Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit

At Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc restaurant in the Napa Valley town of Yountville, hungry patrons patiently stand in line for a taste of the kitchen's legendary fried chicken. Our kit allows you to exactly duplicate Ad Hoc's recipe, which calls for brining, then double-battering, the chicken pieces. The brine, seasoned with fresh herbs and lemon, adds delicate flavor while keeping the meat tender and juicy. Before frying, the chicken is twice-dredged in a savory coating spiced with garlic, paprika and cayenne pepper. The resulting crust is crispy, golden and crackling with flavor-a delectable counterpoint to the succulent meat within. Kit contains two packets of brine and two packets of flour coating. Each packet brines or batters 8-10 pieces of chicken; all four packets can be used to create a party-sized batch of 16-20 pieces. 2lb. 2 oz. total. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
37 of 53(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shermie
,San Jose
,CA
August 18, 2013
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the time !
August 18, 2013
You really need to follow the instructions to the letter. Granted this is not spicy but it still tatse great and it is not greasy at all. A must is to use peanut oil, not crisco, corn oil etc. AND yes it does take time and planning , well worth the effort.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than homemade
August 9, 2013
How could anyone give this a bad review? It's as good as any diner in he south!
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Judeg
,Rancho Murieta, CA
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible, big disappointment
July 7, 2013
This was such a big disappointment. Went through the brining, drying, dipping in flour, buttermilk and flour. The recommended temperature is too low, first of all. And, totally tasteless chicken as the end product. Waste of time and money.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neeltje
,The Netherlands, europe
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best chicken ever!
June 22, 2013
I discovered the ad hoc fried chicken kit in Calgary Williams-Sonoma store.
Work as an airline hostess in Holland and fly a lot to Canada and America.
I just made this recipe today! Wonderful. First time you have to get used to all the steps, but it is not to difficult.
Pros: Quality
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AtHomeCook3
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was so delicious and not overly greasy
November 5, 2012
This was so good and easy to make. Be sure to read the directions, though, as you need to brine overnight. The brine made the chicken taste delicious, but I think next time I wouldn't leave it in there for the full amount of time. I was craving a bit more of the chicken flavor. Be sure to buy peanut oil- yes, it's expensive, but it made such a HUGE difference. This was soooo good we were burning our hands while eating but didn't care. Can't wait to make the second batch!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Izzy
,Detroit
,MI
Plymouth, MI
September 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST FRIED CHICKEN EVER!
September 27, 2012
If you want to serve the best fried chicken ever...this is the product you need. Caution: folks will request and/or demand it over and over again - so make sure you have a supply in your pantry for those dinners when you want to spoil yourself and your guests, throw caution to the wind and serve up the best fried chicken you'll ever find.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
praytor
,weatherford
,tx
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!!!
September 7, 2012
This was fantastic!!! Yes, the prep time was a little time consuming, however, the end results drew raves from everyone. I have given it to several friends and they loved it. Sending some to my brother and flying up to make it for him.
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LisaW19
,Suffern
,NY
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much work for a mediocre product
February 20, 2012
This is the second food "kit" we have purchased a Williams Sonoma. Both items required hours and hours of preparation. This chicken took 24 hours to prepare, certainly not something we normally have time to do. The flavor of the chicken was notall that interesting, we actually threw out the leftovers. From now on I will carefully read all instructions prior to purchasing a timeconsuming overpriced food kit.
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yenmor
California
January 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Odd Texture
January 21, 2012
I did not like what the brine did to the texture and taste of the chicken. My husband thought it was tasty but nothing special. I do not think it was worth the cost.
Maybe I did something wrong in the brine process, but I felt it make the chicken too soft and I was not fond of the lemon flavor.
Review 10 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJB1104
Manila
September 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Experience Ad Hoc without flying out to Napa
September 4, 2011
During a dinner in Per Se, our server mentioned that the fried chicken in Ad Hoc is a best seller. So when I saw they were selling the kit in William Sonoma, it was a must buy. By far the best tasting and juiciest fried chicken I have ever tasted. LOVE IT.
