All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. With this versatile sauce pan, you can simmer all types of sauces, blanch vegetables and cook grains and cereals. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Medium-high sides and narrow shape hold heat well and stop evaporation. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handle on lid is easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
45 of 47(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Placentia
,CA
July 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2 quart All-Clad saucepan
July 19, 2015
We have gradually changed our pots to All-Clad. Though expensive, they retain their flatness on the bottom better than other brands for a LONG time, which cooks better. Our new 2- quart saucepan and lid is of the same quality and the size is perfect for small amounts. Shaped vertically instead of horizontally, it does pasta nicely. It cleans easily. Ask me in a year or two if it has retained its bottom flatness. I expect it will still be in first-rate condition. This brand tends to be somewhat heavy; bigger pieces can be a little hard to lift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
May 24, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt mark rusting
May 24, 2015
I boiled eggs in salt water once and it pitted the bottom of the pan. I added cold water, cold raw eggs with shells on and salt before turning the heat on... I was told the corrosion/rusting was due to the fact that I added salt before boiling the water. Salt and water are common ingredients in cooking. Pitting would happen sooner or later. The stainless steel pressure cooker of another brand that I own does not have this salt mark issue after 3 years of use. I think All Clad has quality issues.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Fragile, High-Maintenance, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AddictedToChocolate
Centennial CO
Posted May 28, 2015
that's what happens
All Clad recommends that you do not add salt until the water is boiling. It's not the pan, it's the way you used it. I've had All Clad for years, the same pots and I've never had pitting happen, but I follow the recommendations. I clean them with Bar Keep, and I've very careful about how much heat I use...never on HIGH when cooking with these pans.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This changed the way I cook.
May 5, 2015
Invest a bit more, get a saucepan that does it all. I have two of these and their performance inspired me to try recipes I disregarded in the past. Perfect results every time. My Le Cruesets get far less use these days.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia, PA
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pot ever
March 14, 2015
I started to change over my first all-clad pots and pans to the D5 line and I love them. My first stainless set are still good and I will probably pass them on to my kids for starters if they need them, but it's nice to have new pots and pans! All my cookware is all-clad and I intend to continue to use them forever! They cook well and are easy to clean and my guests are always impressed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, attractive
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bakersfield
,CA
February 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Saucepan
February 28, 2015
I have replaced most of my old pots & pans with All-Clad. I haven't had this saucepan very long, but use it for many things. It's a perfect size for the amount of potatoes needed for potato salad & to make chili & soup for my small family. I love All-Clad, especially this saucepan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brunswick
,Ma
February 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new "go to pot"
February 28, 2015
More flexible size than the 2 qt. Yet not as big as the Pasta/Soup Pot. Use it daily, great for steaming vegetables and making rice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Edmond
,OK
Edmond, OK
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I ordered wrong size
January 1, 2015
While I ordered the wrong saucepan (ordered 2 qt and meant to order 4 qt) I was able to go to the Williams Sonoma store and obtain the correct one. Return of the 2 qt was easy! These pans perform very well
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbus
,OH
December 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1.5-Qt Saucepan
December 14, 2014
I bought this saucepan to test cooking with stainless steel. I own a nonstick set from Calphalon, but wanted to upgrade. My mother has the Copper Core line and loves it so I decided to give All-Clad a try.
I mostly cook for myself so the 1.5-Qt size was perfect for me. In less than a week, I've used this pot 5 times. I cooked pudding and a creme anglaise. I boiled a small amount of pasta before making a single serving of homemade vegetable soup. Tonight, I made rice in this pan.
Everything cooked perfectly over (mostly) medium heat--no scorching or hot spots. Clean-up is a breeze. There was a layer of rice caked to the bottom that had me regretting purchasing stainless steel, but 5 minutes of soaking loosened everything.
