All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets

Modeled after classic French skillets, these multitasking pans with rounded sides and a large cooking surface will become your favorites for frying, sauteing and even baking the perfect tarte tatin. A great value, this two-pan set is from All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel cookware line, which incorporates five-layer bonded-metal construction as well as functional advances that make it the finest stainless-steel cookware to date. Set includes 9" and 11" skillets for frying and sauteing most foods. Constructed with five bonded metal layers that each serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Durable magnetic stainless-steel exterior with a gleaming polished finish. Stainless-steel interior sears and browns food beautifully and is easy to clean. High rounded sides simplify turning and flipping of foods while containing splatters. Stay-cool stick handles with finger guards give you balance and control. Pan sizes are etched on base for quick identification. Ideal for use on any kind of cooktop, including induction. Handcrafted in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
103 of 110(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gramskitchen
,Calmar
,IA
March 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hard to use
March 7, 2014
love these skillets, but they are very hard to use. Everything I try frying in them sticks, no matter what I try. Then cleaning them is a chore. If I'm doing something wrong I hope someone will let me know what to do different
Pros: Durable, Quality, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SmilinginSC
,Pickens
,SC
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pans for
March 2, 2014
In order to make finishing sauces, we were looking for a pan that would form a lovely frond on the bottom when searing without burning. These are perfect! Meat or fish carmelize beautifully. Add liquid & frond realeases easily making lucious sauces come together like a pro. Deep skillet a plus to keep things from escaping. Clean with Bar Keepers Friend to keep them gleaming.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wapahani828
,Newburgh
,in
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
As advertised
October 2, 2013
I have used both of my skillets with the utmost pleasure. They performed just as advertised.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldiemom
,cherry hill
,nj
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best saute pans!!
October 2, 2013
The pans heat evenly, resulting in a good braise. They are not non-stick, but clean up easily using "Bartenders" cleaner.
Would recommend highly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrGourmet
,San Diego
,CA
September 30, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use them all the time
September 30, 2013
As a retired chef, I started my first restaurant on a shoestring and used the basic old fry pans that you see in every restaurant. I move from them to Calphalon and finally to all-clad. Without a doubt the all-clad cookware is the finest I've ever used. Even consistent heat, super easy cleanup and induction ready. The new D5 cookware seems to be better than their old which is excellent. I love the higher sloped sides on these and they are my go to choice for sautéing chicken or seafood. Spend the extra bucks and expect them to last 3 lifetimes. I have yet to have to send anything back to them for warranty.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeffdotcom
,Lynn Haven
,FL
September 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New to All-CLad
September 30, 2013
I cook a lot but have never owned stainless steel cookware. My first dish with my new skillet was seared coho salmon. Loved the way the pan browned my filets and left the rest for making my reduction sauce. The clean-up was surprisingly easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ussross
,Austin
,TX
September 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Products
September 30, 2013
Really enjoying these pans! Product lives up to the All-Clad name and expectations.
Pros: Durable, Size, Versatile
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RetiredPrincipal
,Aberdeen
,MS
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this skillet.
September 29, 2013
This is the easiest skillet to use. I love how it cooks so evenly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purple1272
,seattle
,wa
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great pans
September 29, 2013
These skillets are an absolute necessity to any kitchen. Perfect size, weight and depth for so many dishes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VegasBuyer
,Las Vegas
,NV
September 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm enjoying my experiment with All-Clad
September 28, 2013
I've been using hard-anodized, non-stick cookware for years, but it never seems to last. After experimenting with Le Creuset, I decided to try stainless steel. The Le Creuset is great in the oven, but I didn't like using it on the gas range. I found it heavy and difficult to clean, although it cooks great. So far, I prefer the All-Clad--maybe because it's more like what I've been used to. If you've been hesitant to make the switch from teflon, don't be, but you'll have to spend the $$$ and buy high quality stainless like this to be satisfied.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailee
,Jasper
,GA
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and awesome!
September 24, 2013
In about three months I've gone from no All-Clad to five pieces plus the measuring cups and spoons, and I'm so glad I finally broke down and ordered my first piece! They are so beautiful hanging on my pot rack--and amazing to cook with. The French skillets are my latest addition, and I find myself reaching for them constantly. All-Clad is so wonderful to cook with, and clean up is so easy. Best cookware I've ever owned, and so worth the money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
coolitnik
,Oviedo
,FL
September 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good investment
September 13, 2013
i used the 9-inch skillet to pan-fry a strip steak and did not use any oil since i had previously oiled the steak. After washing, the surface was shiney, but the spice stains were still on the pan. And, i am unsure if my burner is level or not, but the oil seems to settle around the edge, does not stay in the middle.
i am happy to finally invest in a couple of skillets made in the USA!
use low to medium temperature.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
VirginiaVT
Vermont
Posted September 15, 2013
Barkeep's Friend is the Answer
I, too, always use Barkeep's Friend to clear away any film or stains from my pans. Keeps the surface smooth and prevents burning or sticking. No need for much effort; sprinkle it on, wipe it, rinse and I put a bit more soap in to take away any residue.
