All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan

Ideal for everything from cooking breakfast meats to grilling steaks and burgers, this square pan features a ridged surface that sears foods with attractive grill marks while allowing fat to drain away. Patented d5 bonding technology guarantees unsurpassed performance. Square design adds 25% more surface area than a traditional round grill pan. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
12 of 18(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ilovelearing
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
There is a trick to using this pan
August 26, 2013
The pan must be heated on a higher heat. Sprinkle a bit of water on pan to test. The water should form bouncing beads. Them the pan is hot enough. Then turn the pan down to medium. Grill. Splash water in the end of grilling. Easy cleanup. If you do not heat the pan properly, you will end up scrubbing the pan for two days. I know...because this is what happened to me. If you follow the trick above, easy peasy cleanup. And...lovely grilling for your food. I've done bacon, fish and garlic toast.
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoubleJ
,New York
,NY
Fort Lauderdale, FL
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best I've found
June 4, 2013
The pan cooks beautifully and cleans in a jiffy, perhaps after a brief soak in soapy water. The secret is to follow the instructions and never use high heat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ldlt
,Los Gatos
,Ca
May 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best grill pan
May 4, 2013
Received this as a gift 3 years ago. Love the quality. It's a heavy pan. We use it 5x a week. Love it for cooking steaks, fish, chicken & bacon.
I learned to leave the pan in the sink with a little dish soap while we're having our meal. Clean up is easy. Pan still looks brand new.
Would love All-Clad to come out with a larger version of this.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jinglewriter
,Los Angeles
,CA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cleans Exactly As Promised
December 17, 2012
I just used the stainless, square grill pan to cook a steak - my first try. Yes, it got dark and pieces looked like they were indelibly stuck to the surface, but that is just for a moment.
when the steak came off I put some water in it and left it on the stove. After dinner I emptied out the water and shook some Bar Keep cleanser in the bottom and with just a scrubby sponge, the pan was returned to its original beauty in less than 3 minutes. It looks as if it's never been used!
Use it, and then have some Bar Keep around. It's awesome!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scarecrow
,Shelburne
,VT
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to clean
October 27, 2012
All my pans are All-Clad so it made perfect sense to by an All-Clad Grill pan. The first use created a totally blackened bottom that would not clean. After calling the All-Clad Customer Service number I bought and used Barkeepers Friend and only after much scrubbing and soaking did the pan come clean. I was told to use low to medium heat and that I shouldn't have that problem. Not so...2nd attempt at lower heat created the same black bottom. All-Clad customer service would not accept the pan back saying it was only warranteed against manufacturers defects. Very poor customer service in my opinion. I do not recommend this pan.
Pros: Shape
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
September 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice product
September 19, 2012
I was hesitant to buy because some reviews said that it was hard to clean. However, for me, it was a breeze to clean! Just follow the directions for proper use.Slowly, I'm acquiring more all-clad pans; can't wait to get more!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nese
,Merced
,CA
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Use to Grill
March 20, 2012
Grilling, to me, is using high heat. This pan recommends using low heat. I purchased this pan to grill steaks, chops, burgers. I won't be able to use this pan for what I intended. I will be returning this product.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Homeuser
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill But Hard To Clean
March 20, 2012
This gills beautifully. I could not ask for better grilling results. Be prepared for a pan that is difficult to clean. After each time I use it, I have to soak it for a few hours with dish washer powder in hot water, and then scrub it with a sponge backed with a non abrasive material. I also need to use a lot of non abrasive cleanser like Bar Keepers Friend.
That is why I gave it a 3.
Pros: Durable, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ncn720
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great product from all-clad
November 14, 2011
I am not sure why other reviews state this pan is difficult to clean, but since I've been using it, I have had no trouble at all cleaning it. As long as you use Bar Keeper's Friend (liquid or powder), all your all-clad pots will look as good as the day you bought them. I highly recommend this product for anyone who loves to cook and is in the market for a professional grade product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: none
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinCLE
,Cleveland
,OH
November 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best purchase of 2011
November 1, 2011
I've been eyeing on this pan for a long time, but one review said it's very difficult to clean. I hesitated for a LONG time, then I just bought it.
I am SO GLAD that I gave it a go. It's fantastic, cooks very well, and EASY to clean. I use it mainly for grilling steak, pork chop, chicken breast, and fish (or anything I can grill) and tons of veggie sautee. It makes mean rear steaks!!! I just love it, I can't shut up about it.
