All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan

All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. This versatile pan combines the rounded sides of a French skillet with the height and wide surface area of a deep saute pan. Ideal for preparing pasta sauces and then tossing in the pasta before serving, it's also perfect for cooking family-sized stir-fries and risottos as well as one-pan meals like stews, chilies and oven-baked casseroles. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Flat lid locks in moisture. Stay-cool stick handle with finger guard improves balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handle on lid is easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.91 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
99 of 100(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
July 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All-Clad has done it again!
July 19, 2014
This 4-qt pan has been in regular kitchen rotation at our house for about a year and a half. From boiling pasta for two to simmering farro, it does everything asked of it nicely, but my favorite use is probably as a large saucier. The AC 2-qt saucier is the darling of our kitchen, and this larger pan brings that functionality to cooking for a bigger crowd. My only tiny complaint is that in order to keep any AC stainless pan looking "new", it has to be scrubbed with Barkeeper's friend every few uses. With performance like this though, it's a minor quibble indeed!
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovekitchenstuff
,Wake Forest
,NC
July 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for One-Pan Meals---from stove to table
July 9, 2014
I have owned the 4 quart pan now for about two years. I agonized over which size to get and am glad that I got the 4 quart, as I primarily cook for two. It is a great size for the initial browning of meat or chicken and subsequent preparation of a sauce with the addition of pasta for a one dish meal served piping hot right from the pan at the table. I love that the deep sides minimize stovetop spatter/cleanup. I was tempted to get the 6 quart pan as its sides were slightly higher and its bottom flat surface would approximate a sauté pan, but I rarely cook for a crowd and the filled weight of that pan argued against it for me. This pan is much more versatile than my previous 3 quart Calphalon essential pan which I gave to a neighbor. The WS whisk below is perfect for "stirring" sauces in this.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Shape
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookinginmi2
,MI
July 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Pan
July 8, 2014
I love this pan! Received a gift certificate and put it toward the 6 quart essential pan - it's become my go to pan for nearly everything I cook for my family of 5. Great heat dispersion (gas cooktop), easy cleanup, high sides keep spatters down. I just ordered a smaller version for when the kids are away at school & work and it's just my husband and I. It takes up cupboard space, but definitely worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blakester
,Gladstone
,MI
June 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pans for cooking!
June 24, 2014
I use all three pans on a regular basis. I use them more than my other All Clad pans. They work and are easy to clean because of their shape.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cool77
,Seattle
,WA
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite pan
June 2, 2014
It looks a little bit big, but I love it.
I am using almost every time I cook for dinner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinginthePineTreeState
,Orono
,ME
February 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceellent everyday pan
February 25, 2014
I have the 4 qt pan and it is plenty for the two of us. It is an excellent all purpose pan and I especially appreciate that it is deep enough to handle awkward sized items, such as lasagna noodles that I wanted to boil without breaking. It polishes beautifully. It "lives" right on my cooktop. It is quite heavy but I plan for that when it is time to clean it! I am very happy that I purchased it for myself!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, made in usa
Cons: Weight
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MustangShar
Chicago, IL
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product!
December 8, 2013
I bought the 4 Qt, love the high sides and love that it is Made in USA. The All Clad quality is what you expect, perfection. I always preheat my pans then add butter or oils. Appreciate WS when they run a special sale on an All Clad piece, so I can afford good cookware.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Zzoyd
Arlington, VA
Posted January 5, 2014
Adding fat
All-Clad recommends that you add your fats *first* then heat the pan. You need to re-read the instructions.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ziji
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my daily use pan
November 23, 2013
I use this pan almost everyday since I cook for family of 4 person and sometime I need to cook a little more than one meal's volume. It can be used as a stir fry pan, a soup pan or a stew pan. Since the bottom outside diameter is about 8.25 inches, bigger than a 10 inch fry pan would give, it performs very well on a flat heating surface. It may not substitute a sauté pan (need 10" bottom diameter at least). One improvement would be the lid. I found both D5 and triply lids are magnetic. That could cause accident heating on an induction stove if the lid is placed overlapping a working zone.
Cons: magnetic lid
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted December 1, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
The lids on the All-Clad d5 and triply are not magnetic.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MPBarry
,The Woodlands
,TX
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
9of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so essential
November 10, 2013
This pan is of the usual high All-Clad quality and it is beautiful - to look at - but its configuration makes it much less useful in the kitchen than I anticipated. The pan is too deep for anything that involves browning and its long handle effectively eliminates the ability to go from stovetop to oven. Maybe it is the particular set of recipes that I use, but it always seems that a pan with a specific intended use is more suited for the task at hand than this one.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, not so useful
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KayLeo
Houston, TX
Posted June 16, 2014
Number 1 Contributor
Does this really not fit in your oven?
