Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili

Named for the Syrian town of Aleppo, just east of the Turkish border, these red chilies are also known as Near East or halaby peppers. Moderately hot, the crushed, dried chili peppers are celebrated for their rich, fruity flavor that's sometimes described as a cross between cumin and cayenne. Aleppo chili peppers are characterized by moderate heat and a complex fruity flavor with a subtle, tangy-sweet finish. A bright, lively seasoning for grilled steak, pork chops or chicken. Sprinkle these crushed red peppers over everything from pizza and pasta to potatoes, deviled eggs or tuna salad. Whole chilies are naturally sun-dried for ten days, then seeded and crushed to ensure peerless flavor and aroma. This premium, all-natural spice is sourced from Syria by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 1.6 oz. Product of Syria.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pajebynight
,Miami
,Fl
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this seasoning
October 6, 2014
I bought crushed chili at the Spice Bazaar in Istanbul and this is the closest seasoning I can find next to it. I add these to almost everything - soups, chili, meatloaf, veggies of all kinds, and it does wonders. I went through it in about a year and am ordering more. A must have.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthernJimmy
,Holly Springs
,MS
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
scumptuous, buttery-warm pepper
June 4, 2013
This Aleppo chilli pepper makes scrambles eggs Divine and slap-your-momma GOOD...apply Aleppo chilli flakes liberally over scrambles eggs and keddery for a Scottish breakfast treat straight from the streets of colonial India...the smells of spice stalls of Mumbia will linger in your kitchen...all one needs is lashings of jam and a dollop of lemon curd...
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRNelson
Texas
April 19, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vibrant color and taste
April 19, 2013
You must try this spice. It has a great flavor! Used it on several dishes
Pros: Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great taste, just wish it was stronger
April 5, 2013
I LOVE chili flavours and am always on the hunt for a new taste (kind of tired of the ever present Chipotle now). So on a recent trip to the States, I picked this up based on the rave reviews on the site.
The taste in and of itself, doesn't disappoint. It's a lovely, slightly citrusy, flavour that isn't overpowered with tongue-numbing heat. It goes well with everything I've tried it with so far (eggs, pizza, bolognese, mac n cheese).
My only complaint is that I feel I have to use more of this than other crushed chilis I own to get enough of the flavour for my satisfaction. For example, on pizza I only need 2 pinches per slice of one of my normal go-to crushed chills (including the WS pizza seasoning), while I need at least 4-5 pinches of the Aleppo to get the taste to come through to my satisfaction. This wouldn't stop me from recommending this product, because the taste is fantastic. It just means I'll probably go through the bottle faster than I'd like to.
Pros: Texture, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: amount needed for flavour to come through
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beats Supermarket Crushed Red Peppers!
October 19, 2012
I tried the Aleppo chili on a lark and have just now ordered a second jar. I use it to replace the flavorless crushed red chili peppers that we all dutifully sprinkle on pizza and add to cooked dishes. It has a nice heat--less, in my opinion that crushed red peppers, but the flavor is much more nuanced. I no longer buy the pedestrian crushed chili peppers. This will add a new element to the flavor profile of any dishes that call for crushed red chili pepper!
Pros: Amount, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Crushed Aleppo Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Current Fave Pepper
June 20, 2012
Love this! I bought it out of curiousity and sought recipes to highlight it.
Aleppo has the perfect amount of heat. I don't care for peppers that are so hot that they distract from the flavours of the dish. Aleppo doesn't distract, it intensifies....perfectly.
When they describe the flavour as fruity, they mean it. It has a very unique taste.
I use it a lot in latin, middle eastern and indian dishes.
I am on my third or fourth jar now and plan to keep on buying it.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy