All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan

All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. This versatile pan combines the rounded sides of a French skillet with the height and wide surface area of a deep saute pan. Ideal for preparing pasta sauces and then tossing in the pasta before serving, it's also perfect for cooking family-sized stir-fries and risottos as well as one-pan meals like stews, chilies and oven-baked casseroles. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Flat lid locks in moisture. Stay-cool stick handle with finger guard improves balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handle on lid is easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
133 of 136(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have
August 19, 2015
This has been one of the best buys ever. Pan is beautiful and performs excellent! Two thumbs up!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
August 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Pan
August 19, 2015
I am very happy with this pan. Food does not stick to the bottom while cooking, and it browns evenly. Very happy with this pan and love the size as well. The pan is of great quality and built to last. The only negative is that this pan did not come with a lid.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbia
,PA
August 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This Essential Pan is terrific.
August 5, 2015
This pan comes out of the cupboard more and more often, the longer I own it. I've now taken to boiling/steaming corn in the cob with it. (It easily holds 8 ears) I fry in it, stir-fry, and sauté in it. The opposite side handle and long pan handle make it very easy to manuever. Clean up is easy. I love this great kitchen tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
August 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
August 2, 2015
I love this pan, great size for family dishes, it heats up evenly and the handle does not get hot.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
August 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A terrific new essential tool for sauteing
August 2, 2015
Saw this pot and realized I needed it!
I like to cook. And I enjoy having fresh veggies daily with my main meal.
Sauteing with this pot makes a noticeable difference in the outcome.
And, I really like the quality of the pot itself, so much so that I am considering switching from my Cuisinart Copper/ Aluminum pot and pan set
to a full D5 All Clad set.
Let's see how 2015 shakes out --
income wise :-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Shape
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NJ
July 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mercedes Benz of Cookware!!!
July 27, 2015
This pan is beautiful and so functional, I will shop for another piece soon, I'm replacing all of my cookware with induction capabilities.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape, heavy
Cons: Weight, pan is big for storage
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 26, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pan
July 26, 2015
Love this pan and the 4 & 6 qt sizes also.
The triply 7qt. Stock pot lid fits this pan like a glove. A d5 domed lid would surely be a bonus addition to a versatile pan.
Pros: Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,long beach
,ny
July 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my go to pan
July 16, 2015
I love love love this pan. My dad told me to order the stockpot I wanted for my birthday with his credit card and I threw this in hoping he wouldn't notice...I went back and forth for days between the 3qt and 4qt and ultimately decided on the 3 because I felt I didn't need something else in a 4qt (I have the soup pot in 4qt). I am so happy with the 3 qt and the size is perfect for my needs, a family of 2 adults and a toddler. I mainly use it for rice, quinoa, quick sauces, and even use it to make a small portion of pasta for my daughter. NOTHING sticks to this pan. It cooks unbelievable, and clean up is seriously a breeze. I have the all clad stainless 2qt sauce pan and stuff does stick to it if I take my attention away for a minute, so I have stopped using it and only use this one now. If you are on the fence about it and concerned about the price, just get it. You will not be sorry, and will probably have this pain for the rest of your life.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Shape
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dublin
,CA
July 6, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan!
July 6, 2015
Love this pan - it is the perfect size (4 quart) for every day use. Fits nicely on the stove top and cleans up beautifully. I would definitely recommend this very versatile and very high quality pan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boston
July 3, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You will save yourself SO much cleaning!
July 3, 2015
The high sides prevent splatters so I use it even for thin items like bacon. I like that I can sear & finish in the oven. I'd love to see this made with two short handles to make it easier to store but don't let that stop you.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New providence
,Nj
June 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite pan for everything
June 2, 2015
I love this pan and use it for everything from marinara, to sliders to braised chicken breasts. Everything comes out great and cleans up so easily!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dayton
,OH
June 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good little pan
June 2, 2015
I bought this for use on an induction burner that we are using during a kitchen re-do. It's a good size for the 2 of us, can handle pasta, or a sauce, or stew a few pieces of chicken. It's nicely designed, just wish it came with a lid! Luckily, I have one that fits.
I may order the next biggest size eventually.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Size, Shape
Cons: no lid
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Jackson
,ms
May 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the pan. Want a lid!
May 20, 2015
i finally managed to pick up the three-quart pan, and love it. It's like a 3-quart saucier, and is a perfect size for all kinds of things. I just really wish I could find a lid. I have the universal lid, but it's not a very good fit, and it gets a little awkward. If you know what size would fit, I'd love to hear about it. And a lid would earn this guy a fifth star in my review.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Cons: no lid
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
hopeh
Northern California
Posted July 23, 2015
This lid might do
Drtrech: I don't know if this lid was on the site when you looked, but I LOVE my domed lid on the Copper-Clad 5.5 qt. Dutch Oven. So if you were willing to spring for it, this one - All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Domed Lid - is sold here. It comes in 9 1/2", and the size given for this 3-qt. Essential Pan 9 1/4".
