Alton Flatware Place Settings

Crafted in Brescia, a town in northern Italy celebrated for its artisanal metalwork, these utensils are reminiscent of antique flatware. Their cast-pewter handles are slightly distressed and bear two tiny hallmarks. To ensure durability, the fork tines and spoon bowls are made of 18/10 stainless steel. Each piece is polished by hand. A place setting includes an 8" dinner fork, 7 1/4" salad fork, 9 1/4" dinner knife, 8" soup spoon and 6 1/2" teaspoon. The 20-piece set includes four place settings. We recommend washing by hand. Made in Italy. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
24 of 29(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Alton Flatware Place Settings
Review 1 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leicamom
,Nashville
,Tn
January 6, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We use this everyday and love it.
January 6, 2014
My husband and I were recently married and wanted all new flatware and we chose pewter because of its uniqueness. Not everyone wants to hand wash, but it didn't influence our decision to buy. The weight, balance and pattern are beautiful. It makes an outstanding table with the Pillivuyt dinnerware we also purchased from Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Appearance, Weight
Review 2 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCB2013
,St. Helena
,CA
December 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful flatware
December 10, 2013
Included these in my wedding registry after careful selection from several different companies. We have been really pleased with the quality and durability thus far (7 months of use). I put them in the dishwasher (new Bosche) and have not had any issues. They are a little bit high maintenance due to the pewter since you aren't supposed to leave them in the sink with dirty dishes overnight and handwashing is also recommended. Also, the thick handles make them somewhat hard to store but I haven't had a big issue.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance, expensive
Review 3 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pat1959
,San Angelo
,TX
April 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Alton Flatware - EXTRAORDINARY
April 16, 2013
I had visited a Williams Sonoma store in San Antonio, on February 8th and viewed the Alton Flatware sample in the store. I did not purchase anything at that time. Since then, I've shopped the housewares sections at stores in my local area and came to the quick realization that there was no comparison in existence, to that of this superior flatware, available only from Williams Sonoma. I ultimately ordered two 20 piece settings about two weeks back and have thoroughly enjoyed the flatware. Each piece is perfectly weighted and the "tines" of the fork are a perfect length. I found the "tablespoon" to be useful as a soup spoon. A set is well worth the investment made and I would recommend this flatware as a superior find for your dining pleasure.
Pros: all pieces are perfectly weighted
Cons: the teaspoon is bit smaller that i expected
Review 4 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellyg25
,Toronto
,ON
December 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE this set
December 11, 2012
I purchased this set of flatware to use with my Match Convivio dinnerware, and couldn't be happier. Not only does it compliment it beautifully, but I absolutely love the weight of them. Fortunately, I don't have the 'flip out of the bowl phenomena' (lol) that everyone seems to have since the bowls that go with this set are very deep. I won't be using these on a daily basis so it really doesn't bother me to hand wash them. Another bonus is that these are almost half the price of the Match Pewter Flatware, and in my opinion are just as nice.
Pros: price (compared to other pewter flatware), Weight, Design, aesthetics
Review 5 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boncuk
,Flemington
,NJ
November 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dishwasher vs. Alton
November 4, 2012
Alton wins. We have used this flatware daily for two years and always wash it in the dishwasher. The pewter handles kept the shine for about 8 months or so before turning a darker grey. The handles now look more like a dull, slightly mottled nickel thats been rolling around for years. I've never tried polishing the flatware because I like the patina. It contrasts beautifully with rustic pottery, ironstone and even certain types of fine china.
Pros: soup spoons make great serving spoons
Cons: soup spoons tend to be a little big
Review 6 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SBFOODIE
,Santa Barbara
,CA
Santa Barbara, Ca
June 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
STUNNING FLATWARE
June 23, 2012
I was reluctant at first due to the hand wash requirement but fell in love with the flatware once I held it in my hand at the store. I purchased an extra set to test drive in our dishwasher (Miele with a cutlery tray, not a basket) and have had no pitting or discoloration (on normal or china&crystal cycles) in the 2 months we've owned them. This flatware is beautiful and durable in equal measure and men appreciate the weight.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathy8
,Charleston
,SC
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!!!
January 6, 2012
I have been looking for the perfect everyday flatware for more than 25 years, I think I have finally found it! It has a timeless/classic look and feels wonderful in your hands. The only downside is having to hand wash it. I would really appreciate it if those of you who wash it in the dishwasher would share how it changes the patina and if using a metal polish would restore it to its original shine. Thanks!!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Color, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
Posted June 23, 2012
I DO NOT HAND WASH
Kathy,
I purchased an extra setting to test in the dishwasher and it works great. I have a Miele with a cutlery tray (not a basket) and wash on "Normal" or "China & Crystal" cycles with no problem. It has not pitted or discolored one bit and they come out perfect as the day I purchased them. I have owned them now for about 2 months. Good luck!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ws94111fan
,San Francisco
,CA
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pewter Flatware
November 21, 2011
I've been looking for pewter flatware for a few months and almost purchased another brand until I found these. Each piece has a substantial weight, good feel and overall, it's made very well. Very happy with my purchase.
Review 9 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tambones
colorado
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dinnerware!
