All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan

Ideal for everything from cooking breakfast meats to grilling steaks and burgers, this square pan features a ridged surface that sears foods with attractive grill marks while allowing fat to drain away. Patented d5 bonding technology guarantees unsurpassed performance. Square design adds 25% more surface area than a traditional round grill pan. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mazel
,Medway
,MA
June 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for induction
June 4, 2014
Please, save your money. I have many d5 pans and they work flawlessly on my induction stove, However, because this pan has a rippled base surface, a total induction stove cannot make enough surface contact to heat the pan in an efficient manner. I was unable to cook even a few hot dogs in this pan - I wanted to grill some small pork chops and boneless chicken - absolutely no way. It probably will work fine on stoves with excess ambient heat, but NOT on an induction stove.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Snakecatcher
Texas
Posted November 23, 2014
Induction Stovetops
I've been happily cooking on natural gas for nearly 60 years. This grill pan is not the only cooking utensil you have to quit using if you start using an induction stovetop. I say "Stay away from Induction". Stick with gas.
0points
Customer avatar
KayLeo
Houston, TX
Posted June 10, 2014
Number 1 Contributor
Thanks for the warning!
How strange that the description claims that it is suitable for induction when your experience with the grill pan clearly shows the opposite!
Have cast iron grill pans worked for your induction stove?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ilovelearing
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
There is a trick to using this pan
August 26, 2013
The pan must be heated on a higher heat. Sprinkle a bit of water on pan to test. The water should form bouncing beads. Them the pan is hot enough. Then turn the pan down to medium. Grill. Splash water in the end of grilling. Easy cleanup. If you do not heat the pan properly, you will end up scrubbing the pan for two days. I know...because this is what happened to me. If you follow the trick above, easy peasy cleanup. And...lovely grilling for your food. I've done bacon, fish and garlic toast.
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoubleJ
,New York
,NY
Fort Lauderdale, FL
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best I've found
June 4, 2013
The pan cooks beautifully and cleans in a jiffy, perhaps after a brief soak in soapy water. The secret is to follow the instructions and never use high heat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ldlt
,Los Gatos
,Ca
May 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best grill pan
May 4, 2013
Received this as a gift 3 years ago. Love the quality. It's a heavy pan. We use it 5x a week. Love it for cooking steaks, fish, chicken & bacon.
I learned to leave the pan in the sink with a little dish soap while we're having our meal. Clean up is easy. Pan still looks brand new.
Would love All-Clad to come out with a larger version of this.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jinglewriter
,Los Angeles
,CA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cleans Exactly As Promised
December 17, 2012
I just used the stainless, square grill pan to cook a steak - my first try. Yes, it got dark and pieces looked like they were indelibly stuck to the surface, but that is just for a moment.
when the steak came off I put some water in it and left it on the stove. After dinner I emptied out the water and shook some Bar Keep cleanser in the bottom and with just a scrubby sponge, the pan was returned to its original beauty in less than 3 minutes. It looks as if it's never been used!
Use it, and then have some Bar Keep around. It's awesome!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scarecrow
,Shelburne
,VT
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to clean
October 27, 2012
All my pans are All-Clad so it made perfect sense to by an All-Clad Grill pan. The first use created a totally blackened bottom that would not clean. After calling the All-Clad Customer Service number I bought and used Barkeepers Friend and only after much scrubbing and soaking did the pan come clean. I was told to use low to medium heat and that I shouldn't have that problem. Not so...2nd attempt at lower heat created the same black bottom. All-Clad customer service would not accept the pan back saying it was only warranteed against manufacturers defects. Very poor customer service in my opinion. I do not recommend this pan.
Pros: Shape
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
September 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice product
September 19, 2012
I was hesitant to buy because some reviews said that it was hard to clean. However, for me, it was a breeze to clean! Just follow the directions for proper use.Slowly, I'm acquiring more all-clad pans; can't wait to get more!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nese
,Merced
,CA
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Use to Grill
March 20, 2012
Grilling, to me, is using high heat. This pan recommends using low heat. I purchased this pan to grill steaks, chops, burgers. I won't be able to use this pan for what I intended. I will be returning this product.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Homeuser
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill But Hard To Clean
March 20, 2012
This gills beautifully. I could not ask for better grilling results. Be prepared for a pan that is difficult to clean. After each time I use it, I have to soak it for a few hours with dish washer powder in hot water, and then scrub it with a sponge backed with a non abrasive material. I also need to use a lot of non abrasive cleanser like Bar Keepers Friend.
That is why I gave it a 3.
Pros: Durable, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance