This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit

At Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc restaurant in the Napa Valley town of Yountville, hungry patrons patiently stand in line for a taste of the kitchen's legendary fried chicken. Our kit allows you to exactly duplicate Ad Hoc's recipe, which calls for brining, then double-battering, the chicken pieces. The brine, seasoned with fresh herbs and lemon, adds delicate flavor while keeping the meat tender and juicy. Before frying, the chicken is twice-dredged in a savory coating spiced with garlic, paprika and cayenne pepper. The resulting crust is crispy, golden and crackling with flavor-a delectable counterpoint to the succulent meat within. Kit contains two packets of brine and two packets of flour coating. Each packet brines or batters 8-10 pieces of chicken; all four packets can be used to create a party-sized batch of 16-20 pieces. 2lb. 2 oz. total. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shermie
,San Jose
,CA
August 18, 2013
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Worth the time !
August 18, 2013
You really need to follow the instructions to the letter. Granted this is not spicy but it still tatse great and it is not greasy at all. A must is to use peanut oil, not crisco, corn oil etc. AND yes it does take time and planning , well worth the effort.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Better than homemade
August 9, 2013
How could anyone give this a bad review? It's as good as any diner in he south!
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Judeg
,Rancho Murieta, CA
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Terrible, big disappointment
July 7, 2013
This was such a big disappointment. Went through the brining, drying, dipping in flour, buttermilk and flour. The recommended temperature is too low, first of all. And, totally tasteless chicken as the end product. Waste of time and money.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neeltje
,The Netherlands, europe
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best chicken ever!
June 22, 2013
I discovered the ad hoc fried chicken kit in Calgary Williams-Sonoma store.
Work as an airline hostess in Holland and fly a lot to Canada and America.
I just made this recipe today! Wonderful. First time you have to get used to all the steps, but it is not to difficult.
Pros: Quality
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AtHomeCook3
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
It was so delicious and not overly greasy
November 5, 2012
This was so good and easy to make. Be sure to read the directions, though, as you need to brine overnight. The brine made the chicken taste delicious, but I think next time I wouldn't leave it in there for the full amount of time. I was craving a bit more of the chicken flavor. Be sure to buy peanut oil- yes, it's expensive, but it made such a HUGE difference. This was soooo good we were burning our hands while eating but didn't care. Can't wait to make the second batch!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Izzy
,Detroit
,MI
Plymouth, MI
September 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
The BEST FRIED CHICKEN EVER!
September 27, 2012
If you want to serve the best fried chicken ever...this is the product you need. Caution: folks will request and/or demand it over and over again - so make sure you have a supply in your pantry for those dinners when you want to spoil yourself and your guests, throw caution to the wind and serve up the best fried chicken you'll ever find.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
praytor
,weatherford
,tx
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic!!!
September 7, 2012
This was fantastic!!! Yes, the prep time was a little time consuming, however, the end results drew raves from everyone. I have given it to several friends and they loved it. Sending some to my brother and flying up to make it for him.
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LisaW19
,Suffern
,NY
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Too much work for a mediocre product
February 20, 2012
This is the second food "kit" we have purchased a Williams Sonoma. Both items required hours and hours of preparation. This chicken took 24 hours to prepare, certainly not something we normally have time to do. The flavor of the chicken was notall that interesting, we actually threw out the leftovers. From now on I will carefully read all instructions prior to purchasing a timeconsuming overpriced food kit.
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Fried Chicken Kit
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yenmor
California
January 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Odd Texture
January 21, 2012
I did not like what the brine did to the texture and taste of the chicken. My husband thought it was tasty but nothing special. I do not think it was worth the cost.
Maybe I did something wrong in the brine process, but I felt it make the chicken too soft and I was not fond of the lemon flavor.