor