All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. With this versatile sauce pan, you can simmer all types of sauces, blanch vegetables and cook grains and cereals. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Medium-high sides and narrow shape hold heat well and stop evaporation. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handle on lid is easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
58 of 60(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousAndy
,wichita
,ks
Wichita, Kansas
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Pot
April 6, 2014
When something is good... it's good, and this pan does an excellent job of cooking beautiful sauces.
I liked it so much, that I bought a second one for my catering business.
If you do a lot of sauces, this is a must have pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnhieBananie
,Ho Chi Minh City
March 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this little guy!
March 3, 2014
I usually cook for 2 and this little pot is perfect for getting little jobs done.
If you don't mind spending a little extra cash on good pots and pans and you like All Clad, I recommend spending a little more on the d5 Stainless-Steel line.
I started cooking 3 years ago and I went with the Classic Line, I wish I got the d5. Anytime I add a new piece to my collection I'll make sure to get the d5.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellebelle50
,Fl
November 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First all clad pot
November 12, 2013
This is the first time trying a pot from all clad. Was slightly concerned about the weight of this pot, it is not light but I am able to handle it with ease. Cooks very evenly and clean up is easy. I was impressed at how food really doesn't stick if you use the proper heat. Who knew you didn't need to cook on high always. I love that it is stainless and I don't have that non stick coating that usually wears off on other pans! I will buy more
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Cons: Cost
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skipdog
,Sacramento
,CA
Elk Grove, CA
October 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Pan
October 6, 2013
As always, clean appearance, even heating, and easy to clean. What more could you ask for?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheaptoothfairy
,Pittsurgh
,PA
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great saucepan
September 16, 2013
even cooking, easy cleaning, replacing all my pans with All-Clad
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailee
,Jasper
,GA
September 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
September 12, 2013
It took me awhile to bite the bullet and order my first piece of All-Clad because it's so pricey. After a lot of of research and reading tons of reviews, I decided to go for it, and I am so glad I did. This cookwear is everything it's advertised to be, and I love cooking in it. Since it's just my husband and me, this saucepan is the perfect size for us, and I'm reaching for it constantly-- and it looks beautiful hanging on my pot rack along with the other four pieces of All-Clad I'm now the proud owner of!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrisSoCal
,Orange County
,CA
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
4 QT Saucepan is Fabulous
June 11, 2013
I gave myself a new 4 QT copper core All-Clad saucepan for my birthday last month. It was a great present and addition to my set of Copper Core. I had the 2 Qt and the 8 Qt but needed a pot for these in-between sizes. This pot is the perfect size for steaming vegetables. Great improvement on the LID with a thicker handle. Love my All-Clad
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forker
,TX
June 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top quality
June 7, 2013
Like all All-clad pots, this one is just as nice as well built and nice as the rest of them
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: expensive
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTodd
,North Canton
,Oh
June 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1.5 qt perfect for making caramel sauce
June 6, 2013
The d5 is perfect because of the even heat distribution with no hot spots. Perfect for making caramel sauces. Because it heats up so quickly and maintains its temp we use it to boil small batches of potatoes for soups. We use it for heating up soap for two instead of the microwave because it takes less time and effort.
All-Clad is such a quality product and the d5 is worth the extra compared to tri-ply stainless. Not that the All Clad Tri-ply is not good, it is just the d5 is better technology.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
debjb
,Atlanta
,GA
May 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rate All-Clad 10 Stars
May 5, 2013
I just ordered this saucepan for the second time. Every piece of All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel cookware is beyond the 5 star ratings. They are easy to clean and look so nice on the cooktop. I don't buy anything else. Please don't ever discontinue selling any of the All-Clad cookware.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, 10 star rating
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Bakersfield
,CA
March 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Saucepan - Highly Recommended
March 19, 2013
I order the 1.5 quart saucepan in the newer d5 Stainless Steel. I had an older tri-ply All-Clad 1.5 quart saucepan and odered a second one since I use it so much. The newer d5 series is much better - heavier, better conductivity/heating and has new design features (drippless edges for easy pouring).
