All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. This covered pot is perfect for simmering or braising. Add the perforated insert to stream fish or vegetables. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability. Includes a lid and perforated steaming insert. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handles are easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. 3-qt. pot: 8" diam., 4" high; 3 lb. with lid. Insert: 8" diam., 4" high; 2 lb. Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
26 of 30(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clyczko
,IL
October 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent so glad I bought this
October 23, 2013
Just got about a month ago and already a staple on my stove. Versatile, high quality pan I always wanted. Joy to cook with! It's a heavy pot -my mom is 84 and didn't like the weight when she came to visit!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nia6
,Woodbridge
,va
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Steamer Set
August 26, 2013
I am very pleased with mine and the steamer basket seems to be a snug fit with the base pot.
I am disappointed that the entire pot is not made in USA, as that is important to me. There is definitely a weight difference between the pot and the insert.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wowplay
Posted November 21, 2013
not made in USA?
Hi, how do you know it is not made in the US? Because that's important to me too. I was told the D5 line are made in the USA and now I am confused. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTodd
,North Canton
,Oh
June 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great steamer and 3Qt pot is a nice working size
June 6, 2013
I read some of the problems with steam basket fit, but found ours to be a perfect fit. It does leak steam from the lid, but if it didn't it would blow up. Also works great for soft boiled eggs. Bring the pot to a boil, add the eggs in the steam basket, place the lid on the pot and steam for 6.5 mins. Run eggs under cold water for 30 seconds and crack and peel perfect soft boiled eggs. Because it is steam cooking the number of eggs does not effect the cooking time, unless you crowed the pan. All in all a great addition to kitchen. The 3Qt pot also great for small batches of soap or rice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, 3 qt is a nice working size for lots of dishes
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsParticular
,Colleyville
,TX
April 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I'd purchased this sooner!
April 4, 2013
I have a set of d5 Stainless-Steel, but it did not include this steamer. After struggling with my collapsible steamer insert for so long, I finally took the purchase plunge. Wish I hadn't waited so long—I use this pan almost every night! It is a great size and works perfectly on my induction stove top. The lid fits well and the insert is eavenly ventilated. I considered another WS steamer, but decided to pay the difference for the d5. I couldn't be happier!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NotNecessaryAgain
,SC
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
June 8, 2012
The D5 base is just fine, but the steamer insert (made in China) doesn't fit properly and is very unsatisfactory. Turns out All-Clad is having quite a few of the accessory products made in China and they are not up to the standards we expect from All-Clad.
Cons: Quality, fit
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tptedge1
,TN
April 20, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
versatile purchase
April 20, 2012
This set got just 4 stars maybe should have been three just for the misreprsentation of the origin(place of manufacture)"handcrafted in the USA". The "Casserole Pan" is trulyl All-Clad. Fantastic to use, easier to store than a 3 qt sauce pan,no problem cleaning with BarKeep soak rather than paste and circle out from center. Disappointing to find the steamer insert made in good old China.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tptedge1
Knoxville, TN
Posted October 25, 2012
WS POSITIVE RESPONSE!!
On 10/23/2012 Scales87 said Exactly as Stated
The on-line description of this product clearly states that the insert is made in China. There was no misrepresentation on the part of All-Clad.
At the time of the purchase and review there was misinformation.
The site reflects the true origin of the insert due to WS responding to customers who requested the the true origin of the steamer be posted online. Not so when I and others made their purchase and reviewed the product. Thank you WS.
0points
Customer avatar
Scales67
Ann Arbor, MI
Posted October 23, 2012
Exactly as Stated
The on-line description of this product clearly states that the insert is made in China. There was no misrepresentation on the part of All-Clad.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bridaw
,San Diego
,CA
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very poor fit
February 22, 2012
I purchased this set recently and the steamer really does fit the pot poorly. The fit of the lid isn't ideal but at least it doesn't wobble like the steamer in the pot.
It does leak steam but since there is one sweet spot that leaks less, the steamer is usable.
There really is no excuse for All-clad releasing specimens like this into the wild. There were no other sets in the two stores near me. I hope they get more in stock soon so I can exchange this one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Quality, fit issue
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoingGreen
,San Diego
,CA
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite all-clad piece!
January 31, 2012
My husband and I received all of the all-clad stainless steel cookware pieces for our wedding about 5 years ago. By far I use this piece more than any of the others. I use it EVERY day, 3 times a day to steam my 8 month olds baby foods. I also use it to steam her vegetables, fruits, etc before I mash them. While it doesn't look nearly as pretty and shiny as it used too, it still works amazingly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jackkie
,Houston
,TX
Texas
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan Wobbly Steamer
December 23, 2011
I had to buy and return 3 or 4 of these before I ended up with a keeper and then the steamer insert is just barely ok. Each set had a different steamer insert design and the lid only fit properly on the last one I bought. The pan is 5 stars but the steamer insert is 1 star at best. The steamer insert is way below the normally high standards of All Clad and they should be ashamed of it. The set is described as "Made in USA" by WS, but the steamer insert is "Made in China" according to the box it is packaged in. The difference in quality between the pan and the steamer is staggering. Fortunately, I don't do a lot of steaming so it'll meet my needs. The pan however, is perfect as a 3 qt. saucepan.
