All-Clad d5 Brushed Stainless-Steel Saute Pans

Handsome brushed stainless-steel exteriors add style and durability to All-Clad's innovative d5 cookware, featuring patented heating technology for consistently perfect results. This versatile pan is beautifully designed for sauteing, searing and deglazing, as well as stir-frying and slow cooking. Each of the five bonded layers serves a specific purpose, creating a noticeable difference in cooking performance. 18/10 stainless-steel interior for foolproof browning and easy cleanup. Two aluminum layers, one to conduct and one to sustain heat. Patented stainless-steel core diffuses heat for consistent results. Durable magnetic stainless-steel exterior with a handsome brushed finish. Straight sides accommodate liquids; a lid locks in moisture for slow braising. Improved stay-cool stick handle with finger guard for balance and control. Rims are shaped to allow for dripless pouring. Extra-large loop handle on lid is easy to grip, even with oven mitts. Pan size etched on base for quick identification.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad d5 Brushed Stainless-Steel Saute Pans
Review 1 for All-Clad d5 Brushed Stainless-Steel Saute Pans
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
michele1010
Fayetteville, TN
February 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-17points
3of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Horrible!!!!!
February 12, 2010
I have been researching cookware for the last month, and finally decided to go with all-clad after reading all the great reviews. I bought the all-clad d5 6 qt, saute on tuesday. The first time I used it, I was very unimpressed at how long it took to heat, and how uneven the heat was distributed. I thought maybe that was just because it was the first time I used it, and it would work better the next time. So today I used it to cook some bacon, and I was horrified when I went to flip it that the middle of the bacon was completely burnt, the outer section was completely raw, but the part inbetween was perfect. That was the last draw. I am returning this pan tomorrow. It is so NOT worth the money!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
vcgraham
Colorado
Posted June 26, 2011
Interesting comment
You bring up a good point, a different source of heat could play a part in the uneven temperature surface. But, isn't that why we are purchasing these pans, to correct for these problems? All this cladding is supposed to dispurse the heat throughout the pan. I am considering buying another 6qt saute pan (my first pan, a 3-ply, warped on me I think because I used a heat setting much too high when I first got my induction range). I am looking at the d5 because of the enhanced stability the additional SS layer will bring. I have several brands of professional cookware and count all-clad among my favorite. I'm inclined to think that the reviewer may have had one of those rare pans with internal defects. I have never had that great a disparity on the cooking surface of any fully cladded pans I use, regardless of manufacturer. I suppose some get through the quality checks. The only other possible explaination is the 13" diameter pan was placed on a very small burner at a very high setting and not given enought time to heat the entire surface. These pans are good, but they won't defy physics!
0points
Customer avatar
luvmy2pugs
Virginia
Posted December 31, 2010
Could it be your stovetop?
Could it be your stovetop? I went from a gas stove to an electric, induction stove top when we bought our house and I've noticed this issue, i.e. uneven heating. I'm using the same Calphalon and All-Clad pans I was using before so I know it's the stove top, no my awesome pans. We are going to be getting gas soon. It's worth the extra cost for the even heating.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for All-Clad d5 Brushed Stainless-Steel Saute Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bostoncook
Boston,MA
September 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for larger family cooking
September 26, 2009
I received this 6 QT saute pan as a gift 3 weeks ago and have used it almost every night since. It's not only beautiful, but it's the perfect size for family sized one pot meals. I have a fair amount of All Clad and have never been disappointed.
Review 3 for All-Clad d5 Brushed Stainless-Steel Saute Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erik
Weatherford, TX
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sooo nice: Simmer, Saute, Sizzle
January 7, 2009
Stainless steel ... Wow ... High Performance.
I love how perfectly the cooking surface (at temperature) reacts with whatever I'm cooking. It is virtually non-stick with a small amount of oil or some other fat such as butter.
And, don't forget the beauty. Ingredients just look better when cooked on this beautifully reflective stainless steel pan whether sauce, vegetables, or protein.