All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert

Whether you're cooking for a smaller family or looking for an easy way to prepare side dishes, this compact countertop machine will save you time in the kitchen. It couldn't be simpler to operate - just add ingredients to the ceramic insert, set the timer, and let the machine do the rest. When you're ready to dine, the insert goes right to the table for serving. Fully programmable cooker has an easy-to-read digital display. Large buttons on the control panel are ergonomically designed. Countdown timer with 3 temperature settings: High, Low & Keep Warm. 4-qt. ceramic insert goes from slow cooker to table for serving. Automatically keeps foods warm until serving time. Riveted stainless-steel handles; insert has integrated handles. Glass lid has a soft-grip silicone handle that stays cool to the touch.
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
9 of 20(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
Review 1 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HappyCooker68
,Saint Marys
,GA
USA
September 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality Ceramic Insert
September 25, 2014
I fell in love with this Slow Cooker as soon as I took it out of the box. Now, 9 months later, I am experiencing the same spidery cracks in the insert that others have documented and complained about. I've used the slow cooker at least once a month since I received it and have followed directions for filling and cleaning. Can only think that the cracks are the result of a poor quality product, something I wouldn't expect from All-Clad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
crissybaker
Massachusetts
Posted October 22, 2014
I have to agree with Happycooker68, very dissapointed. Have the same issue with insert and it does not cook a beef stew in the 8 hour low setting. Have always been satisfied with All-Clad. Not this time, very dissapointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marn
,Freeland
,MI
September 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why 5 stars?
September 23, 2014
Treat all of your cooking equipement as if it were your work tools!! Meaning....don't put this equipement to soak when it is still hot or even warm. Don't use it as a baking dish or on the stove top. Treat all glazed cook wear as if it was a family heirloom. Let cool. Place in warm soapy water to soak and to wash. Store back in the cooking element. Be good to it and it will give you a lifetime of fantastic meals!
This "crock pot" is awesome and a great size for one ot two people with plenty of left overs to freeze for future use or tomorrow nights dinner. I love the "keep warm" feature. Sometimes I don't always get home on time and was afraid with my old crock pot that it would over cook. Not with this little gem! It resets itself on the lowest level every 8 minutes.....just enough if you are even a hour late!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 3 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Morgen
September 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought five more for gifts
September 21, 2014
I have enjoyed this 4-qt slow cooker so much that five people on my holiday gift list are getting one for Christmas. I have the larger size All-Clad slow cooker, too, but find myself going to this smaller one as it has sufficient capacity for just about everything I prepare in it, it is easier to handle because of the smaller size, and the smaller footprint is better suited to my crowded kitchen counters.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 4 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cindyb4253
,Yakima
,WA
September 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this slow cooker!
September 20, 2014
I love the silicone rim around the cooker (would like one around the lid). I love the size. I have a large one that is almost always too large for what I'm cooking, but this is perfect. It's also beautiful. I've used it three times already (including yesterday). It's practically perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: could use a silicone edge on the lid.
Review 5 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Veep
,Valley Stream
,ny
September 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would be favorite...
September 9, 2014
I've had my All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker for a little over 3 months. I got my first veiny hair line cracks after the second use. It now leaks all the time and I am unable to use it. There are no replacement parts online and All Clad does not offer any relief on it's website. Looks good in the store and if you never use it and just want to look at it buy it. But if you want to use it for meals, find another product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Design
Cons: Fragile, ceramic insert cracks by second use, unable to find replacement insert, pretty but not useful
Review 6 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nanajhpa
,Elysburg
,PA
September 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful slow cooker
September 9, 2014
I am scratching my head about the bad reviews. I have this crock pot and think it is wonderful! I've had many slow cookers over many years, and this one is, by far, the most wonderful of all of them. I can't understand all the complaints about cracks. I wonder how people are caring for the ceramic. Mine is perfect after many uses. I do not wash it while it's hot. I do not bang it around. It is, after all, ceramic and needs to be handled just like your dinnerware.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 7 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elenamarie
,Los Angeles
,CA
June 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
high quality & high performance slow cooker
June 1, 2014
This was the best gift I received off my wedding registry! I'm so glad I added it & didn't go with another slow cooker!
