Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan

Ideal for one pan meals, the All-Clad d5 Polished Stainless-Steel Essential Pan with Lid features a patented technology of five alternating layers of responsive aluminum and durable heat-diffusing stainless steel. The d5 Essential Pan features high, rounded sides and a wide surface area to facilitate sauteing and the stirring of ingredients while the lid can be used to lock in moisture and heat after cooking to finish on the stovetop or in the oven; can be used for risottos, stir fries or making sauces and then tossing in pasta. The only cookware of its kind, d5 stainless-steel cookware heats slowly and evenly, which means perfectly browned proteins throughout, from the center all the way to the edges. Experience a lifetime of cooking enjoyment with All-Clad d5 Stainless Steel. QUALITY CONSTRUCTION FEATURES The 5-ply bonded construction with alternating layers of stainless steel and conductive aluminum provides warp-free strength and even heating throughout. d5's 18/10 stainless-steel interior with a highly polished starburst finish offers natural stick resistance, and prevents food from picking up a metallic taste, while its polished stainless exterior offers exceptional beauty. Heat-resistant stainless-steel handles with large bolster are permanently secured with stainless-steel rivets; flat stainless-steel lids; flared pouring rims. DETAILS YOU'LL APPRECIATE Oven- and broiler-safe up to 600 degrees F Dishwasher-safe Optimized for induction Capacity etched on base Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.883 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
142 of 145(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Whitefish
,MT
December 2, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a splendid wok
December 2, 2016
Just used my essential pan for the first time last night to stir fry some steak and veggies. It heats well enough to seriously sear things within seconds & it has enough room to allow me to stir vigorously without pushing things out of the pan. Better than a wok (which has a rounded bottom and less room), even better than my cast iron fry pan - it pops into the dishwasher after a brief soak to get rid of the burnt on soy sauce.
Pros: Color, Design, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Size, Versatile
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lincoln
,NE
September 26, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OUR NEW FAVORITE!
September 26, 2016
We have just about every size and shape of All Clad but saw this one on sale, which happened to be one we didn't have, and thought the size and shape was unique. When it arrived, it was actually bigger than we had envisioned, but now we are realizing it is the perfect size for so many things. I've been using it to make large batches of salsa and marinara from the garden harvest and it does a beautiful job of simmering these tomato based sauces for hours at a steady and even temperature. We've always used our stock pots for this, but I'm short and this pan is so much more convenient. This high sides are perfect for just about everything. It is now our new favorite and we actually keep it on top of the stove because we know we'll be using it just about every day. It is beautiful, heavy and solid and seems to be of a better construction than any of our other All Clad's. Highly recommend it!
Pros: Design, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Princeton
,NJ
September 22, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great 6qt pan
September 22, 2016
Well balanced, even heating great release easy to cleanup
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Annapolis
,MD
June 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Pan to Rule Them All
June 8, 2016
Question: If you were to bring just one pan to a desserted island to cook with for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?
Me: All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, I can cook everything I can think of.
I can fry, braise, stir-fry, boil.. I have been cooking since 9 years old... 31 years of cooking, and used alot of pans... this is the best pan I have ever 'met'.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Greensboro
,NC
January 30, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Versatile Pan
January 30, 2016
I bought one of these for my daughter after she admired mine. Very versatile, I use mine mostly for sauteeing, frying, and braising. While it's a bit heavy, it's got the benefit of that mini-handle on the front so there's no problem getting it off the stove and into the oven when a recipe calls for that. Heats well and evenly and is relatively easy to clean (I'm a noodge about keeping my pans clean!) Best of all, it's made in the US. God bless America and All-Clad!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Weight
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Grants Pass
,OR
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great size for everyday use
December 26, 2015
I have the next size up, which I love for cooking large quantitity recipes, but this size is great for everyday use. Made spaghetti in the pan, drained and added sauce. One pot dishes work great in this pan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Size
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 19, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this essential pan!
