Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings

Reflecting a proud tradition of fine dining, this classic white porcelain dinnerware is suitable for everyday dining as well as entertaining. It's produced by Apilco, a French company that has supplied restaurant-quality porcelain to culinary professionals since 1906. And with our wide selection of Apilco wares, you can round out your collection with a variety of matching pieces, from a casserole to a set of cafe au lait bowls. Microwavable; freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. The 20-piece place setting includes 4 each of the following pieces: 11" dinner plate, 8 1/2" salad plate, 9" soup bowl, 8-oz. cup and 6 1/2" saucer. The 5-piece place setting includes 1 of each of the following pieces: 11" dinner plate, 8 1/2" salad plate, 9" soup bowl, 8-oz. cup with 6 1/2" saucer. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
virginiafarmgirl
,Ivor
,VA
February 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful and durable
February 18, 2014
I have looked for dishes for about a year, and came across these on the website. They are beautiful and very heavy. I also like that they are made in France. I have teenagers and wanted something that was not so thin around the edges that would chip easily. It is also nice if you do happen to break a piece you can replace it without buying the whole set. You won't be disappointed!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 2 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busymomanddaughter
,CA
December 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of Best glaze
December 12, 2013
They are simply beautiful on the table.
I was hesitated that the design cannot be more plain than this tradition set.
Now I see why so many people like it. It is the glaze and duarability making this set standout from the rest.
Pros: Durable, Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
laggal
September 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
September 6, 2013
I've had these dishes for less than two years and two of the pieces have large chips. I'm extremely careful and never stack my plates, nor have I dropped any pieces.
And now the W-S have stopped selling the Tradition by the piece so I cannot even replace these pieces without buying them in sets of 4.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Not Durable
Review 4 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mok2013
May 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dishes Ever
May 16, 2013
I received these plates for a wedding gift in 2009 and they were and are the best things I received off my registry. I never write reviews, but these plates are awesome. I thought they were a little expensive for every day dishes, but they are worth every penny. We haven't chipped a plate and I put things to the test in the kitchen. Everyone I know that went cheaper is replacing their dishes a few years later and mine are as good as new. And, I actually use them everyday, which is more than I can say for some other gifts.
Review 5 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LGar
,Minneapolis
,MN
May 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE dinnerware
May 12, 2013
I started this collection in Paris 10 years ago and continued collecting at WS. Fantastic, durable,beautifully simple dinnerware that compliments any table setting and food. Perfect size and weight.
The Parisians know quality.
Review 6 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suntraveler
,Oak Park
,CA
April 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this dinnerware--great investment!
April 13, 2013
Prior to this, I had 2 different (closeout) sets of dinnerware that got hot and showed color changes with use in the microwave and dishwasher. I was so happy when I found Apilco Traditional dinnerware and have been using it for about 2 1/2 years. It still looks like new--nothing chipped or broken! The dishes look equally beautiful for casual and special holiday table settings. The weight (not too heavy), simple lines, industrial strength glaze and durability are top quality. The rim is reinforced (without being bulky) and I think that helps prevent chipping. The plates do not show scratches and I know that Apilco uses high quality glazes, so I don't worry about them deteriorating with microwave or dishwasher use. Save money by not having to replace poor quality dishes! I highly recommend this line--you will be happy with your investment. Watch for the WS "white sales."
Pros: beautiful white glaze and quality, scratch and chip resistant
Review 7 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HokieDevil
,Chicago
,IL
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hold up great
January 4, 2013
I've had these plates for a few years and they have held up well. I use them for everday use but even on special occasions they look great. Since buying the 8 place settings I've added additional service pieces from the Apilco brand which look great together. Stong durable and classic.
Review 8 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
June 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Finish
June 24, 2012
Finish is smooth and color is a warm white. Perfect for formal or casual dining and timeless versatile design is easily coupled with any style charger.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitten99
,Dallas
,Tx
February 28, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LoveThis Set!!!
