All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. Perfect for everything from preparing stock to boiling pasta, this set comes with a generously sized 7-qt. pot, perforated insert and lid. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. When cooking pasta, simply lift insert out of the pot to drain. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handles are easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pot size etched on base for quick identification. Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 2, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
February 2, 2014
I Loved My First One So Much I Went Out And Bought Another!
I admit a bit pricey. I found mine on sale in the Spring.
This is an extremely versatile pot. I use mine for for boiling pasta, preparing soups and homemade stocks and boiling potatoes for delicious potato salad.
Easy clean up. I do not recommend using an automatic dishwasher. The chemicals will pit your beautiful pot.
Enjoy your creations!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, sexy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimNH
,Pelham
,nh
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
d5 does not fail
January 2, 2013
one of several xmas purchases to replace old cookware. this was great size, heated quickly on my gas range; managed pasta and veggie prep for large holiday gathering.
i'll buy more pieces to match.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RES3740
Atlanta, GA
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile Piece of Cookware
August 7, 2011
I purchased this piece about three weeks ago. So far I have used it to cook pasta but also to blanch farm fresh vegetables to be frozen. The insert is perfect for that as I am able to pull all of the blanched vegetable out, drain and leave the hot water in the pot for the next round. It has cut the time in half in putting up fresh produce. I also used it to hot water bath fresh blueberry jam. It has been well worth the money!! As an aside to a previous reviewer, you might try not filling the pot with water higher than the second row of perforations from the top of the insert. Always allow for water displacement when you add whatever you are cooking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAL104
FL
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst pot I own
April 16, 2011
I dislike this pot very much. Whenever I use the insert and fill the bottom only about 1/2 full with water, it boils over. The insert seems especially hard to get clean. This pan is very high maintenance and I avoid using it whenever possible.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
swimbaby26
Posted August 6, 2012
Top 100 Contributor
maybe try a lower heat setting
to prevent boiling over. pasta should be cooked in a rolling boil and with something that conducts heat as well as all-clad, a low, max med-low is all you need to prevent boiling over. Or what I find works well is a Kuhn Rikon Spill Stopper Lid -- a silicone lid with holes that allow you to boil over things like pasta and potatoes with a lid of sorts.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam1
AZ
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great addition!
January 24, 2011
Saw the reviews of the other all-clad pasta pot and the trouble people had, this is worth the extra money!
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zaziouxe
Arlington, VA
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Cadillac of Pasta Pots
December 28, 2010
This is the pasta pot that all others aspire to. Worth every penny I paid for it and more. You could buy a substitute but it wouldn't reach the caliber of this item. Truly, life is too short to endure inferior cookware.
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HomeCookEMJ
Atlanta, GA
November 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pasta insert jiggles
November 9, 2010
This is a great pot except the pasta insert jiggles and does not fit snug. I am writing all-clad to see if this is normal. Water bubbles out from between the insert and the pot. The pot itself is great.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Rcdoc
Posted May 8, 2011
Same problem
Love the pot for soups and stew. Messy with the pasta insert!
0points
Customer avatar
BedazzledLV
Las Vegas, NV
Posted March 26, 2011
interesting
maybe the heat is too high, or just use less water...but its not gonna be a water tight seal since if its to tight you may have a hard time getting the pasta insert out. Not good when you think if the hot water involved.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thomasxp
Nicosia, Cyprus
June 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a necessity that's been improved
June 9, 2010
We purchased our first Pasta Pentola in 1996. It might seem pricey but this pan does double duty: besides pasta, the pot can be used for soups, stovetop clamboils or steaming seafood. The quality of All-Clad is unsurpassed. The pot looks as good now as it did when it was brand new. We have so many uses for it that we really could use a second one. My only complaint about the original design was the small space between the vessel and the handles, in which my fingers got caught several times while cleaning. This design flaw has been corrected with this new design. Worth every penny.
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Pasta Pentola
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MandyZ
Miami, FL
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good heat conduction, poor fit
January 19, 2010
I like the new d5 technology, it does seem to heat more quickly and use lower heat settings than my old All-Clad stainless steel pots and pans do, which is especially nice when you are trying to heat large quantities of water for pasta. My only dislike is that the insert does not fit perfectly flush with the lip of the pot. This seems like a major oversight to me. Other than that, I love it!