November 19, 2015
I got this pan and it is perfect for our family of 4. It is Heavy duty and cleans up wonderfully. I also own other All Clad from tri ply steel collection and love them as well.
Once for a life time investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Shape
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fayetteville
,NC
September 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love love this pan!!!
September 29, 2015
I wish I had not waited so long to get it. It is great for cooking sauces, gravies, soups, vegetables, custards, etc. Awesome!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Palo Alto
,CA
August 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
really an essential pan
August 30, 2015
I've had this pan for 2 years, and I've just bought one for my mom.
Excellent performance, lovely shape & depth.I'm amazed even until now how fast the pan heats up and boils the content . This pan would be top pick of all All clad pans.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Size, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have
August 19, 2015
This has been one of the best buys ever. Pan is beautiful and performs excellent! Two thumbs up!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
August 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Pan
August 19, 2015
I am very happy with this pan. Food does not stick to the bottom while cooking, and it browns evenly. Very happy with this pan and love the size as well. The pan is of great quality and built to last. The only negative is that this pan did not come with a lid.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbia
,PA
August 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This Essential Pan is terrific.
August 5, 2015
This pan comes out of the cupboard more and more often, the longer I own it. I've now taken to boiling/steaming corn in the cob with it. (It easily holds 8 ears) I fry in it, stir-fry, and sauté in it. The opposite side handle and long pan handle make it very easy to manuever. Clean up is easy. I love this great kitchen tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
August 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
August 2, 2015
I love this pan, great size for family dishes, it heats up evenly and the handle does not get hot.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
August 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A terrific new essential tool for sauteing
August 2, 2015
Saw this pot and realized I needed it!
I like to cook. And I enjoy having fresh veggies daily with my main meal.
Sauteing with this pot makes a noticeable difference in the outcome.
And, I really like the quality of the pot itself, so much so that I am considering switching from my Cuisinart Copper/ Aluminum pot and pan set
to a full D5 All Clad set.
Let's see how 2015 shakes out --
income wise :-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Shape
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NJ
July 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mercedes Benz of Cookware!!!
July 27, 2015
This pan is beautiful and so functional, I will shop for another piece soon, I'm replacing all of my cookware with induction capabilities.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape, heavy
Cons: Weight, pan is big for storage
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 26, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pan
July 26, 2015
Love this pan and the 4 & 6 qt sizes also.
The triply 7qt. Stock pot lid fits this pan like a glove. A d5 domed lid would surely be a bonus addition to a versatile pan.
Pros: Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,long beach
,ny
July 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my go to pan
July 16, 2015
I love love love this pan. My dad told me to order the stockpot I wanted for my birthday with his credit card and I threw this in hoping he wouldn't notice...I went back and forth for days between the 3qt and 4qt and ultimately decided on the 3 because I felt I didn't need something else in a 4qt (I have the soup pot in 4qt). I am so happy with the 3 qt and the size is perfect for my needs, a family of 2 adults and a toddler. I mainly use it for rice, quinoa, quick sauces, and even use it to make a small portion of pasta for my daughter. NOTHING sticks to this pan. It cooks unbelievable, and clean up is seriously a breeze. I have the all clad stainless 2qt sauce pan and stuff does stick to it if I take my attention away for a minute, so I have stopped using it and only use this one now. If you are on the fence about it and concerned about the price, just get it. You will not be sorry, and will probably have this pain for the rest of your life.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Shape
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dublin
,CA
July 6, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan!
July 6, 2015
Love this pan - it is the perfect size (4 quart) for every day use. Fits nicely on the stove top and cleans up beautifully. I would definitely recommend this very versatile and very high quality pan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boston
July 3, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You will save yourself SO much cleaning!
July 3, 2015
The high sides prevent splatters so I use it even for thin items like bacon. I like that I can sear & finish in the oven. I'd love to see this made with two short handles to make it easier to store but don't let that stop you.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New providence
,Nj
June 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite pan for everything
June 2, 2015
I love this pan and use it for everything from marinara, to sliders to braised chicken breasts. Everything comes out great and cleans up so easily!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next