This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert

With All-Clad's programmable slow cooker you just add ingredients to the ceramic insert and set the timer. The machine provides gentle uniform heat that will meld the rich flavors of slow-simmered braises, short ribs, soups and stews. This updated version includes an improved insert that won't crack or craze, and utilizes a new manufacturing process and rigorous testing standards ensure the highest quality.Push-button controls and easy-to-read digital display eliminate guesswork.6 1/2-qt. white ceramic insert goes from slow cooker to table.Automatically keeps foods warm until serving time.Tempered-glass lid.Riveted stainless-steel handles; insert has integrated handles.Polished-stainless-steel finish.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.963 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
77 of 163(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
Review 141 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAX2015
Dallas, TX
February 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best slow cooker you can buy.
February 25, 2009
I was motivated to buy this slow cooker because it received the "Recommended" rating from America's Test Kitchen. My three favorite things about this slow cooker are: 1) it has a digital interface with plenty of cooking options; 2) it reaches it's cooking heat quickly which is important to avoid the bacteria danger zone; and, 3) it's larger than most models (which I find to be too small). I've got plenty of counter space to accomodate this slow cooker. If you are short on counter space you'll want to consider storage before you buy. Still, from a performance standpoint this slow cooker is worth the money.
Review 142 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CMee
February 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great Product, EXCEPT
February 26, 2010
The insert appeared crackled after the very first use. After approximately three (3) more uses, a distinct crack appeared across the entire bottom of the ceramic insert. Never added cold ingredients to the insert while cooking or even when the insert was still warm. Very disappointing.
Also, the shortest "cook" time is four (4) hours...some recipes specify less than a four (4) hour cook time and you cannot program the cooker to stop...need to watch the clock and be there to shut the cooker off manually.
The slow cooker did make some delicious meals as long as the cooking time was more than four (4) hours .
Review 143 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kathrynyc
Seattle area
March 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Flawed to say the least
March 2, 2010
i purchased my ALLClad a little over one year ago. I loved it, used it about 15- 20 times- it has never gone on the stove, in dishwasher.. treated like the 200+ i spent for it. I used the unit two weeks ago and it died while cooking polenta for a dinner party. After examining it, we noticed a hair line crack in the insert. I called ALLCLAD and they said there was nothing they could do cause it was not under warranty. i went online and started reading reviews and low and behold I am one of hundreds who have posted complaints. Do not purchase this slowcooker unless you have money to throw away and want to add more to the landfill-
Review 144 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CrockpotRvw
Iowa
January 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not Hot Enough
January 19, 2009
I love crockpots, and own 3. I have used them several times a week for years. The All-Clad w/Ceramic Insert I've only been using for 6 months, and I've been very disappointed in it. It just does not cook meat and beans and stews to the consistency I'm used to from a crockpot, and the meals do not turn out as good. Beef stew meat that's totally tender after 6-8 hours in another, much cheaper crockpot is cooked, but tough and hard after 8 hours on High in the All-Clad. Navy bean soup that cooked on High for 6 hours in All-Clad, after 1 hour boiling on stove, were still not soft when done. Note: I never use ceramic inserts of crockpots on stove/oven.
Review 145 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CQuilez
,Manhattan Beach
,CA
December 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Minus Points for All-Clad
December 22, 2011
I am very disappointed in this product. I had a inexpensive, little slow cooker for years that worked perfectly. Last year my grandmother bought this one for us for our wedding. I used it a total for four times. When I went to plug it in this winter, it simply won't turn on!! Just won't work :(
I called All-Clad and they very coldly informed me that it's not their problem because it is out of warranty. I cannot believe how many reviews I read that share the same poor customer service by All-Clad! I will NEVER purchase their products again. They told me that I could pay to have it shipped to a repair center, then pay for all the repairs to fix it. Are you kidding me?!?!?
Cons: Power, broken after barely any use
Review 146 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
indie
indiana
July 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Still going strong...and in one piece!
