Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix

Sweeten the morning with gluten-free versions of the legendary pancakes and waffles at Ad Hoc, a casual Napa Valley eatery headed by award-winning chef Thomas Keller. Chef Keller used his signature Cup4Cup gluten-free flour in the recipe, ensuring a light and tender texture that is on par with any pancakes and waffles. Simply add milk, butter and eggs, and pair with your favorite toppings. Makes 8 traditional waffles or 16 Belgian waffles or pancakes (1 lb., 3 oz.). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JMPM
,Queens
,NY
September 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was ok...
September 17, 2014
Although my waffles came out delicious, I am almost sure it was because I adjusted the ingredients. I followed the instructions on the box, but the batter was a bit stiff, not soft enough to pour onto the waffle maker, so I had to add a few more of this and that, until... So for the price, I will pass...
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AZdeb
,Scottsdale
,AZ
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent once we found instructions
December 25, 2013
It took us awhile with a trip online and tearing the box apart before we finally found the instructions! We saw online review that they were in the lid but they aren't easy to find...especially if you open the end that doesn't have the instructions.
It was a little more work than the quick mixes but well worth it. Everyone loved them and said they were as good as any they'd had that weren't gluten free. I made little small waffles and the leftovers will be great for snacks even without anything on them!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: ease of finding instructions
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BABScanCOOK
,EDGEWATER
,FL
July 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST pancakes I ever made : )
July 5, 2013
OMG...try it you won't be sorry.
Use Cage Free farm eggs or organic eggs if you can .Let the batter set the full five minutes than fold in some fresh Blueberries and Raspberries.So good I did'nt use Syrup,but Hubby did and loved it.
We use a good organic pure Maple syrup, SALTED Irish butter(a little goes a long way so ok to use even if your watching your weight).I LOVE TO USE Avacado oil to fry with.It is near tasteless,has a very high burning point,and is also wonderful to brown chicken and fry eggs.
Also,loved getting two packets in the box cause your sure going to want to make these again : )
Send a box for a stocking stuffer or "just because",to all your friends.So simple to make and love.
Put your own spin on it with toasted Pecans,Walnuts,or Macadamias ,fresh Peaches,Blackberries,Strawberries,quality Chocolate chunks or chips,sliced Bananas,toasted Coconut etc.
Oh my,I'm on my way to the kitchen to open the other package.
Life is short so Enjoy !!!!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift, delicious, light and fluffy
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pete58
,Huntington
,NY
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gluten free waffle's
March 4, 2013
Very good. The kids love them and while it's not as easy just adding water, they are the best I've tasted yet and Gluten Free.
It's the new "must have" Sunday breakfast meal!
Pros: Texture, Quality
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
camelot1
January 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whole family loves
January 7, 2013
I'm not going to lie and say that they taste like the real thing but they come pretty darn close. They are crispy and have a good flavor. The best thing is even the people in my family who do not need to eat gluten free enjoy them as well.
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFConsumer
,Dallas
,Tx
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definite Recommendation
December 21, 2012
Makes wonderful waffles. I am single, so I weigh the mix and use half of it. I use half quantities of other ingredients, except the egg-I use the whole egg and substitute Almond Milk for whole milk. Also, I use the All-Clad round waffle maker and pour enough to make soft thicker waffles-there is enough for two waffles.
Using this mix makes the most delicious waffles I have ever had! I have made these twice and am surprised at how good these GF waffles are...taste is five star...thank you WS for selling these products.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, gorgeous aroma
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZIAS
BLOOMSBURG, PA
December 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
December 10, 2012
I used this mix to make pancakes.
Delicious...I would add a bit more milk as they were a bit thick.
Expensive mix but oh so worth it
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GlutenfreeinNH
,Keene
,NH
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Real waffles!
December 3, 2012
Warm memories of street cart waffles in Belguim sent me on a quest for this wonderful flavor. American "Belgian" waffles don't come close to the flavor. Add a later gluten free life and those waffles became a dream of the past. I tried the Ad Hoc brand just because I had faith that Thomas Keller would not put his famous name on a product that wasn't exceptional. I was not disappointed. The addition of some pearl sugar to the batter resulted in a delightful Belgian waffle with real flavor. I hope this mix and others in the Ad Hoc line will be available for a very long time!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scampbe
,Charlotte
,NC
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicioious waffles - great in a gift box!
