Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2

Apilco's Zen collection offers a clean, simple backdrop that highlights the colors, shapes and textures of food. Ideal for serving Asian specialties, these dinner plates make an elegant presentation of all kinds of cooking. Like all Apilco dinnerware, they are finely crafted of durable porcelain for years of service. 9 1/2" sq. dinner plates, set of two. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
Review 1 for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MissCuddlesTheHavanese
,Seattle
,WA
April 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, if handled carefully
April 24, 2012
I have a significant variety of the Zen range, spending nearly $1400 for a good number of dinner plates, appetizer and side plates. It was a big investment. The range is particularly elegant, but it gets perilous when they are stacked. Another reviewer wrote that they put a lace paper between the plates. A good idea. I have a number that have scratched where the unglazed bottom rubs on the surface. And there has been the odd knife mark. I was disappointed to find they scratch so easily. Consequently they are relegated to coming out only for important events and can't be used at all as elegant dinnerware. I would use your good judgment whether to buy them or not.
Pros: elegant, timeless
Cons: delicate, easily scratched, underside not glazed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WHan
Iowa
Posted December 10, 2012
Different experience
I have a full set of the Zen porcelain in all the different sizes and shapes. One of the dinner plates seemed a little bit warped - nothing major. Otherwise, I have had no problems with mine. I haven't had any scratches from stacking on top of each other nor have I had any marks from knives. This is my every day dishes, and I have been using them for 7 years. Perhaps they have lowered their standards but mine still look great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JenniM
Sarasota, FL
August 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, but they chip and crack easily...
August 30, 2011
These are beautiful plates. We use them everyday and have the entire collection for over year. They look fantastic. However, since we use them everyday, they get a lot of wear. This has lead to multiple cracks and breaks in the plates, and at over $30/piece, it's a steep price to pay to replace them. All in all, I wouldn't buy them again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile, cracks easily
Review 3 for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrenchieBravo
Orange County, California
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FrenchieBravo
March 21, 2011
I love my Apilco. I use my plates every day. They are not only beautiful but created to last long time. The dinner plate is big enough to put many things like main dish, small salad, bread and cheese. This plate is just so perfect.
Review 4 for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodie001
NJ
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great & Advise About Storage
February 17, 2011
We have the entire Apilico Zen line which we greatly enjoy using for everyday as well as entertaining. The look of the set is elegant and contemporary.
To others, given the flat and unglazed underside of this set, I place soft paper/firm cloth between each item when I stack these dishes in my cabinet to prevent wear patterns. I initially returned many of the pieces that I purchased at a local Williams-Sonoma store, when I noticed the numerous scratches/wear patterns that occurred when the dishes were stacked for display at the local store. Please note, although this adds a few seconds when I put away or take out the dishes, it will add years to my enjoyment of these dishes.
Review 5 for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prairie33
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Aplico Zen Porcelin Plates
December 10, 2010
The Apilco Zen Porcelin Dinner Plates are quite elegant, refined, modern. Perfect for use either with an entre or a dessert.
Review 6 for Apilco Zen Porcelain Dinner Plates , Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn01
New Jersey
February 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enjoy Using Everyday and Special Occasions
February 20, 2010
These dishes are a joy to use on a daily basis as well as wonderfully elegant on the table during special occasions.
Although you can find imitations, nothing I found matches the quality of the Apilco Zen collection. We purchased the entire collection.