Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs

Timeless in design, these mugs are by Apilco, the French company that has supplied culinary professionals with restaurant-quality porcelain wares since 1906. The high-fired porcelain is wonderfully versatile and suitable for everyday dining as well as entertaining. Microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. 3 1/4" high, 10-oz. capacity. Mugs, set of four.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
Review 1 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Debra2
,Clearwater
,FL
Clearwater, Florida
December 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design for hot beverage
December 7, 2013
The large exposed top surface allows hot beverages to cool very rapidly. I can not verify the quality because I only use them when everything else is dirty in the dishwasher. I find myself microwaving my coffee half way thru, trying to keep a complete cup hot until I finish it.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Shape, Design
Review 2 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bakergail
,Dallas
,TX
Oklahoma
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOTHING like the former quality of these mugs!
November 26, 2013
I tried to purchase some of these recently at a WS retail store and the quality is nothing to resemble the mugs I have from earlier. They are thick and have a wide rim, nothing like the shaped and thinner rim of my old mugs. They are smaller than my others, the glaze is lumpy and terrible, and they look like cheap mugs from the diner!
Wow what a disappointment!
Cons: Quality, Design, Size
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST QUALITY
March 5, 2013
I wonder if the other negative reviews were from a faulty production batch, but the Apilco mugs I own are of the highest quality, no chipping or scratching after ten years of regular use. Beautiful, high quality porcelain with a nice, heavy weight. Classic 'mug' design.
Pros: stands up to a lifetime of use, classic design, beautiful finish
Cons: pricey
Review 4 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LPeebles
,Franklin
,TN
November 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of cracks and blemishes in Glaze
November 6, 2012
I registered for a complete collection of Apilco Tradition dinnerware 2 years ago. These mugs had blemishes and little cracks in the glaze and porcelain all over them. Took them back to the store and we couldn't find any that looked any better so I returned them. The rest of my dinnerware is beautiful and sturdy. I am sure that like other reviewers I will be enjoying them 15 years from now. The mugs do not reflect the excellent level of quality get from Apilco. From the sound of other reviews it does not sound like they have fixed the quality issue with these mugs.
Cons: poor quality, visible blemishes, inconsistent
Review 5 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rozzer
,Williamstown
,MA
April 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is Apilco extremely overrated?
April 7, 2012
I paid 16 dollars per mug for this set of 4, which was on sale, and perhaps on sale for a reason that should be disclosed.
The clear glaze on these mugs is noticeably uneven, striated, and "gloppy" in places-- not the sort of quality I would expect from this brand given the sorts of reviews it receives. The mugs also are of varying thicknesses in places that one would expect to be uniform. These may sound like small matters, but the craftsmanship looks poor-- I find it hard to believe these were made in France, or if they were, they are clearly not a valued product for Apilco and they aren't giving them attention. The Apilco grand cereal bowls I ordered were far better made and without the problems with the glaze application. If I had the time, which I unfortunately don't, I would send these back.
Cons: glazing is done poorly, mugs constructed without attention to detail
Review 6 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KJHF
,SF East Bay
,CA
November 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still beautiful after all these years...
November 15, 2011
I registered for Apilco dinnerware, including these mugs, for my every day dishes when I got married in 1990. They are still as good looking today as they were 21 years ago. I've never had a problem with them falling apart, mine have needed to be replaced because they got dropped, or I left them somewhere, or someone carried them off thinking it was their own mug. I'm ordering more to round out the set back up to 12, great product (along with the other Apilco pieces); I wouldn't hesitate to buy these again; they are truly classic.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rberry
Florida
July 17, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very attractive but may come apart
July 17, 2011
I like the Apilco mugs very much. They're a good weight, easy to hold, simple in design, and a great size. However, like another reviewer, I also had one of the mugs come apart. The handle separated from the cup, as though not properly attached. I bought 12 mugs, and this happened on only one, or possibly two (I'm not sure about the second, since the handle came off while submerged in dishwater). I've had them about four years, and I would say that the others have held up okay, although not quite as well as some cheaper porcelain restaurant dinnerware that I bought at the same time.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile
Review 8 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lisamona
marietta Ga
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I've had these mugs for 14 years
November 19, 2010
as well as a set of 8 dinner plates, salad bowls, soup bowls, and rounded mugs with saucers. The look nearly like new. I've had no instances of them "falling apart" and have no idea how that could happen to the other reviewer unless she banged the handles of her mugs against something hard. Love these dishes and that's all I've used since I got them,...even for entertaining. Ina Gartin has them....
Review 9 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blackpearls
North Carolina
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THEM!
August 19, 2010
Six years ago I purchased 6 Apilco mugs. We use them every day for our morning coffee. They are washed in the dishwasher. The mugs still look 'NEW'; no staining, chips or cracks! We Love them!!
Review 10 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RLBS
Seattle, WA
July 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Falling apart
July 31, 2010
I would definitely not buy these mugs again. I registered for these mugs along with other Aplico products. I've had them for about three years and they're falling apart. The handles are separating from the body of the mug. They haven't been used excessively, there are just two of us and eight mugs, along with others we've collected. I like the idea of having a matching set, but I will not be replacing the broken mugs with the same product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RHATB
California
Posted May 25, 2011
Sorry about your mugs
I have the same mugs and have had them a few years, but I didn't experience the same problem. My mugs are holding up really well and I have a husband who can chip dishes just by looking at them. did you try taking them back to the store and having them replaced. I'm wondering if you got a bad batch or something. As you are, I would be really disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)