This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix

From the kitchen of Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc restaurant, our mixes make it easy to make home-baked cakes that are full of flavor and 100% gluten free. The all-natural ingredients include Keller's Cup4Cup gluten-free flour, which gives the cakes such a moist, tender texture and classic taste that you won't believe they're gluten-free. The mix is easy to prepare: just add eggs, oil, milk and water. Finish your creation with one of our Ad Hoc frostings (sold separately) or a homemade buttercream icing. Makes a 9" double layer cake, a 9"x 13" sheet cake or 24 cupcakes (1 lb., 11 oz.). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garnet10
December 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
delicious, moist GF cake!
December 8, 2013
I was a little worried when the batter had a weird texture, sort of gummy, glue-y, not like any other GF cake I've ever made. But I tasted the batter and it was really good! The cake baked perfectly throughout, didn't sink in the center, and although it was dense (which I actually like) it was moist and delicious. One of the best tasting cakes I've ever had, actually, and I usually use the fabulous Dowd & Rogers GF cake mixes which have become difficult to find.
I wish the Red Velvet variety skipped the artificial red coloring, but it was delicious with the cream cheese frosting, and I'm looking forward to trying the chocolate cake variety. I also hope they come out with a yellow cake mix, too.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: artificial red dye
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelli
,Los Angeles
,CA
Los Angeles
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Moist Flavorful Cake!
December 2, 2013
I purchased several chocolate and red velvet gluten free cake mixes online because they were on sale. The reason that they were on sale was probably because they were near their expiration date. I made the expired chocolate cake for Thanksgiving and it was perfect! Everyone commented on how moist and tasty it was. I frosted it with the WS chocolate buttercream frosting and it was so decadent. Texture is fantastic. Tastes better than any other mix I have ever tried - GF or not. Looking forward to making the red velvet with cream cheese frosting on Christmas!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Womenfest
,Portland
,OR
September 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
An Old Fashioned Taste
September 26, 2013
Red Velvet has been very popular lately. But I remember it as a Southern staple. This Ad Hoc version is wonderful, tasty and full of flavor. All of my guests raved about it and could not believe it was gluten free.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
azure
,PA
Altoona, PA
August 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Gluten-free chocolate cake mix
August 19, 2013
This is the best gluten-free chocolate cake mix I have ever made. The texture is great and the taste is by far the best I have ever made in a packaged cake mix.
Pros: Texture, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, tastes very good
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmmieJaney
,Danville
,PA
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Can't be gluten free!
August 13, 2013
I have been a diagnosed celiac for 20 years. In all those years, I have longed for but never found a gluten free cake mix or gluten free flour mix that could so closely approximate or equal a wheat-based cake. My search and longing ended when I made this cake. It is moist, light, is a gorgeous deep red, bakes two layers of "normal" height, and posiively, absolutely no graininess in "mouth-feel". Do not hesitate to purchase this or any other GF mix from Williams-Sonoma. YUM!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, gluten free
Cons: none
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steph317
,\
,ct
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Finally Yummy GF Cake!!
August 6, 2013
I bought the Choc GF cake mix....I had one issue, you need to cook it longer then 30 min. I also have to not use egg so i used a banana and it was AMAZING!!!! I also sprinkled it with Cinnamon.I Hope you get this product back in or can let me know where i can order it....
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cocomooh
,Lancaster, Pa.and Scottsdale Az.
July 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
ad hoc chocolate cake mix go to cake
July 18, 2013
Made the cake for my friends, they all thought it was the best chocolate cake ever! I have been Gluten Free for eight years its nice to have such a wonderful product. Thank you.
Pros: Flavor
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bluebella
,New York
,NY
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Expiration date August 2013
July 17, 2013
I bought the red velvet and chocolate flavor. Very surprised to see they will expire soon. Same thing happened when I bought the hot chocolate they had on sale.
Really disappointing!:(
I had a better opinion of this store...:(
Pay attention to the expiration date when you buy products on sale on this website!
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
carrie3
,Northern California
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
throwing them out
July 12, 2013
Tried the Gluten-free Red Velvet cake. The batter was "stretchy" and difficult to remove from the beaters. Finished product looked, smelled and tasted unusual. I had purchased several boxes because of the positive online reviews, and good price, but will not be using them.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, smell, Flavor
Review 10 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GColleenR
,Seattle
,WA
July 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Moist and delicious!
July 3, 2013
I made this cake for a celebration. One of the guest was gluten-intolerant. The cake got rave reviews and everyone was shocked to learn it was gluten-free.
I hope you get this one back in stock. It's a winner!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 11 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellemich8
,San Francisco
,CA
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic for mini-cupcakes!
June 23, 2013
I've had red velvet mini-cupcakes at bakeries in the city and they didn't come out as nearly moist and decadent as these. I followed the recipe except made mini-cupcakes, baked directly on the pan for 18-19 minutes and they came out perfectly. The frosting recipe on the box is pretty good too. I'm definitely going to buy and make these again!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 12 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HHP1
,NC
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
FABULOUS GF CAKE!
May 15, 2013
My 13 year old has celiac disease, therefore is 100 percent gluten free. This is the only cake that he asks for over and over again. Well worth the money.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 13 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TerryW
,NY
March 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic!!!
March 10, 2013
This is the first review I have ever written for WS even though I am a long time customer. This GF cake mix is the best I have ever tried since my son was diagnosed with celiac 3 years ago ( and I've tried them all!) My go to mix has been King Arthur cake mix but not anymore. I tend to be a snob about GF foods. I never want my son to have to compromise on the quality of foods he eats because he is GF. This is NO compromise. Fluffy and perfect. Just delicious! Thank you to WS and Thomas Keller for trying to bring excellent quality to those who have to be GF. I am grateful for your efforts. I just wish it didn't have to come with a large price tag but that's true of all GF foods. Especially the good ones. Thanks again!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 14 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenn74
,Forked River
,NJ
Forked River, NJ
November 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Chocolate Cake EVER!!!
November 11, 2012
This was my birthday cake last year, and it is the best Chocolate Cake I have ever had!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, yummy!
Review 15 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharlotteCyn
,Charlotte
,NC
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
THE BEST EVER!
September 7, 2012
I made this cake for the first time last night for a friend's birthday. I've been making gluten-free cakes for years and have always been disappointed in the flavor and the texture, both with mixes and scratch-made. This cake has the soft, moist crumb of the best home-made cake I've ever made, plus a deep, rich, cocoa-chocolate flavor that is deliciously satisfying. The taste and texture are wonderful! I topped it with cream cheese butter cream which was the perfect compliment. This will be my "go to" cake from now on, and I can't wait to try the Red Velvet one, too!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for Ad Hoc Gluten Free-Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GlutenFreeChick
,Rosemount
,MN
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Best GF Cake EVER!
April 22, 2012
I picked up this cake mix at the MOA Williams-Sonoma this morning. All I have to say is this is amazing!! It didn't have the gritty after taste and texture that most GF products have. I am the only one in the family that has to eat GF, and the in-laws actually thought it was a REAL cake tonight!! Trust me - they have suffered through so many of the other nasty cakes just to support my diet. Thank you so much Williams-Sonoma!!!!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor