Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings

The delicate beading that distinguishes this white porcelain dinnerware reminds us of the hemstitched borders of fine table linens. Produced for us by Apilco, one of France's leading manufacturers of porcelain dinnerware, the collection features a complete selection of open-stock pieces. A place setting includes an 11" dinner plate, an 8 1/2" salad plate, an 8 3/4" soup plate, a 5.7-oz. cup and 5 3/4" saucer. 20-piece place setting includes four sets. Microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer96150
,South Lake Tahoe
,CA
December 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just real nice dishes
December 24, 2013
These are elegant yet simple, they show off the food nicely.
I find the size is just right for everything.
The finish is nice and they feel comfortable in your hand.
As far as I can tell these make a great everyday dish set for virtually any style kitchen
Pros: Quality, Balance, Color, Appearance
Review 2 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ILoveVegetables
,New England
New England
June 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like this set!
June 20, 2013
Initially I was concerned that the teacups were too small and the soup bowls were not deep enough. However hot liquids cool down quickly in teacups and smaller portions makes sense. The dainty portions also causes a brewed pot to serve more guests so between brewing times no one has to wait.
If I was serving soup to company (I don't know if I ever actually have served soup to company) then the shallow soup bowls would be fine since I'd be serving a main course. I use cereal bowls for soup for everyday use and I opt to use the shallow soup plate as our side salad or pasta plate.
Overall I find smaller portions look larger and more satisfying on this set and, as we are always trying to reduce our portions as we get older, it's very helpful.
I don't think it's a drawback of the set that there are no matching serving pieces.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AET625
February 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, Versatile Dishes
February 1, 2013
We registered for these dishes for our wedding two years ago and so far they have held up great. We have the dinner plates, salad plates, cereal bowls, and mugs. We use them as our everyday dishes and we hadn't had any breakages yet. They have also stood up to 3 cross country moves! My only complaint is that they don't offer any bread plates or serving pieces to match!
Review 4 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kate83
March 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lovely dishes
March 30, 2012
We registered for the Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain for our wedding, have been using it regularly for about a year, and are very happy with it. We didn't end up with the place settings - I wasn't crazy about the mugs or teacups as the handles looked very delicate to me and didn't feel balanced in my hand - but we have the dinner plates, salad plates, soup plates, and cereal bowls, and love them. There are pretty enough to make formal place settings unnecessary, but so far, have proven durable enough to stand up to everyday use just fine. No chips, cracks, etc. I looked around for a long time before registering for dishes and have not regretted my choice for even a minute!
Review 5 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LJay
,SC
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant Simplicity
September 8, 2011
I haven't found that these dishes break more easily than others. I do treat them more carefully and have always preferred to hand-wash my best dishes. These plates are terrific for showing off the food. They work with other patterns easily, so I can mix and match when I want to. They also go with any type of table setting.
Pros: Quality, Versatile
Cons: Size
Review 6 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Champers
Ventura, CA
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly Fragile
July 12, 2011
I purchased a mug and a plate to try out this lovely pattern before committing to a full set. Sadly the handle broke off the mug in the dishwasher almost immediately. I also own Apilco latte bowls which are much thicker than the mug. The bowls break more often than other things in my cupboard, too.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile
Review 7 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bake4fun
CA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, but....
April 7, 2011
I absolutely love these dishes. They are great for everyday and more formal occasions. I really like the size of them as it makes one take smaller portions. I really wish they made a couple of serving dishes for this set; like a large serving bowl and platter (I would buy a couple of each in a heartbeat).
Pros: Texture, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile, no serving ware
Review 8 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Corona
CA
March 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, but need...
March 17, 2011
Please add serving pieces. I just bought these dishes and didn't realize there were no serving pieces to match. It would be nice to at least have a serving platter and a large bowl.
Review 9 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cosmos321
Powell, Ohio
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Small size for price
February 24, 2011
I received place settings of the Beaded Hemstitch dinnerware, and was disappointed at the size of the cup, and the salad bowl. I had to purchased the mugs as they are the size that should be in the place setting.The cups included are useless, way too small!!! As for the salad bowl, it is not very deep and doesn't hold much food, and the two men in my family will not use them since they are so small. I love Apilco brand dishes, as they do not get hot in the microwave, are beautiful and durable, but feel they should be larger in size for the price.
Review 10 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LivinginNYC
NYC
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, but needs to be handled with care
February 19, 2011
Very beautiful, and thin, so stacks easily in the cabinet and dishwasher. Elegant enough for a informal dinner party. I love the look. The problem with this dinnerware is that it chips easily. I am a single woman, live in NYC so barely use the dishes, and I'm very careful in general...still two plates have gotten chipped in one year. Also one plate has a hairline crack from the dishwasher (which is just a Kitchen Aid dishwasher, not a European one). Very disappointed...as I have had European porecelin dinnerware for nearly 20 years that never chipped. So the "look" must be weighed against the "durability" with this purchase.
Review 11 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crowdofstars
New York, NY
December 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant Enough for Fine Dining
December 3, 2010
My husband and I registered for 12 of these place settings for our wedding. Unlike the other reviewers, we plan to use this porcelain dinnerware for formal occasions and entertaining, as opposed to everyday meals. We found most of the other "dress china" that we looked at too garish for our personal taste. This Apilco pattern was a perfect solution. The embellishment on the borders is elegantly pressed, and the porcelain, itself, is beautiful. This simple design allows me to be creative with the presentation of my table and to use a variety of linens and other table accessories, without clashing of any kind. It also looks beautiful through the windows of our hutch. We love it, and I'm sure we'll be using this timeless dinnerware for the rest of our lives.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gourmand256
Lincolnton, NC
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyday dinnerware
July 1, 2010
I picked this as a replacement for my everyday and I entertain some with the everyday. It is lightweight, lovely design and handles nicely, presents the food beautifully and does well in the dishwasher. I'm very pleased.
Review 13 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cassie3583
Birmingham, AL
April 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyday Dinnerware
April 6, 2010
I registered for this dinnerware for our wedding and I love it! It holds up really well, considering we use it everyday, and still looks as good as it did when we got it. I add a piece every chance that I get.