What size oven do you have?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryMB
,Cottonwood Heights
,UT
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my all-clad
November 3, 2013
I bought the 4 qt essential pan when it went on sale before Father's Day. I have used it many times. It was perfect for making my coq au vin; held the heat in very well so that I did not have to add extra liquid. I have since bought the 6 qt. They clean up well and I have not had to use the bar keeper's friend I bought at the same time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dordewoo
,Knoxville
,TN
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All clad cookware
October 29, 2013
I love to cook, have made many different dishes using many different brands of cookware. I absolutely love All Clad products. They heat evenly, cook superbly and clean easily. They are truly products to use generation after generation .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jimmyt
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 27, 2013
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for stir fry and pasta
October 27, 2013
I use this pot for large stir frys all the time. It's great, nice and large so you don't have to worry about spilling food over the side.
It's also excellent for pastas where you want to mix the pasta in with the sauce, again, the large size keeps food from spilling over the edge.
One of my favorite pieces of kitchen ware.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Essential!
October 22, 2013
All Clad D5 Perfection!
Treat Yourself You Will Not Be Disappointed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, sexy
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LillianES
,Dayton
,OH
September 14, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! It's now my favorite pan!
September 14, 2013
Now that I'm semi-retired, I've recently gotten into cooking. As a result, I decided to upgrade my pots and pans along with my cooking skills. I've only ever had the standard 3 sauce pans and a few frying pans, but when I was shopping I came across this essentials pan and thought it sounded interesting. I liked the fact that it had deeper sides than a standard frying pan but still had the broad flat bottom. I so wish I'd discovered this pan sooner. Anytime I have to combine several ingredients - like I do with a shrimp, pasta, tomato and spinach dish I make - I use this pan. I bought my pans in June 2013 and this one has seen the most action.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailee
,Jasper
,GA
September 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'M IN LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!
September 12, 2013
I actually used this pan for the first time tonight, and it was amazing. I wanted to try a new stir-fry recipe and since I haven't decided on which wok I want to buy, I decided to use this pan. It's probably not the best pan to use for stir-fry, as it's heavy to maneuver around and I didn't want to use high heat on it. But it actually did a good job, and my stir-fry was great! I already know that this will definitely be one of my "go to" pans because there's so much you can do with it. It was easy to clean, and looks so beautiful hanging on my potrack. No way will I keep my All-Clad hidden away in cabinets!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boci
,Endicott
,NY
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A new addition to the family
August 25, 2013
I cannot give a high enough rating for this pan. All Clad is truly the best cook ware I have ever had.
The only con is the weight of the pan. I did not expect it to be heavy I can see an elderly person having an issue picking it up with food in it. Otherwise I could not be happier with its performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeatMoss
,New Haven
,CT
New Haven, CT
July 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite pot from All-Clad!
July 23, 2013
I attended a cooking event at our local W&S store and the cooking instructor was using the essential pan in her demonstration. I knew I had to have it. When this piece went on sale, I purchased the 4 qt. pan. I use it to make homemade pasta sauce and stir fry veggies. It is just the right size and like all All Clad pieces, it is of high quality. I own the All Clad copper core set and was reluctant to purchase a piece from the d5 collection, but I am glad I did. It is a wonderful addition. Buy this pan, you won't regret it!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
min1031
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best ever all-glad
July 17, 2013
I have a few All-clad pots and pans but this is the most versatile! I always thought 4qt sautee pan too limited usages -- I can barely manage to prepare 1 lb of pasta with enough meatball and sauce in it. For some of indian cooking we love, we always ended to fill it too much. This 6 qt pan, it has a big enough area to sautee and the depth to accomodate enough sauce or broth. Heating(although we have a pretty powerful stove) seems very even, quick to warm up. I love it so much that I even wanted to write this review for somebody who could not decide between 4 qt and 6qt pan!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Weight
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grammy04
,harveyville
,ks
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful piece of cookware
July 12, 2013
this is my first piece of all-clad and it is beaugiful. i have fried in it and cooked 1 dish meals in it. i cook for 6 daily and would probably like the 6 qt size too but dont know if i could lift it. at age 70 my hands and wrists are too arthritic to pick up a heavy pan and pour from it. i am so glad it has a helper handle and i wish all pans did. this is the heaviest pan i own except for the cast iron porcelain dutch ovens. i love good quality cookware.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FeatOfClay
,Seattle
,wa
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go-to pan
June 30, 2013
I own a lot of All-Clad, this pan is an excellent shape and size for a lot of my cooking. Great fond (of course) and tall enough sides that food doesn't spill out. If you only have $$ for one All-Clad, start with this one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
page1 2 3 4 5 next