Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection

Apilco builds on its tradition of exceptional dinnerware by embellishing these pristine white porcelain dishes with classic blue borders. As with the Apilco's signature white dinnerware, these restaurant-quality pieces can be dressed up or down with formal or casual linens, flatware and glassware. They're crafted at the family-owned factory in France, where ceramic artisans have been producing fine porcelain for culinary professionals since 1906. Each piece is microwavable and freezer, oven and dishwasher safe. 11" dinner plate, 8 1/2" salad plate, 9" soup/pasta bowl, 8-oz. cup and 6 1/2" saucer. A 6 1/4" bread plate, 16-oz. cap., 6 1/2" diam. cereal bowls and 11.5-oz. cap., 3 1/2" high mugs are also available in sets of four.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
Review 1 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Juddie
,Dryden
,NY
December 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, but heavy as rocks
December 27, 2012
OK - if you're looking for a beautiful, durable and elegant set, this will satisfy. But, but, BUT - the pieces are extremely heavy. When you consider that a single teacup weighs in at half a pound (without the saucer), you know you're in for some serious weight-lifting at the breakfast table. The dinner plate is an unbelievable 2 lbs 1 oz. Don't drop this plate if you value your toes; it won't break, but they will. One final word: the soup bowls are extremely shallow - barely deeper than the sandwich plate. Good for cooling off hot soup fast, but for most people, maybe too fast. If the soup bowl is not sufficiently warmed in advance, you will have cold soup before you take your first spoonful. Ditto for the dinner plates. Overall, I think there are better options out there - sigh.
Pros: beautiful, elegant, Durable, Versatile
Cons: really heavy, soup bowl is way too shallow, expensive, makes food cold fast
Review 2 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leslee
Ann Arbor, MI
September 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful
September 30, 2009
I just love my Apilco! we use it everyday but it is so beautiful looks great for a dinner party too! super durable - my 2 year old uses a salad plate every night ! I can't wait to get more!!!
Review 3 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElizabethR
New York, NY
September 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless dishes
September 10, 2009
My fiance and I received several of these dishes off of our registry. We picked them because they are the same plates my parents have had for years! They are beautiful, sturdy dishes that have survived drops and many, many steak knives. My parent's dishes still look new! The dinner plates are a substantial size, but still fit neatly in our tiny apartment kitchen. The soup plates are far more useful than I initially thought, and I look forward to adding the cereal bowls to our collection.
Review 4 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pepgirl3
Madiso, NJ
June 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apilco Blue Banded Dinnerware
June 18, 2009
Ordered this dinnerware on line. One cup was chipped when I received it, but I guess i can return it to the store. Love, love, love the set and will definitely order more pieces. I especially want to get the espresso cups with saucers.
Review 5 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annaliese
Grand Rapids, MI
February 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Investment
February 15, 2009
My husband and I could find nothing worth keeping for years at the "usual" big registry stores when we got married. These dishes keep their beauty, are fun to pair with mismatched dishes found at antique stores, and are really tough while looking elegant. We much prefer buying high quality, lasting items like these dishes. They are delightful.
Review 6 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bren22
Washington, DC
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Buy
February 5, 2009
I consider this purchase a "best buy." They are cute and durable. My teen is pretty rough on dinnerware and this stands up. There is no chipping!
Review 7 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iheartWS
Nashville, TN
December 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Quality
December 3, 2008
The Apilco dinnerware pieces are wonderful. These dishes are well-made and high quality evidenced by the price. THEY ARE WELL WORTH THE PRICE. French porcelain is one of the best investments you can make in your dinnerware. I'm just starting my kitchen and did my research to find, though pricey, these dinnerware pieces are the best quality for the money. We recieve compliments from our dinner guests and the white plates accent any meal perfectly. I would recommend these dishes to anyone!
Review 8 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clipper
Tarpon Springs, FL
November 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Dinnerware
November 29, 2008
I have had this dinnerware for about a year. It always looks beautiful and food looks good on it. It is so easy to care for and can be both elegant and casual. I love it.
Review 9 for Apilco Tradition Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased
Exeter NH
September 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kid proof
September 19, 2008
I love these dishes they look beautiful and are super sturdy. They have held up although they are used daily by my 3 and 1.5 year olds. It is so nice that I can pop them in the oven to melt butter on corn muffins or cheese on anything (for my husband). I have had these for about one year now and they still look brand new I am always proud to serve guests with these pieces. I hope to get more.