March 7, 2011
I love mine.. I bought a set a year ago, have always washed in dishwasher and have no complaints on durability or appearance of them. Getting more....
Review 10 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountainstothesea
South Carolina
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These are great!
January 2, 2011
These are exceptionally nice! They are heavy but that's one thing I like about them! They are pretty on the table and feel good in your hand. I would recommend them to others. You just need to be careful and hand wash them, which is not really a big problem. I enjoy mine!
Review 11 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lola1
Los Angeles,CA
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic pewter flatware
October 24, 2010
I have had this flatware for over two years now. I love it. I initially washed it by hand, wanting to preserve its shine, however eventually decided to put in the dishwasher. It just gets a little duller over time by using the dishwasher. Basically, if you love pewter, you'll love these. If you have it and are unhappy with it, let me know, i'll buy it from you! Seriously, I will. :)
Review 12 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tawiggi
Bay Area, Ca
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect flatware
October 6, 2010
good balance weight in my hand. beautifully design that myself and the wife K have been looking for. it is NOT dish washer safe EVER but this i do not mind since i hand wash my expensive cutlery anyways.
in my opinion it does not pair well with fine bone china because of its hefty weight.
Review 13 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Calicocat
SF Bay Area California
March 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
6of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT NOT NOT DISHWASHER SAFE
March 21, 2010
I loved this pattern and bought it for everyday use - (setting for 12) nice weight (though does 'flip out') - beautiful design - goes greeeaaat! with my Match pottery - Convivio - (wish Williams Sonoma would carry that!!!) but my Alton has turned so gray and dingy - yeeech - can sort of polish it up but doesn't really come out very well - - hey WS make it dishwasher safe or sell some polish - soooo disappointed and frustrated
Don't get Alton if you are not willing to WASH BY HAND forever
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jbellf
Winter Park, Fl
Posted September 10, 2011
pewter use
Pewter can be dishwasher safe if the detergent used is the gel kind...no lemon or scented and not heated dry
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ClassicStyle
Pratt, KS
March 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waited a Long Time for This
March 18, 2010
I have purchased place settings as I can due to price, however I agree it's frustrating how they can become unbalanced and flip out of bowls & cups. Also spoon handles get hot if left in cup of hot beverage too long and the soup spoons are rather large. Having said all that, I still love the pattern and will continue to add to the set.
Review 15 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngelaCR
Bala Cynwyd, PA
February 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect french country flatware
February 2, 2010
We treated ourselves to a service for twelve several years ago. Alton is in a class by itself ... superor quality pewter french country flatware with old world charm ... elegant classic style that lends itself well to both formal and informal settings.
Review 16 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom1of1three1boys
Japan
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lasting , durable and total class
January 21, 2010
I grew to love Pewter when we were in Italy, and I waited patiently for several years before finally purchaisng a full set of 12 of this pewter-wear. This is my absolute favorite, was worth waiting for, and we use this EVERY day. We've had this for over 4 years now -- I'm setting the standard high for my three boys! It's hard to think about gong back to just stainless steel -- the weight of these utensils is wonderful. The wear and tear is excellent - the more they are used and the more rustic they look, the more valuable they are. This is definitley "old world" stuff- and it's excellent. Please add more pewter utensils and serve-ware to your collection... this will surely be handed down for generations in my family.
Review 17 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KBrown
St. Louis Missouri
July 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This flatware is awesome
July 16, 2009
I can't wait to get more serving pieces. This flatware is beautiful and sturdy. I always get plenty of compliments when I use it. I look forward knowing that my collection will be passed down for generations.
I highly recommend this product.
Review 18 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Travler
June 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flyin Flatware
June 17, 2009
I agree with 'Flippin Flatware' , these
pieces are not balanced properly, what a pain! You've gotta watche em
more carefully than I care to or they
fly out of your cup or plate etc...
I foolishly based my purchase decision
on the 'french country, pewter look'. Yes, I still like the 'form' but hate the
'function'!
I wish I'd picked something else....
Review 19 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michelle1212
Lake Forest, IL
May 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this flatware!!!
May 26, 2009
I have had this flatware for more than a year now. After patiently denying myself for years due to the high price - I finally caved in! I have no regrets and it is worth every penny. The weight is perfectly balanced. I not only wanted a pewter finish but I also wanted a French Country or Old Italian design - this fit the bill after looking everywhere. I am not a person who handwashes so I was worried about the durability in the dishwasher - so far so good. I would recommend that you use a non-bleaching and non-lemon agent as that seems to change the patina. I am now thinking to purchase more sets slowly to save/store in case i need to replace in years to come as the price keeps increasing!
Review 20 for Alton Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brassknuckles
Cocord
April 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Every time fills special
April 21, 2009
Yes, we paid alot money for this Flatware but every time we use it.....it feels like we are dinning out. We have owned a set for about two years and they are still looking brand new, with a patina on the handles the more the better it looks. This is part of the old world character and warm charm that this flatware has to offer. You cant go wrong, unless you like to walk around with the flatwaer on your plates and in your bowls it wont stay in there long the handles are heavy.
gm
page1 2 next