July 30, 2010
I have been trying to decide if I wanted to get the slow cooker with the metal non-stick insert and had went on line tonight to read the reviews. Was very surprised about the reviews on both types. I have owned the All Clad slow cooker with the ceramic insert for at least 3 years...if not 4. My insert is crack free and I have never had any problems with the digital control panel. I've even put my liner in the dishwasher. I just make sure to never add cold items after the liner has heated up and I let it completely cool down before I even think about cleaning it or adding water to soak. I think I'll pass on the cooker with the non-stick liner and stick with what has served me well.
Review 147 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TammyinFL
Florida
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great kitchen addition
January 12, 2011
This is the first slow cooker I have owned but it is amazing. The first day I had it I made a brisket and the meat was so tasty and tender. I have also made stew and it too was delicious. I do not know how it compares to other slow cookers, but I love it. It is so versatile and also beautiful. You could easily leave it out on your counter for display. The ceramic insert lifts out for easy cleaning which is nice. However, since the insert is quite large, it is a bit heavy and a little hard to handle when cleaning. The large size would allow large meal prep for a dinner party. We are just a family of four but even meals for four seem to do just fine in the large area. I would definitely recommend!
Review 148 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aero1
October 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE LOVE My Slow Cooker
October 22, 2011
This is by far the best slow cooker I have ever had. The meat is always moist (have know idea why others say they have problems). I have cooked soups, stews, roasts, chicken, pork roast, I even have cooked apple butter in it. WOW it's fantastic. My ceramic has NEVER cracked. Others may have cracked theirs if they stored anything in it in the fridge and then put it in the slow cooker. That is NOT recommended. So I don't. I have no leaks. I have had mine for over a year now with absolutely no complaints.
The only con is that my dishwasher can't hold the insert very well. But it's an old dishwasher LOL. Other than that it washes nicely. The outer stainless still is still as shiny as when I received it as a gift.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Power, Size
Review 149 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Streetstupid
Baltimore, MD
January 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
User Error - No Fault in Product.
January 5, 2009
After reading the reviews I felt the need to write my own feelings on the All Clad Slow cooker with CERAMIC Insert.
For those who had problems with "cracking", you need to realize that All Clad and Williams-Sonoma sell TWO types of slow cookers. 1) the standard ceramic insert and 2) a deluxe version with a cast aluminum insert.
Only the cast aluminum insert is safe for stove top use!
I love my AC ceramic slow cooker and while the deluxe model 'does' have the added benefit of being able to handle stove top use, I dislike the fact that it has a nonstick coating - unable to handle the high heat which is necessary for searing.
I have been very happy with my purchase and would recommend this product ten times over.
Review 150 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SWeller
Seattle, WA
November 17, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Cracks in the Ceramic
November 17, 2008
I adored the slow cooker and raved about it the first 6 times I used it. It feels heavy and professional and has a name you can generally trust. However, after the 6th time using it I heard a loud crack during the cooking process. When I inspected the ceramic insert, I saw spider webs of hairline cracks and one larger one spreading along the bottom of the bowl. !!!! This is pitiful for such a great brand to have this sort of defect with a product. Williams Sonoma is such a great store, they didn't ask any questions when I wanted to replace it. However, after reading these reviews, I'm expecting to have the same exact problem again. Hopefully they'll refund me when that happens. Save your receipt and box on this one!
Review 151 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
travelingtilley
Tampa Bay area
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sleek, slow, and tender cooking...
January 4, 2011
Having experienced slow cooking with an ill-fitting ceramic cooker, I could not be happier with my new one from Williams-Sonoma! The temperature holds and is evenly distributed. I've enjoyed a pork roast and leftovers enough for pot pies (yes, I bought the Breville pie maker and love it, too!) and pulled pork sandwhiches. The vegetables were still in their cut shapes but tender and delicious...not mush. I felt comfortable enough to start a roast with vegetables in the morning and leave it until I came home. What a welcoming aroma to open the door to! I look forward to trying soups and more roasts.
The stainless steel is so attractive. The ceramic pot is heavy, but that is what I expected; it handles the extended temperatures on either high (4 hours) or on low (for 8 hours).
Review 152 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeDeeC
Utah
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Keep Your Hands OFF my All Clad!
