Alton Flatware Place Settings

Crafted in Brescia, a town in northern Italy celebrated for its artisanal metalwork, these utensils are reminiscent of antique flatware. Their cast-pewter handles are slightly distressed and bear two tiny hallmarks. To ensure durability, the fork tines and spoon bowls are made of 18/10 stainless steel. Each piece is polished by hand. A place setting includes an 8" dinner fork, 7 1/4" salad fork, 9 1/4" dinner knife, 8" soup spoon and 6 1/2" teaspoon. The 20-piece set includes four place settings. We recommend washing by hand. Made in Italy. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Alton Flatware Place Settings
Review 1 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leicamom
,Nashville
,Tn
January 6, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We use this everyday and love it.
January 6, 2014
My husband and I were recently married and wanted all new flatware and we chose pewter because of its uniqueness. Not everyone wants to hand wash, but it didn't influence our decision to buy. The weight, balance and pattern are beautiful. It makes an outstanding table with the Pillivuyt dinnerware we also purchased from Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Appearance, Weight
Review 2 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCB2013
,St. Helena
,CA
December 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful flatware
December 10, 2013
Included these in my wedding registry after careful selection from several different companies. We have been really pleased with the quality and durability thus far (7 months of use). I put them in the dishwasher (new Bosche) and have not had any issues. They are a little bit high maintenance due to the pewter since you aren't supposed to leave them in the sink with dirty dishes overnight and handwashing is also recommended. Also, the thick handles make them somewhat hard to store but I haven't had a big issue.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance, expensive
Review 3 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pat1959
,San Angelo
,TX
April 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Alton Flatware - EXTRAORDINARY
April 16, 2013
I had visited a Williams Sonoma store in San Antonio, on February 8th and viewed the Alton Flatware sample in the store. I did not purchase anything at that time. Since then, I've shopped the housewares sections at stores in my local area and came to the quick realization that there was no comparison in existence, to that of this superior flatware, available only from Williams Sonoma. I ultimately ordered two 20 piece settings about two weeks back and have thoroughly enjoyed the flatware. Each piece is perfectly weighted and the "tines" of the fork are a perfect length. I found the "tablespoon" to be useful as a soup spoon. A set is well worth the investment made and I would recommend this flatware as a superior find for your dining pleasure.
Pros: all pieces are perfectly weighted
Cons: the teaspoon is bit smaller that i expected
Review 4 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellyg25
,Toronto
,ON
December 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE this set
December 11, 2012
I purchased this set of flatware to use with my Match Convivio dinnerware, and couldn't be happier. Not only does it compliment it beautifully, but I absolutely love the weight of them. Fortunately, I don't have the 'flip out of the bowl phenomena' (lol) that everyone seems to have since the bowls that go with this set are very deep. I won't be using these on a daily basis so it really doesn't bother me to hand wash them. Another bonus is that these are almost half the price of the Match Pewter Flatware, and in my opinion are just as nice.
Pros: price (compared to other pewter flatware), Weight, Design, aesthetics
Review 5 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boncuk
,Flemington
,NJ
November 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dishwasher vs. Alton
November 4, 2012
Alton wins. We have used this flatware daily for two years and always wash it in the dishwasher. The pewter handles kept the shine for about 8 months or so before turning a darker grey. The handles now look more like a dull, slightly mottled nickel thats been rolling around for years. I've never tried polishing the flatware because I like the patina. It contrasts beautifully with rustic pottery, ironstone and even certain types of fine china.
Pros: soup spoons make great serving spoons
Cons: soup spoons tend to be a little big
Review 6 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SBFOODIE
,Santa Barbara
,CA
Santa Barbara, Ca
June 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
STUNNING FLATWARE
June 23, 2012
I was reluctant at first due to the hand wash requirement but fell in love with the flatware once I held it in my hand at the store. I purchased an extra set to test drive in our dishwasher (Miele with a cutlery tray, not a basket) and have had no pitting or discoloration (on normal or china&crystal cycles) in the 2 months we've owned them. This flatware is beautiful and durable in equal measure and men appreciate the weight.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathy8
,Charleston
,SC
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!!!
January 6, 2012
I have been looking for the perfect everyday flatware for more than 25 years, I think I have finally found it! It has a timeless/classic look and feels wonderful in your hands. The only downside is having to hand wash it. I would really appreciate it if those of you who wash it in the dishwasher would share how it changes the patina and if using a metal polish would restore it to its original shine. Thanks!!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Color, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
Posted June 23, 2012
I DO NOT HAND WASH
Kathy,
I purchased an extra setting to test in the dishwasher and it works great. I have a Miele with a cutlery tray (not a basket) and wash on "Normal" or "China & Crystal" cycles with no problem. It has not pitted or discolored one bit and they come out perfect as the day I purchased them. I have owned them now for about 2 months. Good luck!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)