Cleaning tip: after you're done using this pan, pour some water while it's still hot. If you have non-gas stove, just leave it on still-warm metal plate or induction. it'll soak the grill residue, so it comes off very easily later. It does sometimes takes some metal scrubbing, but not too much. After a few months of intense grilling, mine still looks like new.
Highly Recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hiighlander2
,Highlands
,NC
North Carolina
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So glad I got it!
October 17, 2011
I have a few pieces of D5 but hesitated buying this grill because of uncomplimentary reviews, but finally took the plunge. It was cold and blustery the other night; I was dying for a hamburger but didn't want to use the outdoor grill so tried the new pan. It worked great! All I can imagine is that those who left negative reviews didn't follow the basic recommendations for D5 use. I warmed the pan a bit at a notch just below 'medium' on our glass top range. The burgers had nice grill marks, cooked evenly and amazingly fast; my usual medium-rare was more a medium so I'll have to adjust downward a bit, but that was just my error in estimation of time. As usual, I let the pan cool, then put it in the sink with soapy water to soak a bit and it cleaned up like new with just my SOS blue scrubber sponge. So if you've been hesitating, don't - just be smart in using your D5.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Coloradojo
,Fort Collins
,CO
Fort Collins, CO
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Pan for Browning
October 10, 2011
Good pan for browning and cooking bacon. Could be a bit deeper. Easy to clean if you take the manufacturer's suggestion and use a product like Bon Ami to clean interior. Overall a good pan; and, at the sale price, a bargain.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: Size
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lori5
,Iola
,TX
Texas
September 28, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do Not Buy this Pan
September 28, 2011
I am a devoted All-Clad user. My friends and associates call me a "gourmet cook." Maybe. I do love kitchen chemistry lots, but this pan is not a good one. I use primarily EVO, butter or bacon grease to get things going. EVERYTHING sticks to this pan. It stains. It is VERY DIFFICULT to clean. Don't go here. Try the non-stick version instead! Sorry!
Pros: Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MCorbin
Hoboken, NJ
Posted March 18, 2013
Very true
I was worried that this pan would do that. I bought the non-stick grill pan. No problem with it. Weird thing is...I can't find it ANYWHERE now. I liked it so much I wanted to get one for my friend. Not sure if All-Clad still makes it? I only see this stainless steel grill pan, which, I will not get.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Barbhannon
I liked the square shape.
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It cannot be cleaned.
August 3, 2011
Someone previous to me said the grill was tough to clean. I bought it anyWay. The previous writer had been correct. Try as I might.
Pros: Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovestocook410
New England
April 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
April 22, 2011
The size is great. The shape is great. And it does a great job of grilling. Very happy with this gift.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DJC320
Manchester, CT
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SAVE YOUR MONEY
March 20, 2011
Terrible pan. Heat transfer doesn't exist. Meat does not cook evenly. Not easy to clean. Very unhappy with this purchase.
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cookingmamasita
Tampa, FL
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not my favorite pan!
February 17, 2011
I have enjoyed every purchase from Williams-Sonoma until now. This pan is very difficult to clean after cooking proteins and have found that the meat drippings tend to burn down in the ridges causing the pan to smoke.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Handle
San Diego, CA
Posted December 4, 2011
Smoke From Grill Pan
Smoke is usually a good thing when using a grill pan. The smoke and splatter from the drippings running down the ridges gives flavor that rises up to the food that is sitting and cooking on top of the ridges.
I like using a medium high heat and sometimes hotter to get a good amount of smoking from the grill pan as the smoke imparts flavor to the food similar to the drippings hitting the coals and causing smoke on an outdoor grill.
0points
Customer avatar
CynthiaJean
Buffalo, NY
Posted July 18, 2011
Must use proper cleaner
I fully understand the frustration with cleaning this pan. However, if you use a product called "Bar Keeper's Friend" properly, it cleans beautifully, bringing the pan back to new status. This was recommended to us by the sales representative when purchasing the pan at the William Sonoma store. We usually put water in the pan after its use to allow it to soak then wash with regular dish liquid and finally using the BKF. I never respond to things like this, but we enjoy using this pan so much that I didn't want others to pass up the purchase based on experiences that could be remedied.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DRS990
Georgia
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+19points
25of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill pan
January 8, 2011
This was my first all-clad pan.
I love it. I even used it to cook bacon.
Bacon cooked great and the pan was very easy to clean. My husband was impressed with the clean up.