February 28, 2012
Love these so much. The dinner plate is really large, but everything else is super nice and great quality.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookoo
,oh
Dublin, Ohio
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's just beautiful
December 29, 2011
I love my Apilco dinnerware set and use them almost everyrday. Great for a casual dining and a formal occasion as well. Very durable and easy to use, no scratches from daily abuse.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swissiam
,Syracuse
,NY
Syracuse, NY
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best dishes EVER!!!
October 12, 2011
I received these dishes as wedding/shower gifts. They are gorgeous. You can dress them up for special events or use them daily. They are sturdy yet elegant. When I was in France most restaurants just had white dishes...just like these! I have nothing bad to say. I hope that Williams Sonoma never discontinues this pattern!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Norwich
,CT
September 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional in every way!
September 25, 2011
The Apilco dinnerware far exceeded my expectations. It works very well as everyday dishes and can be dressed up to present an elegant table. I was especially pleased to see that mugs were available in addition to the traditional cups and saucers. I highly recommend this dinnerware!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile
Review 13 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudiAU
,Los Angeles
,CA
September 8, 2011
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect White Dinnerware
September 8, 2011
My review is prompted by my ten year anniversary. Ten years of hard, daily use and our Apilco dinnerware looks wonderful, performs beautifully, and is almost complete. I think we lost one plate in a clumsy husband/cement floor incident. We received most of it as wedding gifts. Most of our friends choose similar styles from cheaper brands and have almost nothing left.
This is terrific quality and nice, enduring design.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
Posted January 22, 2012
10 YEARS!
Very nice to know someone has owned these for 10 years and still happy with them. I'm replacing our everyday dishes, and durability is our #1 concern.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookingMattersChef
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and durable
September 5, 2011
We got 12 placesettings of these 15 years ago and they are not only versatile and beautiful in their simplicity, they don't break. In all that time, with daily use, we've only recently broke one dinner plate. Highly, highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
Posted January 22, 2012
15 Years!!
This is JUST (durable) what I needed to hear to confirm our purchase of 12 place settings! Thanks very much for sharing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BengaliTigress
New York, NY
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most Elegant and Versatile dinnerware!
May 10, 2011
I purchased this set recently after just looking at it at William Sonoma for a year. I absolutely love it so far. It dries so quickly when I allow it air dry. It also looks elegant on the table. Lastly, it is oven, microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe. What can be better!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 16 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanCC
Houston, Texas
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Versatile
March 11, 2011
I recently purchased the dinner plates, coffee mugs and salad plates after admiring these dishes for over a year! I love them and look forward to adding a few more pieces. The weight, versatility and perfect white make a beautiful presentation for casual meals at home or for company. You will not be disappointed.
Review 17 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TMiller
Chandler, AZ
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful quality product
December 27, 2010
You will not be disappointed with these dishes--wonderful quality and beautiful on the table. I think they will last me a long time and hope W-S keeps these as an open stock tiem.
Review 18 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ColleyvilleCook
Colleyville, TX
November 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dinnerware
November 11, 2010
I've had this dinnerware for a few years now, and I just love it. It is beautiful on the table, but it's just so practical, too. It is incredibly strong (even when I accidentally hit it on my granite countertops!) I've not broken a single piece but I've used it daily. It mixes well with other types of dishes and always sets a gorgeous table. I highly recommend it.
Review 19 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mills5
Victor, NY
October 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look new after 14 years
October 25, 2010
We received these as a wedding gift 14 years ago. It is our "everyday" dinnerware and has endured three kids, four moves and countless uses. We have had just one plate break despite many being dropped. I highly recommend this dinnerware. Well worth the investment - they will last a lifetime.
Review 20 for Apilco Tradition Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alissa
Connecticut
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Everyday Plates
October 7, 2010
I just received these dishes for a wedding shower present. I got the dinner plates, salad plates, soup bowl, and cereal bowl. They are beautiful and feel really sturdy. I was thinking of maybe getting the coffee mugs to so everything matches, however other reviews mentioned the handles aren't sturdy (which I can't imagine after having the dishes).
After getting them as a present, my mom and I realized that I had bought her several soup bowls years ago--and hers still look brand new.
So far my favorite plate is the soup bowl, I love using it for pasta.
page1 2 next