Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix

Our mix turns out brownies that are so rich and chocolaty, you'll be amazed they're 100% gluten-free. Developed for us by award-winning chef Thomas Keller, the mix is made with premium ingredients including Guittard cocoa, ensuring home-baked flavor with stir-and-bake ease. Inspired by the classic comfort foods served at Keller's cozy restaurant Ad Hoc, this mix lets you enjoy the flavor of classic brownies without the gluten. Makes 16 brownies (1 lb., 11 oz.). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HollyMA
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
March 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gluten Free Decadence
March 25, 2014
These came out great. I made these for my niece who is gluten sensitive. It was easy to prepare and they taste chocolatey and fudgey. I thought it a high quality product. You can't tell these are gluten free at all - even I enjoyed them and I only make brownies from scratch. It's a little pricey but for a gluten free treat it's worth it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
videochick7
,Old bridge
,Nj
NJ
February 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tricked non gluten free eaters
February 16, 2013
This is great. Would give 5 stars but the price is not great for 1 brownie mix.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: pricr
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MereMacC
,NY
October 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BETTER than regular Brownies
October 29, 2012
I purchased a box of these on a Whim while visiting my boyfriends family in Florida. They were a HIT. I prepared the brownies according to the box instructions, and then when cooled, topped them with a Sea Salt Caramel Gelato and sliced Strawberries. Absolute decadence.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lomiekins
,New York
,NY
April 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
UNBELIEVABLE!!!
April 20, 2012
These are hands down the most amazing brownies I have ever had in my life. I have eaten food from all over the world and at many top restaurants and bakeries. These are truly the absolute greatest - and to think I can make them myself at home!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CooksandCooks
,Kingsport
,TN
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Great Mini Brownies
January 7, 2012
I have been cooking GF for my husband
for 6 years, and have some awesome
recipes for "from scratch" desserts. I
purchased 2 of the brownie mixes and
the mini brownie pan sold by WS. One
box made 34 great tasting brownies
with an impressive presentation. I also
added chopped walnuts for added
flavor to offset some of the richness.
The trick to making brownies is not to
stir them too much or they will be
tough. As with all GF cooking, the
eggs and butter must be approx.
room temp. Buying this brownie
mix and pan was a wonderful
experience for us.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenn74
,Jersey Shore
,NJ
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING!!!
December 28, 2011
If I could give these more than 5 stars I would. My whole family loved these brownies! They tasted better than any brownie I have ever tried, GF or not.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nooch
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia, Pa
December 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't tell it is GF
December 26, 2011
these brownies are delicious. You cannot tell that they are gluten free. Awesome mix but it is pricey
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, doesn't taste like gluten free
Cons: expensive
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbiAnn
,La Crosse
,WI
December 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Gluten Free Brownie Mix !!!
December 2, 2011
I received the Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix from a friend who lives in CA and how I wish I could purchase them in WI ! These brownies are by far the best tasting and most satisfying brownies ever ! I love the quote on the box: "for temporary relief from hunger."
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, great for those who like to bake from scratch, lovely in appearance
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meganp
October 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best. Brownie. Ever.
October 17, 2011
Best brownie I have ever had, gluten free or not. These are pricey, and they certainly do notmake 19 brownies as they package states. But, these are a decadent treat that I will repeat for special occasions. Yum!!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mslauralou
NYC
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but I've had better (for far less $$)
September 12, 2011
I have decent experience with GF baking. This mix, while not terrible, isn't the best or even nearly the best I've ever made. The batter would have you believe that top-tier bakery brownies are coming out of the oven, but it tastes like a mix. I also feel it is overpriced. I have no regrets giving this a try, but wouldn't repurchase. If you are a bake-from-scratch kind of person, don't feel bad about skipping this one.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 11 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SavannahGF
Savannah, ga
August 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect brownie
August 28, 2011
No one would ever know this brownie is gluten free! I'm impressed and so is my gluten free husband. The price point is ridiculously high but I didn't downgrade the stars even for that.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price
Review 12 for Ad Hoc Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jfresh
Phoenix, AZ
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Delicious and Easy!
August 20, 2011
I just recently went Gluten Free (by choice) and let me tell you how awesome I feel being Gluten Free! No more bloating and no more cravings! Now, on to the brownies. I don't think I would normally spend $18 on brownie mix, but I used a gift certificate. These brownies not only taste like "regular" brownies, but they are close to the best brownies I have ever had! They are thick and moist and I actually had to eat a smaller piece than normal because they are so rich (which is rare for me - I am a total sweets person). The package says it makes 16 brownies, but I got more as I cut smaller pieces. Also, they are so easy to make-all of the ingredients are individually measured and prepackaged so all you have to do is add butter and eggs. I love the simplicity! I would definitely recommend that you try them at least once, whether you're gluten free or not! They would make an awesome gift for your gluten-free friends! The only reason I gave 4 stars and not 5 is because of the price.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: Cost