Review 11 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deebers
Oklahoma
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous!!!
August 8, 2011
I was skeptical about this, especially at the price.
When I got it and read all the steps, I was beginning to wonder if I had made a mistake.
It was well worth the price and effort. I've never had much luck with fried chicken but this came out perfectly! My family loved it!
A few caveats:
1) It is definitely a two day process to do it right. The brining is key. Follow the instructions and don't skimp. Also, rinsing it is key to keeping the salt level down.
2) If you don't like a somewhat citrusy/lemony flavor in your seasoning or marinade/brine, then you may not be fond of this. I wasn't sure I'd like it when I smelled it during cooking, but I found it very tasty.
All in all, I enjoyed this very much and given there's two kits in the package, I will probably buy again.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 12 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
slynnb
austin
July 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
oh good lord
July 24, 2011
You can buy the entire "Ad Hoc at Home" cookbook for the price of this kit. Making the brine and the coating is easy and probably costs about $4.00 in ingredients.
Cons: Cost
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Yenmor
California
Posted January 21, 2012
Not Quite
The book cost $50.00 so you can't buy the book for price of the Chicken Kit.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cocomoon
Kimball, MN
July 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Fried Chicken Kit
July 16, 2011
I have tried many fried chicken recipes in the past, but this one is by far the best one I have had. My family stood around waiting for it to be done. It does take some forethought into the preparation and you need to make sure that you pay close attention to the directions, but I would highly recommend this. It was really awesome!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 14 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hsc65
Boulder,Colorado
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a lot of work
April 8, 2011
This kit takes a lot of work to make fried chicken and when done, did not make better tasting fried chicken than i can make myself without this expensive kit.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 15 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobbieCooks
Hightstown, NJ
October 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brining made easy
October 27, 2010
By far the best fried chicken I ever had. I made sure to follow all the directions on the back of the package; being im new to the whole brining process. This kit makes it a breeze. All the herbs and spices are measured and pre packed. You will have to purchase buttermilk and peanut oil to complete the recipe.
I will be buying this again!
Review 16 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ihightow
San Diego, CA
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Winner Winner - Chicken Dinner
August 6, 2010
OMG - made this Ad Hoc Fried Chicken for dinner and have never seen my family eat so much in one sitting. My son is very picky and he ate two pieces and skipped most of his favorite cornbread I make. I've been to Ad Hoc and have always wanted to try the Chicken Dinner. Keller products are of high quality and definitely worth it for the taste and happiness they create!
Review 17 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
August 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Fried Chicken Ever!
August 4, 2010
My husband and I had been wanting to make fried chicken for a long time, but were wary about the tedious process - and getting it wrong. This kit was so easy, and the chicken came out AMAZING! It was truly the most juicy and delicious fried chicken we had ever tasted. It would easily beat out any restaurant ried chicken around.
Review 18 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cecilias
California
July 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy it right now!
July 14, 2010
Extremely high quality, and super flavorfull mix. Thomas Keller's products is by far the best products available. For people with high standards, and very knowledgeable about food: for "gourmands" only. Buy it !
Review 19 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emiloo
Brooklyn, NY
July 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG! - HEAVEN IN A BAG
July 8, 2010
We received this as a gift and used it last night. All I can say is: OMG!!! This mix made the tastiest, juiciest fried chicken I have EVER eaten. I think the brining was key. The crispy batter was delectable. This chicken really is "finger-lickin' good". I can't wait to have the leftovers for dinner tonight!
Review 20 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GigiC
Pennsylvania
June 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fried Chicken
June 26, 2010
I tried the Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit and found that there are too many steps in the prepareation. I'm not sure that brining the chicken was worth doing. Using buttermilk and just the seasoned flour would be much easier. The taste of the end product wasn't as special as I anticipated.
page1 2 3 next