Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs

Timeless in design, these mugs are by Apilco, the French company that has supplied culinary professionals with restaurant-quality porcelain wares since 1906. The high-fired porcelain is wonderfully versatile and suitable for everyday dining as well as entertaining. Microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. 3 1/4" high, 10-oz. capacity. Mugs, set of four.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
1 of 5(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
Review 1 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Debra2
,Clearwater
,FL
Clearwater, Florida
December 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design for hot beverage
December 7, 2013
The large exposed top surface allows hot beverages to cool very rapidly. I can not verify the quality because I only use them when everything else is dirty in the dishwasher. I find myself microwaving my coffee half way thru, trying to keep a complete cup hot until I finish it.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Shape, Design
Review 2 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bakergail
,Dallas
,TX
Oklahoma
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOTHING like the former quality of these mugs!
November 26, 2013
I tried to purchase some of these recently at a WS retail store and the quality is nothing to resemble the mugs I have from earlier. They are thick and have a wide rim, nothing like the shaped and thinner rim of my old mugs. They are smaller than my others, the glaze is lumpy and terrible, and they look like cheap mugs from the diner!
Wow what a disappointment!
Cons: Quality, Design, Size
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST QUALITY
March 5, 2013
I wonder if the other negative reviews were from a faulty production batch, but the Apilco mugs I own are of the highest quality, no chipping or scratching after ten years of regular use. Beautiful, high quality porcelain with a nice, heavy weight. Classic 'mug' design.
Pros: stands up to a lifetime of use, classic design, beautiful finish
Cons: pricey
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JoeJoeBubbaJr
West Chester, PA
Posted May 5, 2014
Same mugs?
I too have ten year old Apilco, though only one is left. I think the point may be that the quality has slipped. I'll have to check these out in the store before buying a new set.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LPeebles
,Franklin
,TN
November 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of cracks and blemishes in Glaze
November 6, 2012
I registered for a complete collection of Apilco Tradition dinnerware 2 years ago. These mugs had blemishes and little cracks in the glaze and porcelain all over them. Took them back to the store and we couldn't find any that looked any better so I returned them. The rest of my dinnerware is beautiful and sturdy. I am sure that like other reviewers I will be enjoying them 15 years from now. The mugs do not reflect the excellent level of quality get from Apilco. From the sound of other reviews it does not sound like they have fixed the quality issue with these mugs.
Cons: poor quality, visible blemishes, inconsistent
Review 5 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Mugs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rozzer
,Williamstown
,MA
April 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is Apilco extremely overrated?
April 7, 2012
I paid 16 dollars per mug for this set of 4, which was on sale, and perhaps on sale for a reason that should be disclosed.
The clear glaze on these mugs is noticeably uneven, striated, and "gloppy" in places-- not the sort of quality I would expect from this brand given the sorts of reviews it receives. The mugs also are of varying thicknesses in places that one would expect to be uniform. These may sound like small matters, but the craftsmanship looks poor-- I find it hard to believe these were made in France, or if they were, they are clearly not a valued product for Apilco and they aren't giving them attention. The Apilco grand cereal bowls I ordered were far better made and without the problems with the glaze application. If I had the time, which I unfortunately don't, I would send these back.
Cons: glazing is done poorly, mugs constructed without attention to detail