December 19, 2010
I am considering buying a 3rd All-Clad Slow Cooker for a gift and noticed many of the poor reviews. I don't write reviews but I do read them. I felt compelled to give my 2 cents since I own 2 of these. I am a HUGE fan of slow cooking. I have a busy life and a BIG family, and I've become quite creative with this "necessity" of life. I have owned my 1st one for about 3 yrs and I absolutely LOVE it! It cooks perfectly, cleans up easily, and is so nice to look at. After about a year I decided to buy a second and it's a life saver during the holidays and when entertaining. It's so classy looking I can serve right out of it. I have a total of 5 slow cookers and although I alternate my All Clad's are OFF LIMITS to my teenage kids. Don't touch Mom's NICE kitchen toys!
5 STARS from this Cook!
Review 153 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MargieMid
San Diego
January 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Earlier All Clad Slow Cooker
January 11, 2009
My review is really about the earlier All Clad Cooker. I thought I would at least let people know about my experience. I am a loyal All Clad customer and we bought the slow cooker that was available three years ago. I used it all the time that first year and really loved it. Then year two I began to use it and it just stopped working. I called All Clad thinking maybe they could fix it but they said I could pay $50 dollars and return the old one and get a new one. I asked them if they realized how much it would cost to return it! No answer. So there I was with a nonworking slow cooker and no help from customer service. I will still buy the cookware but I am very wary of their slow cookers. And considering the investment in the cost of the machines, I hope the new models work better than mine did.
Review 154 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mssilverstreak
Charlotte, NC
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Slow Cooker is a Super Timesaver
January 3, 2011
Just received the slow cooker right before Christmas. When I returned from my Christmas trip, opened the box, read the instructions and then purchased two books on slow cooking so I could learn the "technique for slow cooking." I used it yesterday to make a pot roast and today for gumbo. Both were excellent and love the warm feature. I will probably use the slow cooker 3 to 4 times a week. Hope it holds up and the insert doesn't become crazed like I've read in some of the blogs about the All-Clad slow cooker. All my pots and pans are All-Clad and are now about 13 years old and they get better every year. It's like cooking in non-stick pots although I only have one very large skillet that is non stick. I hope the slow cooker will be as durable as my pots and pans and become another trusted and true friend in my kitchen.
Review 155 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PLK1
Denver
October 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very disappointed!
October 5, 2008
I am a very loyal All-Clad user so of course my kitchen would not be complete without the All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert. I have used this item about 6 times before tonight's mess. I was in the middle of making a pot roast when I noticed that there was a stream of juice coming from the slow cooker. As I got closer to the slow cooker, I noticed that it was leaking from the bottom. When I opened the top and tried to remove the ceramic insert, you can imagine the horror when the bottom was no longer connected to the sides, therefore causing the juice to seep out of the bottom. I will be promptly returning this tomorrow morning at WS and purchasing a different item. I suspect the ceramic got too hot and cracked. Not sure why, as the insert is temperature controlled with one "hot" setting. I am now waiting for a pizza to arrive as I write this review...
Review 156 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
seas1525
Philladelphia PA
September 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Check your insert for holes in glaze!!
September 2, 2011
I received one of these as a wedding gift and loved it for awhile until one day I noticed that my empty, clean pot was seeping brown liquid out the bottom!
Turns out there was a pin size hole in the glaze that caused the clay beneath to absorb whatever was cooked in the pot.
I am just about to return my 7th replacement from All-Clad. Because even after requesting a quality check before sending me ANOTHER one, it too had a hole in the glaze.
I am convinced they all do!
If you have one of these I would check it for a pin size hole in the glaze, almost all of the replacements i received had the hole in exactly the same spot. Mine also had a lingering subtle stink to it that I tried to get rid of by simmering baking soda and water in the pot. Doing that will also expose any cracks because the clay absorbs it and it leaks out the glaze, mine was absolutely covered in white cracks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality
Review 157 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YankeesFan
Boston, MA
November 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Performs like a champ!
November 3, 2010
Have had this product for several years and use it quite frequently in the colder months, which in New England is about half the year.
A lot of reviews cite cracked ceramic inserts. I believe that this is natural occurrence in ceramics with all the heating (and duration of heat) that this product endures. Mine has hairline cracks in the insert, but it does NOT affect performance in the slightest.