Highly Recommended!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Willits
,CA
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty of form and function
February 28, 2013
This is a great pot! Having gotten it on sale I am predisposed to feel it was worth every penny. It is sturdy without being too heavy and heats very evenly and steadily. I love the new pouring lip and the redesigned lid handle, which allows you to use it easily wearing a pot holder, although it, and the pot handle, do stay pretty cool during use. I really appreciate this new model over my old LTD pots, which look horrible after years of dishwasher "abuse" (how could All-Clad imagine that owners of the LTD pots would never put them in a dishwasher?!), for the improvements in function as well as the shiny good looks. Just FYI, the old lids fit the new D5 pot OK, but the new lid doesn't work on the old pots.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UltimateEpicurean
,Pinehurst
,NC
Pinehurst, NC
January 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Pleasure to Own
January 12, 2013
All Clad is never a disappointment - recently I bought a 1 1/2 and this 3 quart saucepan. Both are a practical all-purpose size, and about my 6th or 7th All Clad purchase. No complaints about any of them. I never need to use high heat - medium and low work best. Pans don't warp like other brands. Drips and spills over the sides and on the bottom are easy to clean off with the stainless steel cleaner W-S sells, so they always are shiny and sparkling inside and out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovetea
,Beaumont
,Tx
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Product
January 3, 2013
We have the entire set now and love them, they are durable and cook really well. You would just want to make sure and dry them right after washing to avoid waterspots, but if you forget all you need to do is use a lightly damp towel to wipe spots away. The shine is beautiful.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LVig
,Rutland
,VT
Vermont
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AllClad D5 - best cookware on the market
January 2, 2013
I am presently completing a set for myself and my son and daughter-in-law - only cookware we presently care to purchase. Cooks evenly - have both non stick and stainless and highly recommend both. Highly recommend spending the extra - well worth it .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jillalex77
,Watertown
,MA
Boston, MA
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Uncomfortable Handle!
December 28, 2012
I love this sauce pan: It heats up fast and evenly. It has heft (maybe too much). It's beautiful.
But the handle is SO uncomfortable, especially when I pour. I’m surprised AC never noticed. I’m more surprised this wasn't mentioned in the ratings.
Please, before you buy, handle the pot (3- and 4-qts) at the store.
Look at the whisking roux photo. Imagine pouring from a full 3-qt saucepan. It hurts. The handle shape curves in/down steeply, so the ridges at the tops are sharp. Not sharp like a knife, but sharp like they dig into your hand, so if you're using a 3-qt saucepan and it's full and you want to empty it, the way you have to hold the handle at an angle digs right into your hand.
An oven mitt might help, but I’m afraid it’d be too slippy and I’d lose control of the handle (and pot) altogether.
I won’t buy more pieces of this model until they change the handle design. I’m very sad about this. I’m not going to return the pan; I will find a way to better handle it (so to speak).
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, nonergonomic handle
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeepster
Nebraska
December 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All Clad 1.5 qt saucepan
December 20, 2012
I'm adding several key pieces of All Clad to my "batterie de cuisine" as Julia called it as my arms are getting tired of pumping iron (as in Le Creuset). I still love Le Creuset though! All Clad d5 is quality cookware, and made in the US. This saucepan is a very versatile size - good for morning oatmeal, stirring up a sauce or just heating veggies. If you're used to Le Creuset, you'll find these heat just a tad slower but cook nicely and evenly. All stainless needs to be cleaned with Bar Keeper's or similar product occasionally but it does clean very nice. The handle stays cool, and best of all, it's light enough to pour with one hand. The curved lip is very nice for dripless pouring too. One caveat that I've never seen in descriptions of these pans: If you're boiling water for pasta, potatoes, whatever, add the salt AFTER the food is in the pot as salt can and will cause pits in the bottom.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sierramade
,Barrington
,IL
Chicago
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this sauce pan!
December 16, 2012
I came home and made Apple Cider Caramels. It was 40 minutes reducing 4 cups cider on high with no problem and then making the caramels demonstrating the great heat distribution. Weight allowed me to comfortably lift it to pour caramels out. Cleaned up easily. Love it. Never thought I needed this size pan. Now I can't figure out how I did without it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingdo0f
,San Jose
,CA
San Jose, CA
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth the $$$
December 15, 2012
I got some of d5 open stock to replace an old set. For a novice cook it's like learning how to drive a stick shift in a Posrche instead of a 4 cylinder car... I'm still getting used to them, the lip is great for pouring, they're nice looking. They take a little time to warm up, but once you're there it's great cooking and keeping food warm. They're heavy. My own preference: the 1.5 qt design is narrow (and sometimes I go with my Le Creusset 2qt instead).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: 1.5 qt pot
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teseme
,San Pedro
,Ca
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great product
November 7, 2012
This pot is great for sauces and small soups. . It cleans up nicely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight
page1 2 3 next