November 7, 2012
This mix made really delicious waffles. We cooked them in a Belgian waffle maker and they were the perfect consistency plus they are gluten free if that is a concern.
It is a bit expensive - you could mix up waffles from scratch for a fraction of the price. For a special treat though, they were really good.
This would make a fabulous gift package combined with some yummy maple syrup and a waffle maker!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Great Gift
Cons: $$
Review 10 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth6
,NY
,NY
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great tasting GF waffles
October 14, 2012
I have tried many GF recipes and mixes for waffles, this mix is one of the best. Unlike other mixes you would not be able to detect these are gluten free they taste so good.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GFG101
,Tampa
,FL
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so good.
September 23, 2012
I was really excited to try this product since I use to eat waffles at least once a week up until I was diagnosed almost 4 years ago. I'm 43 now. Just made them for the first time today and the batter was really thick, thicker than cake mix. I even added more milk after making one waffle to see if that would help. They looked and smelled great when I opened up the waffle maker to take them out but they were very soft and limp. I tried cooking them longer but it didn't help. The taste was ok, but I definitely wouldn't say they were great.
Pros: smell great
Review 12 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
backhomeinpa
,Mercersburg
,PA
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wafffles the Whole Family Enjoys
September 5, 2012
I make these waffles when my whole family (adult children) are home -- I am the gluten-sensitive one, but they love the waffles as much as I do! Delicious, light and perfect every time.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 13 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCToothDoc
,Rock Hill
,SC
September 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection from Thomas Keller
September 1, 2012
Perfect waffles.....did not stick to the waffle maker, cooks quickly, crunchy exterior, and excellent taste!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 14 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momma1
,Fl
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing flavor! My favorite for pancakes!
August 14, 2012
For gluten free, this product tastes amazing! My whole family eats it even though they refuse to eat other gluten free products!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Cons: Amount, expensive for the quantity....
Review 15 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RCYT
,East bay area
,CA
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent waffle mix
July 23, 2012
Expensive, but it is worth to try. Better than regular store waffle mix.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Review 16 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NBC25
,CT
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Waffles
June 26, 2012
These waffles were delicious and my husband could not believe they were gluten free. He does not need gluten free but I do. They caused none of the yucky symptoms that I get when I eat food with gluten in it; they are pricey but worth it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 17 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jujujillybean
,Oglesby
,IL
Oglesby, IL
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing--forget gluten-free
May 6, 2012
This mix is so delicious. The taste and texture makes these superior to any other pancake recipe out there. PLEASE NOTE: I used buttermilk for these instead of milk. I don't know whether that made these all the more phenomenal or what, but I'm not messing with that formula, because of how incredibly they turned out. My husband--the pickiest eater in the world--said they were fantastic. Two packages are included in the box making the cost a little less prohibitive. Truly, they are so worth the money. Eat with the Harvest Song Apricot Preserves and fly to heaven. (-;
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 18 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fleurfairy
Upstate NY
May 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty waffles
May 5, 2012
I am not gluten-intolerant, but I do like to avoid eating gluten to stay fit and healthy. This waffle mix is a joy to make and eat. I make one packet, have a couple waffles and freeze the rest for the week. It tastes like waffles you would get in a fancy breakfast cafe. Healthy and satisfying. Thomas Keller, you are the man.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 19 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellynz
,Allen
,TX
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great waffles
March 12, 2012
I hadn't had a waffle since being diagnosed with celiac in 2008. My mom & dad bought me a waffle maker for my birthday and then I saw this mix at Williams Sonoma! Talk about good timing. I made up one batch the other day, ate one and froze the rest. They are awesome! I couldn't even tell they were gluten free!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 20 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Pancake & Waffle Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SAMW
,Stow
,MA
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is really good
March 11, 2012
This actually tastes like normal waffles. I wish he had a malt version, but we may add malt to the next package. A bit pricey, but worth it if you are unable to do wheat.
Thomas Keller--keep it up!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, gluten-free
Cons: Amount, Cost