I really don't understand why there are so many negative reviews! I just finished using this slow cooker for the third time in the past two weeks, and it's cooked and cleaned beautifully every time!
I've had no difficulties with cracks (neither large nor hair-thin), uneven cooking, or discoloration of the ceramic. Perhaps that's because I remove the food from the ceramic pot and let it cool thoroughly before cleaning. I do not immediately put it under cool/cold water to clean it, as I'm guessing some other reviewers may have done, which could have led to cracks.
Also, the size is perfect. Any larger and it would be too bulky for our kitchen countertop, which is of average size.
I would definitely recommend this slow cooker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Cooksabit
Richmond, CA
Posted September 14, 2014
Ceramic insert is defective
I chose the ceramic insert because I didn't trust the cast aluminum. I have been very careful with my insert. I never put hot items in a cold insert and never put cold items in the hot insert. But from its first use it has developed small hairline cracks that get worse with each use. Perhaps some of us got defective inserts. Perhaps you got lucky. Every other slow cooker I've ever had offered the ability to buy replacement inserts. Why doesn't All-clad do that. This wasn't a cheap purchase and I expected the all-clad name to live up to its reputation.
0points
Customer avatar
Bobbianne
Chesapeake, VA
Posted July 22, 2014
Agree!
My comment is; I do agree with this review & will opt for a ceramic insert anytime over aluminum. I've read of too many health problems with aluminum.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cooksabit
,Richmond
,Ca
April 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ceramic insert is poor quality
April 26, 2014
Would have loved this slow cooker with the stainless steel exterior and temperature and timer settings but the ceramic insert is such poor quality that I know it won't be long before the hairline cracks that developed with the first use will split wide open. I expected better from All-Clad.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile, crock insert is prone to cracks
Review 9 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JudgeJodi
,SEARCY
,Ar
Encino, CA
April 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Marked improvement is expected
April 23, 2014
First use - crock cracked - WS graciously replaced it - first use of replacement crock - it cracked as well. In view of all the poor reviews reputable All-Clad would be wise to recall and replace.
Pros: excuse to eat out
Cons: Quality, many cracks, ill fitting lid
Review 10 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
offkey
March 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor quality
March 12, 2014
I'm on my second ceramic insert and this one has developed cracks also. In addition to this, the replacement that they sent me never fit my original lid. A new one was promised, but never arrived. The white also stains. My $20 crockpot insert was better, too bad that I already donated it. I expect better from All Clad and that kind of money.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 11 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KathyColeman
,Hammond
,IN
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed with ceramic insert.
February 23, 2014
I have a 45 year old, American Made, 3-quart Rival Crock Pot with a ceramic insert. Over all those year, the ceramic insert has never developed any hair-like cracks. I chose the All-Clad 4-qt Slow Cooker with the Ceramic Insert, thinking it will give an even heat for the food, perhaps better than the metal insert. I was also concerned about the coating on the metal insert effecting food and giving off chemicals not good for consumption. But, with the first use, the ceramic insert developed fine hair-like cracks on the inside and bottom of the pot. This is the only drawback I have found. I like the high or low settings and the warming feature, and the glass lid so you can see the food. This product is going back to the store today. Also, I would like to see a few recipes in getting started.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Cons: ceramic insert developed fine hair-like cracks.
Review 12 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TrixiesMom
,Houston
,Tx
February 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Control Issues
February 3, 2014
The lid does not properly fit with the insert. Williams Sonoma has shipped four of these to me, and four have been returned. All had the same issue. This is a shame.After reading the other reviews of buyers having problems with the insert, probably going to tell them to change my order to something else. Very upsetting. Had given my old faithful crock pot to a friend that needed it knowing when my new All Clad Crock Pot came in that I would be using it all the time. Sad to say, that since before Christmas, I have not had a slow cooker or crock pot to use at all now. You could have space to insert a portion of an envelope between the lid and the ceramic insert. VERY UPSET and DISSAPOINTED
Cons: not well made
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookinNorCal
SF Bay Area, CA
Posted April 26, 2014
Top 50 Contributor
Slow cooker lids have a different fit
I have seen this complaint come up on many models of slow cookers and someone who is a pro clarified this: slow cooker lids are designed to have give in their fit and NOT fit tight like a dutch oven or other regular cookpot lid. Because they simmer over long periods of time, it allows some release of steam pressure and minimal loss of moisture. That is why you kept getting lids with the same fit. I have 2 (wonderful) Cuisinart programmable slow cookers with that same issue; they work great...but that is where I leaned this is "by design".
