Alfi Thermal Carafes

A perennial favorite in Europe, carafes like ours have been produced by the German company Alfi since 1914. It keeps liquids hot or cold for up to 16 hours, thanks to a double-walled, vacuum-sealed glass liner. Made of solid brass with a white lacquer finish and chrome-plated trim, the carafe makes a handsome addition to the breakfast table. The small carafe is 22-oz. cap., 7" high. The large carafe is 34-oz. cap., 9 1/2" high. The extra-large carafe is 51-oz. cap., 11" high.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
27 of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Alfi Thermal Carafes
Review 1 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovecookinginRoswellGa
,Atlatna
,Ga
January 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST Carafe! If you drink coffee...a must!
January 8, 2014
We love coffee and not just one small cup. We will actually drink the whole pot. Our carafe keeps our coffee hot (steam comes out when we open the top) for HOURS. This morning, we made coffee at 7:15 and at 11:30, I poured my 3rd cup and it was steaming!!! This is amazing! I know it is expensive, but worth it!! Watch for a sale, if you don't want to spend the full amount!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bivinje
,Pinole
,CA
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Alfi Thermal Carafes
November 24, 2013
I am very pleased with my purchase. The coffee retains its reach flavor, and/or enhances it My husband loves it too. I think I am going to buy a larger size for when I entertain. The purchase that I just made recently is big enough for 5 cups or three mugs.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight, elegant
Review 3 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LivinginNYC
,New York
,NY
NYC
January 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have this carafe!
January 13, 2013
I have wanted this carafe for several years. It is expensive, and I had a perfectly fine, but not pretty, carafe and several lovely decorative tea and coffee pots while entertaining. Those are all in the cupboard now. Not only is this lovely (bought the white), it is durable. It definitely keeps the tea hot for 24 hours. I am now making my tea directly in the carafe. I drink my tea before going to work, and while I am heating my water the next morning, I can drink the leftovers from the day before...still hot! It is absolutely worth buying, don't hesitate. Once you get it you'll wonder how you lived without it. I may get another one for coffee. I ordered the medium size and it is not too big. I get only about 4 full "mugs"...so unless you want a very small pot on your table, get the larger size. If I get another for coffee I'll size up.
p.s. you do need to push the stopper down firmly to best ensure the liquid stays hot.
Pros: keeps liquids hot for 24 hours, elegant style, Durable
Review 4 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
northernair
,northern California
January 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Carafe
January 3, 2013
It is truly elegant and it does keep your
beverages hot! I would recommend this
product and I plan on buying other sizes.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Miffy
Castro Valley
Posted January 11, 2013
you may want to double check the size
I just received mine and it's wrong size. I ordered the 34 oz, the description on the packing list shows 34oz.
the item # on the P/L matches the item# on the package, so you would assume it should be correct size. It seems very small after I open the package so I fill out water and pour out to the measuring cup, turn out it's actually a 22 oz. carafe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martena
Champaign, Il
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best thermal carafe
November 7, 2012
Even though this carafe is expensive, but it kept my tea warm for over 36 hours. I poured boiling water inside and let it stand for 15 minutes before I put the hot tea in. I ordered a large size and it was just right for the tea I shared with my friend. Now I can drink several cups of tea per day without reheating the tea. The carafe is simple and beautiful. I am happy with the purchase. Thanks.
Review 6 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joisygirl
,Chicago
,IL
June 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot, hot hot!
June 27, 2012
At a recent brunch we held at our house, we used the carafe for the first time. We put coffee in the carafe early morning and we were amazed how long the coffee stayed hot. The coffee was steaming when we poured it hours later into coffee mugs. Love the carafe and I cannot wait to use it for other beverages.
Review 7 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Livingbythelake
Texas
February 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keeps liquids warm & looks good
February 3, 2012
Tried several sizes. The weight of smaller one w liquid inside is heavy enough. Put hot water in first to warm container then pour out & fill w coffee, etc. Works perfect to keep it warm enough to enjoy thru the day. I went w reviews & ordered largest size first, for me, it was too heavy once filled. However, it does look good & works well also.
Pros: Design
Review 8 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MONKEYDOG
,San Diego
,CA
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ALFI THERMAL CARAFE
January 10, 2012
For price of carafe, size was smaller (got mid-size) than we anticipated and after four hours, coffee was only lukewarm. Spending this kind of money, I want hot coffee after only four hours. Returned product until a thermal carafe actual manufactured that does what it says it will do.
Cons: Size, does not stay hot
Review 9 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
novcashopper
Novato, California
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Purchase
January 17, 2011
This carafe meets all my needs and expectations: (1) it keeps my coffee hot for hours without compromising the flavor, (2) it looks good on my table, and (3) it is easy to hold and pour. I purchased the medium size which is perfect for the two of us as it holds four cups (medium-size mugs) of leftover coffee.
Review 10 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Odegaarden
Brandon,MS
July 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Adult tea time
July 27, 2010
This carafe is very stylish looking and is a great substitute for a tea pot. I have been searching for the perfect tea pot for ages and I came across this product on the Williams Sonoma website. I bought it and it works great i.e keeps my tea hot for hours. Tea time during breakfast is so much more fun since I can finally use my creamer and sugar bowl set and little teas cups which has been sitting in my cupboard collecting dust.
Review 11 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjane
austin, tx
June 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pricey, but worth it
June 22, 2010
Love it! Keeps coffee hot for many hours- I forgot it about it one day and when I went to clean the carafe that evening, the coffee was still hot- burned my fingers as I poured it out- 12 hrs later!
Review 12 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RamenGirl
New York, NY
March 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Carafe
March 28, 2010
My husband and I LOVE our Alfi Carafe. It keeps out coffee hot for hours!
Review 13 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JavaGal
North Carolina
January 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally a Carafe that WORKS!!!
January 25, 2010
The Alfi Thermal Carafe works as advertised. I hesitated because of the price, but I am pleased that coffee remains hot and doesn't continue to "Cook" on the burner. The price is offset by not wasting coffee that gets cold or turns to "mud". I would recommend it.
Review 14 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraAnnG
Buffalo, NY
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Carafe - Beautiful & Functional
January 7, 2010
I bought this carafe to take to our ski house. It looks beautiful sitting on the breakfast table and keeps our coffee warm for many hours. I left it on the counter top half filled with coffee and we went skiing. When we returned later in the day (8 or 9 hours later) to prepare dinner, I opened the carafe and hot steam rose up.
Also, based on advice on this website I ordered the largest carafe. A standard 10 - 12 cup pot of coffee fills it completely with no room to spare.
I would definitely recommend this product.
Tip: Make sure you fill the carafe with boiling hot water while you prepare your coffee. Empty the carafe and then fill with your hot beverage - it will stay hot longer.
Review 15 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lrat
Puyallup, WA
December 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best way to keep coffee at premium heat
December 29, 2009
I love this product for keeping coffee piping hot after brewing. We want our coffee as hot as can be. I pour any initial cups from the coffeemaker and then put the rest in the carafe, which I have pre-heated with hot water.
Review 16 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owen2010
Chattanooga, TN
November 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee Hot for Hours
November 22, 2009
I love this purchase. This keeps my coffee warm for hours. I use a French Press and it would go cold if not for my Alfi.
Review 17 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer80
September 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Performance Fair
September 23, 2009
Product looks great, but the performance is only fair. Cheaper plastic carafes with a screw-on lid work better because they provide an air-tight seal. The Alfi has a push-in stopper which must allow air to escape as you push the stopper in, or the stopper could not be inserted--i.e., there would be an air lock. One need only turn the filled Alfi carafe upside down and watch the fluid leak to see the lack of seal. Keeps liquids hot for a couple of hours.
Review 18 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CLW
Georgia
September 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally...
September 17, 2009
We've used various carafes for years with many annoying and cheap features. I finally decided to try the best one around...and I'm glad. This is the ideal carafe. Simple, German made, attractive, easy to clean. What's not to like?
My husband especially loves the articulated lid which makes pouring both into and out of it easy and pleasant. Also, cleaning is simple with this lid. He says this carafe is superb.
It's costly - but after a while you forget what it cost because of the quality.
A tip: buy the large size. The mid and small sizes are small even for two. It's a fine piece, a daily pleasure.
C
Review 19 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LearnedMyLesson
Homer, AK
July 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stylish and Efficient Tea Carafe!
July 7, 2009
This is the nicest looking and most efficient carafe I've EVER owned! We have a large family of tea drinkers and we're able to enjoy HOT tea to the last drop. The carafe is also easy to clean. I intend to order another one for our family cabin. GREAT DESIGN!
Review 20 for Alfi Thermal Carafes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowshoe
eugene oregon
June 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for keeping tea hot
June 28, 2009
i make about 1 1/2 qts tea in the morning and this is great to keep my tea hot all day..only problem i shoyld have gotten the larger model
page1 2 next