Apilco Deep Oval Roasters

Because porcelain conducts heat gently and is easy to clean, French cooks often roast meats and poultry in a deep, porcelain dish rather than a metal roaster. Made in several numbered sizes by Apilco, these dishes are also useful for vegetables, casseroles and fresh-fruit crisps that benefit from their depth. The unglazed undersides increase the absorption of heat. Apilco, the renowned French manufacturer, has supplied chefs and home cooks with top-quality porcelain wares for nearly a century. Microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. #6 roaster, 12 1/4" x 8 3/4"; #8 roaster, 15" x 10 1/4". Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
Review 1 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu2
,ny
NY
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Youth, Health and Money
November 16, 2014
...are wasted on the young. I wish I had the insight, money, and resources to discover these roasters years ago. I can't believe the years and time spent wasted on lining stainless steel roasting pans with foil in an attempt to make clean up at least 3/4 of which it is with these roasters. Bought both sizes, (great for asparagus, chicken and pork loin). and have bought them as gifts..........But, I wish that they made a larger size and that they were broiler safe.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: not broiler safe
Review 2 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,NV
December 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keeps food warm
December 16, 2013
I agree it's perfect oven to table dish. It keeps food warm unlike glass baking dishes i own. #6
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect oven to table dish
July 26, 2013
I bought my first one of these many years ago and now have multiples in both sizes. Gorgeous oven to table dishes and they bake beautifully.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeepster
Nebraska
January 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No. 6 Apilco Roaster
January 18, 2013
I purchased the No. 6 size, which is a 2 quart (more like 9 cups) capacity pretty much to the brim. Nice and deep, its perfect for pot pies where you need to "glue" down the crust to the outside of the dish with an egg wash. Bakes well and is easy to clean. Definitely recommend!
Review 5 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dishlovinggrandma
,Lambertville
,NJ
September 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Money -- Watch for a Sale
September 21, 2012
This roaster is expensive, but worth the price in my opinion. It is handsome and versatile, and surprisingly light-weight in spite of being so durable. (Weight is important to me.) I use it for baking and for serving. Have not tried it in the broiler. I bought #6, the smaller one. Will probably also buy the larger one at some point.
Pros: light-weight, attractive, Durable
Review 6 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monkeydevil
,CT
Connecticut
June 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent roaster!
June 20, 2012
I have Apilco Tradition dishes and love them so for my birthday last week my husband bought me some of the serveware. He got me 2 of the #6 Deep Oval Roasters and I am thrilled. I have already used one of them to bake beans in and the absolute best feature is how easily it cleans up - and those beans left a sticky, baked-on mess! But it all came right off with a little soapy water and a dish cloth! The simple design and clean white color make this a versatile dish - it blends well with whatever else you are using. I also got a rectangular baking dish and an au gratin dish so I am all set with Apilco pieces....at least for now!!
Pros: super easy clean up, simple understated design
Review 7 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GregoryD
,San Carlos
,CA
April 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best bakers for fish and vegetables
April 14, 2012
I never had a better baker than this one. Great quality and presentation of the food straight to the table. Easy to clean. Love baked Halibut - put in few good size pieces of fish, salt and pepper to taste (sea salt and bold black pepper from Penzy's), add few sprigs of fresh thyme, parsley and few thin slices of butter on the top to make a beautiful crust, add 1/3 cup of light white burgundy and bake for 20 min at 375oF, and you are the toast of the evening! Serve it with sweet bagette toasts and chilled white chablis. This toaster is also great for baking blanched halved baby artichokes sprinkled with garlic and olive oil. Put some grated parmesan when serving - excellent side dish.
Pros: beautiful and handy, good for baking any vegetables and fish
Review 8 for Apilco Deep Oval Roasters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovekitchenstuff
,Wake Forest
,NC
January 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most often reached for
January 30, 2012
About 18-20 years ago WS carried 3 sizes of these and, one at a time, I convinced myself that I needed all of them (I remember racing over the afternoon before Thanksgiving for the last one). Unlike many similar (and sometimes impulsive) purchases over the years, these roasters have been used week in and week out--->roasted potatoes, vegetable gratins, fruit cobblers, etc. and just as often simply as conveniently-sized and attractive serving pieces (with casual dinnerware and my formal china alike). They have cleaned up beautifully and easily. With respect to the comment about no handles, I have always put everything into the oven on a half sheet pan and just lift these out by lifting out the sheet pan and putting it on the cooktop. I'll continue to use them for the rest of my cooking life!
Pros: Versatile, Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: none