0points
Customer avatar
tptedge1
Knoxville, TN
Posted September 13, 2013
Chase those stains away
I have used Barkeeps Friend for a number of years on stainless steel products. But do not scrub. simply clean the pan as you have and dry immediately. Put enough HOT water in the pan to cover(1/2 to one inch deep), sprinkle the Barkeep with enough to cover the bottom of the pan, swish the pan around to dissolve and distribute, let stand a few hours or over night, empty the pan and re-wash the pan with hot soap and water, rinse thoroughly, and dry. The inside of my pans look shiny and new, no stains, and no elbow grease used. I have a 30 year old stainless pressure cooker that except for the occasional small scratch, looks new. Barkeep saves the elbow grease and avoids scratching the pan. Always get the pan squeaky clean with no stain before you use it again. Stain means the pan is not clean and that there is a film( your spices) on the pan. Works for me!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchenace
,Chino Hills
,Ca
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing value!
August 13, 2013
My wife and I bought these on sale and we are impressed. We were already familiar with alclad quality and the construction, shape and weight of this product is outstanding. Its Great conduction produces the perfect sear.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nini2ys
,Manhattan
July 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great value
July 12, 2013
The skillets are perfect sizes and are durable. The larger pan is a little heavy. The only complaint I have is after I clean them after cooking, the larger pan seems to always have a layer of white stuff covered on the surface that is hard to remove using water, sponge, and detergent. I was able to remove them by heating up vinegar in the pan but it does come back after the next use. This does not seem to be a problem with the small pan but it could just be unique to the set I got.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
VirginiaVT
Vermont
Posted September 15, 2013
Again, Barkeep's Friend
The manufacturer recommends Barkeep's Friend to clean stains from the surface. It was on the pamphlet in my box. Have you tried it? I find these pans easier to clean than any others I have ever owned and cannot understand what your problem is. Don't put water in a hot pan and try Barkeep's Friend.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tandyman
,Midland
,Tx
July 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great curve appeal
July 9, 2013
I love the curvature of the deep sides of these French Skillets. It made omelet
making a breeze and the clean up was easy!! Also they were surprisingly light.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MerryChristmas
,Buffalo Grove
,IL
Buffalo Grove IL
June 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Skillets
June 28, 2013
I have wanted these French Skillets for a long time and am so glad that I purchased them at this time. I especially like the rounded and high sides on these pans. They cook foods beautifully and the clean up is easy.
I have used All-Clad pans for many years and have loved how they perform.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShawnnaSpirit
June 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent pans if you know how to use them.
June 26, 2013
I've had the pans just a couple days. I can't image buying a cheap pan again. My first use I over heated the pan using 5 on my electric cooktop. This morning I used a 3 instead to crisp some pancetta. Wow. My old pan would barely get warm. The pan lays perfectly flat. Bar keepers friend is a must to keep the pan shining. I tried soft scrub, didn't work. Heat the pan, add oil, add food, easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patz45
,Beverly Hills
,Fl
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French skillets
April 15, 2013
Another great product from All-Clad. They heat evenly and clean easily if you use bar keep. The handles stay cool and the weight and size of two pans make them very versatile.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonny
,Ashfield
,MA
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love These Pans
April 15, 2013
I don't know how I ever managed to cook without these pans--I use them almost every day. They respond very quickly when you raise or lower the heat.. I've had no problem with food sticking and they clean up easily. I love the smaller size, too--I cook for just two.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel French Skillets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeppePrimo
,Unionville
,PA
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What was I waiting for???
April 15, 2013
I resisted All Clad for longer than I care to admit, figuring that it was just pricey "show." I am now in the process of replacing a lot of other marquis cookware because the look, feel, design and performance of the D-5 line is far superior. These skillets are a lot more "non-stick" than some "non-stick" pans I own. They distribute heat evenly across the cooking surface better than some cast iron skillets I've had for eons, easy to clean and easy to handle. Speaking of which, one of my favorite features of all of their cookware is their handles, especially the larger pieces with a second "helper" handle which makes emptying the contents a breeze; ideal for risotto for a crowd. The handles make the pans' balance virtually perfect. WWIWF???
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, handles
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next