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChicagoScott60654
,Chicago
,IL
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
15of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality Insert
February 1, 2014
I purchased Ceramic Insert version on 11/3/2014. Consumer Reports ranked it top. I had read some bad consumer reviews with regard to the inserts (both ceramic and cast aluminum). Hoped the situation had been corrected.
Immediately upon use, the glaze began to crackle, the white streaked with gray marks as though the glaze was wearing off after about six uses.
I contacted W-S Customer Service and they sent a replacement slow cooker which arrived with a bb sized, unglazed pit.
Company needs to replace defective inserts with a high quality ceramic insert and also make the cast aluminum insert available as an accessory separate purchase so a cook might have both types available to them with one cooking unit.
Cons: Quality, poor qu
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 14 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyCamperinGeorgia
,Calhoun
,Ga
January 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Such a beauty!
January 29, 2014
Not only is this appliance beautiful but it performs far above the previous slow cookers I have owned. My only regret is I didn't buy the bigger one too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SuzanneNH
,NH
January 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed!
January 25, 2014
I own several All-Clad pans and love them all, so I expected the same great quality from this slow cooker. What I got was continuous ceramic cracking on the insert each time I used it (about 10 times). The low setting seems to take a longer period of time to cook food than I'm use to. WS customer service promptly replaced the item, kudus to their customer service dept. Just received the new one, hopefully I won't have a similar problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store
Review 16 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maxoxo
,Ocala
,FL
Ocala, Florida
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer beware. All-Clad doesn't stand behind.
January 12, 2014
Terrible customer service makes this a poor choice. I don't see any of the reviews that I should have read before I purchased. There were lots from people who had an experience simile to mine (failed heating element and/or controls). Granted I had owned my cooker for more than a year, but had only used it four times. All Clad refused to offer any satisfaction. Buyer beware.
Pros: Size, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Power, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, poor customer service
Review 17 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OldcountrylawyerAgain
,San Diego
,CA
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Old fashioned slow cookery
January 1, 2014
When I finished school back in the 80's, I got rid of my "starving student" furnishings. The bad part of that decision included giving away my old standby crock pot with ceramic insert. After years of comparing newer, larger, feature-laden versions, I went into sensory overload until this All Clad 4 quart model hit the market. Recently prepared kale & sausage Soup (see WS Soup & Stew page 70), A delicious success! Cleanup was a breeze. Recommendation: Carefully allow all ceramic cookware to cool before washing....unless made by Emile Henri, of course.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, healthy cooking
Review 18 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edannis
,Malvern
,PA
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Buy For a Slow Cooker
November 28, 2013
Had this for one month. Used it for four meals, all turned out perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 19 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCRDH
,Charlotte
,NC
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
favorite cooker for Ribs
November 28, 2013
l love this slow cooker.It is easy to use, cleans up nicely, and the controls are sturdy verses flimsy controls on some other brands. Compared to previous brands that I have had, I feel safer leaving this on while at work. I bought my cooker 6 days ago and have fixed pot roast and BBQ ribs.
Next to my Breville oven, this is my favorite kitchen item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 20 for All-Clad 4-Qt. Slow Cooker with Ceramic Insert
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Natab0525
,jackson
,nj
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+62points
64of 66found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer beware
November 21, 2013
I was so excited to hear about this slow cooker as I have a smaller family and do not need a 6+ quart capacity. I wanted to love it. I bought it the day it hit the store shelves. And returned it a week later. I used it two or three times in hopes that I WOULD love it. It made a terrible loud popping sound, the insert stained, and the insert did not sit flush with the slow cooker, it was crooked. Poor quality for All Clad. I've heard many things negative about this slow cooker, cracked inserts, ect..I'd recommend going with the aluminum insert version if you're interested in this slow cooker.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JudgeJodi
Encino, CA
Posted December 17, 2013
Dud?
Could it be that the quality control people goofed and the one you got was not up to par though another of the same would be? Stuff happens. Hope so since I ordered one today. I do love my All-Clad.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)