The person who commented that their insert broke upon dropping it should not deduct points for their own clumsiness! Though I would concur that the insert is heavy and very slippery when being washed, so buyers should be cautioned to take special care when washing it.
If you follow the care instructions (do not subject the product to wild temperature changes such as running cold water in it while it's still hot, and not dropping it), then you should get many years of use out of this quality product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LilMsFoodie
southwest florida
Posted December 19, 2010
you can not compare current line with old one
something you bought years ago was probably made in a different factory or had different specs...it is obvious something has gone wrong.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 158 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OnePotMama
Oakland, CA
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Loved it until it died too soon
April 16, 2011
I wanted this slow cooker for some time and did alot of research about whether the ceramic insert or metal insert was best. Decided on ceramic, since many recipes call for browing meat, then browning veggies, then deglazing pan, so you need to put the completed parts on another plate anyway.
I made three great recipes and was thrilled with my purchase! However, after just 3 uses and being very careful with it -- I put it back in the box with the styrofoam in between uses -- it just died. The control panel wouldn't work at all. I was SO disappointed, as I had just prepared all the ingredients for dinner and then couldn't cook it. I brought it back to W-S, and then refunded my money, since they were no longer carrying this model. (They're only carrying the metal insert from now on.) After reading all the reviews about the metal inserts bubbling and peeling, I don't think I want that model. What to do?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 159 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mommyto3under5
Goldsboro NC
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
don't purchase
November 19, 2010
I love the idea of this slow cooker. Being able to remove the insert to set it on the table (added bonus - it matches my dishes) but shortly after purchasing this slow cooker, the insert began showing hairline cracks throughout the entire surface. I thought - maybe this is normal, so I continued use. Now 2 years later- we have stopped using it due to being scared of bacteria trapped in the cracks since the cracks are becoming more pronounced. I called W-S and they told me to contact all clad. Through them I would need to purchase a new insert. I do have proof of purchase on my bank account records but no paper receipt. So if you do purchase this -save your receipt, because bank account records doesn't help. My slow cooker was always hand washed and hand dried. The cracks were caused by the heating source- so I think this slow cooker was a great concept, but not something that will last you more than a year.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
chicagomomto2
Chicago, IL
Posted December 19, 2010
Drastic temperature changes?
Hi. Just wondering if the cracking could have been caused by putting the insert in the refrigerator when it was still hot (or heating it when it came out of the refrigerator?) I wouldn't think it would be that sensitive, but thought I'd raise that as a possibility as that has happened to me before with other dishes.
0points
Customer avatar
joesca
CA
Posted December 19, 2010
cracks
As some of the other reviews, mine too showed small cracks after first use. Took it back thinking it was just a bad one and the second one also had problems. Went back to a stainless crock pot brand. No issues.
0points
Customer avatar
jobeanie2
Posted December 9, 2010
Walk into the store with it. Don't call. I had the same issue. They handed me a new slow cooker right on the spot. I don't like that it happened, but I still love this appliance. They were eager to help and didn't question it at all. That's one of the things I like the best about Williams-Sonoma. Hope that helps.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 160 for All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PerseveringBride
November 17, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Do not place ceramic insert on stove-top!
November 17, 2008
After receiving the All-Clad Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert as a wedding gift, I was SO excited about using it, especially after receiving a recipe by e-mail for Garlic Studded Pork Shoulder from Williams Sonoma.
I followed the WS recipe, which stated placing "the stove-top safe insert of a slow-cooker over medium-high heat" to warm olive oil and brown the pork. Imagine my surprise upon hearing a CRACK. I didn't want to believe what I saw: a sizeable hairline crack in the side of the ceramic pot. I was terribly disappointed. Only later did I recognize that the ceramic insert is not to be placed on the stove-top. I returned and exchanged it for another, and WS was obliging.
Product is good. I'd only recommend this item with reservations... warning customers to disregard recipes (even if from WS) that call for the slow cooker's insert to be placed on a stove-top. The All-Clad ceramic insert is not stove-top safe!
prevpage 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 next