This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4

At breakfast, the French enjoy sipping a blend of coffee and hot milk from deep bowls with wide rims. In place of handles, the footed bowls have a wide band around the rim, by which they're held using thumbs and forefingers. These authentic cafe au lait bowls are made by Apilco, the French company that has supplied culinary professionals with restaurant-quality porcelain wares since 1906. They're also splendid for serving hot cereal and desserts. Microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. 16.9-oz. cap., 5 1/2" diam. Set of four.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
Review 1 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busymomanddaughter
,CA
July 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
excellent but chipped
July 18, 2013
They are beautiful but one bowl chipped after two months.
I still prefer all Apilco products.
Pros: Durable, Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WSPurchaser
New York, NY
July 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
The first chipped.
July 30, 2010
I bought my first bowl a few years ago. It did quickly develop chips. The one I bought this spring seems to be better constructed.
I love the surface, but was reluctant to buy more if the chipping problem continued.
Review 3 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ComfortCooking
Wake Forest, NC
July 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love these bowls!
July 23, 2010
I love these little bowls. Yes, I know they are for cafe au latte, BUT we have used them for serving fruit, ice cream, pudding--great for desserts. I have also not experienced the problems other customers have with regard to chipping and cracking.
Review 4 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovehome
Connecticut
April 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect size
April 13, 2010
I have these in the BIA larger size, which I find a little too bulky. I was so happy to find these smaller versions, they are perfect. I love them for my daughters, serving hot chocolate, and smaller portions for myself.
Review 5 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NANCYK
Fort Collins, CO
November 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Too small
November 2, 2009
I was familar with the Apilco brand and was looking for porcelain vs ceramic cafe au lait bowls. However, I did not realize that the size offered was only an 8.4 oz capacity. They may work as condiment bowls but if you're looking for the true "French" Cafe Au Lait bowls you need to look for 16 oz versions.
Review 6 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbering
houston tx
October 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
love love love my dishes
October 31, 2009
with the exception of the au lait bowls, and i have had my dishes for 10 years, and apparently the bowls were made with the edges too thin and even though we hardly ever used those bowls they would chip.. anyway i just took them back to the store and they replaced them with the new style, they even told me they had had problems with the thin edges, etc. again, other than that the only one i even broke was a plate i dropped... yikes. i have 20 place settings.
Review 7 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JapprecieWS
New York, NY
December 25, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Extremely nice, but they do chip.
December 25, 2008
I bought two, and unfortunately, both have developed small chips. But I like them so much I'm considering buying some more. They are extremely versatile and very good looking. Be prepared to baby them when washing.
Review 8 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JackieS
Lake Forest IL
December 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
pretty, but chip easily
December 5, 2008
I purchased Apilco dinnerware in 1994, because I was told they don't chip and are very durable. All of my dishes are in perfect shape with the exception of the Cafe Au Lait bowls. I replaced the bowls one by one due to chipping, and finally gave up on them.
I did purchase the Brasserie line of Cafe Au Lait bowls and they are much more sturdy.
Review 9 for Apilco Cafe Au Lait Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dgbx
Denver, CO
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Condiment Bowl
September 3, 2008
Apilco makes excellent tableware - simple, durable, beautiful. These Cafe Au Lait Bowls find many uses in our household, from small servings of dessert to condiments and dips.