Pros: Durable, Size
Cons: Quality
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
muse
,Frederick
,MD
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great steamer
December 18, 2011
The quality of the steamer is superb and does the job quite well. I love using it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicagoWSfan
,Chicago
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another great All-Clad piece
December 8, 2011
I have a ton of All-Clad, and when my steamer arrived today I was thrilled. It's a great size - the 3 qt pan with lid will come in very handy....and the steamer fits well (as does the lid upon it). All-Clad is my favorite cookware, and this piece didn't disappoint!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAKeeven
Missouri
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Steamer Pan
August 7, 2011
This is my favorite pan. You can cook potatoes in the bottom while steaming vegetables in the upper section pan at the same time. This is a beautiful pan and a real time saver. Makes a wonderful gift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tchotch
FL
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THIS SET
June 15, 2011
I have all wonderful pots and pans and this one is my favorite & most used. I love the heft & how great it cleans. Buy it!!
Review 14 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellens
Denver, CO
February 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfectly versatile set
February 22, 2011
I purchased this with some misgivings about the price, since my previous steamer set was considerably less expensive (although it also eventually rusted out, after about 15 years). At any rate, I love this one. The parts fit together just fine, and I have not had any problems with leaking steam or otherwise. The steamer basket is large and deep, but the whole set does not take up a lot of space in the cabinet or on the stove. The bottom part works well as a saucepan. The steel is a nice weight, and the bottom has good heat transfer--no burning on those occasions when I use it directly. I can't recommend it more--it has become one of the most used pieces in my kitchen.
Review 15 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
onecook
phila PA
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
steam queen
January 22, 2011
I use a steamer daily for vegetables -steaming is quicker, easier and fresh steamed veggies taste better than canned or frozen! Have been looking for a dedicated steamer pot since with the hard hard hard water in my area, pots quickly get scaly and difficult to get back to that "new" look (am going to try "bartender's friend" to see if that helps). I read the reviews stating the steamer insert didn't fit well and debated, but don't find the fit that bad. The lid definitely fits cleaner to the bottom pot alone, but the insert and lid have a reasonable fit for steaming. The size is perfect - can fit potatoes, full length asparagus and green veggies all at one time and you can add enough water to the bottom pot to ensure it doesn't burn off - can't do that with those little foldable steamer inserts. And having the double handles makes it easy to use. Yet, it's not so huge it takes over your stove or cabinet. So far, LOVE it!
Review 16 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathy27
Crestwood,Ill
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good cook and serve pot
January 11, 2011
I purchased this 3Qt. to replace a pot I have that has a broken handle. I love it because it's solid from the bottom and up the sides. The steamer is an added benefit because it's easier to handle. I love the fact that it has the two grips to make it convenient to serve at the table. I also bought one for my 21 yr.old son ,who likes to cook. I also love the way these pots clean up ,they look new even 10 yrs. later. CATHY
Review 17 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingdo0f
San Jose, CA
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect for 2
January 7, 2011
Ever since I got this pot (3wks ago) I've used it daily. Clean up is a breeze, and its the right size for my week night cooking. What I like about the steamer is that its big enough to fit a whole head of cauliflour, the size works for all of the veggies I cook. Quality: I'm not too much of an experienced cook and even I can tell the HUGE difference between my new All clad set and my old set I replaced.
Review 18 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DesigningDiva
Near beautiful Lake Ontario, NY
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Multiple Use Pot
December 18, 2010
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas--she cooks a lot of vegan/vegetable dishes and it is a perfect mid-size pot. Without the insert it also functions well as a saucepan. I was a bit concerned about the other reviews that mentioned a bad fit between lid, insert, and pot but I decided to take the chance. This one was perfect so I assume a few bad ones slipped through the manufacturer's quality system. It does happen unfortunately. Moral of the story: If it isn't right return it and try again. I own many pieces of All-Clad cookware and have been very pleased with them.
Review 19 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeannetteH
Georgia
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
absolutely love this steamer
November 25, 2010
My husband and I were hesitant about spending this much on a steamer, but it was well worth it. After reading some of the negative reviews about the fit of the pans, we were a little worried, but when we opened the box and checked it out, it was perfect. The pans should not be airtight, because the pressure from the steam would build up too much, so a little is supposed to escape. Both the steamer and pot are of very high quality.
Review 20 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEMC
New York City, NY
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Steamer
October 29, 2010
I just purchased this steamer and used it with great success. Some people mentioned having problems with the insert not pitting properly. I purchased this on the website and when it arrived all of the pieces fit together perfectly. This another product that lives up to the very high All Clad standards. I can't wait to use it more.
page1 2 next