Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection

The delicate beading that distinguishes this white porcelain dinnerware reminds us of the hemstitched borders of fine table linens. Produced for us by Apilco, one of France's leading manufacturers of porcelain dinnerware, the collection features a complete selection of open-stock pieces. 11" dinner plate; 8 1/2" salad plate; 8 3/4" soup plate; 5.7-oz. cup and 5 3/4" saucer; 9.4-oz., 3 1/2" high mugs. Sets of four. Microwavable; oven and dishwasher safe. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
Review 1 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAK1
sarasota, fl
December 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing dinnerware
December 29, 2009
I love my Apilco Hemstitch dinnerware. I use it for special occasions, not an everday use, it looks beautiful in my china cabninet and does very well in my dishwasher. No chips at all...i am getting ready to purchase 4 more sets...I love love love this product.
Review 2 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianaMF
Rockville, MD
December 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All around great dishes
December 28, 2009
After many MANY attempts to choose a china pattern for our wedding registry, we finally settled on this Apilco pattern. I couldn't be more pleased. They are beautiful enough to go on with the fanciest dinner party and sturdy enough to be used everyday. They wash up well both by hand and in the dishwasher and are a great canvas for food photography.
Review 3 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnneATL
Atlanta, GA
November 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love them
November 18, 2009
These bowls are part of our everyday china registry, and they are great. Perfect size for cereal, ice cream, etc. without being too big -- especially good for those of us watching portion sizes! The china is lovely and goes from microwave to table to dishwasher with no problems. I have mixed this pattern with the Edwardian Windows and love them both. I also have the soup bowls.
Review 4 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goddessgarce
October 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Understated elegance
October 30, 2009
Love love love this dishware. French restaurants run a brisk business, so dinnerware created by the French for French restaurants is made to last. The Beaded Hemstitch set is stunning in its simplicity and subtle trim. While you'll want to reserve these dishes for special occasions, they are sturdy enough for everyday usage. Highly recommend.
Note: the dinner plates are large, but you should be able to fit them in your dishwasher if you slip them in at an angle.
Review 5 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LHarvath
Webster Groves, MO
October 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sooo beautiful
October 2, 2009
i love these dishes! we got them as a wedding gift and they are stunning. they're simple and timeless, you can't go wrong with these.
Review 6 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Diplomom08
San Francisco, CA
August 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not live up to the reputation
August 8, 2009
We decided to purchase new casual china last year, and wanted something that would be easy to dress up or down. We found the Apilco Hemstitch and agreed it would be perfect.
Apilco had a reputation of delivering solid china, and it was indicated that the plates were not easily chipped or cracked. This is so not true. I don't know if we just got a "bad batch", but this is the most fragile china I have used. My mother's 40 year old delicate place settings have held up better than this stuff.
The plates and cups chip at the drop of a hat, i.e., simply stacking in the cupboard. They are not sturdy, and we have lost (as in chipped/cracked/broken) 1/3 of the 5 5-piece place settings we purchased in September. We deeply regret our purchase, and are getting rid of it ASAP. We have found another brand, and will go with their stoneware collection. Too bad, as the design is gorgeous, but the product is of very poor quality.
Review 7 for Apilco Beaded Hemstitch Porcelain Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joliedaisy
Germany
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Set!
January 7, 2009
We registered for these full place settings as well as the Absolu Silverware set and the Edward Maison water goblets all from Williams Sonoma and it is the perfect place setting together! We have received so many compliments at dinner parties about the dishes. Very sturdy, not too detailed, so it is easy to dress up your table with a seasonal centerpiece!