All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. This basic set includes a French skillet, a saute and a saucepan, three core essentials in any cook's kitchen. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in performance whether you're sauteing, frying, simmering or braising. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Improved stay-cool stick handles with finger guards for balance and control. Select rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handles are easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Capacity or pan size etched on base for quick identification of each piece. Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. 5-Piece Set includes: 9" French skillet. 2-qt. saucepan with lid. 3-qt. saute pan with lid. Please note: lids are counted as individual pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gramskitchen
,Calmar
,Ia
March 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hard to clean
March 7, 2014
I love the look and feel of these pans. My problem is with the skillets. No matter what I do, everything sticks in them, and then they are hard to clean using the recommended methods. I didn't want the no-stick skillets because I don't trust that coating to last. I got these also because they were made in America and that is important to me. So If I am doing something wrong please let me know. Everything sticks when I am frying.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
AAMC
Southern California
Posted July 7, 2014
Cleaning
I agree there are certain things that will stick if there is not enough oil or liquids in the pan. Here are some cooking and cleaning tips that might help you. I have the 3 qt sauté pan and I have so far successfully cooked tender chicken and veggies in it.
Cooking tips for chicken and veggies:
I use about a half tbsp of butter or olive oil to brown my two chicken breasts on one side for one minute. Then flip it, close the lid, and let cook for 10 min on med heat. Without removing the lid, turn off the heat and let sit for another 10 min. Open and you have moist and tender chicken.
Veggies are simple, coat the pan with a little bit of oil, add veggies, add a few tbsp of water if veggies start to stick. As simple as that.
I'm not a great cook, however, with time you learn techniques that work for you. I believe we were just conveniently used to the non stick pans before, but it's important to be conscious for our overall health.
Cleaning tips:
Cleaning these things is truly a breeze. If anything sticks that requires scrubbing, which you want to avoid with these lovely pans. I learned this trick from cleanmyspace.com, she simply recommends adding baking soda, few drops of dishwashing soap, and water directly to the stainless steel pan. Let it simmer then wipe the gunk off. And wash as you normally would. This method has yet to fail me.
I hope these were helpful simple tips. Enjoy your pans!
0points
Customer avatar
stillusingwhatmomtaughtme
Livermore, CA
Posted April 6, 2014
Sticky pans?
It could be:
If everything that you cook in these or any other pan (other then non-stick pans) sticks, then you are doing one and/or two things wrong.
It could be that you are not using any (or enough) oil, butter, or whatever on the pan before you put food in it. These items are used for two purposes. 1st - to keep food from sticking. 2nd - to help flavor the food.
The other thing that you might be doing wrong would be that you are moving the food before it has cooked enough. "Not cooking" is when you move it before it has developed a crust, if you want to call it that. Depending on what you are cooking, this "crust" is mostly the natural sugars that are in the food that have caramelized. Also, depending on what you are cooking you might want a lightly dusting of flour.
In my opinion: Many of us (I admit I'm one of them) that use these types of pans have a mental battle. Do we keep that "right out of the box" look, where they show no use. Or do we let them get well seasoned. There are benefits to both. Just keep in mind that a well seasoned pan doesn't have to look like that old tried and true cast iron pan that many of us still use.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ecrutle
,Herndon
,VA
October 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fleshing out a kitchen inventory
October 17, 2013
Given as a gift to newlyweds who are admitted foodies and enjoy cooking, but had limited equipment.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Panzrwagn
,Bellevue
,WA
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost Perfect Starter Set
July 6, 2013
Of all my All-Clad pieces, none gets more use that the 3-Qt saute pan and the 2-Qt saucepan. Chicken Piccata, Chicken in Thai Green Curry, Pork Chops with Apples and Onions, Seared Scallops with Pan Sauce, the saute pan is your tool. The 2-Qt saucepan is perfect for quick simmer sauces from scratch, for steaming vegetables, and as a rice cooker (1 C rice, 2C water, bring to boil, then let sit w/lid on and heat off for 15m - done). My only issue, and why it gets both easy to use and hard to use, is with the frying pan. The steeper sides make getting under some foods difficult - like an omelet. In a better world, All-Clad would have included their 10" frying pan. In a perfect world it would be their 10" non-stick one. But, in this world, this set gets you started down the All-Clad road as affordably as it gets. The overall goodness of this set and the undeniable world-class quality of All-Clad make these pans you will have - and use - for a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Shape
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
allclad
,Forest Hills
,NY
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great pots. best buy.
April 23, 2013
I have bought 27 piece set previously so this is an addition to complement the set that we already have. Great pots.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Indyn
January 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Cookware
January 20, 2013
It was securely packaged and came quickly. It was a wonderful gift to give.
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cshieh
,Jersey City
,NJ
August 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional pans!
August 9, 2012
I cannot be happier with those pans. I've been wanting to purchase this set and I finally did last month! Followed the instruction on how to pre-heat my pans, it really did not disappoint! It heats up so well with medium heat and food not only didn't stick but cooked beautifully! Plus these pans are just so beautiful to look at. I look forward to expand my All-Clad collection in the future!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
auntsilly
May 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
d5 stainless steel cookware
May 30, 2012
Scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly, no scorching and the clean-up was a breeze! These pots and pans seem to evenly distribute the heat from my gas rangetop. Also, I love that they can be washed in the dishwasher. Excellent quality!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, distributes heat evenly works well with gas top
Cons: Weight