All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen

Representing the best in American craftsmanship, All-Clad's d5 Stainless Steel line incorporates five-layer bonded construction as well as functional advances. Taller than a typical saute pan, this one is roomy enough for deep-frying. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Magnetic stainless-steel exterior for durability and dishwasher-safe ease. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handle on lid is easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification. Includes a lid and splatter screen to keep hot oils and other liquids safely in the pan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msaimee
,Fresno
,ca
SF
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pan Ever!
December 26, 2012
I have owned this pan now for 3 years and I love it. It heats up well, cooks the food evenly and makes cooking bacon fun with the screen lid. The key to cleaning it is using Bar Keepers Friend. Bar Keeper will turn it looking brand new. Every household should have Bar Keeper it's the best on stainless. Before I bought this pan I had Calphalon pans that had the non stick tephalon and over the years it would wear and I would have to replace them. I can really taste the difference on stainless. Once you get used to cooking with it you wont want to use anything else. Highly recommend, this pan is a must in any household.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
,TX
Texas
July 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Pan for Chops and Chicken
July 15, 2012
This is my favorite pan for sautéing any kind of chops or chicken parts. The fit and finish is simply perfect. The splatter screen fits snugly; clearly it was made specifically for this pan, no gaps and notched for the pan’s handles. The description indicates the splatter screen is 13 inches, but that is not correct. The pan diameter is 10 ½ inches and the splatter screen fits perfectly. WS should correct the information. You will fall in love with this pan, guaranteed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reada
,Reno
,NV
Reno, NV
July 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
use it 3+ times per week
July 11, 2012
No other brand compares to All-Clad’s quality. We use it for everything… sauté pork chops, halibut, chicken and my list could go on. I have purchased two more for family. If the pan gets discolored just fill it with water, add baking soda bring to a boil then let it cool. (tip from WS employee) it's just like new.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sdlewy
,Baton Rouge
,LA
March 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Cooking Pan
March 18, 2012
I have been looking and looking for the "perfect" cookware. I finally decided on this All-Clad brand from Williams Sonoma and let me tell you.....I am sooooo happy that I did!! I couldn't wait to try out my purchase so tonight I ventured out and cooked a risotto. It came out perfect! I read the previous reviews that said the food stuck, etc. Let me tell you.....it didn't' for me at all!!! No problems with clean up! VERY happy with my purchase!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 5 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ConverseBear
Omaha, NE
June 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go-To Pan & Worth Every Penny!!!!!
June 28, 2011
I got this as a birthday gift and I LOVE IT!!! The splatter screen fits very well and keeps out more splatters because of the lip that fits securely on the rim of the pan. It is now my pan for making "messier" foods like sloppy joes, frying chicken, stroganoff, baked pasta dishes and chili. I love the extra handle, too. Makes it easier to carry/hold.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mordini
Middletown, nj
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must-have pan
December 31, 2010
I purchased this yesterday and used it today to create a wine sauce and then to sear filet mignon. The pan heated well and the splatter screen was fantastic. The screen fits well over the pan and there was very little splatter on my stove as opposed to the times I used a flat splatter screen. Handles stayed cool as well.
Review 7 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LindyLou55
Chico, CA
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My "Go-To" Cooking Pan
April 12, 2010
This was a first time purchase of All-Clad brand cookware - but it won't be my last. It has vastly improved my cooking. It heats evenly, and is a breeze to clean.
Review 8 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HW22
Bellefonte, PA
February 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this saute pan
February 15, 2010
Recieved my saute pan and I love it. It came with a splatter screen that I have been hearing didn't fit right but they must have updated them because I have no problems with mine. It fits great! I can't say enough about how useful the pan is. Can't wait for my next purchase!
Review 9 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kessham
Queens, NY
February 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Pan
February 9, 2010
I treated myself to this pan about a month ago, and have used it several times since to saute breaded chicken and turkey cutlets and to make a pan sauce to go with them. This pan is nothing less than fabulous. It heats quickly and efficiently. The oil gets really hot without burning, and nothing sticks. Last night I made turkey cutlets piccata, with a flour and egg coating and then a lemon-caper pan sauce. It was such a pleasure working with this saute pan. the cutlets were golden and juicy inside, and the wide surface of the pan made reducing the pan sauce quick and easy. I have used the splatter screen and really have no issue with the way it fits. Yes, it could have been redesigned a bit, but it did its job quite well. So no complaints.
I am delighted with my purchase.
Review 10 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOrangeLady
Siesta Key, FL
February 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Pan for Everything !!!!
February 5, 2010
I love this pan! It's shape, capacity, how it seares and browns the meats, the pan overall presentation is stunning. We received this as a gift from our in-laws along with the 2qt saute, 10" and 12" fry pans for our 6th wedding anniversary and we are delighted. We love to cook but we enjoy it even more since we got these pans.
We agree with the previous review in regards to the splatter screen issue, but we are also hopeful than once the design is corrected, we will be able to exchange the splatter for the new and improved version.
Review 11 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OldLadyKate
Raleigh, NC
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
12of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan BUT Splatter Screen Doesn't Fit At All
January 6, 2010
Love, love, love the pan itself. However, I would think that All-Clad would have put a little more effort into making sure the screen fits exactly to the pan. For the price it's not worth something that is not 100% functional. I'm returning my pan to the store to get the other 4qt. saute pan and I'll use the splatter screen I already own!
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Customer Experience TeamFebruary 18, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. The problem with the fit of the splatter screen has been corrected by All-Clad.
Review 12 for All-Clad d5 Stainless-Steel 4-Qt. Deep Saute Pan with Splatter Screen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zoomie1983
Albuquerque, NM
December 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A new favorite
December 30, 2009
I've only had this pan for a few days but I love it! After extensive research and recommendations I broke down and bought this (my first piece) the other day. I cooked chicken the first night and they came out great. Tonight... seared scallops. They were absolutely perfect. It washes better than I thought too. I'm really not sure how it compares to the 3 ply stainless, but I can tell you it heats up quick.. holds the heat and browns evenly from the center of the pan all the way to the outside. It was all very even. I cant do that with my calphalon or my other piece of stainless junk. One side note. The splatter screen fits, but not perfectly. I think it was designed for the previous stainless line. There is a notch on the rim that is supposed to fit over the lift handle and it doesnt on the D5 pan. But it still works. All in all... love the pan.. I will be buying more. Little by little.