Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings

Reflecting a proud tradition of fine dining, this classic white porcelain dinnerware is suitable for everyday dining as well as entertaining. Produced by Apilco, a French company that has supplied restaurant-quality porcelain to culinary professionals since 1906, our wide selection of Apilco wares allows you to round out your collection with a variety of matching pieces - from a casserole to a set of cafe au lait bowls. Made of high-fired porcelain. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. 20-piece place setting includes 4 of each: dinner plate, salad plate, soup bowl, teacup and saucer. 5-piece place setting includes 1 of each: dinner plate, salad plate, soup bowl, teacup with saucer. Also available individually, in sets of four. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Port Hueneme
,CA
August 29, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enjoying our Apilco Dinnerware
August 29, 2016
We are quite pleased with our new Apilco Porcelain Dinnerware. We're starting out with a 4 piece place setting, and will build it on it with more dinnerware and serving pieces. It has a good weight, and is quality porcelain for everyday use. Our morning coffee in particular is a pleasure in these beautiful cups.
Pros: Appearance, Color, Design, Easy to Clean, Quality, Versatile, Weight
Cons: would like to see more open serving dishes
Review 2 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
April 20, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely dinnerware
April 20, 2016
The weight of this dinnerware is substantial without being too heavy. It's classic, beautiful and looks great with any style. The bowls stack well so that they take up less room in my cupboard than my old set. Arrived intact and have not had a chip or grey mark yet. We use it everyday for every meal and have had it about a month. Time will tell, but I think this set will last us a long time.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store, Design
Review 3 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Visalia
,CA
March 13, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Dishes!
March 13, 2016
I've always wanted white dishes and these are wonderful! They are perfect for everyday use and in our very informal lifestyle perfect for everything else also. Even the simplest meals look great on these dishes. They are easy to clean and extremely durable. No chips and we are tough on our dishes. We also love the heft of these dishes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,austin
,tx
February 23, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Dinnerware
February 23, 2016
Classic enduring style, made in France, and backed with solid customer support. I wanted new dinnerware that had restaurant-type flair & appeal and everyday durability. I purchased an 8 place setting and couldn't be happier!!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining
Review 5 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,NJ
November 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bubbles in the Glaze
November 10, 2015
I bought my first set of 4 plates and 8 bowls last year and I felt the quality was really good and decided to complete my kitchen set over the next year a few pieces a time. I recently purchased 4 more plates, 2 platters and 4 bowls. 2 of the 4 plates had bubbles in the glaze and one of the platters had bubbles in the glaze. Customer service was prompt in picking up the set of 4 plates and one platter and I received the replacements today. Again there were small bubbles not so noticeable in the glaze in two of the plates and one larger bubble in one plate. The platter was fine. I decided to keep the plates because I have to return all of the plates and am afraid that I will have to play the return game all winter. Not interested. Better quality in another product possibly?
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, CA
August 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Quality
August 10, 2015
I've been buying Apilco and Pillivuyt china in various forms since the 1980s. It's excellent quality (restaurant quality, actually) and even hard to chip. I've literally had small bowls bounce on a tile floor with no damage.
The shapes are classic and timeless, and over time I've added to the set so that when my family entertains there's a supply of clean white durable plates that work with any design. At large family gatherings, these are what we use, though I also use them for everyday dishes.
They hold up, and if occasionally you get a piece with any king of flaw in the glaze or shape, Williams-Sonoma will take them back or exchange them without any hassle at all.
This color of white blends extremely well with Pillivuyt white china too, even though on close inspeiction Pillivuyt is slightly gray-white compared to Apilco. Most people will only see any difference at all if looking for it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Easy to Store, Design, Color
Review 7 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Minneapolis
,MN
January 19, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
11 Years and still looks like new
January 19, 2015
My husband and I registered for the Apilco dishes when we got married almost 12 years ago. Every dish still looks brand new. We don't have any other plates, we have only used these. Add 2 kids and three moves and they are still in perfect condition. And, with the classic white look, they will never go out of style. You will not be disappointed if you purchase Apilco dinnerware!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Versatile
Review 8 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,University Place
,WA
December 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apilco White Dinnerware
December 25, 2014
We are pleased with our purchase of the dinnerware from Apilco. Basic white is what we wanted and found the set of high quality with a nice finish for everyday usage. Ordered was shipped on-time and complete, but not damage free. One mug and one soup bowl were broken in shipment with the corrugated box damaged in transit. Replacements were sent at no charge. Hopefully, this set will last for years to come.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 9 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland
,Or
September 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW- THESE ARE QUALITY
September 10, 2014
Over the top quality - I CAN SEE AND FEEL THE DIFFERENCE!
Ever buy one of those items where you are like this is far and away better quality? That is what I felt like when I got these home. I liked them a lot in the store-but it was when I got home and used them that I realized what I got.
You will not regret owning these beauties!!! The French continue to come through with top quality items in my kitchen!!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Salt Lake City
,ut
July 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless durable plates
July 16, 2014
I bought four sets of these dishes a few months ago and love them. I have had different kinds of dishes in the past and they have all scratched and broken easily but not Apilco. I love how beautiful they are on there own and also put with other patterned dishes. Overall I love these place settings and will be buying additions for years to come.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight, classic
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ivor
,VA
February 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful and durable
February 18, 2014
I have looked for dishes for about a year, and came across these on the website. They are beautiful and very heavy. I also like that they are made in France. I have teenagers and wanted something that was not so thin around the edges that would chip easily. It is also nice if you do happen to break a piece you can replace it without buying the whole set. You won't be disappointed!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 12 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
December 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of Best glaze
December 12, 2013
They are simply beautiful on the table.
I was hesitated that the design cannot be more plain than this tradition set.
Now I see why so many people like it. It is the glaze and duarability making this set standout from the rest.
Pros: Durable, Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
September 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
September 6, 2013
I've had these dishes for less than two years and two of the pieces have large chips. I'm extremely careful and never stack my plates, nor have I dropped any pieces.
And now the W-S have stopped selling the Tradition by the piece so I cannot even replace these pieces without buying them in sets of 4.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Not Durable
Review 14 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dishes Ever
May 16, 2013
I received these plates for a wedding gift in 2009 and they were and are the best things I received off my registry. I never write reviews, but these plates are awesome. I thought they were a little expensive for every day dishes, but they are worth every penny. We haven't chipped a plate and I put things to the test in the kitchen. Everyone I know that went cheaper is replacing their dishes a few years later and mine are as good as new. And, I actually use them everyday, which is more than I can say for some other gifts.
Review 15 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Minneapolis
,MN
May 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE dinnerware
May 12, 2013
I started this collection in Paris 10 years ago and continued collecting at WS. Fantastic, durable,beautifully simple dinnerware that compliments any table setting and food. Perfect size and weight.
The Parisians know quality.
Review 16 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oak Park
,CA
April 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this dinnerware--great investment!
April 13, 2013
Prior to this, I had 2 different (closeout) sets of dinnerware that got hot and showed color changes with use in the microwave and dishwasher. I was so happy when I found Apilco Traditional dinnerware and have been using it for about 2 1/2 years. It still looks like new--nothing chipped or broken! The dishes look equally beautiful for casual and special holiday table settings. The weight (not too heavy), simple lines, industrial strength glaze and durability are top quality. The rim is reinforced (without being bulky) and I think that helps prevent chipping. The plates do not show scratches and I know that Apilco uses high quality glazes, so I don't worry about them deteriorating with microwave or dishwasher use. Save money by not having to replace poor quality dishes! I highly recommend this line--you will be happy with your investment. Watch for the WS "white sales."
Pros: beautiful white glaze and quality, scratch and chip resistant
Review 17 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hold up great
January 4, 2013
I've had these plates for a few years and they have held up well. I use them for everday use but even on special occasions they look great. Since buying the 8 place settings I've added additional service pieces from the Apilco brand which look great together. Stong durable and classic.
Review 18 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Santa Barbara, Ca
June 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Finish
June 24, 2012
Finish is smooth and color is a warm white. Perfect for formal or casual dining and timeless versatile design is easily coupled with any style charger.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,Tx
February 28, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LoveThis Set!!!
February 28, 2012
Love these so much. The dinner plate is really large, but everything else is super nice and great quality.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight