Apilco Provencal Casseroles

Our Provence-style casserole is patterned after old pottery prototypes from that region. The all-purpose straight-sided pan is especially suited to baking and serving vegetable casseroles or bread puddings. The underside is left unglazed for maximum heat absorption. Made by Apilco, France's premier producer of restaurant-quality porcelain products, the casserole is microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. 2 Qt. is 7.3" diam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Provencal Casseroles
Review 1 for Apilco Provencal Casseroles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strib
,Omaha
,NE
May 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best casserole
May 7, 2012
I purchased this because after many years owning one, I broke the lid. I will keep the original any way, but I needed another lid. Apilco is my favorite for baking. Things cook evenly and the cleanup is a cinch.
Review 2 for Apilco Provencal Casseroles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mirabella
October 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-11points
2of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Novice Cook + Pot
October 6, 2011
This dish was one of my favorite wedding gifts and I had successfully cooked in it many times- soups, casserole, etc. Yesterday I was cooking a chicken dish on the stove top, and suddenly, the entire side cracked open and broke. I am inexperienced in the kitchen, and was unaware that a dish safe for some heat sources is not safe for all... so beware! Hope to be able to replace it sometime soon- or might just stick with my Creuset- safe for all heat!
Pros: Color, Versatile, Design
Cons: Not Durable, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted August 7, 2013
These come with instructions for a reason
I have this same item in the 3-qt size. It is clearly marked on the bottom of the pot: safe for oven, microwave, broiler, dishwasher. No mention of stovetop. This is not a high maintenance item. It is pure white porcelain and like white china, it will look that way forever unless you damage it in some way.
0points
Customer avatar
KathyTobacco
Atlanta
Posted January 21, 2013
Care and Handling
I really hope you didn't take the star off because it broke on the stove top. I have heard of people breaking these casseroles when they put them on the stove top to rest not realizing that the stove top was still hot but I have never heard of anyone trying to cook with porcelain on the stove top. Of course, you admit that you are a novice but no porcelain casserole could take that kind of shock. Even the Le Creuset can be ruined and isn't safe for all heat. If it overheats without water or food the enamel will burn and discolor and then the enamel flakes off. You can still use it but it is never the same. My mother in law ruined one of my pieces that way. She was using it to heat water and walked away. I am lucky she didn't burn down the house. Whenever my spoon hit the exposed iron it makes a terrible drag sound that is like nails on a chalkboard. Nothing is indestructible.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Apilco Provencal Casseroles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LWMIII
Phoenix,AZ
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go Get One!
September 13, 2010
This casserole dish was given to us nearly 20 years ago as a wedding gift. It is definitely one of the best/easist items to cook in. No kitchen should be without one. Just broke a lid and am replacing the whole thing.
Review 4 for Apilco Provencal Casseroles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amandapanda9
Florida
October 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice
October 29, 2009
I just bought this casserole and was very impressed with the way it bakes....it seems quite sturdy as well. The only downside I found to it is that the very top rim of the dish isn't glazed which made that part hard to clean and it stained slightly in areas from the food I was trying to clean out of it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
suzanne23
Oregon
Posted April 14, 2014
Cleaning the Apilco rim
Make a paste of oxygen bleach (not chlorine bleach) around the edge of a plate and invert the casserole onto the plate so that the casserole rim is covered with the paste. Leave it overnight and the stains disappear. Easy. Just did it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Apilco Provencal Casseroles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EdLino
Danbury, Connecticut
January 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The quality and the pure white ...
January 30, 2009
Well, bright red or orange sauces and stews will look great when served directly to the table. It is an elegant item and well made.
I like more the fact that heat is absorbed and retain well longer that aluminum or copper pots I have. Cast iron keeps food hotter but this unit keeps a moderate temperature long enough without burning your hands or further cooking foods while on the table.
I would love to see these items with a decoration on them with a touch of dijon yellow, pink, lavender or light blue colors. Any color will standout and make it more attractive.