Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection

This versatile white porcelain dinnerware is grandly sized to accommodate hearty portions. The sturdy, substantial dishes were originally designed for use in fine restaurants, where chefs have praised their ability to showcase the colors and textures of various foods. To round out your collection, pieces are available in sets of four: 12" dinner plate; 9 1/2" salad plate; 10" soup plate; 11-oz. cup and 7" saucer; and 24-oz., 7" cereal bowl. They're made in France by Apilco, suppliers of top-quality porcelain to culinary professionals since 1906. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. Sets of four.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
Review 1 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jase
May 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dinnerware
May 16, 2013
I just love this set. After six months of use, I can confidently recommend this to anyone looking for quality dinnerware. I'd buy it again, and without hesitation.
Review 2 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Norina
Lynnwood, WA
October 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Apilco Brand
October 29, 2009
I had recently bought the dinner plates and cereal bowl (which I used for soup) for a dinner party and absolutely loved them.
I wanted to purchase the Apilco collections because I wanted to be able to use the plates in the oven; a great convenience for me. The quality is impeccable! Can't wait to add more to my collection.
As a side note. I had found a similar kind of dinnerware at a well known department store but found the quality does not match up to Apilco.
Highly recommend.
Review 3 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love2Entertain
Altus, OK
August 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classicly Elegant Dinnerware
August 15, 2009
We registered for this set when we got married a few years ago and we love it! The extra large size is great (with one exception, the large dinner plates don't fit in our standard-size cabinets!). We're not the china type and this classic set allows for casual or more formal entertaining.
Review 4 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beeincharge
Northern Virginia
June 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Quality but Too Big
June 18, 2009
We have owned the Apilco salad plates for several years and they are the only dishes we ever use. Recently we decided to add the dinner plates and cereal bowls to our collection. We bought these at half price during a promotion at the outlet store. We love them, but the only drawback is the size. The smaller sized dinner plate was not offered at the outlet, so we did not realize how large these plates are, or that there are 2 sizes to choose from. They will not fit in the kitchen cabinets!! If you buy these, please measure your cabinet interior first!!
Review 5 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CastleRockCO
Castle Rock, CO
May 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Apilco Tres Grande Dinnerware are awesome!
May 20, 2009
I love these dishes, I received for Christmas and I will never use any other dinnerware again. The size is great, the cereal bowl is the perfect size for soup as well. I highly recommend this dinnerware which will last a lifetime. I am looking forward to adding more pieces to my set.
This Tres Grande Dinnerware is a winner and I highly recommend!
Review 6 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wallyw
Navarre, FL
March 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Size Presentations
March 28, 2009
Outsanding quality all around, outstanding style in the whole series.
Some harp the large sizes cause overly large portions, rubbish. The large sizes give a good background for creative presentations -- with modest to small portion sizes. Only one person decides how much to eat, and it's not the plate.
The generous sizes, eg. the dinnerplates, do require cabinets with some depth and a good dishwasher with a multi-level upper basket.
Review 7 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ilovenyc3
Plano Tx
February 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dishes
February 9, 2009
I love these dishes! They are well worth the money. For the people complaining about the dinner plates being too tall/large, I use the 9.5"salad plate as our dinner plates. The average plate size in the 1960's was 9" before we started over stuffing ourselves!!
Review 8 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth3
Mendham, NJ
January 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I use it every day!
January 10, 2009
I bought a set of 14 of this four years ago when I renovated my kitchen. I love it still! It is very durable and looks great with all my Italian ceramic serving pieces. I highly recommend this dinner ware.
Review 9 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZuperZionsville
Zionsville, IN
January 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go BIG or eat out.
January 3, 2009
We could not be happier with this dinnerware for everyday and formal dining. The classic beauty and exceptional quality make dining at home more fun. The size is larger than most dinnerware, so make sure your cabinets / dishwasher can accomodate before you purchase. We purchased Apilco white cereal bowls to augment this set. They compliment the set nicely. Cannot say enough about the quality. The look and feel of this dinnerware rivals the finest restaurants. The best part is that the Tres Grande showcases your favorite recipes like something on Iron Chef!
Review 10 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookinwi
Brookfield, WI
December 22, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tres Grande, timeless and beautiful
December 22, 2008
We received this set of 12 as a wedding gift 6 years ago. While the dinner plate is large, it is quite impressive on a well set table. We use the salad plates for everyday meals. They are a bit smaller than regular dinner plates, which helps keep portions under control. We also use the Aplico tradition cereal bowls, as the large bowls in the Tres Grande set are most functional for us when serving pastas and stews. I would purchase again in a heartbeat.
Review 11 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
architect
Seattle, WA
December 15, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these dishes
December 15, 2008
I have had these dishes for 5 years, and I love them. They look as good as they did the day we got them. They have clean lines, and are completely timeless. The dinner plate is large due to the wide rim, but this is what makes them so beautiful. They fit in my current cabinets, but I had to store them in a lower cabinet in a previous home...but not the end of the world. If you want beautiful, modern, timeless dinnerware...these are perfect. Just wish they made a cereal bowl that matched this set.
Review 12 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
November 13, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just a little too big
November 13, 2008
To be honest, these dishes were just to large. While they are of exceptional quality, they don't fit in anything, not the cabinets, not the dishwasher and barely in the sink. Additionally there massive size almost encourages over eating since a full plate can easily end up being an entire days worth of food.
Review 13 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peppatty
San Carlos, CA
October 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyday dinnerware
October 11, 2008
I've had this set for 8 years and the have never chipped. Extremely durable, except tonight. On plate crashed to the floor in a thousand pieces and I'm looking to replace it. Unfortunately I have to buy a set of four through the website so I'll have to find a single in the store.
Review 14 for Apilco Tres Grande Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OliviaAnne
Vernon Hills, IL
October 6, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too big dinnerplates
October 6, 2008
We love the fact that the dinner plates are large enough to hold a big steak, baked potato, and vegetables without overflowing the sides of the plate. However, the dinner plates do not fit in our dishwasher. They are just too large (tall). Also they are too large for the depth of our cabinets (and our home was built only 3 years ago). We had to push the false back of the cabinet in order to close the cabinet door. Love the product, just be aware of the size. Tres Grande- they are not kidding.