The polished stainless is so shiny and I hope to be able to maintain the luster over many uses to come. It's only been 4 days since my initial purchase and I've already added the 3-Qt sauté pan & 10" covered nonstick fry pan to my collection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
December 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All Clad and Williams-Sonoma
December 10, 2014
I started with the large All-Clad tea kettle - at the Columbus Circle WS store. Staff is professional and extremely helpful, good knowledge of products and discounts available. Then I was hooked! Now I watch for sales and have been upgrading my kitchen to ALL All Clad :)
Online service and delivery is exemplary also with very fast shipping and all items well packed and excellent condition on arrival. Williams Sonoma and All Clad are a winning combination!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,North Carolina
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
latest all clad suacepan
October 7, 2014
Great describes this pot, size, finish and ease of cleaning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jackson
,NJ
August 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pot!
August 16, 2014
I've been replacing my older tri-ply all clad with some copper core and D5. I love these saucepans! Love the lid, great wide handle. And I love the lip on the saucepan. Has a nice heft too it as well. Excellent piece!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange County
,CA
Los Angeles, CA
August 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Performs great, but...
August 3, 2014
This pot performs great, but I can honestly say I do not notice a difference between the D5 saucepan and the tri-ply saucepan. I cook a lot but I am by no means one who considers himself a gourmet so perhaps my cooking isn't sophisticated enough to notice a difference between the two lines.
I don't have anything negative to say about this pot but if I had to do it all over again I would save money by choosing the tri-ply.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Deltona
,Fl
June 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An even better cook
June 29, 2014
I wore out my Revereware. My great grandmother, grandmother, mom and myself have used Revereware. I had pieces from all. I had pieces.
The d5 Williams & Sonoma makes cooking easier and results better.
Like Revereware, you have to take care of these pans.
You wish to anyway because of their impeccable construction. This offers wonderful control of food or sauce preparation.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design, beautiful pans!
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,new haven
,CT
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so pretty, light and easy to use
May 31, 2014
I am/was a fan of crueset, but that cookware was becoming too heavy for me to use on a daily basis. Decided to try the all-clad and am so glad I did. the handle stays cool, it heats quickly and evenly, and is so much lighter. Love them
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cape Cod
,MA
May 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE this pan and it is worth the money.
May 5, 2014
I bought this a few years ago, maybe 4 and use this all the time. I love the weight and the finish is just beautiful. I have other All-Clad (a large frypan) but it is not the D-5 adn I dont' like it nearly as much.
The D5 will scratch, but only if you use a metal spoon. My husband's brother used mine when I was not around and that is the only reason it has scratches on it.
I use baking soda to clean any hard to get off food, but find that Barkeeper's friend will make the inside look brand new. I only use baking soda on the outside finish and it looks brand new.
I have a larger souppot and would give it the same rating.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,wichita
,ks
Wichita, Kansas
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Pot
April 6, 2014
When something is good... it's good, and this pan does an excellent job of cooking beautiful sauces.
I liked it so much, that I bought a second one for my catering business.
If you do a lot of sauces, this is a must have pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ho Chi Minh City
March 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this little guy!
March 3, 2014
I usually cook for 2 and this little pot is perfect for getting little jobs done.
If you don't mind spending a little extra cash on good pots and pans and you like All Clad, I recommend spending a little more on the d5 Stainless-Steel line.
I started cooking 3 years ago and I went with the Classic Line, I wish I got the d5. Anytime I add a new piece to my collection I'll make sure to get the d5.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fl
November 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First all clad pot
November 12, 2013
This is the first time trying a pot from all clad. Was slightly concerned about the weight of this pot, it is not light but I am able to handle it with ease. Cooks very evenly and clean up is easy. I was impressed at how food really doesn't stick if you use the proper heat. Who knew you didn't need to cook on high always. I love that it is stainless and I don't have that non stick coating that usually wears off on other pans! I will buy more
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Cons: Cost
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sacramento
,CA
Elk Grove, CA
October 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Pan
October 6, 2013
As always, clean appearance, even heating, and easy to clean. What more could you ask for?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pittsurgh
,PA
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great saucepan
September 16, 2013
even cooking, easy cleaning, replacing all my pans with All-Clad
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Weight
page1 2 3 next