All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. This multipurpose pan is ideal for one-pot preparations that call for sauteing, simmering and braising. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Pan is shallow and wide enough to sear chops and reduce liquids quickly, yet deep enough to fit whole chicken pieces under the lid without crowding. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handles are easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pot size etched on base for quick identification. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
44 of 46(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CathleenA
,Atlanta
,GA
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go To Pan for Everyday Use!
November 24, 2012
This is the pan I pull out most frequently for dinners. It heats evenly and cleans easily. The size is perfect for many main dishes. I listed weight as a pro and a con because I love the weight but it is too heavy for my mother in law to use.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile Value
May 9, 2012
This is excellent for brown and braise, pasta sauce making and pasta tossing, larger quantity side dishes, and simmer dishes. This is extremely high quaiity at a value price. A must have.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EveryoneEatsHere
,virginia beach
,va
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Pleased
February 4, 2012
This is a wonderful pan! This is my very first purchase of All-Clad SS....a very luxurious, expensive, once-in-a-lifetime purchase for me however i couldn't resist. My first use, tonight, was my family's favorite mexican chicken chowder and it came out just beautifully. I was able to keep the stove at a medium temp and the butter and heavy creme NEVER separated even while cooling down.
It may take me a while to justify in my mind spending this much money on a pan, but if my dishes come out this great everytime this is an easy sell.
Chef's, home cooks, family cooks, those who love to cook for their loved ones, and all of us who love to play in the kitchen, please treat yourself to this pan...even if you cannot afford any other pan. This is the one to have and you will use it everyday. A lovely joy and I can't wait to use it tomorrow!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nancyw
,Bay Area
,CA
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go-to pot
October 17, 2011
This pan hangs on my kitchen wall above the cook-top. I use it several evenings a week to make dinner for my family of four. Perfect for stews, sautes, pasta sauces (just add the drained pasta and toss.) Generously sized, with tall curved sides for easy stirring and minimal splattering. Caramelizes onions beautifully - never any hot spots. Effortless clean-up. Easily the most useful pan in my kitchen, and so well made it should last forever!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UncleBob
Vancouver, BC
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AC d5 4 Qt Saute/Simmer Pan - Amazing
August 7, 2011
Wow! I used this pan to make Chicken Piccata and it was unbelievable. It browned the chicken perfectly. I made a beautiful pan sauce and poured it over the chicken. Yummy. It is my first experience with All Clad. I'm glad I got the d5. I love the fact that it is heavy duty, browns food evenly and is well designed. The high sides prevent hot oil from splashing all over the stove, making the cleanup a little easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KToad
Downers Grove, IL
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most useful pan I've got
July 18, 2011
This is a great size pan and cooks evenly and quickly - you can use it as a chicken fryer, to make chili or paella, or even for hamburger helper! I registered for all-clad and purchased what I didn't receive and I can't believe how much better a cook I am as a result. This pan is my favorite though, as it is adaptable to any use, from scrambled eggs through stovetop meals. The wide flat bottom makes it as good as a 12" fry pan and the deep sides keep everything neat or even allow room for soup. The large flat lid is useful for this pan as well as others. The saute/simmer pan lives on the top of my frying pan pile because I use it so much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IrieMom
New Jersey
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My All Time Favorite Pan!
July 5, 2011
After much research and reading various reviews, I decided to get my first All Clad D5 S/S Pan. Although a bit pricey decided to take the plunge and am absolutely satisfied with my purchase. The quality and performance of the pan are truly outstanding. Definitey a good investment!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swilliams
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
May 31, 2011
I purchased this pan about 18 months ago, when d5 was first introduced and it quickly became my go-to pan. When I bought my first home, I bought a set of inexpensive stainless cookware and was very disappointed with it because everything would stick and it was so difficult to clean. I replaced that with some All-Clad non-stick, which has been great, but I really wanted to try stainless again. I'm so glad I gave the new d5 a try. I just purchased my 2nd piece of d5 and am gradually replacing my non-stick with d5. You won't be disappointed by this pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fooddoctor
May 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the only pot you need (almost)
May 26, 2011
this is a fabulous pot, beautiful, functional and roomy, but a little hard to store becasue it is so large. I use it almost every day for our family of 5.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bikracer
Atascadero, CA
May 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this pan!
May 15, 2011
Everything I cook in this pan turns out great, including perfectly seared ahi and scallops.
It heats evenly and never a hot spot. It's just the right size for stew for 2 or 3 persons.
Clean up is a breeze.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lorr55
Chicago, IL
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooking - yes! Cleaning - no!
March 2, 2011
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE to cook in this pan. Everything turns out perfect. BUT, cleaning it is another matter. I tried to return it after 2 months because I could not get it to look clean and the store manager said it needed "a little elbow grease" and Bar Keepers Friend. I had been using Bon Ami and have to admit that Bar Keepers Friend did make a difference. However, even when I use it, which I have to do after every time I use this pan, the pan still doesn't look clean to me. I seriously think there is something wrong with it but now it's going on 8 months and I'm not sure what recourse I have. I'd love to try out a new pan. Does anyone else feel this way?
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer avatar
pghlovetocook
pittsburgh, pa
Posted July 6, 2012
cleaning
definitely avoid heat over medium. the all clad design works best at medium heat. the only time you should ever use high heat is when you're boiling water. I made the same mistake when I first started using quality cookware and almost ruined a few pieces. but with time, use and several BKF applications, the piece is almost like new. and NEVER use steel wool on All Clad. You'll ruin the finish and scratch the surface.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
CATULLA
MARTHA'S VINEYARD
Posted July 4, 2011
CLEANING ALL CLAD + NON STICK VS STAINLESS
WE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND FINALLY REALIZED THAT THE PAN DOES NOT LIKE TO BE HEATED TO ANYTHING MORE THAN MEDIUM ON A GAS FLAME...HOT FLAME...AND THINGS STICK AND THE CLEANING IS A PAIN..CAN ANYONE ELSE COMMENT?