Under the description for this domed lid, it says it fits a 9" pan, so I'll bet it'll fit yours. W-S is so good with returns, it might be worth a shot for you.
I know it's extra money, but you know you'll have this pan the rest of your life. And no, I don't work for either W-S or All-Clad. I just adore this line of cookware. Hope
0points
Customer avatar
wanderingbooknut
Rochester, NY
Posted June 15, 2015
Lids
i have the bigger size that comes with a lid, so I don't know. They do sell a universal lid, so that is one option. Otherwise, I would suggest contacting WS customer service. They should be able to help you. And there are the bricks and mortar stores if you have one in your area.zzz
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Miami
,FL
April 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pan Ever
April 28, 2015
I have a lot of pans - Le Crueset, calphalon, etc. I bought this on a whim last year in the 6Q size. I thought I would use it occasionally for pasta etc. Well, this is now my everyday pan. I rarely reach for any other - even my beloved Le Cruesets. It still looks new, works like a dream and is the perfect size for anything - braising, stewing, pan frying or regular frying (no splatters due to the high sides). I use a lot of greens so it is GREAT for adding a mountain of them, covering it and then finishing the reduced greens. The handle is a bit awkward but I will take that over the alternatives any day.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AddictedToChocolate
Centennial CO
Posted May 25, 2015
Me too!
I bought this huge pan to work with tons of spinach and other greens that I cook with. First time out, I used it to make meatball. It was the perfect size. i love the 6qt so much, I'm going to get the 4qt too. What a great addition to my cookware!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Amity Harbor
,NY
Amity Harbor, NY
February 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
In my humble opinion; The Best There is!
February 9, 2015
I absolutely love these pans to death. I have many good, name brand pots, pans and skillets and these are the ones that suit every cooking situation. The weight is good, the style is great. I didn't think they could be improved on but the improvements make great sense. As my other brands get old (or are given away), I will replace them with this model of All-Clad pots and pans!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Cliffside Park
,NJ
January 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
January 30, 2015
I like the pan very much. It's high enough, very thick and heavy rounded bottom is easy to stir and manage while cooking.
I want to mention about the big, long stick handle which gives hard time during the washing and storing. I'm not tall and strong, and so does many people who prefer the heavy pans. The long handle hit the edge of the sink and chipped the granite while washing the pan. With the weight of this pan, I hope there's a choice to have two ear handles.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, long stick handle
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rochester
,NY
Rochester, NY
January 22, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This pan comes out to play every day!
January 22, 2015
This pan is my favorite. I asked for the pair of french skillets for Christmas, and my wonderful husband also bought several other pans. The 4 qt. size is perfect for many recipes. Stirring is so easy. Awesome for mashed potatoes. Much better than in a tall narrow pot, though a bit big for potatoes for only 2. Next pot will be a 3 qt. Cleaning is easy if you never use heat higher than medium and preheat the pan for 3-4 minutes before adding oil. If you do have some stuck-on food....Barkeepers' Friend does the trick easily. I wish I could explain the difference between these pans and other stainless pans. Making gravies and sauces is a dream and they come out SO smooth...it is amazing!! SO worth the $. And bonus...made in USA!!! They do take up significant space. I cleared off an open shelf on an antique hutch in my pantry. They look gorgeous! If I had an open shelf out in the kitchen, I would put them there in a heartbeat!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
New York, NY
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best all around go-to pan I use
January 16, 2015
I have both the 4qt and the 6 qt and love them both. While the 6 qt is big, the capacity is perfect for making large batches of pasta sauces, chili, stews, and such. I use the 4 qt for risottos and smaller versions of the above. The stainless steel heats quickly and evenly so the quality of cooking is superior to my prior anodized aluminum. Cleaning is very simple ; allow the pan to cool before putting in water. If I have anything tough to remove, I use Bar Keeper's Friend and it makes it look like new. I always use wooden tools to cook with to avoid scratching. Great quality and a good investment for long term use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lakewood
,Ca
January 15, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All its suppose to be
January 15, 2015
All Clad is one of the best cooking utensils you can own non professionally. We love them. We even own the slow cooker.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
January 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pan Scratches Easily
January 8, 2015
I have used this pan twice. I noticed that the bottom of the pan and corners contain scratches. It looks like they were caused by setting the pan in the sink at an angle to clean (gently and carefully cleaned btw as it was new of course). It's possibly the scratches were already there before use, so be sure to inspect your pan carefully when opening the box.
Other Notes:
The pan does heat evenly for searing with no hot spots.
The handle is a bit large and inconvenient for space on a stove top or oven.
I would recommend if the pan did not scratch so easily I imagine after a few weeks of use this pan will not maintain its aesthetic value.
Cons: Quality
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next