All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.

A natural choice for making convenient one-pot meals, this versatile piece from All-Clad's original three-layer bonded Stainless Steel cookware line combines the attributes of a saute pan and a saucier. A new capacity engraving on the base makes for quick identification, and an improved ergonomic handle ensures comfort. Tri-ply construction sandwiches a heat-responsive aluminum core between an easy-care stainless-steel interior and exterior. Bonded-metal construction ensures fast, even heating. Stainless-steel cooking surface with starburst finish provides superior stick resistance and won't react with foods. All-in-one pan combines wide base for searing and sauteing ingredients over high heat and sloped rounded sides to contain liquids and facilitate stirring when you're simmering stews, whisking sauces or browning meats. Lid locks in moisture and heat after browning to finish cooking ingredients, either on the stovetop or in the oven, ideal for preparing one-pan meals. Ergonomic, riveted stainless-steel handle stays cool on the cooktop. Pan size etched on base. Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
Review 1 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sewjennifer
,Roseville
,CA
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loving my pan
August 16, 2013
I did my research and received excellent help from my local Williams-Sonoma store before I purchased this pan. I use it nearly every day. I like stove-top cooking and one-pan meals. Cleanups are a breeze. Before this pan, I used mid-quality non-stick pans that I would replace every 3 years or so. Now that I've had this pan for more than a year, I believe it will last my lifetime. It is my favorite pan. I have my eye on another one from All-Clad. Definitely worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crustwizard
,Castro Valley
,ca
July 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big pan but great results
July 19, 2013
This pan was much larger than I expected from the inches in description and with the handle it is one inch shy of 2 feet across which makes it a challenge finding cupboard space. But so far the quality of my cooking experience is excellent. I have braised and fried in it and I love that the higher sides help keep the splatter in the pan. The added small grab handle on the front side is a real blessing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 3 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nvani
,Deland
,fl
FL
April 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not worth it
April 3, 2013
I was so excited to get this pan hoping that it will be as good as the other all clad everyday pan i had .This one is a big disappointment--even a 10$ pan works better than this- Gets burnt so easily -we can't use the flame above the lowest range.
I wish they have a recall or exchange offer on this pan.Now i am hesitating to go for the other products from all clad.
Pros: Size, Shape
Cons: Quality, food gets burnt easily
Review 4 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
funcooker
,mn
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love William-Sanoma!
November 15, 2012
This pan is so enjoyable to cook with. I find, like so many things in life, It makes more sense to spend more money for things that will not have to be replaced in 3 years. Such quality merchandise! Everything cooks evenly. no suprises! Its size is a plus to make recipies that require fluids. Slow cooked meats that need to braise for longer periods. And it cleans up easily. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JFlo
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as described; CS unaccommodating
October 9, 2012
Regardless of the pan's quality, it's not as described under "More Info." Its listed as being 5 3/4" deep, and it's actually about 3" deep. When I called to exchange it with the d5 4qt Essential pan for the same price, I found that I still had to pay for return shipping, despite the inaccurate description. Quite annoying, especially since I failed to enter the code for free shipping for the original purchase. Really, it's not automatic? All in all, a very unsatisfying experience.
Cons: not as described
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mcd35
FL
Posted November 9, 2012
size question
do you remember if it was indeed 12" diameter, or was it 10.5? and did it have the rolled rims like the d5? the pictures are so confusing because many products have general all-clad pictures that don't correspond with the product itself!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RajunCajun
,Destrehan
,La
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Execellent everyday pan
March 17, 2012
This pan is very versatile for sautéing vegetables, making sauces, and jambalaya. It is easy to clean even after jambalaya sticks. It gets used so often I am going to be purchasing another one in the near future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 7 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romney
,New Orleans
,la
October 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
October 7, 2011
I will use this product until the handles fall off. (I don't think that will happen anytime soon.) I'm in the process of replacing all of my pot and pans with ALL-CLAD products.
Could not be happier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 8 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anner1234
,Rochester
,MN
Rochester, MN
October 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't live without my AllClad
October 5, 2011
I absolutely love All-Clad stainless steel pans. This is no exception. Clean up is a breeze--just let the water run for a minute or two and it almost wipes out with a paper towel. I wish I could give 100 stars!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 9 for All-Clad Tri-Ply Stainless-Steel Saute Simmer, 4-Qt.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RachelRayCookalike
,Poulsbo
,WA
September 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-13points
4of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Hot too or not
September 16, 2011
I can't cook with this product, no matter how slowly I bring the food to temp, food sticks to the pan. I was told not to cook on too high of a heat, but I can't win with this pan. I am sorry I spent so much on this cookwear, back to cast iron I guess.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
nvani
FL
Posted November 5, 2012
big disappointment
not functional at all-food sticks to the pan even at low temps.waited long to buy this as it is expensive-but finally ended up disappointed -hope there is a recall on this.
0points
Customer avatar
SignoftheDove
Hamden, CT
Posted September 18, 2012
Be patient
It sounds like you have an electric stove with poor/slow heat control. I switched to All-Clad 20 years ago and I can't imagine being without it. Pre heat slowly, it can take high heat but it is not necessary. You will use a much lower heat setting than you think but the food will cook evenly and quickly because it is so efficient. Deglazing for suaces works like a charm. For clean up just fill with warm water and let it sit, the food will release easily.
0points
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Winston-Salem, NC
Posted October 7, 2011
preheat
Preheating the pan is the key. Something I did not learn until I purchased my first All-Clad pan. I also grew up on cast iron and it can't be beat for certain things.
Be sure to preheat your pan before you put anything in it. Also...don't know where you heard about not getting it too hot...but my experience has been it can take the heat and it will hold the heat.
I have been using All-Clad for around 30 years now...couldn't be happier
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)