ALSO...WHAT IS THE REAL DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE NON STICK CHOICE AND THE REGULAR? WHY DO PEOPLE CHOOSE ONE OVER THE OTHER?
THERE ARE ALMOST TOO MANY CHOICES OF ALL CLAD.
0points
Customer avatar
mtbikr
Twin Cities MN
Posted April 21, 2011
All-Clad use
Like all All-Clad SS cook surface cookware the key is to preheat prior to applying food. No you don't specify what food you have used this for, but being simmer saute pan I would be inclined use this for stir frying (higher heat) and slow simmers (lower heat). Keep in mind that the efficiency of the All-Clad D5 requires less heat that you might think.
Now, I don't own this particular pan (yet) but I do have serveral pieces of the older three ply All-Clad, have no non-stick, and can attest that I typically have to cook probably 90% of the time on medium or lower. Mine cleans up perfectly!
After use and cooling give the pan a little soak and use Bar Keepers Friend (All-Clad recommended). See how that works.
0points
Customer avatar
mustlovefood
la jolla, ca
Posted April 11, 2011
you can also try using a steel wool to clean it. it works pretty well!
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
nmsnowcat
Albuquerque, NM
Posted April 4, 2011
Cleaners on stainless steel
It sounds like your pan discolored slightly because of food residues that Bon Ami was not able to remove. Once re-heated, food residue bonds with the steel and can only be removed by removing a layer of the steel with it. I use both Bon Ami and Barkeeper's Friend in my kitchen. They are similar, gentle cleaners. The latter contains mild oxalic acid which dissolves oil. I love Bon Ami, but for cleaning stainless, I use Barkeeper's Friend.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Igmobitz
under the couch
Posted March 25, 2011
This pan is a tool that you use to cook food. This is like an auto mechanic complaining because his pliers are dirty. As long as it gets the job done, who cares if it doesn't look like when you bought it. Everything eventually wears out.
0points
Customer avatar
KCCHEF
Posted March 23, 2011
I agree, hard to clean!
I heard so many raves about All-Clad pans. So I bought a frying pan, and I agree, it can be very difficult to clean! Soaking it does help.
0points
Customer avatar
JJJN
Posted March 8, 2011
cleaning
I use barkeepers friend on all my stainless cookware and I'd say this pan cleans about the same as any of them.
0points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorset
Vermont
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Wonderful Purchase
February 5, 2011
This All Clad pan is perfect. While I am far from being a Julia Child, I enjoy cooking. I tried out this pan as soon as I received it and I am thrilled. I have a beautiful stove, and it is pretty to look at, but it is not very practical for cooking because of the placement of the burners, and when you turn the heat up everything always splatters. So I am always spending more time than I should to have to, turning the flame up and down. With this pan I was able to adjust the heat, and because of the high sides I was able to accomplish the task at hand without a mess and the meat was cooked to perfection. I love the ease of handling with the loop and handle and clean up was a breeze. I will consider purchasing more All-Clad in the future.
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brashgordon
Colorado Springs
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this d5 pan
January 27, 2011
Got this on sale so it's an even better value. Have used it to simmer sauces, pan fry tempura shrimp, brown meat, it has done everything I've asked and better than expected. Makes cooking a treat and not a chore.
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pattij
Arlington Heights Il
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan
January 27, 2011
This pot is a real winner! you can cook just about anything in it. I have recommended this to many friends and they like it as well!!
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheriRF
Encinitas, CA
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
January 27, 2011
This has become my new favorite pan. It's a great shape, large size and you can make one pan meals. Last night I sauteed some scallions & broccoli, then added shrimp. Boiled some lemon egg noodles from TJ's - added the noodles, butter and fresh garlic and we had a wonderful one pot meal. I'm only sorry I didn't get this sooner.
Highly recommended!
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Venturaz
Mechanicsburg, IL
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite pan!
January 27, 2011
I've begun replacing my cookware this year with All-Clad and absolutely LOVE cooking with every piece! This pan is especially wonderful because of the size. As others have said, you can prepare a whole meal in this one pan. I've used it to sear meat and then popped in veggies and put it in the oven to finish cooking. Love, love, love it!
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momofthreebucks
Bucks County, PA
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Saute Pan
January 8, 2011
I received this as a Christmas gift, and it works wonderfully! Our chickens just started laying eggs a few weeks ago, and our kids have used this to make eggs a gazillion times. Works great! Looking forward to cooking other things in it as well!
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchenchef
Boston, MA
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super multi-purpose pan
January 8, 2011
I had my eye on this pan for a while and finally gave in because the special value pricing was impossible to resist. It quickly became my most-used cookware. I often reach for it instead of a frypan because the higher sides mean more capacity, less stovetop spattering and more room to maneuver. It is heavy and definitely needs the "helper" handle, but I appreciate the heft and quality.
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awbrumle
Jackson, MS
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most versatile pan.
January 5, 2011
I read all the reviews before I made this purchase and I have not been disappointed. This is a must for any kitchen.
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel Saute/Simmer Pan, 4-Qt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
farfel
San Francisco, CA
December 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic versatile "go-to" pan!
December 17, 2010
I've had this pan about a year and it was a marvelous buy. I frequently use it to prepare an entire main course...It is a perfect size for preparing a meal which means I use it fairly often. It holds the meat/fish, vegetables, herbs, and simmers a beautiful sauce from the contents of the ingredients cooked in it. For recipes that require it, it can go from the initial stove top browning/searing right into the oven to continue cooking. High quality cookware that's a pleasure to use.
page1 2 3 next