Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set

An essential for health conscious cooks, the All-Clad d5 Polished Stainless-Steel 3-Quart Steamer Set features a patented technology of five alternating layers of responsive aluminum and durable heat-diffusing stainless steel. Simply add vegetables or seafood to the insert to quickly prepare fresh and flavorful dishes. The only cookware of its kind, d5 stainless-steel cookware heats slowly and evenly, which means perfectly browned proteins throughout, from the center all the way to the edges. Experience a lifetime of cooking enjoyment with All-Clad d5 Stainless Steel. QUALITY CONSTRUCTION FEATURES The 5-ply bonded construction with alternating layers of stainless steel and conductive aluminum provides warp-free strength and even heating throughout. d5's 18/10 stainless-steel interior with a highly polished starburst finish offers natural stick resistance, and prevents food from picking up a metallic taste, while its polished stainless exterior offers exceptional beauty. Heat-resistant stainless-steel handles with large bolster are permanently secured with stainless-steel rivets; flat stainless-steel lids; flared pouring rims. DETAILS YOU'LL APPRECIATE Oven- and broiler-safe up to 600 degrees F Dishwasher-safe Optimized for induction Capacity etched on base Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA SET INFORMATION Set includes 3-quart covered pot and steamer insert that easily nest together.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
January 16, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheap steamer basket MADE IN CHINA
January 16, 2016
Steamer basket ill-fitting and inferior quality relative to the pot, or what you should expect from All-Clad products. Was extremely disappointed to learn that both the steamer basket and the lid are made in China, especially since the W-S website clearly states that it is "Hand crafted in the USA with materials from the USA." I will be returning.
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Winter Park
,FL
October 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All Clad Steamer
October 8, 2015
This is a wonderful set that I leave out on my stove top all the time and use for all vegetable steaming as well as pasta boiling. It's handsome and functional...a perfect and necessary addition to any cook's kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Richardson
,TX
August 31, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No complaints beyond size
August 31, 2015
I really have nothing bad to say about this product other than I wish it was bigger. I have had All-Clad steamers in the past and I remember them being slightly wider, which was nice for things like long asparagus stalks. Even then I don't think it's small enough to say this is a "con". For most applications it's the perfect size. Otherwise it works fine, has held up well, and looks sharp. I have occasionally used the bottom pot without the steamer as well, so give it a plus-1 for versatility.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Kansas City
,MO
June 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useful kitchen item
June 15, 2015
Love the handles, and the entire steamer set. Wish the set came with a 4 qt or 5 qt stock pot so I can steam veggies while the pasta is boiling in the pot. Saves energy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design
Cons: Size
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Arlington
,VA
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
4of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer Beware
March 20, 2015
I have had this pot for about 5 years and really liked it until I accidentally dropped the lid from about 4 feet above the floor and it bent into a crescent.
It had been in the oven for 16 minutes at 350 degrees when it dropped but I was still shocked to see that it bent so much.
I thought my All-Clad was guaranteed but it turns out that if you drop the lid it is not covered.
Pretty shocking.
I will never buy All-Clad again.
Cons: Fragile, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,IL
October 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent so glad I bought this
October 23, 2013
Just got about a month ago and already a staple on my stove. Versatile, high quality pan I always wanted. Joy to cook with! It's a heavy pot -my mom is 84 and didn't like the weight when she came to visit!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Woodbridge
,va
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Steamer Set
August 26, 2013
I am very pleased with mine and the steamer basket seems to be a snug fit with the base pot.
I am disappointed that the entire pot is not made in USA, as that is important to me. There is definitely a weight difference between the pot and the insert.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wowplay
Posted November 21, 2013
not made in USA?
Hi, how do you know it is not made in the US? Because that's important to me too. I was told the D5 line are made in the USA and now I am confused. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,North Canton
,Oh
June 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great steamer and 3Qt pot is a nice working size
June 6, 2013
I read some of the problems with steam basket fit, but found ours to be a perfect fit. It does leak steam from the lid, but if it didn't it would blow up. Also works great for soft boiled eggs. Bring the pot to a boil, add the eggs in the steam basket, place the lid on the pot and steam for 6.5 mins. Run eggs under cold water for 30 seconds and crack and peel perfect soft boiled eggs. Because it is steam cooking the number of eggs does not effect the cooking time, unless you crowed the pan. All in all a great addition to kitchen. The 3Qt pot also great for small batches of soap or rice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, 3 qt is a nice working size for lots of dishes
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Colleyville
,TX
April 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I'd purchased this sooner!
April 4, 2013
I have a set of d5 Stainless-Steel, but it did not include this steamer. After struggling with my collapsible steamer insert for so long, I finally took the purchase plunge. Wish I hadn't waited so long—I use this pan almost every night! It is a great size and works perfectly on my induction stove top. The lid fits well and the insert is eavenly ventilated. I considered another WS steamer, but decided to pay the difference for the d5. I couldn't be happier!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,SC
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
June 8, 2012
The D5 base is just fine, but the steamer insert (made in China) doesn't fit properly and is very unsatisfactory. Turns out All-Clad is having quite a few of the accessory products made in China and they are not up to the standards we expect from All-Clad.
Cons: Quality, fit
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,TN
April 20, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
versatile purchase
April 20, 2012
This set got just 4 stars maybe should have been three just for the misreprsentation of the origin(place of manufacture)"handcrafted in the USA". The "Casserole Pan" is trulyl All-Clad. Fantastic to use, easier to store than a 3 qt sauce pan,no problem cleaning with BarKeep soak rather than paste and circle out from center. Disappointing to find the steamer insert made in good old China.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tptedge1
Knoxville, TN
Posted October 25, 2012
WS POSITIVE RESPONSE!!
On 10/23/2012 Scales87 said Exactly as Stated
The on-line description of this product clearly states that the insert is made in China. There was no misrepresentation on the part of All-Clad.
At the time of the purchase and review there was misinformation.
The site reflects the true origin of the insert due to WS responding to customers who requested the the true origin of the steamer be posted online. Not so when I and others made their purchase and reviewed the product. Thank you WS.
0points
Customer avatar
Scales67
Ann Arbor, MI
Posted October 23, 2012
Exactly as Stated
The on-line description of this product clearly states that the insert is made in China. There was no misrepresentation on the part of All-Clad.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very poor fit
February 22, 2012
I purchased this set recently and the steamer really does fit the pot poorly. The fit of the lid isn't ideal but at least it doesn't wobble like the steamer in the pot.
It does leak steam but since there is one sweet spot that leaks less, the steamer is usable.
There really is no excuse for All-clad releasing specimens like this into the wild. There were no other sets in the two stores near me. I hope they get more in stock soon so I can exchange this one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Quality, fit issue
Review 13 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 3-Qt. Steamer Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite all-clad piece!
January 31, 2012
My husband and I received all of the all-clad stainless steel cookware pieces for our wedding about 5 years ago. By far I use this piece more than any of the others. I use it EVERY day, 3 times a day to steam my 8 month olds baby foods. I also use it to steam her vegetables, fruits, etc before I mash them. While it doesn't look nearly as pretty and shiny as it used too, it still works amazingly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean