This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Alfajores

As light as a cloud, these decadent alfajores pair buttery, melt-in-your-mouth sable cookies with luscious, caramel-like dulce de leche interiors. Dulce Caramel Co. handcrafts them according to a traditional Argentinean recipe and finishes them with a dusting of coconut or enrobed in rich dark chocolate - two perfect treats for after dinner or afternoon tea. Classic Argentinean alfajores cookies are handcrafted in small batches by Dulce Caramel Co. in Illinois. Made with premium all-natural ingredients, including French butter, fresh eggs and pure Madagascar vanilla. Classic: Enhanced with lemon zest, and finished with delicate coconut shavings (1 lb. 1.4 oz.). Dark chocolate: enrobed in a shell of bittersweet couverture chocolate (1 lb. 3.1 oz.). Individually wrapped by hand and boxed for giving. Made in USA. Set of 12 cookies.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Alfajores
Review 1 for Alfajores
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsXtl
,Lake Forest
,IL
April 21, 2012
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't stop eating!
April 21, 2012
I've been looking for these products since I came back from vacations in south america last year. I found about Dulce Caramel thanks to the Chicago Tribune's article.
Thank you!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Great Gift
Review 2 for Alfajores
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
silnejo
,jersey city
,nj
March 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great for the in-laws
March 22, 2012
I got a box of alfajores for my husband's parents, who are from Argentina. They were so happy, I think I saw some tears on their eyes. I think these alfajores brought them so many memories.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Alfajores
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
franDee
,Brooklyn
,NY
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just what I've been looking for
March 5, 2012
My husband and I truly enjoyed the alfajores. The alfajores have a unique gourmet flavor which puts them in a different category than the famous Havanna's and are delicious in their own way. My husband is normally picky when it comes to sweets but he just loved the alfajor. Please count me in as a loyal customer.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Alfajores
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alduck
,Fayston
,vt
February 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
our favorite alfajores
February 29, 2012
I really like these delectable confections! I love chocolate, and I have never tasted anything like these! They are amazing! The packaging was gorgeous and original --and befitting something so delicious.
Thank so much
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 5 for Alfajores
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Paty
,Bloomfield
,NJ
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Poor, very poor imitation !!
February 26, 2012
I received the WS Alfajores as a gift and didn't like it.
I Im from Uruguay and Alfajores are a very traditional pastrie there as it is in Argentina. My mom always made them for us and are very much different from yours. My mom dough is very tender, soft and moist. The filling is Dulce de Leche (no caramel !! ). Definitely no recommended !!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 6 for Alfajores
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bboyage
,Flagstaff
,AZ
January 24, 2012
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
January 24, 2012
I got a box of chocolate alfajores,
they are delicious and a gourmet
dessert. Great product and highly
recommended.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Alfajores
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
maestra
January 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tasty but pricey
January 21, 2012
I know the other reviews have been low, but I have enjoyed these cookies. The chocolate ones are the ones I prefer. They are enrobed in a dark chocolate. I keep them in the refrigerator until shortly before I use them. I bought them when there was free shipping which helped offset the cost as they are a bit pricey.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: price
Review 8 for Alfajores
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzegrl
,columbus
,OH
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love at first bite
January 16, 2012
I recieved these as a gift over the Holidays, Decadent and delicious. I will order these myself in the future!
Pros: Texture, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 9 for Alfajores
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MCM9
,VA
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Disappointed
January 6, 2012
We received the basic alfajores as gifts and liked them, although they differed from those we had in Buenos Aires, Argentina. I ordered the chocolate alfajores for my mother but when we tasted them, they were quite disappointing. They were compacted into one chocolate mass that was very heavy, so unlike the delicoius and light chocolate covered alfajores available in Argentina. Considering the very high price for 1 doz., including the exorbitant shipping costs, it was not worth the effort and the cost of this order.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor, unlike the originals in argentina
Review 10 for Alfajores
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
edwardg
,New York
,NY
December 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Very poor imitation
December 16, 2011
I was competely dissatisfied with the dark chocolate alfajor. In my opinion it is the poorest imitation of the real thing, Havana Alfajor, I ever tasted. I wish I could get a full refund and buy two, 12 piece boxes of authentic alfajores for the same price.
Cons: Disappointing, poor imitation
Review 11 for Alfajores
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Egnurlaup
,Orinda
,CA
December 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Not the real thing...
December 16, 2011
These are really expensive and poorly executed. The cookies are tough and hard, and the filling is not discernable from the cookie. They are hard to make to be sure. My grandmother made Alfajores for us in Rosario Argentina and they were tender and "creamy" filled. These taste like they have been sitting in the box for a very long time and lost all the moisture?
We didn't get it...?
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Texture, Flavor